Bachelor of Science [B.S] (Education)
Field of Study:
$33,480 /Yr
University of Southampton Education is a three-year, full-time Bachelor of Science (BSc) at Highfield in Southampton for September 2027 entry. Indian applicants need at least 75% in Standard XII from accepted boards with subject conditions. September 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026/27 tuition was £24,800 (INR 32.34 Lakhs), as a prior-cycle reference.
The degree examines theory and research across UK and international education systems, with special educational needs, social justice, curriculum design, digital education and a final-year dissertation. It suits applicants targeting research, public-sector, education or further-study roles rather than immediate teacher training.
- Southampton advertises a guaranteed interview for its separate Primary or Secondary postgraduate teacher-training routes.
- Students can organise critical observations in schools and colleges with university advice and guidance.
- Optional modules can include a minor subject, a new language, study abroad and interdisciplinary study.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the September 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time, 23:30 Indian Standard Time (IST).
Completed UCAS (Universities and Colleges Admissions Service) submissions open on 1 September 2026. The UK portal cutoff controls the deadline, so Indian applicants should submit before 23:30 IST after their reference and personal statement are ready.
Also Check: Southampton BSc Education Admission
Southampton BSc Education Fees and Living Costs 2027
September 2027 international tuition is unpublished for this BSc Education.
The current official fee schedule shows £24,800 (INR 32.34 Lakhs) for 2026/27.
That amount is a prior-cycle reference rather than a confirmed 2027/28 charge, so verify the target fee on the official fee page.
The table preserves the published annual charge and separates it from a calculated course total.
A three-year tuition figure is calculated only as prior-cycle planning context because Southampton has not published the 2027/28 annual charge.
| Fee item | International amount | INR equivalent | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition, 2026/27 prior-cycle reference | £24,800 | INR 32.34 Lakhs | Full-time Education BSc |
| Calculated three-year tuition, prior-cycle planning illustration | £74,400 | INR 97.02 Lakhs | £24,800 × 3; excludes future increases |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of GBP 1 = INR 130.40 as of 24 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
Source: Southampton’s current Education course fee section and undergraduate tuition-fee schedule.
Southampton states that tuition covers teaching and examinations, while accommodation, food, travel and living costs remain separate.
The checked course and fee pages state no course-specific deposit or application charge, so confirm any payment schedule in the offer and enrolment instructions.
- Keep a full 2027/28 funding plan because the prior-cycle fee cannot establish the target tuition.
- Treat £24,800 (INR 32.34 Lakhs) as an annual planning reference rather than a confirmed offer amount.
- Ask how the optional year in employment affects fees and duration before selecting that route.
Cost of Living in Southampton for Education Students
Southampton’s official student-living page publishes weekly estimates rather than monthly totals.
The monthly values below use weekly cost × 52 divided by 12, while annual values use weekly cost × 52.
| Expense | Monthly (GBP) | Monthly (INR) | Annual (GBP) | Annual (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University halls accommodation | £671.67 to £1,022.67 | INR 87,585 to INR 1.33 Lakhs | £8,060 to £12,272 | INR 10.51 Lakhs to INR 16.00 Lakhs |
| Private rent | £498.33 | INR 64,983 | £5,980 | INR 7.80 Lakhs |
| Utilities* | £130.00 | INR 16,952 | £1,560 | INR 2.03 Lakhs |
| Wi-Fi* | £17.33 | INR 2,260 | £208 | INR 27,123 |
| Phone | £43.33 | INR 5,651 | £520 | INR 67,808 |
| Unilink bus pass* | £39.00 | INR 5,086 | £468 | INR 61,027 |
| Other transport | £65.00 | INR 8,476 | £780 | INR 1.02 Lakhs |
| Food shopping | £216.67 | INR 28,253 | £2,600 | INR 3.39 Lakhs |
| Social and wellbeing | £130.00 | INR 16,952 | £1,560 | INR 2.03 Lakhs |
| Clothing and personal care | £86.67 | INR 11,301 | £1,040 | INR 1.36 Lakhs |
| Trips and opportunities | £108.33 | INR 14,127 | £1,300 | INR 1.70 Lakhs |
| Books and other course costs | £60.67 | INR 7,911 | £728 | INR 94,931 |
| Laundry* | £21.67 | INR 2,825 | £260 | INR 33,904 |
| University halls scenario total | £1,382.33 to £1,733.33 | INR 1.80 Lakhs to INR 2.26 Lakhs | £16,588 to £20,800 | INR 21.63 Lakhs to INR 27.12 Lakhs |
| Private accommodation scenario total | £1,417.00 | INR 1.85 Lakhs | £17,004 | INR 22.17 Lakhs |
University-managed halls include utilities, Wi-Fi, the Unilink bus pass and laundry marked with an asterisk.
Using prior-cycle tuition only, a three-year planning illustration is £124,164 to £136,800 (INR 1.62 Crore to INR 1.78 Crore). It uses (£24,800 × 3) + (£16,588 to £20,800 × 3) and excludes fee increases, visa charges, the health surcharge, flights and personal travel.
Also Check: UK Accommodation Costs
Key insight: The target fee is still unpublished, so Indian applicants should fund the prior-cycle planning range and recheck the 2027/28 charge before accepting an offer.
Southampton BSc Education Admission 2027
The 2027/28 academic offer is ABB at A level, while the India-specific route requires at least 75% in Standard XII from Southampton’s named boards.
The Indian threshold is country-specific guidance rather than a direct conversion of ABB, so board, subject and English evidence must be checked together.
Southampton’s course page also accepts an International Baccalaureate (IB) route with 32 points overall and 16 Higher Level points.
| Qualification route | Published 2027/28 requirement | Indian-applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|
| A levels | ABB, normally excluding General Studies and Critical Thinking | Use the Southampton Standard XII route if applying with an Indian school qualification |
| Indian Standard XII | At least 75% from CBSE, CISCE or Metro State Boards in Delhi, Maharashtra, Chennai, Kolkata or Karnataka | Subject requirements still apply, and the board must be one of those named by Southampton |
| International Baccalaureate | Pass with 32 points overall, including 16 points at Higher Level | Southampton does not publish a direct Indian percentage conversion for this IB route |
| BTEC National Extended Diploma | DDM | Applicants using another vocational route should submit the full qualification profile for equivalency review |
| English and Mathematics baseline | GCSE English and Mathematics at grade 4/C or an accepted equivalent | Provide equivalent school evidence because the course page retains this subject condition |
The 75% Standard XII requirement is the clearest direct-entry screen for Indian applicants, but it does not override subject conditions.
The course page reports Education as 5th in the United Kingdom in the Complete University Guide 2026; this is subject context, not a qualifying programme ranking used in this article.
English Language Requirements for Southampton BSc Education
English language proficiency (ELP) is required when English is not your first language.
The university band matching this course is IELTS 6.5 overall with 6.0 in every component. Its current test table gives separate PTE and TOEFL routes on distinct scales.
| Test route | Overall requirement | Component requirements |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic or UKVI | 6.5 | 6.0 in listening, reading, writing and speaking |
| PTE Academic or PTE Academic UKVI | 67 | 64 in each component |
| TOEFL iBT taken on or after 21 January 2026 | 4.5 on the 1.0 to 6.0 scale | 4.0 in listening, reading, writing and speaking |
| TOEFL iBT taken before 21 January 2026 | 92 on the 0 to 120 scale | Listening 21, reading 22, writing 21 and speaking 23 |
- Plan for the IELTS 6.0 component floor because one weaker band can block the published 6.5 route.
- Choose a TOEFL test date carefully because Southampton publishes different requirements before and from 21 January 2026.
- Check test validity because Southampton says approved results must normally be awarded within two years of course start.
The course also offers a guaranteed interview for a separate Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) route. This makes the BSc relevant to teacher-training plans, but applicants should confirm the later PGCE conditions.
The course page shows independent study rising from 84% in year one to 89% in year three, while coursework represents 94%, 81% and 88% of assessment across the three years.
Recent National Student Survey (NSS) results provide an additional course-planning signal. The NSS is a final-year student experience survey, and the Education sample covered 25 students with a 71% response rate in 2024/25.
In that sample, 79% were positive about teaching, 90% about learning resources and 76% about student feedback being heard. Applicants who prefer frequent supervised classroom practice should ask how independent study and feedback timing fit their learning style.
Tip for Indian students: The 75% Standard XII route still requires accepted-board evidence, subject conditions and the 6.0 English component floor, so verify all three before applying.
Southampton BSc Education Application 2027
The application route is UCAS, using course code X300 and Southampton institution code S27.
The target course has one published intake, September 2027, and Southampton’s live page shows no January or summer start.
Southampton assesses predicted grades, academic achievements, the personal statement and the academic reference, so prepare each item around this course’s research-led curriculum.
The timetable below shows UK portal times with Indian Standard Time (IST) beside them.
| Application stage | UK date and time | IST date and time | Applicant action |
|---|---|---|---|
| Completed submissions open | 1 September 2026 | 1 September 2026 | Submit after the application, reference and fee are ready |
| Equal-consideration deadline | 13 January 2027 at 18:00 | 13 January 2027 at 23:30 | Use this as the main Southampton deadline |
| UCAS Extra opens | 25 February 2027 | 25 February 2027 | Consider Extra only if eligible and without a suitable offer |
| Provider decisions due for applications by 13 January | 12 May 2027 | 12 May 2027 | Review offers and conditions before replying |
| Reply deadline when all decisions arrive by 12 May | 2 June 2027 | 2 June 2027 | Choose firm and insurance options through UCAS |
| Applications received before Clearing | 30 June 2027 at 18:00 | 30 June 2027 at 22:30 | Use this only if the course still has places |
| Provider decisions due for applications by 30 June | 14 July 2027 | 14 July 2027 | Track outstanding decisions and the UCAS reply date |
| Final date for 2027 entry applications | 23 September 2027 at 18:00 | 23 September 2027 at 22:30 | Apply only after Southampton confirms vacancies |
The 13 January 2027 equal-consideration date is the safest target because it gives Southampton the complete application before later vacancy-dependent stages.
Late applications may remain possible, but they should not replace the main deadline because UCAS sends applications after 30 June into the Clearing process.
- Use the personal statement to connect education interests with research, inclusion, curriculum, digital learning and school observations.
- Ask your referee to evidence independent study, critical thinking and sustained academic work because the course becomes more self-directed each year.
- Prepare the 75% Standard XII board evidence and IELTS, PTE or TOEFL result before submitting the application.
Southampton says applications submitted near the equal-consideration date may take longer to process because of volume.
Read More: UCAS Application Guide
Application tip: Treat 13 January 2027 at 23:30 IST as the working cutoff, then submit the completed reference, statement and qualification evidence before the portal closes.
Southampton BSc Education Scholarships 2027
The clearest current award for an Indian applicant is the Undergraduate Global Excellence Scholarship, which offers £3,000 (INR 3.91 Lakhs) off first-year tuition.
The award is for new international students paying overseas fees on an eligible full-time, in-person undergraduate course and entering year one.
Southampton describes the award as automatic, but the published page does not separately name September 2027 or provide a target-cycle deadline.
| Award | Published value | Eligibility relevant to this course | Route and cycle status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate Global Excellence Scholarship | £3,000 (INR 3.91 Lakhs) first-year tuition reduction | New overseas-fee undergraduate, full-time, in-person, entering year one with a conditional or unconditional offer | Automatic consideration; September 2027 deadline and separate cycle confirmation unpublished |
Source: Southampton’s current Undergraduate Global Excellence Scholarship terms.
The award can sit alongside another Southampton award only when the combined value does not exceed 100% of tuition fees.
Because the scholarship reduces first-year tuition only, it does not remove the need to fund years two and three or Southampton’s living costs.
- Keep the full 2027/28 tuition plan because the £3,000 (INR 3.91 Lakhs) award is not separately confirmed for September 2027.
- Check the offer and enrolment documents for automatic scholarship confirmation before deducting the award from your funding plan.
- Ask Southampton whether a later scholarship update changes the value or conditions before accepting the offer.
Also Check: Southampton Scholarships
Funding note
The published £3,000 (INR 3.91 Lakhs) award is useful first-year relief, but its 2027 cycle is not separately confirmed. Budget for the full prior-cycle tuition reference until Southampton updates your offer.
Scholarship reality: One automatic £3,000 (INR 3.91 Lakhs) award is visible, but Indian applicants should arrange full three-year funding before relying on it.
Southampton BSc Education Salary 2027
The Southampton course page displays £25k (INR 32.60 Lakhs) average professional salary, 74% in a skilled profession or further study and 97% graduate employment.
Those course-page indicators do not state a cohort, response rate or salary measure, so the detailed official outcome data below gives the safer scope.
| Evidence scope | Published salary outcome | INR equivalent | Meaning for applicants |
|---|---|---|---|
| Southampton course page, cohort not stated | £25k average professional salary | INR 32.60 Lakhs | Current course-page indicator without a disclosed cohort |
| Discover Uni course-specific LEO data, graduates 2015 to 2017 | £25,000 median after three years; typical range £21,000 to £28,000 | INR 32.60 Lakhs; range INR 27.38 Lakhs to INR 36.51 Lakhs | 30 people; historical earnings evidence, not a starting-salary forecast |
| Discover Uni course-specific LEO data, graduates 2015 to 2017 | £28,000 median after five years; typical range £22,500 to £32,000 | INR 36.51 Lakhs; range INR 29.34 Lakhs to INR 41.73 Lakhs | 30 people; longer-run historical evidence, not a guarantee |
| Outcome measure | Published figure | Scope |
|---|---|---|
| Course-page skilled profession or further study | 74% | Southampton course page; cohort not stated |
| Course-page graduate employment | 97% | Southampton course page; cohort not stated |
| Work or further study after 15 months | 90% | Discover Uni, Education graduates 2021 to 2023; 15 students and 70% response |
Source: official Education outcome dataset and Southampton’s current course-page career indicators.
The 90% work-or-study result is course-specific but small, while the 97% course-page figure has no disclosed cohort.
All salary figures are gross, so take-home pay changes with tax, pension contributions, location and employment terms.
Use the current UK Income Tax calculator when testing a specific offer.
The three-year prior-cycle planning cost is £124,164 to £136,800 (INR 1.62 Crore to INR 1.78 Crore). This uses the 2026/27 tuition reference and Southampton’s official living scenarios, then excludes fee increases, visa charges and travel.
- The prior-cycle planning range combines £24,800 (INR 32.34 Lakhs) annual tuition with official halls living estimates, so verify 2027/28 tuition before committing funds.
- The £25,000 (INR 32.60 Lakhs) three-year median uses 2015 to 2017 graduates, so compare current UK education roles with this historical evidence before modelling repayment.
- The 90% work-or-study result covers 15 students, so ask Southampton for current course outcome detail rather than treating it as a placement rate.
- The course’s research, critical-observation and dissertation structure supports education, public-sector and further-study routes, so match the cost to your intended pathway.
The optional year in employment can add experience, but Southampton does not publish its exact charge or an employment guarantee on the course page.
Applicants considering that option should request the additional fee, duration and placement conditions before adding it to the funding model.
ROI reality: Southampton provides useful Education outcome evidence, but mixed cohorts and unpublished 2027/28 tuition rule out a defensible payback forecast.
UK Visa for Southampton BSc Education Students 2027
From outside the UK, the Student visa application fee is £558 (INR 72,763), and the annual Immigration Health Surcharge (IHS) is £776 (INR 1.01 Lakhs).
Southampton is outside London, so maintenance evidence is £1,171 per month (INR 1.53 Lakhs) for up to nine months, or £10,539 (INR 13.74 Lakhs).
These amounts are separate from Southampton’s living estimate, so check the current Student visa rules before applying.
- Degree-level students may work up to 20 hours per week during term time, but this cannot replace maintenance evidence.
- The Graduate Route provides 18 months for applications made on or after 1 January 2027.
- Its current application fee is £937 (INR 1.22 Lakhs), and the 18-month health surcharge is £1,152.50 (INR 1.50 Lakhs).
- A later Skilled Worker route normally requires £41,700 (INR 54.38 Lakhs) or the job’s higher going rate, plus an approved sponsor.
- Settlement through a qualifying Skilled Worker route normally takes five years, while undergraduate dependants remain restricted except where a government-sponsored exception applies.
Also Check: UK Student Visa Requirements
Visa reality: The 18-month Graduate Route offers a defined post-study window, but sponsorship and the £41,700 (INR 54.38 Lakhs) salary threshold require a separate employment plan.
Southampton BSc Education suits Indian applicants who want research-led study of education across systems, with critical observations, a dissertation and a possible later teacher-training route. The three-year full-time structure builds independent research and policy skills, while the current 90% work-or-study outcome comes from a small 15-student cohort. The material tradeoff is financial uncertainty because 2027/28 tuition remains unpublished and historical earnings evidence does not support a payback forecast. Prepare the 75% Standard XII evidence, meet the 6.0 English component floors and target 13 January 2027 at 23:30 IST for UCAS submission.
University of Southampton BSc Education FAQs
Ques. Is Southampton BSc Education suitable for an Indian applicant who wants to become a teacher?
Ans. The BSc studies education theory, research and policy, while Southampton advertises a guaranteed interview for its separate Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE) routes. Treat the PGCE as a later teacher-training step and check its conditions before relying on that pathway.
Ques. What budget should an Indian applicant use before Southampton publishes 2027/28 tuition?
Ans. Use the 2026/27 annual reference of £24,800 (INR 32.34 Lakhs) only for planning. With official living scenarios, the three-year prior-cycle illustration is £124,164 to £136,800 (INR 1.62 Crore to INR 1.78 Crore), excluding visa and travel costs.
Ques. Which English test route is practical for Southampton BSc Education?
Ans. Southampton lists IELTS 6.5 overall with 6.0 in every component and PTE 67 with 64 in each component. It also lists TOEFL 4.5 overall with 4.0 in each component on the newer 1.0 to 6.0 scale. Choose the test whose component floors you can meet because Southampton keeps the older TOEFL 0 to 120 scale separate.
Ques. When should I submit my Southampton Education application for September 2027?
Ans. Completed submissions open on 1 September 2026, and the main equal-consideration deadline is 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time, or 23:30 IST. Submit the reference, personal statement, board evidence and English result before that cutoff.
Ques. Can Southampton BSc Education justify the cost for a UK education career?
Ans. The course page shows £25k (INR 32.60 Lakhs) average professional salary, while Discover Uni reports 90% work or further study after 15 months from 15 students. Those scopes do not guarantee employment, so compare the prior-cycle cost with the 18-month Graduate Route and your host-country or India-return plan.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $33480 (GBP 24800) |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Living Expenses | $16200 (GBP 12000) |
| Total Cost | $16200 (GBP 12000) |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2024 | $30105 (GBP 22300) |
| 2023 | $30105 (GBP 22300) |
| 2021 | $34752 (GBP 25742) |
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| UCAS Application Deadline For January 2026 Intake | |


Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Options Available
| Program | Delivery Type | Duration | Program Type | Tuition Fees |
| B.S Education and Psychology | full time | 3 years | on-campus | $41850 |
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,700/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored | |
| Business Administration Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,350/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific |
Similar Programs
| Program | Important Date | Total Fees | Median Exams Score | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USD 41,850 /Yr GBP 31,000 /Yr |
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here

















Comments