Bachelor of Science [B.S] (Geology)
Field of Study:
$42,560 /Yr
University of Liverpool Geology BSc (Hons) is a three-year, full-time, on-campus Bachelor of Science in Liverpool, beginning on 27 September 2027. September 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026/27 tuition was GBP 32,000 (INR 41.58 Lakhs) per year, as a prior-cycle reference. Applicants need ABB including one science A level, with Liverpool’s India guidance placing undergraduate offers around 70% to 85% across the best four core subjects, subject to course conditions.
Fieldwork, laboratory investigation and digital analysis train students to interpret Earth materials, geological processes, hazards, resources and environmental change. From year two, students choose Geology or Geophysics pathways, and the third year combines specialist study with an independent research project and dissertation. The degree suits applicants who enjoy science outdoors and in the lab, can handle quantitative data and want Chartered Geologist preparation.
- Geological Society of London accreditation supports a defined professional pathway for applicants targeting chartership.
- Optional Year in Industry, overseas fieldwork and global study routes let students build experience beyond the standard three-year path.
- Teaching typically includes 15 to 20 timetabled hours each week plus independent study, practical exercises and field preparation.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the September 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: 30 June 2027.
UCAS means Universities and Colleges Admissions Service, the United Kingdom’s undergraduate application platform. Indian applicants should prepare their reference, subject evidence and English proof so a complete application can be submitted from 1 September 2026.
Also Check: University of Liverpool undergraduate admission
University of Liverpool Geology Fees and Living Costs 2027
September 2027 international tuition is not yet published, although Liverpool lists 2026/27 international figures and says they will change for 2027/28.
The checked course page is the exact fee source, so Indian applicants should use the figures below only for prior-cycle planning.
Prior-cycle fee references: These amounts are for 2026/27, not confirmed September 2027 tuition.
| Fee item | 2026/27 prior-cycle amount | INR equivalent | Planning meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| International full-time place, per year | GBP 32,000 | INR 41.58 Lakhs | Use only as a prior-cycle annual tuition reference |
| Year in Industry fee | GBP 1,955 | INR 2.54 Lakhs | Separate prior-cycle fee for the optional industry year |
| Year abroad fee, applies to Year in China | GBP 16,000 | INR 20.79 Lakhs | Separate prior-cycle fee for the China route |
Source: University of Liverpool Geology BSc (Hons) September 2027 course page.
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of GBP 1 = INR 129.9477 as of 25 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
- The prior-cycle full-time amount converts to INR 41.58 Lakhs per year, so do not treat it as a confirmed September 2027 price.
- The optional industry year had a prior-cycle fee of GBP 1,955 (INR 2.54 Lakhs), so placement planning needs a separate budget.
- The Year in China option had a prior-cycle fee of GBP 16,000 (INR 20.79 Lakhs), so overseas study changes the cost model.
Cost of Living in Liverpool for Geology Students
Liverpool estimates total living expenses at GBP 900 to GBP 1,350 (INR 1.17 Lakhs to INR 1.75 Lakhs) monthly.
University halls, private rent, bills, transport and food are shown separately below, but these component ranges should not be added to the university total.
| Expense | Monthly (GBP) | Monthly (INR) | Annual equivalent (GBP) | Annual equivalent (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University estimate, total | GBP 900 to GBP 1,350 | INR 1.17 Lakhs to INR 1.75 Lakhs | GBP 10,800 to GBP 16,200 | INR 14.03 Lakhs to INR 21.05 Lakhs |
| University halls including utilities and Wi-Fi | GBP 688 to GBP 1,120 | INR 89,404 to INR 1.46 Lakhs | GBP 8,256 to GBP 13,440 | INR 10.73 Lakhs to INR 17.46 Lakhs |
| Private accommodation | GBP 450 to GBP 800 | INR 58,476 to INR 1.04 Lakhs | GBP 5,400 to GBP 9,600 | INR 7.02 Lakhs to INR 12.47 Lakhs |
| Private household bills | GBP 50 to GBP 200 | INR 6,497 to INR 25,990 | GBP 600 to GBP 2,400 | INR 77,969 to INR 3.12 Lakhs |
| Travel and transport | GBP 20 to GBP 90 | INR 2,599 to INR 11,695 | GBP 240 to GBP 1,080 | INR 31,187 to INR 1.40 Lakhs |
| Food and household necessities | GBP 150 to GBP 400 | INR 19,492 to INR 51,979 | GBP 1,800 to GBP 4,800 | INR 2.34 Lakhs to INR 6.24 Lakhs |
| Mobile phone | GBP 15 to GBP 50 | INR 1,949 to INR 6,497 | GBP 180 to GBP 600 | INR 23,391 to INR 77,969 |
The university’s 12-month equivalent for the total estimate is GBP 10,800 to GBP 16,200 (INR 14.03 Lakhs to INR 21.05 Lakhs). Its GBP 10,539 nine-month UKVI maintenance figure is a visa threshold, not Liverpool’s actual spending estimate.
Field clothing and food or drinks during fieldwork can sit outside tuition, and the university does not publish a fixed Geology amount for them.
A prior-cycle illustration uses GBP 96,000 (INR 1.25 Crore) for tuition plus 36 months of living costs at GBP 900 to GBP 1,350 monthly.
That produces GBP 128,400 to GBP 144,600 (INR 1.67 Crore to INR 1.88 Crore) before visa charges, health surcharge, flights, books and fieldwork costs.
Read More: UK student accommodation costs
Fee verification
The 2027/28 international tuition is unpublished, so keep this prior-cycle planning illustration separate from borrowing decisions. Verify the target fee on the official fee page before accepting an offer.
Key insight: The 2027 fee is the largest unresolved cost, so Indian applicants should keep funding flexible and recalculate the three-year budget when Liverpool publishes the international amount.
University of Liverpool Geology Admission 2027
Admission requires ABB including one science A level, plus GCSE English and Mathematics at 4/C. Liverpool’s Indian guidance adds board-specific percentage and English-medium conditions.
The course accepts science subjects including Geology, Geography, Environmental Science, Mathematics and Physics, so the transcript should make the relevant subject clear.
Academic eligibility and Indian planning: Liverpool’s country guidance is approximate, while the course page controls the required science subject and the final offer.
| Admission item | Published course requirement | Indian equivalent or action |
|---|---|---|
| A levels | ABB including one science A level | Approximately 70% to 85% across the best four core subjects under Liverpool’s India guidance, with the science condition retained |
| Indian Standard XII | Country-specific qualification route | 75% or above from CBSE or CISCE, or 80% or above from an accepted State Board, with English-medium study |
| Accepted science subject | Geology, Geography, Environmental Science, Mathematics, Physics and other listed subjects | Keep the relevant science mark visible because the overall percentage does not replace the subject condition |
| GCSE English and Mathematics | 4/C in English and 4/C in Mathematics | Liverpool does not publish a separate Indian conversion for this line, so submit equivalent school records for the university’s review |
| Foundation route | Earth, Environmental and Marine Sciences four-year route including a Foundation Year | Investigate this listed progression option when direct subject or grade requirements are not met |
Liverpool’s India page says the 70% to 85% range is based on the best four core subjects including English, and the offer may include a higher subject-specific score. This means an overall average alone cannot establish Geology eligibility.
The programme assumes no prior geology knowledge in year one, but later study requires field observation, mapping, data analysis and independent investigation.
Applicants who miss direct thresholds can investigate the listed four-year Earth, Environmental and Marine Sciences route with a Foundation Year, because it provides a named progression option.
English language requirements for Indian applicants
ELP means English language proficiency. IELTS means International English Language Testing System, and TOEFL iBT means Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-based test.
PTE means Pearson Test of English Academic. Liverpool’s Geology page also accepts Duolingo English Test and LanguageCert Academic, while eligible Indian students may use the Standard XII English route.
The TOEFL iBT rows preserve Liverpool’s two published scales, because scores taken from 21 January 2026 use the 1.0 to 6.0 scale.
| Test or route | Published requirement | Indian-applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.0 overall, with no component below 5.5 | Check every band because the overall score alone is insufficient |
| TOEFL iBT, older scale | Tests taken on or before 20 January 2026: 78 overall, Listening 17, Writing 17, Reading 17 and Speaking 19 on the 0 to 120 scale | Use this row only for a score report on the older scale |
| TOEFL iBT, revised scale | Tests taken from 21 January 2026: 4 overall, with 4 or above in all components on the 1.0 to 6.0 scale | Submit the revised scale exactly as Liverpool reports it, and note that TOEFL Home Edition is not accepted |
| Duolingo English Test | 115 overall, with Speaking, Reading and Writing not less than 105, and Listening not below 100 | Prepare for the lowest component scores as well as the overall score |
| PTE Academic | 59 overall, with no component below 59 | Confirm the accepted test format before booking |
| LanguageCert Academic | 65 overall, with no skill below 60 | Check each skill result before submitting the score |
| Standard XII English route | 75% or above from CBSE or CISCE, or 80% or above from an accepted State Board, with English-medium study | Confirm board acceptance because NIOS and several named State Boards are excluded |
- Book a test early enough to retake a component before 13 January 2027, because the January route preserves equal consideration.
- Choose IELTS Academic or PTE Academic when component scores are easier to plan, but submit the exact score format Liverpool names.
- Use the Standard XII route only when your board is accepted and your education was completed in English Medium.
Tip for Indian students: Treat ABB, the science subject and English evidence as three separate checks. Map each one against your Standard XII record before submitting the UCAS application.
University of Liverpool Geology Application 2027
The September 2027 Geology application goes through UCAS, with course code F600 and location listed as the Main site.
Applications can be submitted from 1 September 2026, while Liverpool’s international deadline is 30 June 2027. The published United Kingdom time controls the portal, so the Indian Standard Time conversion is shown beside each timed deadline.
2027 UCAS stages and decision dates
The table brings together Liverpool’s course-specific deadline and the forward-looking UCAS stages that affect an international applicant.
| Stage | Deadline or opening date | Decision or next action |
|---|---|---|
| Completed undergraduate applications can be submitted | 01 September 2026 | Complete the reference, application fee and course details before sending |
| Equal consideration deadline for most undergraduate courses | 13 January 2027 at 18:00 GMT / 23:30 IST | Decisions due by 12 May 2027; reply by 02 June 2027 if all decisions arrive by that date |
| UCAS Extra opens | 25 February 2027 | Check whether Geology remains available before using the additional choice route |
| International application deadline | 30 June 2027 at 18:00 BST / 22:30 IST | Decisions due by 14 July 2027; reply by 21 July 2027 if all decisions arrive by that date |
| UCAS Clearing opens | 02 July 2027 | Check live course availability because the international deadline may have passed |
| Final UCAS date for 2027 entry | 23 September 2027 at 18:00 BST / 22:30 IST | Apply only after Liverpool confirms course availability and visa timing |
The 2027 UCAS application fee is GBP 34.50 (INR 4,483) for up to five choices. This is separate from Liverpool tuition and should be paid before the completed application is submitted.
Building the application for Geology
A strong application makes the science fit easy to verify. Enter course code F600 accurately, list the relevant science subject and show how field, laboratory or quantitative experiences support your interest in Geology.
The 2027 UCAS personal statement uses structured questions, so connect your subject motivation to geological problems, evidence handling and the practical demands of fieldwork.
Keep the Standard XII transcript, predicted or achieved grades, English evidence and academic reference consistent. Any mismatch can create a document query after submission and delay the decision process.
- Use the January equal-consideration deadline as the working submission date because it gives more time for an offer and visa documents.
- Check the course code F600 and Main site location before paying the UCAS application fee.
- Keep copies of the transcript, English score and reference because Liverpool may request clarification after submission.
Read More: UCAS undergraduate application guide
Application tip: Treat 13 January 2027 at 23:30 IST as the safer target. It protects equal consideration and leaves a clearer route from offer acceptance to Student visa preparation.
University of Liverpool Geology Scholarships 2027
No 2027/28 scholarship value or deadline is separately published for this Geology BSc. Liverpool’s current pages show useful 2026/27 awards and pathway conditions, but they cannot be treated as target-cycle funding.
The direct award to monitor is the Liverpool Excellence Scholarship page, which names a one-year discount for eligible international undergraduates starting in 2026/27.
Prior-cycle and current published scholarship references: Liverpool has not confirmed that these values or deadlines will apply to September 2027.
| Award | Published value | INR equivalent | Eligibility and route | Cycle status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Liverpool Excellence Scholarship for Undergraduates | GBP 7,500, one year | INR 9.75 Lakhs | New international undergraduate, full international fee, AAA or equivalent, automatic award | 2026/27 prior-cycle reference; 2027/28 not separately stated |
| University of Liverpool Partner Schools Scholarship | GBP 10,000, one year | INR 12.99 Lakhs | Selected partner school, self-funded international applicant, application with reference and video | 2026/27 prior-cycle reference; prior deadline was 17 May 2026 |
| UoLIC Excellence Scholarship | GBP 5,000, first year | INR 6.50 Lakhs | Highest-achieving student from a University of Liverpool International College Foundation Certificate, minimum 75%, automatic award | 2026/27 prior-cycle reference |
| Kaplan Digital Pathways Excellence Scholarship | GBP 5,000, first year | INR 6.50 Lakhs | Highest-achieving student from a Kaplan Digital Pathways Foundation Certificate, minimum 75%, maximum two awards | 2026/27 prior-cycle reference |
| UoLIC First Class Scholarship | GBP 1,000 per year in Years 2 and 3 | INR 1.30 Lakhs per year | Non-EU international student progressing from UoLIC with at least 70% in the preceding year | Current published rule; cycle not separately stated |
The Liverpool Excellence Scholarship is available for one year and cannot be combined with another University scholarship. Its 2026/27 rule requires AAA or an equivalent qualification, which is higher than the Geology course offer of ABB.
For a direct Indian applicant, the Excellence award is the main published option to monitor. UoLIC and Kaplan awards become relevant only when you choose one of those foundation routes before entering the degree.
The Partner Schools award requires a selected school and a separate application, so school status matters before you spend time preparing its reference and video.
- Do not subtract GBP 7,500 (INR 9.75 Lakhs) from 2027 tuition until Liverpool publishes the September 2027 award terms.
- Ask whether your school is on the partner list before using the prior-cycle GBP 10,000 (INR 12.99 Lakhs) award in a funding plan.
- Choose the UoLIC or Kaplan route only after comparing its extra preparation time and cost with direct entry.
- Keep self-funded status visible because sponsorship can exclude the published international undergraduate awards.
Check Out: University of Liverpool scholarship options
Scholarship reality
Published awards can reduce first-year cost, but the target cycle remains unconfirmed. Keep the full tuition and living budget ready until Liverpool confirms value, eligibility and route.
Scholarship reality: The direct award requires AAA or equivalent and is higher than the course offer. Indian applicants should pursue it while keeping an unfunded 2027 plan available.
University of Liverpool Geology Salary 2027
Course-specific salary, employment-rate and placement-offer data are not published for this Geology BSc.
The university identifies career routes in environmental and geotechnical consultancy, engineering geology, hydrogeology, geophysics and resource exploration. It also lists employer examples, but those examples do not establish a typical graduate outcome.
The National Careers Service geoscientist profile provides the closest named market benchmark, with geologist listed as an alternative job title.
| Evidence scope | Published evidence | Salary or outcome measure | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|---|
| Course-level career evidence | Environmental and geotechnical consultancy, engineering geology, hydrogeology, geophysics and resource exploration | No course salary or offer rate published | Not applicable |
| Course-level employer examples | Geological Surveys, The Environment Agency, RSK, Fugro, Rio Tinto and Aggregate Industries | Employer presence only, not a placement rate or recruitment promise | Not applicable |
| External job-market benchmark | National Careers Service geoscientist profile, with geologist as an alternative title | GBP 28,000 starter to GBP 75,000 experienced | INR 36.39 Lakhs to INR 97.46 Lakhs |
Source: University of Liverpool Geology BSc (Hons) September 2027 course page and National Careers Service geoscientist profile.
Take-home pay varies with tax code, pension and location, so use a current United Kingdom tax calculator when testing the gross benchmark.
ROI for an Indian applicant
ROI means return on investment. A payback calculation is not supportable because target tuition and exact-course salary outcomes are unavailable.
- The prior-cycle three-year tuition illustration is GBP 96,000 (INR 1.25 Crore), so wait for the 2027 fee before fixing a loan size.
- The optional Year in Industry requires a placement and carried a prior-cycle GBP 1,955 (INR 2.54 Lakhs) fee, so budget it only after placement planning.
- The external benchmark is GBP 28,000 to GBP 75,000 (INR 36.39 Lakhs to INR 97.46 Lakhs), so model UK gross pay separately from India-return earnings.
- The Graduate Route offers 18 months for applications from 1 January 2027, so target sponsorship or chartership rather than assuming the visa creates employment.
The course has a stronger financial case for applicants who want field, laboratory and digital training for environmental or infrastructure work. Applicants seeking a guaranteed salary should treat the missing course outcome data and unpublished target tuition as material risks.
ROI evidence scope
The salary range is an external geoscientist benchmark, while Liverpool supplies course career routes without a quantified cohort outcome. Use both as scenario inputs, not as a graduate-salary promise.
ROI reality: Liverpool supplies practical skills and career routes, but not a course salary rate. Indian applicants should secure the 2027 fee and test both UK sponsorship and India-return scenarios.
United Kingdom Visa for Liverpool Geology Students 2027
The United Kingdom Student visa separates immigration funding from Liverpool’s living-cost estimate. The application fee is GBP 558 (INR 72,511), while the outside-London maintenance requirement is GBP 1,171 (INR 1.52 Lakhs) monthly for up to nine months.
IHS means Immigration Health Surcharge. It is charged separately from tuition and daily living costs, so include it in the visa budget rather than the accommodation estimate.
The table shows current published planning amounts and the later sponsored-work threshold. Check the current Student visa rules before submitting because immigration charges and conditions can change.
| Visa or work item | Published amount | INR equivalent | Planning meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student visa application from outside the UK | GBP 558 | INR 72,511 | Pay during the visa application process |
| Student visa IHS | GBP 776 per year | INR 1.01 Lakhs per year | Separate health charge for the visa period |
| Maintenance outside London | GBP 1,171 per month | INR 1.52 Lakhs per month | Evidence requirement for up to nine months |
| Maximum nine-month maintenance evidence | GBP 10,539 | INR 13.70 Lakhs | Do not substitute this threshold for Liverpool’s actual budget |
| Graduate Route application | GBP 937 | INR 1.22 Lakhs | Potential post-study application cost |
| Graduate Route IHS | GBP 1,035 per year | INR 1.34 Lakhs per year | Separate charge during the Graduate Route |
| Skilled Worker salary threshold | GBP 41,700 | INR 54.19 Lakhs | Published general threshold for a later sponsored route |
The Graduate Route lasts 18 months for applications made from 1 January 2027, and it cannot be extended. A graduate can instead seek a Skilled Worker route when an eligible sponsor and salary are available.
ILR means Indefinite Leave to Remain, the United Kingdom’s settlement status. The usual Skilled Worker settlement timeline is five qualifying years, so an 18-month Graduate Route is a bridge rather than settlement permission.
- Keep the GBP 1,171 (INR 1.52 Lakhs) monthly maintenance threshold separate from Liverpool’s GBP 900 to GBP 1,350 living estimate.
- Budget the GBP 558 (INR 72,511) visa fee, annual IHS and later Graduate Route charges before accepting an offer.
- Use the 18-month Graduate Route to seek a qualifying role, but test the GBP 41,700 (INR 54.19 Lakhs) threshold before relying on sponsorship.
- Check dependant eligibility before making family plans because undergraduate Student visa dependants are generally restricted, with a government-sponsored exception.
Also Check: UK Student visa requirements
Visa reality: The 18-month Graduate Route creates a defined post-study window. Indian applicants should model sponsorship, salary and settlement requirements before treating United Kingdom employment as part of ROI.
University of Liverpool’s Geology BSc suits Indian applicants who want accredited Earth science training that combines fieldwork, laboratory investigation and digital analysis. The pathway structure supports progression from broad first-year study to Geology or Geophysics specialisation and an independent research project. The material tradeoff is financial uncertainty because 2027/28 international tuition remains unpublished and the optional industry year requires a placement. Prepare the evidence for ABB, English and science subjects, then target the 13 January 2027 UCAS deadline while keeping funding flexible.
Geology BSc (Hons) FAQs
Ques. Is University of Liverpool Geology BSc suitable without prior geology study?
Ans. Yes. The first year assumes no prior geology knowledge, but applicants still need ABB including one science A level and should be comfortable with fieldwork and data analysis.
Ques. What should Indian applicants budget before 2027 tuition is published?
Ans. A prior-cycle planning illustration is GBP 128,400 to GBP 144,600 (INR 1.67 Crore to INR 1.88 Crore) for tuition plus 36 months of living costs. This excludes visa, health, flights, books and fieldwork costs, so it is not a confirmed target price.
Ques. Can Standard XII English replace IELTS for this course?
Ans. Sometimes. Liverpool accepts 75% from CBSE or CISCE, or 80% from an accepted State Board, with English-medium study. Applicants outside that route need an accepted test such as IELTS Academic at 6.0 overall with no component below 5.5.
Ques. Should I submit by January or use the June international deadline?
Ans. January is the safer target because applications submitted by 13 January 2027 receive equal consideration and leave more time for offer and visa preparation. The international course deadline is 30 June 2027 at 18:00 BST, or 22:30 IST.
Ques. Can Geology graduates remain in the United Kingdom after the degree?
Ans. The Graduate Route allows 18 months for applications from 1 January 2027. Staying longer requires another route such as Skilled Worker, while undergraduate Student visa dependants are generally restricted except published exceptions.
Important Alert
- Course Start Date - Sep 28, 2026
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $42560 (GBP 32000) |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Living Expenses | $12768 (GBP 9600) |
| Total Cost | $12768 (GBP 9600) |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2025 | $36176 (GBP 27200) |
| 2024 | $36176 (GBP 27200) |
| 2023 | $33516 (GBP 25200) |
| 2021 | $36580 (GBP 27504) |
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| Course Start Date | Sep 28, 2026 |
| UCAS Application Deadline for September 2026 Intake | |

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
TOP Scholarships
| Scholarship name | Award amount | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| Kaplan Digital Pathways Foundation Scholarship | £5,000 fee discount (first year) | High-achieving students from an online Kaplan Foundation Certificate joining a non-clinical undergraduate degree |
| Undergraduate Global Advancement Scholarship | Up to £5,000 fee discount | High-achieving international students with grades equivalent to AAA in A levels |
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aviva Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,330/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,660/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored | |
| Business Administration Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |

















Comments