Garden City University (GCU) is a private deemed-to-be university established in 1992 by the Garden City Education Trust in Bengaluru, Karnataka. It is approved by the University Grants Commission (UGC) and holds statutory recognition under Section 3 of the UGC Act. The university was founded by Dr. Joseph V.G.
As per NIRF 2024, Garden City University is ranked in the 151-200 band in the University category. The university holds NAAC Grade A accreditation.
GCU operates a 52-acre campus on the Kolar Highway at Hoskote, Bengaluru, with an additional city campus on Old Madras Road. It offers more than 80 programmes across 9 schools spanning engineering, sciences, management, healthcare, humanities, and hospitality.
- B.Tech / BE - Computer Science, Information Technology, Electronics Engineering, VLSI Design and Technology, Robotics
- BCA / BBA / BCom - Computer Applications, Business Administration (including Aviation, Business Analytics, Retail, Tourism), Commerce with CA and IAF specialisations
- B.Sc - Biotechnology, Bioinformatics, Genetics, Forensic Sciences, Data Science, Nanotechnology, Food Science and Technology, Psychology, Fashion and Apparel Design, Visual Communication
- BHM / BPT / BA - Hotel Management, Physiotherapy, and Arts (English, Psychology, Journalism)
- MBA / M.Tech / MCA / M.Sc / MA / MCom - PG programmes across management, technology, sciences, mass communication, and commerce
- Ph.D - research programmes in 10-plus disciplines
B.Tech (CS/IT) total fees are INR 14,75,000 for 4 years. MBA total fees are INR 6,15,000. BBA fees are INR 4,30,000. BCA fees are INR 4,50,000. Hostel fees range from INR 60,000 to INR 1,80,000 per year.
The 2023 placement cycle placed 108 UG and 44 PG students from 150-plus recruiting companies, with a median UG package of INR 3.60 LPA and median PG package of INR 6.00 LPA as reported in NIRF data.
- Garden City University Admission Dates 2026
- Garden City University Courses and Fees
- Garden City University Admission Process
- Garden City University Placements
- Garden City University Rankings
- Garden City University Scholarships
- Garden City University Campus and Infrastructure
- Garden City University vs REVA University vs CMR University
- Garden City University FAQs
Garden City University Admission Dates 2026
Garden City University 2026-27 admissions have concluded. B.Tech and BE admissions were through KCET 2026 and COMEDK UGET 2026 counselling, which ran through July to September 2026. Direct admissions via GCU entrance and merit closed on 30 September 2026.
| Event | Dates (2026-27 Cycle, Concluded) |
|---|---|
| KCET 2026 Examination | 23 to 24 April 2026 |
| KEA KCET Counselling Round 1 | 8 to 22 July 2026; allotment 2 August 2026 |
| KEA KCET Counselling Round 2 | Allotment 30 August 2026 |
| KEA KCET Counselling Round 3 | Allotment 10 September 2026 |
| GCU Direct Admission Deadline | 30 September 2026 |
The next admission cycle for the 2027-28 academic session is expected to open for applications in January to February 2027 for MBA and PG programmes, and from March 2027 onwards for UG engineering and science programmes based on KCET 2027 and CUET 2027 schedules.
| Programme Family | Entrance Exam Accepted | 2027-28 (Tentative) |
|---|---|---|
| B.Tech / BE | KCET, COMEDK UGET, JEE Main | Applications open March 2027 |
| BCA / BBA / BCom / BSc / BA | CUET, GCU entrance, direct merit | Applications open February 2027 |
| MBA | KMAT, MAT, GCU entrance | Applications open January 2027 |
| MCA / M.Tech / M.Sc | PGCET, KMAT, GCU entrance | Applications open February 2027 |
| BPT / MPT / BHM | GCU entrance, merit | Applications open February 2027 |
| Ph.D | UGC-NET/JRF or GCU PhD entrance | Annual notification |
Garden City University Courses and Fees
Garden City University offers 80-plus programmes across engineering, sciences, management, law, healthcare, and hospitality. The flagship B.Tech programme and the MBA dominate enrolment, with strong allied health and hospitality schools contributing to the overall diversity.
| Programme | Duration | Eligibility | Total Fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| B.Tech (CS / IT) | 4 years | 10+2 PCM, 45%; KCET/COMEDK/JEE | INR 14,75,000 |
| B.Tech (Electronics) | 4 years | 10+2 PCM, 45%; KCET/COMEDK | INR 8,35,000 |
| BE (VLSI Design) | 4 years | 10+2 PCM, 45%; KCET/COMEDK | INR 9,40,000 |
| BCA | 3 years | 10+2 with Mathematics; CUET/merit | INR 4,50,000 |
| BBA | 3 years | 10+2 in any stream; CUET/merit | INR 2,45,000 to 4,30,000 |
| BCom / BCom (CA, IAF) | 3 years | 10+2 with Commerce; CUET/merit | INR 2,69,000 to 4,72,000 |
| B.Sc (Science specialisations) | 3 years | 10+2 with relevant science subjects | INR 3,05,000 to 5,46,000 |
| BHM | 3 years | 10+2 in any stream | INR 5,48,000 |
| BPT | 4.5 years | 10+2 PCB, 45% | INR 8,81,000 |
| MBA | 2 years | Graduation 50%; KMAT/MAT/GCU entrance | INR 6,15,000 |
| MCA / M.Tech | 2 years | Relevant UG degree, 50%; PGCET/GATE | INR 3,53,000 to 4,21,000 |
| M.Sc (Science programmes) | 2 years | B.Sc in relevant subject, 50% | INR 2,55,000 to 3,75,000 |
Distinctive specialisations include B.Sc Forensic Sciences, B.Sc Nanotechnology, B.Sc Bioinformatics, BBA Aviation, and M.Sc Forensic Sciences. The BPT programme leads to licensure in Physiotherapy through the Karnataka Allied and Healthcare Professions Council.
Garden City University Admission Process
B.Tech / BE Admission
Engineering admissions at GCU are primarily through state-level KCET and COMEDK UGET score-based counselling, managed by the Karnataka Examinations Authority (KEA).
- Eligibility: 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics at minimum 45% aggregate (40% for SC/ST)
- Entrance exams accepted: KCET, COMEDK UGET, JEE Main
- Selection: Rank in KCET or COMEDK, choice filling at KEA portal, allotment, document verification, reporting
- KCET 2026 cutoff at GCU: General category closing rank ranged from 1,19,884 to 2,48,038 across B.Tech/BE specialisations
BCA / BBA / BCom / B.Sc / BA Admission
UG admissions for non-engineering programmes are through CUET scores or GCU’s own merit-based selection. Candidates apply through the university portal and attend a personal interaction or document verification round.
- Eligibility: 10+2 in relevant stream with 45% aggregate
- BPT eligibility: 10+2 with Physics, Chemistry, and Biology at 45%
MBA Admission
MBA admissions are through valid KMAT Karnataka, MAT, CMAT, or GCU entrance test scores. Candidates with a graduation degree in any discipline and minimum 50% aggregate are eligible. Selection includes score-based shortlisting followed by group discussion and interview.
PG and Ph.D Admission
M.Tech admissions consider GATE scores. M.Sc and MCA consider PGCET Karnataka or KMAT. PhD admissions require a PG degree with minimum 55% marks and are conducted through UGC-NET/JRF qualification or a GCU-level entrance examination.
Garden City University Placements
Garden City University runs an active placement cell that facilitated campus recruitment for the 2022-23 graduating batch, with 108 UG students and 44 PG students placed through 150-plus visiting companies as per NIRF 2024 data. The median UG package was INR 3.60 LPA and the median PG package was INR 6.00 LPA.
| Metric | 2022-23 Batch (NIRF Data) |
|---|---|
| UG Students Placed | 108 |
| PG Students Placed | 44 |
| Recruiting Companies | 150-plus |
| Median UG Package | INR 3.60 LPA |
| Median PG Package | INR 6.00 LPA |
Top recruiters visiting GCU include Deloitte, EY, PwC, KPMG, Infosys, TCS, Goldman Sachs, ITC, and HDFC Bank. Engineering and management graduates are the primary beneficiaries of campus placements. The Physiotherapy and Hotel Management batches typically pursue licenced practice or hospitality careers after programme completion.
Garden City University Rankings
Garden City University was ranked in the 151-200 band in NIRF University 2024. The university holds NAAC Grade A accreditation. GCU did not appear in the NIRF 2025 published rankings.
| Ranking Body | Category | 2024 Rank |
|---|---|---|
| NIRF | University | 151-200 band |
Garden City University Scholarships
Garden City University offers merit-based and need-based scholarships at the institutional level, alongside central government schemes available to eligible students.
| Scholarship | Eligibility | Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| GCU Merit Scholarship | 85% and above in Class XII board | Up to 50% tuition fee waiver |
| GCU Sports / Cultural Excellence Award | National-level achievement in sports or arts | Partial tuition fee waiver |
| SC/ST Scholarship (Karnataka) | SC/ST students; family income below INR 2.5 Lakhs | Full or partial fee reimbursement per Karnataka norms |
| Central Sector Scheme of Scholarships (NSP) | Top 0.1% in Class XII; parental income below INR 4.5 Lakhs | INR 20,000 per year for professional course students |
| PM Vidya Lakshmi Scheme | Students seeking education loans through the central portal | Interest subsidy on education loans |
Students may also apply for Karnataka state OBC and EBC scholarships through the Social Welfare Department. Institutional scholarship applications must be submitted within the first month of joining; late applications are not entertained.
Garden City University Campus and Infrastructure
Garden City University’s main campus spans 52 acres on the Kolar Highway in Hoskote, Bengaluru. The campus houses the Schools of Engineering, Sciences, Management, Health Sciences, Journalism, Law, Hospitality, Humanities, and Education within a single integrated setting.
The city campus on Old Madras Road, Bangalore, hosts select PG programmes and MBA batches closer to the Bengaluru city core, facilitating industry interaction for management students. An Indiranagar city office supports admissions and alumni engagement.
Campus facilities include dedicated laboratories for engineering streams, a Forensic Sciences lab, a Biotechnology research lab, clinical facilities for the Physiotherapy department, a hotel management kitchen and front office simulator for BHM students, a central library with digital access, and separate hostels for boys (INR 80,000 to 1,80,000 per year) and girls (INR 60,000 to 1,80,000 per year).
Garden City University vs REVA University vs CMR University
Students considering Garden City University typically also evaluate REVA University and CMR University, both private deemed universities in Bengaluru with similar programme portfolios and admission processes.
| Parameter | Garden City University | REVA University | CMR University |
|---|---|---|---|
| Established | 1992 | 2012 | 2013 |
| Campus Area | 52 acres | 45 acres | Not disclosed |
| NAAC Grade | A | A | A |
| NIRF 2024 (University) | 151-200 band | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| B.Tech (CS) Total Fees | INR 14,75,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| MBA Total Fees | INR 6,15,000 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Unique Strengths | Forensics, BPT, BHM, Aviation BBA | Engineering, Commerce | Engineering, Law |
Garden City University has the longest institutional history among the three (1992 compared to 2012 and 2013). Its distinct professional programmes in Physiotherapy and Hotel Management make it a broader-scope university. REVA and CMR are stronger choices for candidates seeking a single-focus engineering or commerce programme with a newer campus and infrastructure.
Garden City University FAQs
Ques. What is the NAAC grade of Garden City University?
Ans. Garden City University holds NAAC Grade A accreditation. It was ranked in the 151-200 band in NIRF University 2024.
Ques. What is the B.Tech fee at Garden City University?
Ans. The total B.Tech (Computer Science and Information Technology) fee at Garden City University is INR 14,75,000 for the 4-year programme. B.Tech Electronics Engineering is INR 8,35,000. These fees are for the general management quota; KCET seats may attract different fee structures as per Karnataka government norms.
Ques. What entrance exams are accepted at Garden City University for B.Tech?
Ans. Garden City University accepts KCET, COMEDK UGET, and JEE Main scores for B.Tech and BE admissions. For the KCET 2026 cycle, the closing rank for General Category at GCU ranged from 1,19,884 to 2,48,038 depending on the specialisation.
Ques. What is the MBA fee at Garden City University?
Ans. The total MBA fees at Garden City University are INR 6,15,000 for the 2-year programme. Admission is through KMAT Karnataka, MAT, CMAT, or the GCU entrance test. Graduation in any discipline with minimum 50% marks is required.
Ques. What is the placement scenario at Garden City University?
Ans. Garden City University placed 108 UG and 44 PG students from 150-plus companies in the 2022-23 placement cycle, with a median UG package of INR 3.60 LPA and median PG package of INR 6.00 LPA as per NIRF data. Top recruiters include Deloitte, EY, PwC, KPMG, Infosys, TCS, Goldman Sachs, and HDFC Bank.
Ques. Does Garden City University have hostel facilities?
Ans. Yes. Garden City University provides separate Boys and Girls hostels on the Hoskote campus. Boys hostel fees range from INR 80,000 to INR 1,80,000 per year and Girls hostel from INR 60,000 to INR 1,80,000 per year, depending on room type.
Ques. Is Garden City University good for engineering?
Ans. Garden City University offers B.Tech and BE programmes in Computer Science, IT, Electronics, VLSI, and Robotics with KCET and COMEDK-based admissions. The median UG placement package of INR 3.60 LPA (NIRF 2024 data) and recruitment by major IT companies including Infosys and TCS suggest a functional placement setup, though it is best suited for students with a mid-rank KCET score looking for a Bengaluru-based private university.


![Garden City University - [GCU]](https://img.collegedunia.com/public/college_data/images/logos/1619798420logo9.png?h=71.7&w=71.7&mode=stretch)




Comments
Found 11 Comments
Candidates applying for admission to this program must have passed 10+2 from a recognized board in the science stream for the BSc courses.
You have to either start from the first semester or must have three years of diploma in a relevant field for the lateral entry admissions.
The admission registrations for almost all the courses have already ended at Garden City University Bangalore.
Yes, you need to appear for COMEDK UGET to get admission to technical courses and CAT/MAT/XAT for management courses.
If your result is not declared till the last date of application for BHM course, then you won’t be able to take admission as submitting 12th marksheet and certificate is mandatory for admission.
Garden City University has started its admission process for session 2023. You can check the official website to apply. Check here to know more. Garden City University Admission
You can register and download the brochure for the Ph.D. course and get all the required details. Check here for the Ph.D. courses and brochure registration.
The commencement of UG Semester I for Batch 2023 will be on July 31, 2023. For more details, visit Garden City University: Course, Admission, CutOff, Placement, Scholarship
The total fee at Garden City University is around INR 8lakh. Check here for Garden City University Bangalore Admission
What criteria of BCA admission in this university?
Admission to Garden City University is provided on the basis of marks secured in the entrance examination conducted by the university and verification of documents.
1st year bca fees
The first-year fee of BCA is INR 95,100. This includes the registration fee of INR 2,000, a tuition fee of INR 85,000, an exam fee of INR 3,100 and other fees of INR 5,000.