Rivier University is a private Catholic university located in Nashua, New Hampshire, founded in 1933. It sits in the #142-187 tier of U.S. News Best Regional Universities North 2026.
Rivier University offers 60+ English-taught programmes across 36 undergraduate, 23 graduate, 1 doctoral and 2 professional-studies tracks. Fall and Spring intakes remain open on a rolling basis for Indian applicants. Popular masters include MS Computer Science, MS Applied Artificial Intelligence, four MBA specialisations and MSN nurse practitioner tracks.
- Ranking: #142-187 in U.S. News Best Regional Universities North 2026
- Acceptance rate: 83% (institutional)
- Intakes: Fall (August) and Spring (January), rolling admissions
- PG tuition per credit: $733 (most programmes); $744 for Computer Science and CIS
- Application fee: $15 (graduate); $25 (undergraduate)
- Median MS starting salary: $65,000 (₹61.7 lakh) market median for Boston-Nashua corridor
Also Check: MS in USA for Indian Students
F-1 visa financial proof stands at $36,517 (₹34.6 lakh) for graduate applicants. Full-time cost of attendance for international students reaches $52,280 (₹49.6 lakh) per year including tuition, housing, dining and fees. Institutional aid for graduate international students is limited; most funding flows through per-credit billing, teaching assistantships and external India-US scholarships, and applicants can benchmark cost against other universities in USA.
Exchange rate used: 1 USD = ₹94.90 as of September 2026
Admission Status: Open (Spring 2027 and Fall 2027 intakes). Rivier University runs rolling admissions with no fixed close date. The university recommends completing files at least 60 days before the term start; Indian applicants targeting Spring 2027 (12 January 2027 start) should submit by mid-November 2026 to leave visa time.
Table of Contents
- Popular Courses and Fees at Rivier University 2027
- Rivier University Admission 2027
- Rivier University Admission Requirements for Indian Applicants 2027
- Rivier University Acceptance Rate 2027
- Rivier University Fees and Cost of Living for Indian Students 2027
- Rivier University Campus, Facilities and Student Life
- Rivier University Scholarships 2027
- Rivier University Rankings 2027
- Rivier University Placements and Career Outcomes 2027
- Rivier University vs Peer Universities
- Rivier University FAQs
Popular Courses and Fees at Rivier University 2027
Rivier University charges graduate tuition on a per-credit basis at $733 per credit for most programmes and $744 per credit for Computer Science and Computer Information Systems tracks. Master’s degrees typically require 33 to 48 credits over two years. MBA specialisations are 36 credits, MS Computer Science is 33 credits and MSN nurse practitioner tracks range from 45 to 48 credits.
Top PG Programmes at Rivier University 2027
Postgraduate totals below apply the official 2026-2027 per-credit rate against typical programme length; all courses are English-medium. For MBA-only comparisons see other MBA universities in USA.
| Programme | Total fee ($) | Total fee (₹ lakh) | Entry requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| MS Computer Science | $24,552 | ₹23.3 lakh | Bachelor’s with 55% or CGPA 5.5/10 (recommended) |
| MS Computer Information Systems (Online) | $24,552 | ₹23.3 lakh | Bachelor’s with 55% or CGPA 5.5/10 (recommended) |
| MS Applied Artificial Intelligence (Online) | $24,552 | ₹23.3 lakh | Bachelor’s with 55% or CGPA 5.5/10 (recommended) |
| MBA in Management | $26,388 | ₹25.0 lakh | Bachelor’s with 50% or CGPA 5.0/10 (recommended) |
| MBA in Cybersecurity Leadership | $26,388 | ₹25.0 lakh | Bachelor’s with 50% or CGPA 5.0/10 (recommended) |
| MBA in Healthcare Administration | $26,388 | ₹25.0 lakh | Bachelor’s with 50% or CGPA 5.0/10 (recommended) |
| MSN Family Nurse Practitioner (Online) | $32,985 | ₹31.3 lakh | BSN with 60% and active RN licence (recommended) |
| MSN Psychiatric Mental Health NP (Online) | $32,985 | ₹31.3 lakh | BSN with 60% and active RN licence (recommended) |
| MA Clinical Mental Health Counseling | $43,980 | ₹41.7 lakh | Bachelor’s with 55% (recommended) |
| MEd School Counseling Certification | $33,918 | ₹32.2 lakh | Bachelor’s in education or related with 55% (recommended) |
Top UG Programmes at Rivier University 2027
Undergraduate programmes run 3 to 4 years at a flat annual full-time rate of $32,440 for the 2026-2027 academic year. Total programme fee below assumes 4 years at published tuition.
| Programme | Total fee ($) | Total fee (₹ lakh) | Entry requirement |
|---|---|---|---|
| BSN Nursing | $129,760 | ₹123.1 lakh | Class 12 with 70% (recommended) |
| BS Computer Science | $129,760 | ₹123.1 lakh | Class 12 with 65% (recommended) |
| BS Artificial Intelligence | $129,760 | ₹123.1 lakh | Class 12 with 65% (recommended) |
| BS Business Management | $129,760 | ₹123.1 lakh | Class 12 with 60% (recommended) |
| Applied BS Business Management (3-year) | $97,320 | ₹92.4 lakh | Class 12 with 60% (recommended) |
Insider note: Indian applicants at Rivier University most often pick MS Computer Science, the online MS in Applied AI and MBA in Cybersecurity Leadership. All three qualify for STEM OPT extensions and pair the lower per-credit tuition with H-1B-friendly job markets across Nashua and Boston.
Read More: Rivier University Fees and Programme Guide
Rivier University Admission 2027
Rivier University admissions runs Fall and Spring intakes on a rolling basis. Fall (August) is the primary intake for most Indian graduate applicants; the university has no hard cutoff but recommends completing files at least 60 days before term start.
| Milestone | Date | Notes for Indian Applicants |
|---|---|---|
| Spring 2027 recommended application deadline | 15 November 2026 | Rolling; earlier submission preferred for visa timing |
| Fall 2027 recommended application deadline | 15 June 2027 | Rolling; MSN clinical placements may close earlier |
| Credential evaluation (WES course-by-course) | Start 6 to 8 weeks before submission | Full course-by-course evaluation is mandatory |
| F-1 visa financial documentation | Within 30 days of I-20 issue | Bank statements less than 12 months old required |
| Programme start | Spring: 12 January 2027; Fall: 30 August 2027 | Orientation runs the week before classes begin |
Planning note: Indian applicants targeting the January 2027 Spring intake should complete WES evaluation by early October 2026. The Chennai and Mumbai US consulates typically require 4 to 6 weeks for F-1 visa slots during the winter cycle.
Read More: Rivier University Admissions Guide for Indian Students
Rivier University Admission Requirements for Indian Applicants 2027
Rivier University admission requirements apply uniform academic and English thresholds to Indian graduate applicants, with programme-specific add-ons for nursing and counselling tracks.
- PG academic eligibility: Bachelor’s from a recognised Indian university with 55% or CGPA 5.5/10 (recommended); BSN and active RN licence required for MSN nurse practitioner tracks.
- English proficiency: TOEFL iBT 61 (or 3.5/6 on the new scale), IELTS 5.5, PTE 49, Duolingo 95; verify at Rivier International Admissions.
- Credential verification: WES course-by-course evaluation of all post-secondary transcripts, translated into English where required.
- UG eligibility: Class 12 with 60% to 70% (recommended); essay of 1 to 2 pages and one letter of recommendation.
GRE and GMAT are not required for MBA or MS programmes at Rivier University. English test waivers apply only for Indian applicants with US degrees or two-plus years of US academic study.
Key insight: Rivier University waives the English test requirement only for Indian applicants with US or Anglophone-country academic history. A bachelor’s completed entirely in English medium at an Indian university does not qualify for the waiver by itself.
Rivier University Acceptance Rate 2027
Rivier University reports an overall acceptance rate of 83%, positioning it as a somewhat selective US regional private university. The rate applies to all applicants and Rivier does not publish separate figures for international or Indian applicants.
| Year | Acceptance Rate | Trend |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 83% | Stable |
| 2025 | 82% (estimated) | Stable |
Indian applicants meeting the recommended 55% bachelor’s threshold and English test minimums typically receive admission decisions within 4 to 6 weeks of a completed file. Rivier University reviews Indian graduate applications holistically and weighs work experience and statement of purpose alongside academic transcripts.
Reality check: An 83% acceptance rate makes Rivier University an accessible target for Indian applicants with mid-band scores. The F-1 visa officer becomes the effective gatekeeper; a strong financial capacity statement matters as much as the admission letter.
Read More: Rivier University Acceptance Rate
Rivier University Fees and Cost of Living for Indian Students 2027
Total annual cost of attendance for a full-time international graduate student at Rivier University sits between $40,000 and $52,280 (₹38.0 to ₹49.6 lakh). The band shifts with housing choice, dining plan and programme credit load.
Rivier University Tuition Fees for Indian Students 2027
Tuition is billed per credit for graduate programmes and at a flat annual rate for undergraduate full-time students, per the official 2026-2027 rate schedule.
| Level | Annual fee ($) | Annual fee (₹ lakh) |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate (full-time) | $32,440 | ₹30.8 lakh |
| Graduate (12 credits, most programmes) | $8,796 | ₹8.3 lakh |
| Graduate MS Computer Science (12 credits) | $8,928 | ₹8.5 lakh |
| New student one-time fee | $270 | ₹0.3 lakh |
[Source: Rivier University Student Accounts, 2026-2027]
Monthly Cost of Living in Nashua for Rivier University Indian Students
Nashua sits along the New Hampshire and Massachusetts border. Living costs run roughly 17% above the US national average, driven mostly by housing.
| Category | Monthly ($) | Monthly (₹) |
|---|---|---|
| Accommodation (shared 1BR) | $900 (estimated) | ₹85,410 |
| Food and groceries | $450 (estimated) | ₹42,705 |
| Transportation | $120 (estimated) | ₹11,388 |
| Books and supplies | $100 (estimated) | ₹9,490 |
| Personal and utilities | $320 (estimated) | ₹30,368 |
| Total monthly | $1,890 | ₹1.79 lakh |
| Total annual | $22,680 | ₹21.5 lakh |
[Source: Nashua rental and living-cost aggregates 2026]
Insider note: Indian graduate students at Rivier University commonly split 2-bedroom apartments in East Nashua or along the university shuttle route. Shared housing brings effective rent under $750 per person; on-campus residence halls start at $5,870 per semester.
Read More: Study in USA Guide for Indian Students
Rivier University Campus, Facilities and Student Life
Rivier University occupies a 68-acre urban campus in Nashua, New Hampshire. It sits roughly 45 minutes north of Boston, served by the Nashua Transit System and Manchester-Boston Regional Airport.
- Location and access: 45 minutes to Boston by car or bus; the Nashua Exchange bus terminal connects to Logan Airport for arrivals from India.
- On-campus housing: $5,870 to $9,690 per academic year across residence halls; graduate students are accommodated on a space-permitting basis.
- Notable facilities: The Regina Library, a 24-hour computing centre, Muldoon Fitness Center and dedicated Computer Science and AI research labs.
- Indian student community: A small but active South Asian network runs cultural events, supported by advising through the Office of International Students.
What Indian students say: Recent graduate cohorts describe Nashua as a quieter and cheaper alternative to Boston with the same recruiter access. Small class sizes and faculty accessibility in MS Computer Science are the main draws over larger public universities.
Rivier University Scholarships 2027
Rivier University publishes four institutional scholarships, all undergraduate merit-based. Graduate international applicants must approach the Office of Financial Aid directly for teaching assistantship options.
| Scholarship | Type | Award value | Eligibility | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Founder’s Merit Scholarship | UG merit | Up to $24,000/year (₹22.8 lakh) | Incoming full-time freshmen, academic record | Rolling with admission |
| Joanne and William Conway Nursing Scholarship | UG programme-specific | $20,000 over 4 years (₹19.0 lakh) | Full-time BSN Nursing students | Verify at Rivier financial aid office |
| Transfer Scholarship | UG transfer merit | $15,000 to $19,000 (₹14.2 to 18.0 lakh) | Transfer students from accredited institutions | Rolling with transfer admission |
| Samuel A. Tamposi Sr. Scholarship | UG regional merit | Value not publicly disclosed | Freshmen from Nashua and surrounding area | Verify at Rivier financial aid office |
[Source: Rivier University Office of Financial Aid]
Planning note: Indian graduate applicants should pair the per-credit billing model with external India-USA scholarships. Options include the Inlaks Shivdasani, KC Mahindra and JN Tata Endowment awards, since Rivier University does not publish an institutional graduate merit scholarship for international students.
Read More: Rivier University Scholarships Guide
Rivier University Rankings 2027
Rivier University appears in U.S. News Best Regional Universities North at the #142-187 tier. It is not ranked in the QS World, Times Higher Education World or ARWU editions, consistent with US private regional universities of its size.
| Ranking Body | Latest Edition | Previous Edition | Two Editions Back |
|---|---|---|---|
| U.S. News Best Regional Universities North | 2026: #142-187 tier | 2025: similar tier band | 2024: similar tier band |
| QS World University Rankings | Not ranked in QS 2027 | Not ranked in QS 2026 | Not ranked in QS 2025 |
| Times Higher Education World | Not ranked in THE 2026 | Not ranked in THE 2025 | Not ranked in THE 2024 |
| ARWU Shanghai | Not ranked in ARWU 2026 | Not ranked in ARWU 2025 | Not ranked in ARWU 2024 |
[Source: U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, QS, THE, ARWU]
Key insight: The U.S. News Regional Universities North tier position is enough for F-1 visa officers to recognise Rivier University as an accredited degree grantor. STEM designation on MS Computer Science and MS Applied AI makes the OPT-plus-STEM extension the practical value driver, not the world ranking.
Read More: Rivier University Rankings Analysis
Rivier University Placements and Career Outcomes 2027
Rivier University does not publish a single central placement rate; career outcomes are tracked programme by programme through the Career and Life Success office.
- Employment outcomes: Institutional placement rate not disclosed at university level; the Career and Life Success office runs employer meetups each semester.
- Median starting salary: $65,000 (₹61.7 lakh) market median for MS Computer Science graduates in the Boston-Nashua corridor; university-specific median not disclosed.
- Recruiters and sectors: Healthcare, technology and education employers across Nashua and Greater Boston; representative rather than committed hiring partners.
- Post-study work visa: 12-month OPT for all F-1 graduates; STEM OPT 24-month extension applies to MS Computer Science and MS Applied Artificial Intelligence.
- Career support: Resume and interview preparation, employer expos and alumni network of 23,000 across the New England region.
Insider note: Indian graduates from Rivier University’s MS Computer Science and MS Applied AI tracks typically transition into Boston-area technology and financial-services roles during OPT. They lean on Nashua’s proximity to Route 128 employers rather than Nashua-only recruiter pipelines.
Rivier University vs Peer Universities
Peer benchmarks below compare Rivier University against similarly sized private northeastern universities that Indian students commonly cross-apply with on tuition and market positioning.
| University | U.S. News Regional Tier | Avg Annual PG Fee ($) | Avg Annual PG Fee (₹ lakh) | Differentiator |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rivier University | North #142-187 | $8,796 | ₹8.3 lakh | Lowest per-credit STEM tuition in the group |
| Southern New Hampshire University | North #77-115 | $18,810 (estimated) | ₹17.8 lakh | Larger cohort, stronger online MBA presence |
| Franklin Pierce University | North #142-187 | $15,000 (estimated) | ₹14.2 lakh | Health sciences and physician-assistant strength |
| Saint Anselm College | North Liberal Arts tier | $21,000 (estimated) | ₹19.9 lakh | Liberal arts identity, limited grad offerings |
| Merrimack College | North #77-115 | $17,500 (estimated) | ₹16.6 lakh | Boston-area MBA and analytics reputation |
Note: Peer selection here focuses on similarly sized private northeastern universities that Indian applicants shortlist alongside Rivier University. Larger research universities such as Boston University or Northeastern sit in a different tier and price bracket.
Rivier University stands out on absolute affordability and small STEM class sizes. Peers such as Southern New Hampshire and Merrimack lead on cohort scale and MBA recruiter access. Indian applicants selecting Rivier University typically prioritise the OPT-eligible STEM masters at the lowest per-credit rate in the region.
Rivier University suits Indian students who want an accredited US STEM master’s or MBA at a total two-year investment near ₹25 lakh. Small classes and the Nashua-Boston corridor deliver STEM OPT-friendly recruiter access with a $65,000 median MS starting salary, one of the strongest ROI plays across smaller US regional universities.
Rivier University is not the right choice for Indian applicants who need a top-100 QS or THE brand for global mobility outside the US, or who require a full-fee institutional scholarship at the graduate level. Applicants prioritising world rank or funded MS options should consider larger northeastern research universities with published fellowship programmes.
Rivier University FAQs
Ques. Which online master’s programmes does Rivier University offer to Indian students?
Ans. Rivier University offers online master’s degrees in Computer Information Systems, Applied Artificial Intelligence, four MBA specialisations (Management, Cybersecurity Leadership, Healthcare Administration, Information Technology Management), Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Psychology and four MSN nurse practitioner tracks. Indian applicants can enrol in these online programmes from India, though online-only enrolment does not qualify for F-1 visa sponsorship or the post-study OPT work permit.
Ques. Can F-1 students work part-time on campus at Rivier University?
Ans. Yes, F-1 students at Rivier can work up to 20 hours per week on campus during academic terms and up to 40 hours during official breaks. On-campus jobs are available through the library, dining services, IT helpdesk and departmental teaching or research assistant roles. Pay rates are pegged to New Hampshire minimum wage plus small premiums for skilled roles.
Ques. Does Rivier University waive GRE or GMAT scores for Indian applicants?
Ans. Rivier University does not require GRE or GMAT scores for any master’s programme, including MS Computer Science, MS Applied Artificial Intelligence and MBA specialisations. Indian applicants submit transcripts, English proficiency scores, a statement of purpose, one letter of recommendation and a resume. Test-optional review is the standard admission pathway for graduate international applicants.
Ques. What is the graduate application fee at Rivier University?
Ans. Rivier charges a graduate application fee of $15 (₹1,424) and an undergraduate application fee of $25 (₹2,373). Both fees are payable online at the time of submission. The university does not publish a formal fee waiver policy for Indian applicants, though prospective students can request a waiver in writing from the Office of Admissions if financial hardship applies.
Ques. Which Indian banks approve education loans for Rivier University?
Ans. Rivier University is recognised by major Indian public banks including SBI, Bank of Baroda and Punjab National Bank, as well as private lenders HDFC Credila, Avanse, Auxilo and InCred. Loans are available up to ₹1.5 crore against the I-20 and financial documentation. Collateral-free loans typically cap at ₹40 lakh for accredited US master’s programmes at Rivier.
Ques. How much financial proof does Rivier University require for the F-1 visa?
Ans. Rivier requires financial documentation showing at least $36,517 (₹34.6 lakh) for graduate applicants and $53,218 to $54,855 (₹50.5 to 52.0 lakh) for undergraduate applicants. This covers one academic year of tuition, fees and living expenses. Bank statements must be less than 12 months old and cover the applicant, sponsor and immediate family funding sources.
Ques. Are Indian bachelor’s degrees accepted directly for Rivier master’s admission?
Ans. Three-year and four-year Indian bachelor’s degrees are accepted for master’s admission at Rivier University after WES course-by-course evaluation. A three-year BA or BCom typically maps to a US bachelor’s when combined with a one-year postgraduate diploma. Four-year BTech, BE and BSc degrees are accepted without additional coursework requirement for most master’s tracks.
Ques. Does Rivier University offer conditional admission for lower English test scores?
Ans. Rivier University offers conditional admission linked to on-campus English language study for applicants who fall short of TOEFL 61, IELTS 5.5, PTE 49 or Duolingo 95 minimums but meet other academic requirements. Conditional admits complete an intensive English programme before beginning graduate coursework. F-1 status transitions to full degree enrolment only after reaching the minimum test score.
Rivier University Program Fees & Deadlines
| Program | Important Dates | Fees | Eligibility | Financial Aid |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| INR 12.8 L/Yr USD 13,392 /Yr | Duolingo-95 |
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here
Top Recommended Courses
Do you think the fees are wrong ? Report Here
Course Finder - Search from 50K+ courses
Popular Streams:
Rivier University Scholarships
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BeArt Presets-Academic Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 2.4 L/Yr$2,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Chuan Ai Lu Engstrom Memorial Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 95,580/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Jagdish Bhagwati Fellowship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Bharat Petroleum Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Comindware Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 3.8 L/Yr$4,000 | Level Of StudyApprenticeship | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific |
Do you think the Scholarship is wrong ? Report Here
Rivier University Admissions
Application Portal: https://apply.rivier.edu/
Attendance Cost
The table shows average yearly cost of attendance for international students. Amount may vary with the course opted, nature of accommodation, and personal spending habits of a candidate.Check Program wise Fees



.png?h=90&w=90&mode=stretch)














Comments