M.B.A Business Administration and Information Systems at UM-College Park [UMD], College Park Fees, Entry Requirement & Application Deadline

M.B.A from University of Maryland

College Park, MarylandwJijgU
University8XVE0M
/L87zs1856Gr9WNE
417250yo4gs
Public
College Parkov8ueM
7.8/10

Master of Business Administration [M.B.A] (Business Administration and Information Systems)

2 years
Full Time
On Campus

$25,774 /Yr

University of Maryland Master of Business Administration (MBA) Business Administration and Information Systems is a full-time, on-campus dual degree in College Park, Maryland. It combines an MBA and a Master of Science in Information Systems across 66 credits and at least 2.5 years, and admission requires a bachelor’s equivalent plus quantitative preparation. For the Fall 2027 intake, tuition is unpublished; the 2026-27 rate calculation is US$125,517 (INR 1.21 Crore) as a prior-cycle reference.

The programme is distinctive because students earn two master’s degrees while combining managerial foundations with information-systems coursework. It suits applicants with substantial work experience who want business-technology roles, but its 66-credit load requires more time and funding than a standalone MBA.

  • Students can apply to the dual degree at the start of the MBA or after the first MBA year.
  • The curriculum joins digital transformation, data-driven decision-making, operations, finance and strategic management.
  • Full-time study takes place at College Park within the Baltimore-Washington-Northern Virginia employment corridor.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the Fall 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: 12 March 2027.

The cycle is announced in the official programme catalog, but a form-opening date is not published. Indian applicants should prepare translated transcripts, test scores and recommendations before the portal opens.

Also Check: University of Maryland MBA admission

University of Maryland MBA Fees and Living Costs 2027

For Fall 2027, the exact dual-degree tuition has not been published, so an applicant should not treat the prior-cycle calculation as a confirmed bill. The University of Maryland (UMD) structure bills MBA and information-systems courses under their respective programme rates, which makes the course-specific breakdown more useful than a standalone MBA estimate.

Target-cycle fee status: Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished after checking the programme catalog, fee pages and application surfaces; 2026-27 rows are prior-cycle references. Verify the target fee on the official Full-Time MBA fee page after the new rates are posted.

Cost itemBasisAmount (US$)INR equivalentCycle or status
MBA core and elective tuition36 credits at the BUSM rateUS$1,759.50 per creditINR 1.70 Lakhs per credit2026-27 prior-cycle reference
Information Systems tuition30 credits at the BUDT rateUS$2,072.50 per creditINR 2.00 Lakhs per credit2026-27 prior-cycle reference
Calculated 66-credit tuition36 MBA credits plus 30 information-systems creditsUS$125,517INR 1.21 Crore2026-27 prior-cycle planning illustration
Application processing feeEach programme applicationUS$90INR 8,688Fall 2027 target-cycle policy
College Park mandatory fee9 or more credits in one semesterUS$738 per semesterINR 71,244 per semester2026-27 prior-cycle reference
International student feeStudents requiring a UMD immigration documentUS$125 per semesterINR 12,067 per semester2026-27 prior-cycle reference
MBA Association feeCollege Park MBA students, fall semesterUS$750 per fall semesterINR 72,403 per fall semester2026-27 prior-cycle reference
Admission depositFirst of two deposits after admissionUS$1,000INR 96,5372026-27 prior-cycle reference

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of US$ 1 = INR 96.5372 as of 16 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

The prior-cycle tuition illustration uses US$1,759.50 (INR 1.70 Lakhs) per credit across 36 MBA credits. It also uses US$2,072.50 (INR 2.00 Lakhs) per credit across 30 information-systems credits. It gives US$125,517 (INR 1.21 Crore). The US$90 application fee is a current target-cycle policy, while deposits are separate from tuition.

  • The dual degree’s course-based billing means the standalone MBA’s annual estimate cannot be used as this programme’s full tuition.
  • Budget the confirmed US$90 (INR 8,688) target-cycle application fee, then check the portal if the dual-degree workflow creates a second application.
  • Health insurance is billed automatically unless a waiver succeeds, but the checked 2026-27 fee pages do not publish its premium.

Cost of Living in College Park for MBA Information Systems Students

UMD’s official 2026-27 graduate budget lists housing and food off campus, personal expenses, books and supplies and transportation separately. The monthly figures below are calculated equivalents from the annual estimates, not separate university rent quotes.

ExpenseMonthly (US$)Monthly (INR equivalent)Annual (US$)Annual (INR equivalent)
Housing and food off campusUS$1,477INR 1.43 LakhsUS$17,724INR 17.11 Lakhs
Personal expensesUS$100INR 9,654US$1,200INR 1.16 Lakhs
Books and suppliesUS$83.33INR 8,045US$1,000INR 96,537
TransportationUS$254.83INR 24,601US$3,058INR 2.95 Lakhs
Official annual non-tuition items subtotalUS$1,915.17INR 1.85 LakhsUS$22,982INR 22.19 Lakhs

The official estimate is a combined student budget, so it does not provide a separate residence-price range or a utilities breakdown. Keep the US$22,982 (INR 22.19 Lakhs) annual non-tuition estimate separate from the visa funding evidence UMD requests after admission.

As a prior-cycle planning illustration, the 2.5-year route uses US$125,517 (INR 1.21 Crore) plus 2.5 times US$22,982 (INR 22.19 Lakhs) per year. The calculated result is US$182,972 (INR 1.77 Crore) before target-cycle tuition changes, health insurance and other one-time costs.

Read More: USA cost of studying guide

Student perspective

A university-level review gives an anecdotal shared-housing range of US$800 to US$1,200 (INR 77,230 to INR 1.16 Lakhs) per month. Utilities may be extra, so request leases with inclusions listed through the student reviews surface as a housing-search signal.

These comments are anecdotal and do not replace official University of Maryland data.

Key insight: The dual degree uses two per-credit schedules and at least 2.5 years of living expenses. Wait for the Fall 2027 tuition notice before committing funds.

University of Maryland MBA Information Systems Admission 2027

Admission requires a bachelor’s equivalent, quantitative readiness, a complete professional file and English evidence. The information-systems dual degree also requires a GMAT or GRE score, despite the standalone MBA’s optional-test policy.

For Indian applicants, the key screening issue is evidence that the academic record and work history support quantitative graduate study. The current FAQ says few accepted applicants have a GPA below 3.00 on a 4.00 scale. Use 75% to 80% or CGPA 7.5 to 8.0 on 10 as an approximate planning range.

Intake and Academic Eligibility

The full-time MBA route admits new students for the fall semester, and the dual degree requires both the MBA curriculum and the information-systems curriculum. The table separates published requirements from applicant-facing interpretation so a three-year Indian degree or a weaker quantitative record is not treated as automatically eligible.

RequirementUniversity evidenceIndian-applicant reading
Academic degreeEquivalent of a United States bachelor’s degree from an approved institutionUpload the original degree record and a literal English translation when required
Academic performanceFew accepted applicants have GPA below 3.00 on 4.00; no hard programme cutoff is published on the current FAQApproximate planning reference: 75% to 80% or CGPA 7.5 to 8.0 on 10, not a conversion decision
Quantitative preparationGrade B or higher in quantitative coursework, quantitative professional evidence or GMAT/GRE may demonstrate readinessGrade B is approximately 70% to 80% or CGPA 7.0 to 8.0 on 10; use the transcript and test together
Work experienceCompetitive full-time MBA candidates demonstrate at least 5 years of post-undergraduate work experienceThe resume should show progression, decisions made and measurable responsibility rather than only job titles
Dual-degree test ruleGMAT or GRE is required for an MBA combined with an MS in Information SystemsDo not rely on an MBA-only test waiver when applying for this dual degree
Application fileStatement of purpose, transcripts, two recommendations, resume and English scores for international applicantsPrepare certified translations and ask recommenders for evidence of analytical and leadership work
  • A three-year Indian bachelor’s degree needs additional evidence such as a completed master’s, a postgraduate diploma or eligibility for graduate study in India under UMD’s stated conditions.
  • Applicants without transcript-based quantitative preparation may be asked to complete calculus or statistics before starting MBA coursework.
  • The current admissions page says official test scores must be submitted with the application, so schedule the GMAT or GRE before the March 2027 deadline.

English Language Proficiency

International applicants normally submit the Test of English as a Foreign Language Internet-based Test (TOEFL iBT). The International English Language Testing System Academic (IELTS Academic) and Pearson Test of English Academic (PTE Academic) are also accepted.

These tests establish English proficiency for full enrollment, and UMD’s current English-score table shows different TOEFL scales by test date.

TestFull-enrollment requirementApplicant note
TOEFL iBT taken 21 January 2026 or laterOverall 5; Reading 5; Listening 5; Speaking 4.5; Writing 5Current 1.0 to 6.0 scale; UMD does not provide a self-conversion to the older scale
TOEFL iBT taken 20 January 2026 or earlierTotal 96; Reading 26; Listening 24; Speaking 22; Writing 24Older 0 to 120 scale shown by UMD
IELTS AcademicOverall 7; Reading 7; Listening 7; Speaking 6.5; Writing 7Sectional scores matter even when the overall score is met
PTE AcademicTotal 68; Writing 68UMD’s current table lists the total and writing requirements
  • For Fall 2027, a TOEFL test taken after 21 January 2026 should be planned against the revised overall and component scores rather than a converted 0 to 120 target.
  • India is not listed among UMD’s English-speaking-country exemptions, so an Indian degree normally requires an accepted English test unless another listed exemption applies.
  • Request electronic score delivery early because the university must receive official reports by the programme deadline.
Tip for Indian students: Build the application around quantitative evidence and a valid revised-scale English score. Use the 3-year degree conditions to decide whether an eligibility review is needed before submission.

University of Maryland MBA Information Systems Application 2027

The Fall 2027 international deadline is 12 March 2027, and the full-time dual degree currently has no separately published winter or summer intake. The programme catalog announces the deadline but does not publish a portal-opening date, daily cutoff time or fixed decision date.

Because the dual degree requires a complete MBA and information-systems file, submit the application before the deadline with scores, transcripts, recommendations and the statement of purpose already uploaded. The current graduate application fee is US$90 (INR 8,688), and Smith states that complete MBA applications usually receive a decision within 3 to 6 weeks.

Application Sequence

Use the following sequence to protect the March deadline, since missing test delivery or translation documents can make an otherwise complete form incomplete.

  • Select the exact full-time MBA and Information Systems dual-degree option in the graduate application.
  • Upload transcripts, degree records, translations, a statement of purpose, a resume and two recommendations.
  • Arrange GMAT or GRE results and an accepted English score before submitting the form.
  • Complete the invite-only interview when Smith requests one after reviewing the submitted application.

How to Use the Deadline

The published date is a final international-applicant cutoff rather than a scholarship priority date, so Indian applicants should treat 12 March 2027 as the latest safe submission point. A target-cycle scholarship cutoff is not separately published for this dual degree, which makes earlier submission useful for document correction but does not create a confirmed funding advantage.

Graduate application processing is separate from tuition, and the fee is non-refundable after submission. Keep payment confirmation and score-receipt evidence because the admissions office evaluates an application only after the required materials are complete.

Application tip: Finish the GMAT or GRE and English test before January 2027. Submit a fully translated file well before 12 March 2027 so missing documents do not consume the final review window.

University of Maryland MBA Information Systems Scholarships 2027

Full-time MBA applicants are automatically considered for Smith merit awards, and the school says competitive candidates may receive funding up to full tuition. The dual-degree page does not publish a separate Fall 2027 award amount. Treat every award as conditional until the admission letter states its value and renewal terms.

The named routes below have different identity rules, which matters because a scholarship for current University of Maryland students or veterans is not a general international award. Percentage remission is shown as a policy rather than converted into an INR amount because Fall 2027 tuition is not confirmed.

Funding context: The 12 March 2027 application deadline is confirmed, but a separate target-cycle scholarship cutoff is not published for this dual degree.

Award or routePublished value or mechanismINR equivalentRelevant eligibility
Smith MBA merit awardsMerit funding with full funding possibleNo fixed INR value publishedFull-time MBA applicants are considered during admission
Double Terp ScholarshipUS$10,000; cycle not specifiedINR 9.65 LakhsCurrent University of Maryland College Park seniors and alumni
Military Leadership ScholarUp to 100% tuitionPercentage remission, not a fixed INR amountEligible active-duty service members and veterans without equivalent veteran education benefits
Veteran Leadership FellowFinancial award and veteran funding supportNo fixed INR value publishedFull-time MBA veterans with limited veteran education benefits
Graduate assistantshipMerit-based award considered at admissionTarget-cycle amount not publishedIncoming graduate students selected by the school
  • Indian applicants should check the Double Terp identity condition first because overseas applicants who are not UMD alumni do not meet that route’s stated profile.
  • Applicants with military service should submit benefit records with the funding application because the military and veteran routes depend on service status and existing benefits.
  • Ask for the award value, renewal condition and whether it applies to both degree components before accepting an education loan.

Target-cycle funding status

Fall 2027 award values are not separately stated, so preserve the published full-tuition and percentage language without calculating a discount from the 2026-27 tuition reference.

Check Out: USA scholarships for Indian students

Scholarship reality: Automatic merit consideration is the strongest confirmed funding signal. Because target-cycle award values are missing, use gross tuition for loan planning until Smith issues a written award.

University of Maryland MBA Information Systems Salary 2027

Exact dual-degree employment outcomes are not separately published. The closest official evidence comes from the Class of 2024 Information Systems report and the Class of 2025 Full-Time MBA report, both school-level proxies.

That scope matters because the dual degree combines two curricula and the reports do not identify its graduates. The prior-cycle tuition illustration is US$125,517 (INR 1.21 Crore) before living costs. Funding, time out of the labour market and job fit therefore drive the financial decision.

  • The 66-credit route takes at least 2.5 years, so add 2.5 times US$22,982 (INR 22.19 Lakhs) per year when testing delayed earnings.
  • The Information Systems Class of 2024 reports mean salary US$76,816 (INR 74.16 Lakhs) and median US$80,000 (INR 77.23 Lakhs) from 27 reports, so model a range.
  • MBA proxy salaries are US$119,175 (INR 1.15 Crore) mean and US$125,000 (INR 1.21 Crore) median, so use them only as school-level context.
  • Fall 2027 tuition and awards remain unpublished, so request written target-cycle figures before signing a loan that uses the 2026-27 rate reference.

Employment Evidence and Career Fit

The Information Systems report is the closest functional match for the technical side of the degree, but its outcome sample is limited. The report covers 118 graduates seeking employment, with 29 receiving an offer by graduation and 60 receiving an offer by graduation or within six months.

Among accepted Information Systems jobs, business and data analytics represented 51.7% of reported functions, while technology represented 22.5% of industries. These figures support a business-technology career thesis, but they do not establish a hiring probability for this dual-degree cohort.

The Full-Time MBA Class of 2025 report records 34 of 44 seeking graduates accepting employment within three months, with 94.1% of accepted jobs in North America. Its listed employers include Amazon, Microsoft and JPMorgan Chase, which proves reported employer presence but not dual-degree recruitment or sponsorship.

Evidence scopeCohort and measureReported resultINR equivalentReporting context
School-level Information SystemsClass of 2024 mean base salaryUS$76,816INR 74.16 Lakhs27 salary reports
School-level Information SystemsClass of 2024 median base salaryUS$80,000INR 77.23 Lakhs27 salary reports
School-level Information SystemsClass of 2024 mean signing bonusUS$8,750INR 8.45 Lakhs6 bonus reports
School-level Full-Time MBAClass of 2025 mean base salaryUS$119,175INR 1.15 Crore16 salary reports from 44 seeking graduates
School-level Full-Time MBAClass of 2025 median base salaryUS$125,000INR 1.21 Crore16 salary reports from 44 seeking graduates
School-level Full-Time MBAClass of 2025 mean signing bonusUS$38,914INR 37.57 Lakhs7 bonus reports

Source: latest Information Systems employment report and the current Full-Time MBA employment report.

The Information Systems report says only 27 graduates reported salary, or 30.3% of the seeking group, so its mean and median are directional rather than typical outcomes. The Full-Time MBA proxy also has incomplete salary reporting, which makes the two school-level figures unsuitable for a guaranteed repayment calculation.

The programme page cites 17% projected growth from 2021 to 2031 for computer and information-systems managers using a United States labour-market source. That is an external market benchmark, not a University of Maryland graduate outcome, and applicants should match the curriculum to their target function before borrowing.

Take-home pay varies with location, tax status, benefits and deductions, so use a current United States paycheck tax calculator before modelling loan repayment.

ROI reality: The dual degree signals a business-technology positioning. Exact outcomes are unpublished and salary evidence is incomplete, so secure target tuition and funding terms before relying on payback.

United States Visa for UMD MBA Information Systems Students 2027

Indian students attending this full-time on-campus programme normally need an F-1 student visa for academic study in the United States. The visa process uses a Form I-20 from UMD and an I-901 SEVIS (Student and Exchange Visitor Information System) fee. Applicants must also show that tuition and living costs can be funded.

The current government application fee is US$185 (INR 17,859), while the I-901 SEVIS fee is US$350 (INR 33,788). Check the official US student-visa rules before payment because consular procedures and document requirements can change.

  • The two government charges total US$535 (INR 51,647), excluding the school deposit, travel, insurance and loan costs.
  • Optional Practical Training (OPT) can provide up to 12 months of post-study work authorization, subject to student and employer conditions.
  • The STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) information-systems component may support a further 24-month extension when the degree classification and other requirements qualify.
  • An F-2 spouse may accompany an F-1 student but cannot work, while employment sponsorship and a permanent-residence route remain separate decisions with no guarantee.

UMD’s designated-school officials should confirm the programme classification, dates and eligible work period before an Indian applicant chooses a post-study plan. A visa allows study and possible authorised work, but it does not promise a job, employer sponsorship or settlement.

Read More: USA post-study work visa guide

Visa reality: The STEM pathway can extend authorised work beyond initial OPT. Eligibility depends on the issued degree and current rules, so confirm classification with UMD before using it in a repayment assumption.

UMD MBA Information Systems Ranking 2027

The latest official subject result places the University of Maryland Information Systems and Artificial Intelligence programme at #7 in Management Information Systems among public universities. The result comes from the 2026 U.S. News & World Report ranking.

This is a subject and public-university ranking for the information-systems area, not a ranking of the 66-credit dual degree or a placement guarantee. Use it as academic context alongside the programme’s incomplete school-level employment evidence and the unpublished Fall 2027 tuition.

Ranking context: The table records the latest edition shown by the programme page, while the H2 uses the target intake year required for this article.

Ranking bodyEditionScopePosition
U.S. News & World Report2026Management Information Systems, public universities#7

For an Indian applicant, the ranking is most useful when the intended career requires both management training and information-systems depth. It cannot replace checking the dual-degree curriculum, funding letter or scope of the available employment reports.

Also Check: University of Maryland subject rankings

Key insight: The #7 subject result supports the information-systems academic proposition, but the decision still turns on dual-degree cost, workload and the limited scope of published employment data.

This dual degree fits Indian applicants who want to combine managerial training with information-systems depth and can show quantitative readiness. Its 66-credit structure and at least 2.5-year full-time route create a stronger business-technology proposition but also increase tuition exposure and delayed earnings. The material tradeoff is that exact dual-degree employment outcomes and Fall 2027 tuition are not published, so school-level salary evidence cannot guarantee repayment. Prepare the GMAT or GRE, English score and translated file early, then use the confirmed 12 March 2027 deadline and written funding offer to make the final decision.

University of Maryland MBA Business Administration and Information Systems FAQs

Ques. Is the University of Maryland MBA Business Administration and Information Systems course a two-year MBA?

Ans. No. It is a 66-credit MBA and MS dual degree with a full-time College Park route of at least 2.5 years. That schedule exceeds a standalone MBA.

Ques. What tuition should an Indian applicant budget for Fall 2027?

Ans. Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished. The prior-cycle calculation was US$125,517 (INR 1.21 Crore) before living costs, and it must not be treated as the target fee.

Ques. Does this dual degree require GMAT or GRE and which English scores are accepted?

Ans. Yes. UMD requires GMAT or GRE for the MBA plus MS in Information Systems. Accepted options include TOEFL iBT overall 5 on the revised scale, IELTS 7 overall or PTE 68 total with component requirements.

Ques. What is the Fall 2027 application deadline and are scholarships guaranteed?

Ans. The international deadline is 12 March 2027 and the current fee is US$90 (INR 8,688). Smith automatically considers full-time MBA applicants for merit awards, but target-cycle values and a separate scholarship cutoff are not published.

Ques. Can graduates use OPT after this programme and what salary should they expect?

Ans. The STEM information-systems component may support 12-month OPT and a further 24-month extension when current rules and degree classification qualify. Exact dual-degree salary outcomes are unpublished. School-level proxies report US$76,816 (INR 74.16 Lakhs) for Information Systems and US$119,175 (INR 1.15 Crore) for the Full-Time MBA.


8EJTse

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees$25774

uPlTcS

rhEkXjZnqz7Q
Health Insurance$2494
Books and supply$1000

XA/HUy

3PAU4MN4s6oj
2024$25774
2023$27075
2021$60150

7N6V25

0pC/y67d7ba6
Final Application Deadline For Fall 2026 Intake Mar 13, 2026

mbcuVI

96 / 120

AQUEvj

TOEFL

7 / 9

AQUEvj

IELTS

640 / 800

AQUEvj

GMAT

320 / 340

AQUEvj

GRE

3.2 / 4

PzAVDW

GPA

  • GMAT/GRE scores are necessary for application, average score of student is 656 in GMAT and it ranges between 600-700
  • GMAT waiver – Applicant must maintain an average GPA of 3.0 in bachelor`s degree to be eligible to apply for the waiver

LPsZaM

  • Statement of Purpose
  • Transcript(s)
  • TOEFL/IELTS/PTE (international graduate students)
  • Letters of Recommendation
  • Graduate Record Examination (GRE) or Graduate Management Admissions Test (GMAT)
  • CV/Resume

02eUQl

202520242023202220212020201920182017

QS World University logo
Business 125 zwSAGC 650 JxhWxU Global 02eUQl
( #55 zwSAGC 184 JxhWxU USA 2025)

Times Higher Education logo
Business 87 zwSAGC 990 JxhWxU Global 02eUQl
( #35 zwSAGC 147 JxhWxU USA 2025)

US News logo
Business 52 zwSAGC 133 JxhWxU Global 02eUQl
( #29 zwSAGC 125 JxhWxU USA 2025)

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ?  Report Here



Comments


No Comments To Show

3o6p3A

6YtxFja+VJO9sFGV92+zy2Nq
Go Clean ScholarshipNDHjH0$ 3,500/Yr$3,50070v4DRBachelor+zy2NqMerit-Based
Business Administration ScholarshipsNDHjH0Variable Amount70v4DRBachelor+zy2NqMerit-Based
Washington DC ScholarshipsNDHjH0Variable Amount70v4DRBachelor+zy2NqMerit-Based
BeArt Presets-Academic ScholarshipNDHjH0$ 2,500/Yr$2,50070v4DRBachelor+zy2NqMerit-Based
Chuan Ai Lu Engstrom Memorial ScholarshipNDHjH0$ 1,000/Yr$1,00070v4DRBachelor+zy2NqMerit-Based
Bharat Petroleum ScholarshipNDHjH0Variable Amount70v4DRMaster+zy2NqMerit-Based

FfUuzJ

8MIU1TS2h7MtBxsfMKuN65iobwRvnp
Final Application Deadline For Fall 2026 Intake (13th Mar 2026)
USD 25,774 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 96
  • IELTS: 7
  • GMAT: 640
  • GRE: 320
Application Deadline for Autumn 2027 Intake (23rd Feb 2027)
USD 30,794 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 100
  • IELTS: 7
  • Duolingo: 120

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

RKuImK

rd7VuE

X2JjGL