Master of Science [M.S] (Information Systems)
Field of Study:
$34,524 /Yr
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor Master of Science in Information Systems (MSIS) is a 30-hour graduate programme in Belton, Texas, with flexible hybrid delivery. The university describes a two-year part-time path, and international students need 9 credits for F-1 status. Admission needs a 3.0/4.0, with India equivalent 75% to 80% or 7.5 to 8.0/10; Spring 2027 charges are US$37,450 (INR 35.82 Lakhs).
The curriculum balances managerial and technical work across technology management, databases, infrastructure, data mining, programming, enterprise resource planning, security and implementation. That mix suits applicants who want systems analysis or technology leadership without needing a prior Information Systems or Computer Science degree. For international students, the optional Information Systems concentration matters for the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) route.
- The course accepts Fall, Spring and Summer starts, which helps applicants who miss a single annual intake.
- No standardised admission test score is required for MSIS admission.
- The university schedules required F-1 residency days twice each semester, giving the hybrid model a defined campus component.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Spring 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: Expected 31 October 2026.
UMHB publishes no hard MSIS deadline and recommends completing the international application by the end of October for a January start. Indian applicants should submit the paid application and full document set within that window because the exact portal cutoff time is not published.
Also Check: University of Mary Hardin-Baylor MSIS admission
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor MSIS Fees and Living Costs 2027
The Spring 2027 intake falls within UMHB’s 2026-27 academic year, so the current master’s rate is US$1,160 per credit (INR 1.11 Lakhs). The 30-hour MSIS estimate below multiplies the published rate components and separates the university’s 28-hour annual Cost of Attendance benchmark from the course charge.
Fee basis: The calculation uses the university’s 2026-27 master’s rates for tuition, general service, technology and transportation fees. The checked figures appear on the 2026-27 UMHB cost sheet.
Target-cycle fee calculation: These figures apply to Spring 2027 planning at the published 2026-27 rates, and the university may change future prices.
| Charge | Official calculation basis | Amount (US$) | Amount (INR equivalent) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 30 credits at US$1,160 (INR 1.11 Lakhs) per credit | US$34,800 | INR 33.28 Lakhs |
| General service fee | 30 credits at US$60 (INR 5,738) per credit | US$1,800 | INR 1.72 Lakhs |
| Technology fee | 30 credits at US$25 (INR 2,391) per credit | US$750 | INR 71,726 |
| Transportation fee | Two semesters at US$50 (INR 4,782) per semester | US$100 | INR 9,563 |
| Calculated course institutional charges | Sum of the listed programme components | US$37,450 | INR 35.82 Lakhs |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.6349 as of 18 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
The university’s 2026-27 full-time on-campus Cost of Attendance (COA) is US$56,314 (INR 53.86 Lakhs) for 28 hours per year. It includes tuition and fees, combined living expenses, books, personal costs, transportation and loan fees, so it is a funding benchmark rather than a 30-hour MSIS programme total.
- The listed living-expense estimate is US$14,640 (INR 14.00 Lakhs) for the academic-year benchmark, not a monthly rent figure.
- Official room-and-board options run from US$5,480 (INR 5.24 Lakhs) to US$6,330 (INR 6.05 Lakhs) per semester.
- Apartment-style room charges run from US$3,925 (INR 3.75 Lakhs) to US$6,015 (INR 5.75 Lakhs) per semester.
Cost of Living in Belton for Information Systems Students
The living-cost table keeps UMHB’s combined estimate separate from residence prices and shows monthly equivalents only as annual amounts divided by 12. The university does not publish a course-specific monthly budget for Indian applicants.
| Expense | Monthly (US$) | Monthly (INR equivalent) | Annual (US$) | Annual (INR equivalent) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Living expenses, combined official estimate | US$1,220 | INR 1.17 Lakhs | US$14,640 | INR 14.00 Lakhs |
| Books and supplies | US$55 | INR 5,260 | US$660 | INR 63,119 |
| Miscellaneous and personal | US$268.33 | INR 25,662 | US$3,220 | INR 3.08 Lakhs |
| Transportation | US$240 | INR 22,952 | US$2,880 | INR 2.75 Lakhs |
| Loan fees | US$32.50 | INR 3,108 | US$390 | INR 37,298 |
| Total official non-tuition lines | US$1,815.83 | INR 1.74 Lakhs | US$21,790 | INR 20.84 Lakhs |
A one-year 30-credit illustration adds institutional charges to annual non-tuition lines, producing US$59,240 (INR 56.65 Lakhs). The calculation is US$37,450 (INR 35.82 Lakhs) + US$21,790 (INR 20.84 Lakhs). Adding US$75 (INR 7,173), US$185 (INR 17,692) and US$350 (INR 33,472) gives US$59,850 (INR 57.24 Lakhs) before airfare or health insurance. Because the official COA assumes 28 hours and the MSIS pace can extend over two years, treat this as a one-year planning illustration rather than a full-programme total.
Student perspective
A March 2025 MSIS review described shared accommodation found through student referrals and reported US$700 to US$800 (INR 66,944 to INR 76,508) in monthly expenses. Indian applicants should use the official estimate above, then request current housing quotes because this is one student’s experience; see the student review.
These comments are anecdotal and do not replace official University of Mary Hardin-Baylor data.
Check Out: USA cost of living for international students
Key insight: The annual COA uses 28 hours, so it is not a full MSIS total; fund the 30-hour charges and the terms required by your enrolment plan.
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor MSIS Admission 2027
Admission uses a 3.0 grade-point average, official transcripts and a balanced review of academic and career achievement; prior Information Systems study is not required.
Indian applicants should separate the academic threshold from the international document requirements because UMHB converts transcripts and may request course-by-course evaluation after issuing Form I-20.
Academic Eligibility
The academic screen is flexible on prior subject, but the regular-admission grade-point average and degree conditions remain firm for the standard route.
| Requirement | UMHB rule | Indian applicant reading |
|---|---|---|
| Degree | Bachelor’s degree from a four-year regionally accredited college or university | Use a four-year bachelor’s degree or recognised equivalent; UMHB makes the formal equivalency decision |
| Academic threshold | Minimum 3.0 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale in the final 60 hours or cumulatively | Approximately 75% to 80% or a cumulative grade point average of 7.5 to 8.0 on 10 as a planning range, not an official conversion |
| Prior subject | No previous Information Systems or Computer Science degree is required | Business, engineering, science and other bachelor’s backgrounds may be considered |
| Work experience | No MSIS work-experience minimum is published | Do not apply the international page’s three-year resume rule because it is marked mandatory for MBA applicants only |
| GRE or GMAT | Not required for MSIS admission | Use the application space to explain academic preparation, projects and relevant work |
The GRE (Graduate Record Examination) and GMAT (Graduate Management Admission Test) are not required. This keeps the selection focus on the transcript and submitted documents rather than a test score.
International Documents
International applicants add a paid application, passport, English score, funding evidence, sponsor letter, Statement of Understanding and a later course-by-course evaluation.
The documents support both programme review and Form I-20 issuance, so an academically eligible applicant still needs a complete financial file.
- Submit the international application with the US$75 fee (INR 7,173) and upload transcripts or consolidated marks memos.
- Upload a passport, IELTS or TOEFL score report, proof of financial resources and a letter from the person funding the education.
- Arrange an official course-by-course transcript evaluation after the university issues Form I-20, using an approved transcript-evaluation vendor.
English Language Proficiency
UMHB publishes IELTS and TOEFL iBT as graduate English routes, with component-level rules that matter for Indian applicants.
Applicants below the published score may be placed into ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) after arrival rather than entering unrestricted graduate classes.
| Test or route | Minimum published score | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.0 in each band | Prepare for every component because the page does not publish an overall-only route |
| TOEFL iBT | 80 overall with at least 20 in each band on the published 0 to 120 scale | UMHB’s checked page does not state its post-21 January 2026 policy for the 1.0 to 6.0 scale, so verify before booking |
| English-medium waiver | May apply after attendance at an English-speaking college or preparatory school | Ask the university to confirm eligibility because an Indian English-medium degree is not automatically listed as a waiver |
- Plan IELTS preparation by band because an overall average cannot offset a component below 6.0.
- Use TOEFL only after confirming the reporting scale and component rule with UMHB because the checked page gives no current 1.0 to 6.0 policy.
- Ask about the English-medium waiver only when your prior institution fits UMHB’s English-speaking college or preparatory-school wording.
Student perspective
An isolated MSIS review described theory-led assignments and limited advanced coverage. Applicants who want deeper technical preparation should ask the programme director about current electives, project depth and faculty coverage before enrolling.
This isolated comment is anecdotal and should be checked against the current MSIS curriculum.
Tip for Indian students: A 3.0 threshold is not a guarantee, so present transcript context and relevant technical or business projects while checking the English route.
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor MSIS Application 2027
UMHB accepts MSIS applications for Fall, Spring and Summer, with no hard programme deadline published for domestic or international applicants.
For Spring 2027, complete the international file by the expected end-of-October 2026 window because UMHB recommends early submission for I-20 processing.
Target-cycle date source: The current UMHB international graduate admissions page publishes recurring month-based completion windows rather than exact 2027 dates or portal times.
| Intake | Programme availability | Expected international completion window | Decision timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fall 2027 | Offered | Expected end of May 2027, matching the university’s published wording | No date published; review follows receipt of the complete file |
| Spring 2027 | Target intake and open | Expected end of October 2026, matching the university’s published wording | No date published; review follows receipt of the complete file |
| Summer 2027 | Offered | Expected end of February 2027, matching the university’s published wording | No date published; review follows receipt of the complete file |
The date windows are expected rather than confirmed calendar deadlines because the official page names intake months and month-end recommendations, not specific 2027 dates.
The source does not publish a decision date or exact portal cutoff time, so applicants should track the application portal after submission instead of relying on an assumed result date.
Application Sequence
The practical strategy is to submit one paid and complete file, then use the portal to monitor missing items and transcript processing.
- Complete the international graduate application and pay the US$75 fee (INR 7,173) before uploading supporting documents.
- Upload transcripts, passport, English score, funding proof, sponsor letter and Statement of Understanding together.
- After processing, use the MyCampus login to view received folder items and resolve missing documents.
- Arrange the course-by-course transcript evaluation after Form I-20 issuance through an approved transcript-evaluation vendor.
UMHB says letters of recommendation, personal statements and secondary-education reports are not required for this international graduate application.
For Indian applicants, prioritise a clean transcript file, documented funding and a concise concentration rationale linked to your technical or business background.
Application tip: Treat 31 October 2026 as the expected Spring 2027 completion target, but submit earlier because the portal time, decision date and I-20 processing interval are not published.
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor MSIS Scholarships 2027
The most predictable current award is UMHB’s International Graduate Student Scholarship: US$1,000 per semester (INR 95,635) for graduate students in good standing taking 9 graduate hours.
It is automatically credited at semester start for up to four consecutive semesters of full-time enrollment, but the current page does not label it specifically for Spring 2027.
International Graduate Student Scholarship
The award is relevant to an Indian F-1 applicant because it is tied to full-time graduate enrolment rather than a particular undergraduate major.
| Award | Eligibility | Value (US$) | Value (INR equivalent) | Cycle and route |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Graduate Student Scholarship | International graduate student in good standing and enrolled in 9 graduate hours | US$1,000 per semester | INR 95,635 per semester | Current published award, automatically credited to tuition and fees |
Across four consecutive semesters, the published duration gives a US$4,000 (INR 3.83 Lakhs) planning illustration, calculated as US$1,000 (INR 95,635) x 4. Continued full-time enrolment and good standing are required, so do not treat the credit as guaranteed funding for every student.
The MSIS FAQ also says that one assistantship is awarded each academic year through an application and merit review. UMHB does not publish the award amount or a Spring 2027 deadline, so treat it as a competitive supplement rather than committed funding.
No other named UMHB award with a published graduate-international value was identified in the checked programme and international funding pages.
- Budget the scholarship as a reduction to tuition and fees, not as cash for living expenses.
- Maintain 9 graduate hours and good standing each semester to preserve eligibility.
- Ask MSIS faculty about assistantship timing after submitting the main application because the award count is limited.
Read More: Scholarships for Indian students in the USA
Scholarship reality: The US$1,000 (INR 95,635) award reduces billed charges, but the assistantship value and cycle status require confirmation before funding.
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor MSIS Salary 2027
UMHB does not publish a current MSIS cohort salary, offer rate or placement report, so no course-specific payback figure can be verified.
The best available context is one official alumni account plus national occupational benchmarks, which show market possibilities rather than typical UMHB outcomes.
Published Career Evidence
An MSIS 2016 alumnus reported using course learning in an Information Systems Administrator role and valued industry-experienced professors and flexible classes.
That account demonstrates a possible pathway, not a cohort result or placement probability.
External Market Benchmarks
The United States BLS reports May 2024 medians of US$103,790 (INR 99.26 Lakhs) for systems analysts and US$133,080 (INR 1.27 Crore) for software developers. BLS means Bureau of Labor Statistics.
These are external market benchmarks, not graduate salaries; the actual role, location, experience and industry change the comparison.
| Evidence scope | Role and salary measure | Salary (US$) | Salary (INR equivalent) | How to use it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| External market benchmark | Computer systems analysts, national median, May 2024 | US$103,790 | INR 99.26 Lakhs | Broad U.S. market context |
| External market benchmark | Computer systems analysts, management of companies, May 2024 | US$109,210 | INR 1.04 Crore | Sector-specific market context |
| External market benchmark | Computer systems analysts, information industry, May 2024 | US$107,630 | INR 1.03 Crore | Sector-specific market context |
| External market benchmark | Computer systems analysts, computer systems design, May 2024 | US$104,370 | INR 99.81 Lakhs | Sector-specific market context |
| External market benchmark | Software developers, national median, May 2024 | US$133,080 | INR 1.27 Crore | Broader technical market context |
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics wage data, May 2024 national and industry medians; figures are not UMHB graduate outcomes.
For ROI (Return on Investment), use the course charge and work window together rather than applying a national median to UMHB graduates.
- The 30-hour charge is US$37,450 (INR 35.82 Lakhs), so compare loan principal with an entry-level role rather than the US$133,080 (INR 1.27 Crore) median.
- No MSIS offer rate or salary is published, so request recent role and location outcomes before assuming the external benchmark applies.
- Only the Information Systems concentration is identified for the science, technology, engineering and mathematics extension, so confirm its degree code before counting on 36 months.
- Career Services offers resume, interview and Handshake support, so use those services early because the programme report provides no placement rate.
- If you return to India, value the credential against Indian salary offers because United States gross medians exclude taxes, relocation and job-search risk.
Gross medians are not take-home pay because federal, state and payroll deductions vary; use the IRS Tax Withholding Estimator when comparing net pay with loan instalments.
Read More: Post-study work in the USA
ROI reality: Missing MSIS outcomes mean ROI depends on prior skills, concentration, funding cost and a verified job offer, not a national median.
USA Visa for UMHB MSIS Students 2027
The United States route is an F-1 student visa, with a US$185 application fee (INR 17,692) and a US$350 I-901 SEVIS fee (INR 33,472). SEVIS (Student and Exchange Visitor Information System) is the student-record system tied to the Form I-20 and fee payment. UMHB requires at least 9 graduate hours for F-1 status, and only the Information Systems concentration is identified for the STEM OPT route.
- Post-completion OPT (Optional Practical Training) can provide 12 months, while STEM OPT may add 24 months when federal conditions are met.
- H-1B sponsorship has no single course-specific salary threshold, and permanent residence has no fixed MSIS timeline.
- F-2 dependants may accompany an F-1 student, but F-2 spouses and children cannot work.
Check Out: U.S. student visa requirements
Visa reality: The STEM extension depends on the Information Systems concentration and federal conditions, so confirm classification before counting on a three-year work window.
UMHB MSIS fits an Indian applicant seeking a flexible bridge between business and technology. The applicant must meet the 3.0 grade-point average and English rules and value the Information Systems concentration’s STEM route. The course’s hybrid delivery, no-test admission and recurring intakes reduce entry friction, but the university does not publish MSIS salary or placement outcomes. That evidence gap makes funding discipline more important than a national salary benchmark, especially when the one-year planning illustration is not a full-programme total. For Spring 2027, assemble the complete international file and funding proof for the expected end-of-October 2026 window, then confirm the TOEFL scale and STEM classification with UMHB.
University of Mary Hardin-Baylor MSIS FAQs
Ques. Is UMHB MSIS suitable without a Computer Science degree?
Ans. Yes, the MSIS programme does not require a previous Information Systems or Computer Science degree. Its 30-hour structure combines managerial and technical topics, but applicants seeking advanced technical depth should verify current electives and project work.
Ques. What should an Indian applicant budget for UMHB MSIS?
Ans. The calculated 30-hour institutional charges are US$37,450 (INR 35.82 Lakhs). A one-year 30-credit planning illustration including official non-tuition lines, application fee, visa fee and I-901 fee is US$59,850 (INR 57.24 Lakhs). It is not a full-programme total.
Ques. When should I apply for Spring 2027?
Ans. UMHB’s recurring international guidance makes the expected completion window the end of October 2026 for a January start. No exact portal cutoff or decision date is published, so submit the paid application, funding proof and documents before that window.
Ques. Does UMHB MSIS require GRE, GMAT or a specific English score?
Ans. GRE and GMAT scores are not required. UMHB publishes IELTS 6.0 in each band or TOEFL iBT 80 with 20 in each band. Its current page does not state the post-21 January 2026 policy for the new TOEFL scale.
Ques. Does this MSIS guarantee a three-year U.S. work window?
Ans. No, the university identifies only the Information Systems concentration as qualifying for the STEM OPT route. Standard OPT may last 12 months and a further 24 months depends on degree, employer and federal requirements, while UMHB publishes no course-specific salary or placement guarantee.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $34524 |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Living Expenses | $14640 |
| Transportation | $2880 |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2025 | $33140 |
| 2024 | $33140 |
| 2023 | $32850 |
Important Dates
Applications are accepted on a rolling admission basis. It is recommended that everything is submitted at least two months before the semester begins.
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| Recommended Application Deadline For Summer Intake | |
| Recommended Application Deadline For Fall Intake | |
Reviews
1 Reviews Found
Likes
- Flexible with online classes, we can just visit twice per semester.
- Easy assignments as they are mostly theory and can be found online resources easily.
- Low fee compared to other universities and since it is in Texas even the cost of living is less
Dislikes
- Not many specializations included for MS. If we have completed our bachelor’s in engineering, then we only have one/two options.
- The standard of syllabus and faculty experience is not as per current requirements.
- Less chances of working as assistant professors as they are limited branches. May be one or two posts and that too professors are very biased in selecting as they are done on merit or performance matrix.
-
I found accommodation through my seniors. And there are many platforms and Facebook groups where we can look for. There are telegram groups as well. My monthly rent was 350$ with four people including me .
-
The challenges weren’t much in accommodation as I was referred by my friend . But the community which we were in was bad at responding to our requests. It was near by to college. It was 15 miles away. It has the Indian communities near by so many of the students in those apartments.


Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
Best MS Courses in USA for International Students in 2025
Masters (MS) in USA: Colleges, Courses, Deadlines, Eligibility & Fees
MS in USA With Low GPA: Universities, Requirements, and Admissions
College Student Profiles
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bharat Petroleum Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Comindware Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 4,000/Yr$4,000 | Level Of StudyApprenticeship | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| FINCAD Women in Finance Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 20,000/Yr$20,000 | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,000/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored |
Similar Programs
| Program | Important Date | Total Fees | Median Exams Score | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
-- | USD 16,200 /Yr |
| ||
| USD 31,230 /Yr |
| |||
-- | USD 22,072 /Yr |
| ||
-- | USD 21,780 /Yr |
| ||
-- | USD 26,514 /Yr |
|
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here




















Comments