Solent University Admissions 2026: Application Deadline, Eligibility & Fees

Solent University Admissions 2026: Application Deadline, Eligibility & Fees

Southampton, EnglandLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1856established year
8860enrollment
Public
3.7/10
Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Sep 20, 2026

Admission Status: Open. The September 2027 primary intake is live through UCAS (undergraduate) and Solent’s direct portal (postgraduate). The UCAS 2027 undergraduate cycle opened for submissions on 1 September 2026, with the equal consideration deadline on 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time. The UCAS application fee is GBP 34.50 (INR 4,443) for up to five choices; Solent charges no separate fee for direct postgraduate applications. The January 2027 intake also remains open for a smaller set of postgraduate courses.

Solent University admissions run on a two-intake cycle for Indian applicants, with September as the main entry point and January as a smaller top-up window. Undergraduate entry needs Class XII at around 60 to 65 percent or equivalent for direct entry, and postgraduate entry needs a Bachelor’s degree at second-division standard (around 50 to 55 percent) with the required English score.

  • Next live deadline: UCAS equal consideration on 13 January 2027 for the September 2027 primary intake, with direct postgraduate applications open on a rolling basis until August 2027.
  • Base tuition and application fee: International tuition sits at GBP 11,000 to GBP 17,750 (INR 14.17 to 22.86 Lakhs) per year for undergraduate and GBP 10,400 to GBP 18,350 (INR 13.39 to 23.63 Lakhs) per year for postgraduate; the UCAS application fee is GBP 34.50 (INR 4,443), with no separate fee for direct postgraduate applications.
  • Basic eligibility: Class XII at 60 to 65 percent for UG plus IELTS 6.0 overall (5.5 in each band); Bachelor’s at second division for PG plus IELTS 6.5 overall (6.0 in writing, 5.5 in others).
  • Acceptance rate: Estimated at 70 to 80 percent, based on modern UK university admissions patterns; the university does not publish an official institutional figure.

Popular routes for Indian applicants include the MBA Global, MSc Project Management, MSc Data Analytics and BSc Software Engineering, with strong industry links in the south-coast maritime, media and creative sectors. Peer reviews on the Solent University overview page mostly cite the applied teaching style, small class sizes and quick admissions turnaround as the reasons applicants choose Solent over larger competitors.

Table of Contents

Solent University Application Deadlines

Solent University runs two international intakes per year, with September as the primary intake carrying the widest programme choice and January as a smaller top-up window. Undergraduate applications route through UCAS, and postgraduate applications go directly through Solent’s applicant portal, per the Solent international applicants page. The UCAS 2027 undergraduate cycle opened for submissions to universities on 1 September 2026.

Currency note: All INR figures in this article use GBP 1 = INR 128.78, the live rate on 20 September 2026. Live rates may vary, so confirm with your bank before remitting.

Solent University’s primary intake for Indian students is September, when almost every undergraduate and postgraduate programme opens.

IntakeLevelApp OpensDeadlineApp FeePortal
September 2027 (Primary intake)UG1 September 202613 January 2027, 18:00 UK time (UCAS equal consideration)GBP 34.50 (INR 4,443)UCAS
September 2027 (Primary intake)PGOpen (rolling)Rolling until 31 August 2027No application feeSolent applicant portal
September 2027UG (late)14 January 202730 June 2027 (UCAS late applications)GBP 34.50 (INR 4,443)UCAS
January 2027PGOpen (rolling)15 November 2026No application feeSolent applicant portal

Planning note: Indian applicants aiming for the September 2027 intake should target the 13 January 2027 UCAS window because most CAS letters and visa slots move quickest for applicants inside that window.


Solent University Eligibility for Indian Students

Solent University sets separate academic and English floors for undergraduate and postgraduate entry, with programme-level top-ups where a subject prerequisite applies. The floors below come from the Solent India country page and the institution-wide language entry criteria, which any Indian applicant can meet without extra pathway study in most cases.

Solent University Academic Requirements for Indian Applicants

  • UG direct entry: Class XII with 60 to 65 percent from CBSE, ISC or a recognised state board, or A-level equivalent.
  • UG foundation year: Class XII with 50 percent or above, useful when the direct floor is missed.
  • PG entry: Bachelor’s degree at second division, roughly 50 to 55 percent, from a UGC-recognised university.
  • MBA Global: Bachelor’s degree at second class honours, roughly 55 percent plus, with work experience welcomed but not required.

Solent University English Language Requirements

LevelIELTSTOEFL iBTDuolingo
Foundation5.5 overallNot specifiedNot specified
Undergraduate (degree level)6.0 overall (5.5 in each)80 (20 in each)100 (90 in each)
Postgraduate6.5 overall (6.0 writing, 5.5 others)92 (22 writing, 19 others)110

Solent accepts both Academic IELTS and UKVI IELTS, and the score must be less than two years old on the intake start date. Solent does not publish a blanket medium-of-instruction waiver for Indian applicants, so plan to sit an English test even if your Bachelor’s was taught in English. Applicants who miss the score by 0.5 band can often join Solent’s pre-sessional English programme instead of resitting the test.


Solent University PG Programs and English Scores

Postgraduate courses at Solent University run for one year full-time and start in September, with a smaller set repeating in January. Base tuition sits between GBP 10,400 and GBP 18,350 (INR 13.39 to 23.63 Lakhs) per year; for the exact per-course figure and any placement-year top-up, see the course-wise fees breakdown. Every row below carries the institution-wide English floor, which the course page can raise but not lower.

ProgrammeDurationMinimum EligibilityEnglish Req. Min.
MBA Global1 yearBachelor’s at second class honours (around 55 percent plus)IELTS 6.5
MSc Project Management1 yearBachelor’s at second division, any disciplineIELTS 6.5
MSc Data Analytics1 yearBachelor’s with a quantitative or computing backgroundIELTS 6.5
MSc Computer Engineering1 yearBachelor’s in computing, electronics or a related engineering disciplineIELTS 6.5
MSc Cyber Security1 yearBachelor’s in computer science, IT or a related disciplineIELTS 6.5
MSc International Business1 yearBachelor’s at second division, any disciplineIELTS 6.5
MA International Journalism1 yearBachelor’s in journalism, media or a humanities disciplineIELTS 6.5
MSc Digital Marketing1 yearBachelor’s at second division, any disciplineIELTS 6.5

Insider note: Solent’s postgraduate offer letters for Indian applicants usually land within two to four weeks of a complete application, which is quicker than the eight-week window at most Russell Group PG programmes.

Note: Program-specific entry requirements, fees, and intake availability may differ from the institution-wide minimums shown above. Always confirm on the official Solent University page for your chosen program before applying.


Solent University UG Entry Requirements

Solent University undergraduate degrees run for three years full-time, with an optional professional placement year that stretches the total to four. Indian Class XII applicants apply through UCAS with an academic reference and personal statement; the direct entry floor sits at 60 to 65 percent, and the foundation year opens at 50 percent for applicants below the direct floor. Base tuition for international UG courses sits between GBP 11,000 and GBP 17,750 (INR 14.17 to 22.86 Lakhs) per year, per Solent’s 2026-27 schedule.

ProgrammeDurationMinimum EligibilityEnglish Req. Min.
BSc Software Engineering3 yearsClass XII with 60 percent, Mathematics through Class XII preferredIELTS 6.0
BSc Cyber Security3 yearsClass XII with 60 percentIELTS 6.0
BA Business Management3 yearsClass XII with 60 percentIELTS 6.0
BA Fashion Media3 yearsClass XII with 60 percent, portfolio for creative disciplinesIELTS 6.0
BSc Football Studies and Business3 yearsClass XII with 60 percentIELTS 6.0

Portfolio-led courses in fashion, film, photography and music production may request a short digital portfolio at offer stage; the Solent admissions team confirms the format after the UCAS application is received. Applicants short on the direct 60 percent floor should apply to the matching foundation year rather than skip the intake.


Solent University MBA Global Admissions

The Solent University MBA Global is a one-year full-time programme aimed at early-career and mid-career Indian applicants who want a UK degree without a GMAT or GRE requirement. Entry needs a Bachelor’s degree at second class honours (roughly 55 percent plus), with work experience considered desirable rather than mandatory. Base tuition falls within the postgraduate GBP 10,400 to GBP 18,350 range (INR 13.39 to 23.63 Lakhs), so confirm the current fee on the MBA Global course page before you commit.

Solent University MBA Entry Route for Indian Applicants

  • Academic floor: Bachelor’s at second class honours from a UGC-recognised university.
  • English floor: IELTS 6.5 overall with 6.0 in writing and 5.5 in each of reading, listening and speaking.
  • Work experience: Not mandatory, but a clear statement of interest in business or enterprise is expected.
  • Standardised tests: No GMAT or GRE required; Solent’s assessment is transcript, personal statement and English test.
  • Interview: Not a standard step; admissions may request a short video call for borderline profiles.

Solent University MBA Intake Cycles

The MBA Global opens for September 2027 entry through the direct Solent postgraduate portal, with a smaller January 2027 cohort still accepting applications through 15 November 2026. Applicants without a placement-year top-up finish the taught year by August 2028 and become eligible for the UK Graduate Route work visa.

Note: Program-specific entry requirements, fees, and intake availability may differ from the institution-wide minimums shown above. Always confirm on the official Solent University India page for your chosen program before applying.


Solent University Application Process

The Solent University application process splits by level: undergraduate applicants file through UCAS, and postgraduate applicants apply directly through Solent’s own portal. Both routes accept online scanned documents, and Solent does not require paper originals until enrolment. The steps below track the fastest path from application to CAS letter for an Indian applicant.

  1. Register and choose route. Undergraduate applicants register on the UCAS Undergraduate portal (the 2027 cycle opened on 1 September 2026), then add Solent as one of up to five choices. Postgraduate applicants create an account on the Solent applicant portal.
  2. Pay the application fee. UCAS charges GBP 34.50 (INR 4,443) per undergraduate application, covering all five choices; Solent charges no separate fee for direct postgraduate applications.
  3. Upload documents. Transcripts, degree or Class XII certificate, IELTS/TOEFL score, passport bio page, personal statement and one academic reference for postgraduate applicants (two for competitive courses).
  4. Submit and track. UCAS forwards the application to Solent within a day; direct postgraduate applications land instantly in the Solent portal.
  5. Receive the decision. Solent typically issues a decision within two to four weeks for a complete application; portfolio-led courses may take longer.
  6. Accept and pay the deposit. Firm the offer, pay the international tuition deposit stated in the offer letter, and request the Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) once conditions are met.
  7. Apply for the UK Student visa. Use the CAS letter to book a UK Student visa slot at the nearest VFS Global centre in India.

Insider note: Postgraduate applicants who upload every document (including the IELTS score) at the first submission see conditional-to-unconditional turnarounds inside two weeks, which shortens the deposit and CAS window by nearly a month.


Solent University Admission Decisions and Timeline

Solent University issues most decisions on a rolling basis, and the offer type depends on whether an applicant has already met every academic and English condition at the point of submission. The rough timeline below covers what Indian applicants typically see between application and CAS.

  • Decision turnaround: Two to four weeks from a complete application, faster for direct postgraduate submissions and slower for UCAS routes near the January peak.
  • Offer types: Unconditional if all requirements are met; conditional if English test, final transcript or financial proof is pending.
  • Acceptance deadline: The offer letter lists a firm deadline, usually four to six weeks from the issue date; ask admissions for an extension if the visa slot is delayed.
  • Deposit: A tuition deposit stated in the offer letter is required before CAS is issued; the exact figure is set per course.
  • Deferral: Solent generally allows a one-intake deferral to the next September or January cycle for compassionate or visa-delay reasons; the request is made in writing to admissions.

Documents Required for Solent University

The document set below covers what Solent University asks for at the application stage plus the extras that only apply after an offer is accepted. Every document can be uploaded as a scanned PDF; certified originals are only checked at on-campus enrolment.

Solent University Application-Stage Documents

  • Passport bio page (valid for the full study period, plus six months).
  • Class XII marksheet and passing certificate for undergraduate applicants.
  • Bachelor’s degree provisional or final certificate plus consolidated marksheet for postgraduate applicants.
  • IELTS, TOEFL iBT or Duolingo score report (less than two years old).
  • Personal statement of 400 to 600 words tailored to the chosen course.
  • One academic reference letter for postgraduate applicants, two for competitive courses.
  • Updated CV for postgraduate and MBA applicants, listing work experience and projects.
  • Portfolio link for creative and media courses (fashion, film, photography, music production).

Solent University Post-Offer and Visa-Stage Documents

  • Deposit payment receipt against the tuition figure named in the offer letter.
  • Financial proof for the UK Student visa: tuition (minus deposit) plus nine months of maintenance.
  • 28-day bank statement or education loan sanction letter dated within 31 days of visa submission.
  • ATAS certificate for select engineering, science and technology postgraduate courses when named in the CAS.
  • TB test certificate from an IOM-approved clinic in India.

Solent University Acceptance Rate

Solent University does not publish an official institutional acceptance rate, so any figure quoted for planning purposes is a third-party estimate. Based on modern UK university admissions patterns and Solent’s stated open-entry stance, the acceptance rate is estimated at 70 to 80 percent across most programmes for applicants who meet the academic and English floors.

How Selective is Solent University for Indian Applicants

Solent operates as an accessible modern university, not a highly selective research institution, so Indian applicants who clear the Class XII or Bachelor’s floor plus IELTS 6.0/6.5 usually receive an offer. Portfolio-led creative courses see tighter selection because the portfolio itself is the ranking mechanism, not the transcript.

Solent University Selectivity by Programme Type

  • Business, management and MBA: Open acceptance for applicants at the stated floor.
  • Computing and cyber security: Open acceptance with a subject-relevant Bachelor’s for PG.
  • Creative and media: Portfolio drives the decision, so the raw admit rate is lower.
  • Maritime and yacht design: Niche courses with strong industry links, moderate selectivity.

Insider note: The accessible admit rate is not a signal to under-prepare; Indian applicants who submit polished statements and matching transcripts often move to unconditional status inside three weeks, which is the real value of an accessible entry threshold.

For a full peer comparison across other UK modern universities, cross-check the Solent University ranking band before locking in a firm and insurance choice.


UK Student Visa for Solent University Applicants

Indian applicants heading to Solent University need a UK Student visa (subclass Student route), applied through VFS Global in India after the CAS letter is issued. The visa needs a valid CAS, tuition deposit proof, and 28-day maintained financial proof for tuition plus living costs. Southampton is classed as outside London for the maintenance calculation, so the lower monthly figure applies.

The UK Home Office visa fee is around GBP 524 (INR 67,481) per applicant, and the Immigration Health Surcharge is GBP 776 (INR 99,933) per year of the course. From 30 November 2026 the maintenance floor rises to GBP 1,203 (INR 1.55 Lakhs) per month outside London for up to nine months, or GBP 10,827 (INR 13.94 Lakhs) in total. On arrival, register with a local GP and confirm your Biometric Residence Permit collection point within ten days.

2026 update: The maintenance threshold outside London rose on 30 November 2026; Indian applicants for the January 2027 intake must show the new GBP 1,203 (INR 1.55 Lakhs) monthly figure in their financial proof, not the older GBP 1,136 rate.

Solent University Admissions Tips and Checklist

The following tips and steps are drawn from Indian-applicant patterns at Solent University over the past two intake cycles. Timeline-anchored steps use the September 2027 primary intake as the reference point.

  • Book IELTS 12 to 14 weeks out so a resit is possible before the offer window closes.
  • Request Class XII or Bachelor’s transcripts eight weeks before the deadline to cover board-issued certified copies.
  • Submit UCAS by mid-December 2026 for the September 2027 intake to sit inside the equal consideration deadline.
  • Pay the tuition deposit within 10 days of accepting the offer to lock in a CAS letter slot.
  • Open the 28-day maintained account at least 35 days before the planned visa submission.
  • Book the visa biometrics slot the same week the CAS letter lands, since VFS peak-season slots fill quickly.
  • Register with a Solent-approved India representative if the direct route feels heavy; the India page lists 27 named agents.
  • Aim for at least 0.5 IELTS band above the floor to avoid pre-sessional English routing after the offer is issued.
  • Check the Solent University funding for Indian students before paying the deposit; a scholarship award reduces the deposit balance.

Solent University admissions stay accessible for Indian applicants who plan around the September primary intake, hit the Class XII or Bachelor’s floor and clear the IELTS band. File early inside the UCAS window, keep the postgraduate portal upload tight, and the offer letter and CAS usually land in time for a smooth Student visa run.


Solent University Admissions: Frequently Asked Questions

Ques. When does Solent University’s September 2027 intake close for Indian applicants?

Ans. Undergraduate applications via UCAS close for equal consideration at 18:00 UK time on 13 January 2027; postgraduate direct applications stay open on a rolling basis until 31 August 2027.

Ques. What is the minimum IELTS score for Solent University?

Ans. Undergraduate courses need IELTS 6.0 overall with 5.5 in each band, and postgraduate courses need IELTS 6.5 overall with 6.0 in writing and 5.5 in the other three bands.

Ques. Does Solent University charge an application fee for Indian students?

Ans. Direct postgraduate applications carry no Solent application fee; undergraduate applications via UCAS carry the standard UCAS fee of GBP 34.50 (INR 4,443) for up to five choices.

Ques. What Class XII percentage does Solent University need for direct undergraduate entry?

Ans. Direct entry needs Class XII at 60 to 65 percent from a recognised Indian board; applicants below this floor can enter the matching foundation year at 50 percent.

Ques. Does Solent University need GMAT or GRE for the MBA Global?

Ans. No, the Solent MBA Global does not require GMAT or GRE; admissions is based on the Bachelor’s transcript, personal statement and IELTS 6.5.

Ques. How long does Solent University take to issue an offer letter?

Ans. Complete applications typically receive a decision within two to four weeks; portfolio-led creative courses can take slightly longer due to portfolio review.

Ques. Does Solent University waive IELTS for Indian applicants with English-medium schooling?

Ans. Solent does not publish a blanket medium-of-instruction waiver for Indian applicants, so plan to sit IELTS, TOEFL iBT or Duolingo even if prior study was in English.

Ques. What is Solent University’s acceptance rate for international students?

Ans. The acceptance rate is estimated at 70 to 80 percent based on modern UK university admissions patterns; Solent does not publish an official institutional figure.

Ques. Which documents does Solent University require at application?

Ans. Passport bio page, Class XII or Bachelor’s marksheets, IELTS score, personal statement, one or two academic references for postgraduate applicants, plus a CV for MBA applicants and a portfolio for creative courses.

Ques. Can I defer my Solent University offer to the next intake?

Ans. Yes, Solent typically allows a one-intake deferral to the next September or January cycle for genuine reasons like a visa delay; the request must be sent in writing to admissions.

Ques. How much financial proof is needed for the Solent University Student visa?

Ans. The tuition balance minus deposit plus GBP 1,203 (INR 1.55 Lakhs) per month for up to nine months, maintained for 28 consecutive days from 30 November 2026 for applicants outside London.

Ques. Does Solent University accept Duolingo English Test for international applicants?

Ans. Yes, Solent accepts Duolingo at 100 overall with 90 in each subskill for undergraduate courses and 110 overall for postgraduate courses.

Solent University Program Fees & Deadlines

ProgramImportant DatesFeesEligibilityFinancial Aid
Application Deadline For June 2026 Intake (17th Apr 2026)
INR 24.9 L/Yr
GBP 19,500 /Yr
IELTS- 6.5, TOEFL -5 , DUOLINGO- 115
Application Deadline For February 2026 Intake (12th Jan 2026)
Application Deadline For June 2026 Intake (11th May 2026)
INR 21.8 L/Yr
GBP 17,065 /Yr
Duolingo-110
-
Application Deadline For June 2026 Intake (9th Aug 2026)
INR 23.5 L/Yr
GBP 18,350 /Yr
IELTS- 6.5, TOEFL -5.0 , DUOLINGO- 115
Application Deadline For February 2026 Intake (12th Jan 2026)
Application Deadline For June 2026 Intake (11th May 2026)
INR 21.8 L/Yr
GBP 17,065 /Yr
Duolingo-110
-
Application Deadline For February 2026 Intake (12th Jan 2026)
Application Deadline For June 2026 Intake (11th May 2026)
INR 21.8 L/Yr
GBP 17,065 /Yr
Duolingo-110
-
Application Deadline For February 2026 Intake (12th Jan 2026)
Application Deadline For June 2026 Intake (11th May 2026)
INR 21.8 L/Yr
GBP 17,065 /Yr
Duolingo-110
-
Application deadline February 2026 (12th Jan 2026)
INR 24.4 L/Yr
GBP 19,081 /Yr
IELTS- 6.0, TOEFL -4.5 , DUOLINGO- 115
Application Deadline For February 2026 Intake (12th Jan 2026)
Application Deadline For June 2026 Intake (11th May 2026)
INR 21.8 L/Yr
GBP 17,065 /Yr
Duolingo-110
-

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

Reviews


StreamDegree TypeStudent StatusNationalityBatchCourse
Sort By :
Newest First

Business (1)

1 Reviews Found

KS
3.7 /10

Overview

Not very good, it's an average university, not a good campus areas, no parking, professors are also not that much helpful to teach a specific subject

Scholarship

No

academic: 6/10
faculty: 5/10
infrastructure: 7/10
accomodation: 3/10
placement: 1/10

Comments


No Comments To Show
Videos

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling