Master of Science [MSc] (Accounting and Finance)
Field of Study:
$34,447 /Yr
University of Surrey Master of Science (MSc) Accounting and Finance is a one-year, full-time master’s taught at Stag Hill campus in Guildford for the February 2027 intake. The course asks for a 2:2 honours degree in a relevant subject, equivalent to an overall 55% or 60% in India depending on the institution. Overseas tuition is £25,900 (INR 33.81 Lakhs) for the 2026-27 academic year.
The course combines accounting systems, international reporting, auditing, econometrics and an independent project across three semesters. Its practice-based cases and quantitative modules suit applicants targeting professional accounting or finance roles who can work with data rather than only memorise standards. The compressed one-year timetable is a tradeoff, so applicants should already be comfortable with quantitative study and professional qualification planning.
- Recognition by the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute and possible exemptions from accountancy bodies can support professional qualification planning.
- International Financial Reporting and International Accounting Standards keep the curriculum focused on cross-border reporting practice.
- The final international accounting and finance project gives applicants a defined opportunity to investigate a business situation with secondary data.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the February 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: 11 December 2026.
Surrey states that applicants requiring a visa should apply by this date, and it may close earlier if suitable applications fill the available capacity. The published page gives no submission time, so Indian applicants should treat the university date as the controlling cutoff and submit before that day.
Also Check: Surrey postgraduate admission requirements
University of Surrey Accounting and Finance Fees and Living Costs 2027
For the February 2027 full-time route, overseas tuition is £25,900 (INR 33.81 Lakhs) for the 2026-27 academic year. The course page lists software costs separately, while no separate application fee is published.
The fee table keeps international tuition separate from additional study tools and Value Added Tax (VAT). This distinction shows which charges are tuition and which are smaller course-related costs.
| Fee item | Official amount | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| Overseas tuition, full-time February 2027 | £25,900 | INR 33.81 Lakhs |
| STATA software licence, six or 12 months | From £35 or £75, plus VAT | From INR 4,569 or INR 9,791, plus VAT |
| EViews student software licence, six months | From £35 | From INR 4,569 |
| Additional software total | £70 to £110 | INR 9,139 to INR 14,361 |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of GBP 1 = INR 130.55 as of 22 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
The international postgraduate offer deposit is £3,000 (INR 3.92 Lakhs) towards tuition. It is a cash-flow milestone rather than an extra fee, and the deadline appears in your offer letter.
- The course fee applies to 2026-27 only, and Surrey reviews fees annually, so a later deferral can change the amount.
- STATA and EViews costs are additional software charges, so include them in the first-year study budget even though they are small relative to tuition.
- Flights, visa charges, deposits, insurance and variable spending are not included in the published software total, so keep them outside the academic fee calculation.
Also Check: Surrey course fees and programmes
Cost of Living in Guildford for Accounting and Finance Students
Surrey’s budgeting page gives weekly guidance rather than a course-specific annual allowance, so the table below converts those figures to monthly equivalents.
The core total includes the listed rent, bills, food, travel, books, clothes, mobile, television licence and laundry minima, but excludes variable insurance, entertainment and societies.
| Expense | Monthly (GBP) | Monthly (INR) |
|---|---|---|
| Rent | £387.83 to £1,352.00 | INR 50,632 to INR 1.77 Lakhs |
| Bills | £130.00 | INR 16,972 |
| Food | £173.33 | INR 22,629 |
| Travel | £65.00 | INR 8,486 |
| Books and stationery | £21.67 | INR 2,829 |
| Clothes | £43.33 | INR 5,657 |
| Mobile phone | £21.67 | INR 2,829 |
| Television licence | £17.33 | INR 2,263 |
| Laundry | £21.67 | INR 2,829 |
| Core total, monthly | £881.83 to £1,846.00 | INR 1.15 Lakhs to INR 2.41 Lakhs |
| Core total, annualised | £10,582 to £22,152 | INR 13.81 Lakhs to INR 28.92 Lakhs |
Surrey’s figures are weekly guides, so the monthly lines are calculated at 52 weeks divided by 12; the annualised total covers 12 months, not only teaching weeks.
Adding tuition and the official software total gives a calculated academic and living budget of £36,552 to £48,162 (INR 47.72 Lakhs to INR 62.88 Lakhs). This excludes visa charges, flights and variable spending.
Applicants using private housing should recalculate rent because Surrey states that private costs vary and bills may be separate.
Check Out: UK accommodation cost guidance
Budget scope
The calculated range uses Surrey’s weekly minima and excludes variable costs, so Indian applicants should add flights, visa costs and personal spending after checking the official budgeting guidance.
ROI reality: Tuition is £25,900 (INR 33.81 Lakhs). The calculated core annual living range is £10,582 to £22,152 (INR 13.81 Lakhs to INR 28.92 Lakhs). Indian applicants should secure funding across it before relying on a scholarship or part-time income.
University of Surrey Accounting and Finance Admission 2027
The academic threshold is a relevant UK 2:2 honours degree, and Surrey’s India guidance sets the equivalent overall undergraduate average at 55% or 60% depending on institution.
The course also considers relevant experience. It does not publish a Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) or Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) requirement, so selection should focus on subject preparation, evidence and statement quality.
| Requirement | Surrey standard | India applicant reading |
|---|---|---|
| Degree subject | Accountancy, banking, business administration, economics, finance, management or mathematics | An Indian bachelor’s degree in a listed area is relevant, subject to Surrey’s equivalence decision |
| Degree level | Minimum 2:2 UK honours degree or recognised equivalent | 55% or 60% overall undergraduate average depending on the institution |
| Relevant experience | One year full-time or two years part-time graduate-level experience may be considered | Include role, responsibilities and duration in the CV and personal statement |
| Application evidence | Qualifications, two referee contacts, personal statement, English evidence and passport when a visa is required | Upload official English translations when documents are not in English |
A 55% average is not a universal pass mark because Surrey applies 55% or 60% according to the institution, so Indian applicants should confirm their university category before assuming eligibility.
The degree subject list is broad, but quantitative methods and international reporting make accounting, finance, economics and mathematics backgrounds easier to connect to the curriculum.
Applicants from another listed subject should use the personal statement to show relevant modules, analytical work and any graduate-level experience.
No GMAT or GRE score is stated on the course page. Work experience is considered rather than required, so explain academic fit instead of adding unsupported test targets.
English Language Requirements for Surrey Accounting and Finance MSc
The course-specific requirement is IELTS Academic 6.5 overall with 6.0 in each element.
Surrey’s current equivalency table gives the alternatives below, while Indian applicants may use board-English evidence if it meets the university’s stated conditions.
The alternatives use the International English Language Testing System (IELTS), Pearson Test of English (PTE) and Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL). These are accepted English evidence routes, but the course-specific score still controls component requirements.
| Accepted route | Minimum score or evidence | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 overall with 6.0 in each element | Direct course requirement |
| PTE Academic | 67 overall; Reading 59, Speaking 59, Listening 59, Writing 64 | Official Surrey equivalence |
| TOEFL iBT | 4.5 overall; Reading 4, Listening 4, Speaking 4, Writing 4 | Current 1.0 to 6.0 scale |
| Duolingo English Test | 120 overall with 110 in each component | Official Surrey equivalence |
| India Standard XII English | 70% from Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) or Indian School Certificate (ISC), or 80% from most state boards | Surrey typically does not require IELTS for Indians, but may request a test |
A Secure English Language Test (SELT) is an accepted form of language evidence for some immigration and university processes. Surrey reserves the right to request IELTS or another SELT from an Indian applicant.
- Check every component before booking, because an overall score above 6.5 does not cure a band below 6.0.
- Use the India waiver only when your CBSE, ISC or state-board English result falls within Surrey’s published bands and your offer does not request a test.
- If you miss the level, Surrey lists pre-sessional English courses that can lead to the degree, but confirm that the chosen course finishes before the February start.
Student perspective
An individual 20 June 2025 review from a student enrolled in the MSc Accounting and Finance in 2024 described group assignments and real-time scenarios as useful. The same student reviews entry noted fewer lecture hours and STATA or database teaching rather than Python or R. Applicants expecting lecture-heavy or Python-first training should inspect module details and plan independent practice.
These comments are anecdotal and do not replace official University of Surrey data.
Tip for Indian students: Surrey’s India equivalence varies by institution, and the course uses quantitative modules. Indian applicants should send transcripts early and test software readiness before 11 December 2026.
University of Surrey Accounting and Finance Application 2027
The February 2027 full-time application is open to overseas applicants until 11 December 2026. Surrey’s postgraduate process is direct through its online portal, and the university says applicants can expect a decision or further-information request within 14 days.
The official dates below are published as calendar dates without a submission time or timezone, so Indian applicants should treat each date as the controlling university cutoff and submit earlier. The Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) dates apply after Surrey confirms the offer conditions.
| Application stage | Official date | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Overseas application deadline | 11 December 2026 | Submit the completed full-time February application |
| Deadline to provide offer conditions, visa applicants | 6 January 2027 | Upload final academic or English evidence requested in the portal |
| CAS application deadline | 8 January 2027 | Submit the Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies request after meeting conditions |
| Latest CAS issue date | 15 January 2027 | Use the issued CAS for the Student visa application |
| Course start date | 8 February 2027 | Arrange arrival and registration for the February intake |
| Final registration date | 19 February 2027 | Complete registration only if Surrey confirms the place remains available |
Surrey’s 14-day response statement is not a guaranteed decision date, so an application submitted close to 11 December can compress scholarship and visa preparation.
The 8 January CAS application deadline and 15 January latest CAS issue date are not substitutes for the course deadline. Indian applicants must first hold an unconditional offer and meet its conditions.
Surrey’s admissions code requires international postgraduate applicants to pay £3,000 (INR 3.92 Lakhs) towards tuition to firmly accept an offer, unless a listed exception applies.
Application Documents
Surrey’s online process asks applicants to select the course mode and start date, complete the form and fees-status questionnaire, then upload requested evidence through the portal.
For Indian applicants, the working file should contain the documents below before submission.
- Upload signed or stamped degree certificates and transcripts, with official English translations where necessary.
- Provide contact details for two referees who can comment on academic or relevant professional preparation.
- Write a personal statement connecting your prior subject, quantitative preparation and intended accounting or finance direction to this MSc.
- Add English evidence and a passport copy because the February route requires a Student visa.
Submit well before 11 December and use the portal to track requests. Prepare the scholarship application at the same time because the International Excellence deadline is 8 January.
Do not wait for the final CAS date to upload academic evidence, because Surrey sets 6 January for visa applicants to provide conditions and 8 January for the CAS application.
Application tip: Use 11 December 2026 as the application cutoff. Prepare transcripts, English evidence, references and funding materials before submission so 6 January does not become the risk point.
University of Surrey Accounting and Finance Scholarships 2027
For February 2027, the clearest India-eligible awards are the £5,000 International Excellence Award (INR 6.53 Lakhs) and automatic £2,000 Early payment discount (INR 2.61 Lakhs).
Both are first-year fee waivers for self-funded, full-time international master’s students. Surrey also lists a 20% Surrey graduate discount and a course-linked part-funded Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) scholarship, but each has additional conditions.
The first two awards are target-cycle opportunities for February 2027, while the graduate discount and CFA funding are current published schemes with separate eligibility terms.
| Award | Value | Eligibility and route | Deadline or trigger |
|---|---|---|---|
| International Excellence Award, postgraduate | £5,000 (INR 6.53 Lakhs) off tuition fees | Self-funded overseas student, full-time masters offer, any nationality, before CAS | 8 January 2027 for February entry |
| Early payment discount | £2,000 (INR 2.61 Lakhs) off first-year tuition | Self-funded overseas student on a full-time masters course, automatic award | Pay the deposit through the applicant portal within 10 days of an offer |
| Discounts for Surrey graduates | 20% off tuition fees | Self-funded international or home student with a prior undergraduate degree from Surrey’s Guildford campus | No separate application deadline published |
| Course-linked CFA scholarship | Part-funded one-level exam scholarship, amount not stated | Open to interested Accounting and Finance MSc students under the course opportunity | Deadline not stated on the course page |
The £5,000 (INR 6.53 Lakhs) award requires an offer and a separate application before CAS, and Surrey reviews applications monthly on a first-come, first-served basis.
The £2,000 (INR 2.61 Lakhs) discount is automatic when an eligible self-funded student pays the deposit within 10 days of receiving an offer. It cannot be combined with another Surrey-managed scholarship.
The graduate discount is only for someone who studied an undergraduate course at Surrey’s Guildford campus, so it is not a general India award.
India is not listed for the current Future Leaders award. The Max Lu postgraduate award is for September 2026 and South Asian applicants studying STEM subjects, so neither is a February Accounting and Finance award.
Read More: Surrey finance scholarships
Funding check
Because the February award closes on 8 January and must be allocated before CAS, Indian applicants should confirm the February 2027 International Excellence rules after receiving an offer.
Scholarship reality: The £5,000 (INR 6.53 Lakhs) International Excellence Award is the clearest general route for Indian applicants. It requires an offer and pre-CAS action, so submit the course application first.
University of Surrey Accounting and Finance Salary 2027
The MSc Accounting and Finance page does not publish a course-specific salary, offer rate or placement rate, so no graduate payback period can be calculated responsibly.
The relevant return on investment (ROI) evidence is therefore qualitative, using verified cost, curriculum value, professional recognition and the post-study work window. ROI means comparing these verified inputs with the career value an applicant expects from the qualification.
The named bodies are the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA) and Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW).
- Budget £25,900 (INR 33.81 Lakhs) tuition plus £10,582 to £22,152 (INR 13.81 Lakhs to INR 28.92 Lakhs) annual core living before enrolling.
- The course lists financial accountant, management accountant, financial manager, financial adviser, financial analyst and auditor roles; map modules to one preferred destination.
- Possible exemptions can reduce repeated professional exams, but each named body decides eligibility after course completion; verify the mapping before treating it as savings.
- Surrey names AECOM, BMW, Ernst and Young, HM Revenue and Customs and Metro, but reported employer presence is not a typical MSc outcome; use it as a networking signal.
- A Graduate visa provides 18 months for applications from 1 January 2027, so use the window to target eligible roles rather than assume sponsorship.
| Evidence scope | What is published | How Indian applicants should use it |
|---|---|---|
| Course cohort | Salary, offer rate and placement rate are not published | Do not calculate a course payback period |
| Course career evidence | Named roles, professional recognition, exemptions and an international accounting and finance project | Match modules and qualification plans to a target role |
| Named employer evidence | AECOM, BMW, Ernst and Young, HM Revenue and Customs and Metro are named on the course page | Reported employer presence is not a typical graduate outcome |
Source: University of Surrey Accounting and Finance MSc career opportunities and course details.
For UK plans, the 18-month work window makes timing and sponsorship important. For an India return, professional exemptions and an internationally focused project may matter more than a UK salary benchmark.
The programme’s official evidence does not provide a salary benchmark for this MSc, so do not convert a broader accounting figure into a repayment forecast.
Take-home pay varies with tax code, salary and location, so compare any offer using a current UK tax calculator rather than gross pay alone.
Read More: UK post-study work visa
ROI reality: Course-specific salary and placement rates are unpublished. Judge ROI by whether exemptions, curriculum fit or an India-return plan justify £25,900 (INR 33.81 Lakhs) tuition.
UK Visa for Surrey Accounting and Finance Students 2027
Indian applicants need a UK Student visa for the full-time February 2027 MSc, and Surrey must issue a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) before the visa application.
The Student visa application fee is £558 (INR 72,847). The Immigration Health Surcharge (IHS) is £776 per year (INR 1.01 Lakhs), and the final bill depends on visa length.
IHS is the healthcare charge paid with the immigration application.
- The UK financial requirement is £1,171 per month for up to nine months outside London, or £10,539 (INR 13.76 Lakhs), separate from Surrey’s living estimate.
- A Graduate visa allows 18 months from 1 January 2027; its fee is £937 (INR 1.22 Lakhs), plus £1,035 (INR 1.35 Lakhs) healthcare surcharge per year.
- A Skilled Worker route usually needs at least £41,700 a year (INR 54.44 Lakhs) or the higher occupation going rate, so Graduate permission is not sponsorship.
- A taught MSc starting after 1 January 2024 normally excludes Student dependants, except for government-sponsored or research-based higher-degree cases.
A Skilled Worker route may lead to Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR) after five years, subject to other requirements.
ILR is permanent settlement permission, and the five-year period is counted on qualifying routes rather than the Graduate visa alone.
Use the Student visa rules for proof-of-funds and dependant conditions, then check the Graduate visa rules after completion because the route length depends on your application date.
Check Out: UK student visa requirements
Visa reality: The February 2027 start falls under the 18-month Graduate visa rule for applications from 1 January 2027. Indian applicants should treat sponsorship planning as a separate step before choosing the UK pathway.
The February 2027 full-time MSc suits Indian applicants with a relevant degree, quantitative readiness and a clear accounting or finance role in mind. Its international reporting, professional-exemption potential and independent project make the one-year format useful for applicants who value compressed specialist training. The material tradeoff is financial exposure because tuition is £25,900 (INR 33.81 Lakhs). The calculated academic and living budget reaches £36,552 to £48,162 (INR 47.72 Lakhs to INR 62.88 Lakhs), while course-specific salary evidence is unpublished. Submit before 11 December 2026, then pursue the pre-CAS funding route and prepare for the 18-month Graduate visa window if the UK is your intended market.
University of Surrey MSc Accounting and Finance FAQs
Ques. Is University of Surrey MSc Accounting and Finance suitable for an Indian commerce graduate?
Ans. It can suit an Indian commerce graduate when the bachelor’s degree aligns with accountancy, banking, business administration, economics, finance, management or mathematics. Surrey’s India guidance requires a 55% or 60% overall undergraduate average depending on the institution, and relevant experience can strengthen an application.
Ques. What English score is needed for the February 2027 intake?
Ans. The direct course requirement is IELTS Academic 6.5 overall with 6.0 in each element. Surrey also publishes PTE, TOEFL and Duolingo equivalents, while some Indian applicants may use 70% CBSE or ISC English or 80% from most state boards.
Ques. What should an Indian applicant budget beyond Surrey tuition?
Ans. Surrey’s calculated core annual living range is £10,582 to £22,152 (INR 13.81 Lakhs to INR 28.92 Lakhs). Official software costs are £70 to £110 (INR 9,139 to INR 14,361). Together with £25,900 (INR 33.81 Lakhs) tuition, the calculated academic and living range is £36,552 to £48,162 (INR 47.72 Lakhs to INR 62.88 Lakhs). This excludes visa and travel costs.
Ques. Which February 2027 deadline should an Indian visa applicant prioritize?
Ans. The course application deadline is 11 December 2026. Visa applicants then have 6 January for offer conditions, 8 January for the CAS request and 15 January for the latest CAS issue. Submit earlier because the 8 January scholarship deadline and CAS request date overlap.
Ques. Can this MSc lead to UK employment after graduation?
Ans. The course page does not publish MSc salary, offer or placement rates, so employment is not guaranteed by the programme. Eligible graduates applying from 1 January 2027 may use an 18-month Graduate visa. A Skilled Worker route usually requires £41,700 (INR 54.44 Lakhs) or the higher occupation going rate.
Important Alert
- Spring 2027 intake application deadline - Dec 11, 2026
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $34447 (GBP 25900) |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Accommodation | $9806 (GBP 7373) |
| Grocery Expenses | $2394 (GBP 1800) |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2024 | $33117 (GBP 24900) |
| 2023 | $29260 (GBP 22000) |
| 2021 | $36806 (GBP 27674) |
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| Spring 2027 intake application deadline | Dec 11, 2026 |
Reviews
17 Reviews Found
Likes
- The culture of submitting assignments
- The culture of grouping up people and got to learn how to work with a team
- More practical approaches when it comes to classroom lectures via providing with real time scenarios rather than textbook questions
Dislikes
- Less hours of lectures
- Provided classes of stata and database instead of python and R which are more influential in the market right now
- Accommodation prices are increasing every year.
- It was on-campus accommodation. I found it on their website only and it was cheaper than private. The monthly rent was 450 pounds. We got a personal room and shared a bathroom and kitchen. I would say for my university.
- On-campus accommodation was cheaper than private but in London it’s the opposite. So I would say it is reliable as well, but in private you might face some fraud sometimes


Scores Required
Required Document List
- Online Application Form
- Official Academic Transcripts
- Proof of Bachelor's Degree
- English Language Test Scores (IELTS)
- Statement of Purpose
- Letters of Recommendation
- Copy of Passport
- Curriculum Vitae/Resume

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
TOP Scholarships
| Scholarship name | Award amount | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| GREAT Scholarships | 10000 | Merit-based Indian passport holder and permanent resident applying for a one-year postgraduate course starting September 2026 |
| International Excellence Award (postgraduate) | 5000 | Merit-based Self-funded international student starting a full-time master's degree, regardless of nationality |
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
1 Year Masters Programs in UK for International Students
Masters in Accounting in UK: Fees 2024, Top Colleges, Placement and salaries
Masters in UK: Top Universities, Admission Requirements, Tuition Fees, and Scholarships
MBA in Finance in UK: Universities, Fees, Eligibility & Salary
Programs Comparison
| ranking | # 33 for Accounting by The Guardian 2026 # 301 for Accounting by QS World University 2025 | - |
| application | - | - |
| exam scores | IELTS - 6.5/9 | - |
| application dates | Dec 11, 2026 (Spring 2027 intake application deadline) | - |
| - | Read Full Comparison |
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bharat Petroleum Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| India Postgraduate Taught Master’s Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 4,728/Yr$3,555 | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,660/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored | |
| Leo Murray Entrepreneurship Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 18,620/Yr$14,000 | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Business Administration Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |
Similar Programs
| Program | Important Date | Total Fees | Median Exams Score | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
-- | USD 34,314 /Yr GBP 25,800 /Yr |
| ||
| USD 46,550 /Yr GBP 35,000 /Yr |
| |||
Course Start Date For September 2026 Intake (21st Sep 2026) | USD 33,782 /Yr GBP 25,400 /Yr | |||
| USD 22,743 /Yr GBP 17,100 /Yr |
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here





















Comments