Bachelor (Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience)
Field of Study:
$43,494 /Yr
Queen Mary, University of London offers Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience as a four-year, full-time BEng (Bachelor of Engineering with Honours) at its Mile End campus. The course requires ABB at A level with two of Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry; Indian equivalents are 75% for CBSE or ISC, 70% West Bengal or 80% other boards. September 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026-27 tuition was GBP 32,950 per year (INR 43.02 Lakhs), as a prior-cycle reference.
The degree connects mechanics, chemistry, mathematical modelling and materials processing to design projects addressing clean growth, ageing societies and future mobility. Because the four-year route adds an industrial experience year, it suits applicants who want laboratory and project learning followed by workplace exposure. Applicants should be comfortable with sustained quantitative study, group work and an independently competitive placement process.
- The curriculum includes materials for biomedical applications, sustainability, aerospace and electrochemical engineering.
- Facilities include materials characterisation, mechanical testing, wet chemistry, nanotechnology and computer modelling laboratories.
- Professional accreditation supports a route toward Incorporated Engineer registration and partial Chartered Engineer academic requirements.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the September 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time, 23:30 Indian Standard Time (IST).
Completed applications through the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service can be submitted from 1 September 2026. Indian applicants should finish academic, English and reference evidence before the equal-consideration cutoff.
Also Check: Queen Mary undergraduate admission
Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Fees and Living Costs 2027
Target-cycle fee status: Queen Mary states that overseas fees for 2027 entry will appear shortly, so September 2027 tuition is not confirmed. The 2026-27 course page listed GBP 32,950 per year (INR 43.02 Lakhs) for overseas students, which is prior-cycle planning context.
The fee table separates the older published rate from its four-year calculation. Neither amount is a confirmed 2027 charge, so use the official tuition page before accepting an offer or arranging borrowing.
| Fee item | GBP | INR | Cycle and interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual overseas tuition | GBP 32,950 | INR 43.02 Lakhs | 2026-27 prior-cycle reference for JM11 |
| Four-year tuition calculation | GBP 131,800 | INR 1.72 Crore | Calculated as 4 x GBP 32,950; not a 2027 fee |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of GBP 1 = INR 130.55 as of 22 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
Verify the target fee on the official Queen Mary tuition fee page.
- The target-cycle bill should be confirmed before an Indian applicant fixes the loan amount or compares net costs.
- The prior-cycle calculation excludes possible annual increases and should not be presented as a 2027 quote.
- Tuition, living costs and visa maintenance funds are separate obligations, so a single combined transfer should not be assumed.
Cost of Living in London for Materials Science Students
Imperial College London estimates a monthly London budget of GBP 1,806 to GBP 1,837 (INR 2.36 Lakhs to INR 2.40 Lakhs). The estimate covers accommodation, food, travel and personal spending, but it excludes tuition and study materials.
Queen Mary accommodation starts around GBP 170 per week (INR 22,194), while the London proxy below shows separate accommodation scenarios. Treat the figures as planning evidence rather than a Queen Mary invoice.
| Expense | Monthly (GBP) | Monthly (INR) | Nine months (GBP) | Nine months (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Accommodation, college-run | GBP 1,084 | INR 1.42 Lakhs | GBP 9,753 | INR 12.73 Lakhs |
| Accommodation, private sector | GBP 1,114 | INR 1.45 Lakhs | GBP 10,023 | INR 13.08 Lakhs |
| Food | GBP 307 | INR 40,079 | GBP 2,764 | INR 3.61 Lakhs |
| Travel, Zone 1 to 2 | GBP 119 | INR 15,535 | GBP 1,071 | INR 1.40 Lakhs |
| Personal and leisure | GBP 297 | INR 38,773 | GBP 2,672 | INR 3.49 Lakhs |
| Total | GBP 1,806 to GBP 1,837 | INR 2.36 Lakhs to INR 2.40 Lakhs | GBP 16,250 to GBP 16,530 | INR 21.21 Lakhs to INR 21.58 Lakhs |
Source: Imperial College London living-cost estimate used as a London planning proxy.
The calculated prior-cycle planning illustration combines four years of the 2026-27 tuition reference with nine months of London living costs for each year. That produces GBP 65,000 to GBP 66,120 (INR 84.86 Lakhs to INR 86.32 Lakhs) for living costs. The overall total is GBP 196,800 to GBP 197,920 (INR 2.57 Crore to INR 2.58 Crore). It excludes visas, travel, study materials and target-cycle fee changes.
Also Check: UK accommodation and living costs
Fee planning note
Because September 2027 overseas tuition is unpublished, treat the calculated prior-cycle range as preparation only and wait for the target fee before finalising borrowing.
Key insight: London living costs can add INR 84.86 Lakhs to INR 86.32 Lakhs across four nine-month periods in this prior-cycle illustration. Confirm the 2027 tuition before building the final funding plan.
Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Admission 2027
Admission answer: The standard offer is ABB at A level, including at least two of Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry. For Indian applicants, Queen Mary’s mapping equates ABB to 75% for CBSE or ISC, 70% West Bengal or 80% other boards.
The course also accepts 32 International Baccalaureate points with 6,5,5 at Higher Level, including two of the same subjects. General Certificate of Secondary Education English and Mathematics require grade C or 4, while Access applicants need 60 credits with 45 at Level 3.
Indian equivalence context: CBSE means Central Board of Secondary Education, while ISC means Indian School Certificate. Queen Mary’s official mapping covers those boards and named state boards, but it does not publish Indian percentage conversions for International Baccalaureate or Access results.
| Qualification | Published requirement | Indian applicant interpretation | Decision point |
|---|---|---|---|
| A levels | ABB, including at least two of Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry | 75% CBSE or ISC; 70% West Bengal; 80% other boards | Direct standard route |
| International Baccalaureate Diploma | 32 points with 6,5,5 at Higher Level, including two of Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry | No QMUL Indian percentage conversion is published; use the points requirement | Admissions decides equivalence |
| General Certificate of Secondary Education | English and Mathematics at grade C or 4 | No separate Indian percentage conversion is published | Check accepted school evidence |
| Access to Higher Education Diploma | 60 credits, including 45 at Level 3 with 18 Distinction and 27 Merit or higher | No Indian percentage conversion is published | Case-by-case assessment |
Applicants with the direct Indian benchmark should foreground Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry results because the subject combination is part of the offer. Queen Mary also lists contextual BBC and enhanced BCC offers, but overseas eligibility must be checked against the applicant’s circumstances.
- General Studies and Critical Thinking do not count toward the published subject requirement.
- Indian applicants below the direct route should check whether Queen Mary’s International Foundation Year can provide an eligible pathway.
- The four-year industrial experience option adds a competitive placement decision after admission, so academic evidence remains important beyond the offer threshold.
English Language Requirements for Materials Science
English requirement: The School of Engineering and Materials Science uses Band 3, with IELTS Academic at 6.0 overall and 5.5 in each component. IELTS means International English Language Testing System. TOEFL means Test of English as a Foreign Language, and PTE means Pearson Test of English.
IELTS measures four language components, TOEFL reports a university-approved scale and PTE provides an academic score profile. Queen Mary accepts specified Indian Standard XII English results, which may remove the need for a separate test when the board and score meet Band 3.
| Test or qualification | Band 3 requirement | Validity or restriction | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic, Online or Indicator | 6.0 overall and 5.5 in each component | Valid for two years from course start; standard IELTS General is not accepted | Use Academic or accepted UKVI format |
| TOEFL iBT or Home Edition from 21 January 2026 | 4.5 overall and 4.0 in Writing, Reading, Listening and Speaking | Valid for two years; MyBest is not accepted | Submit the new 1.0 to 6.0 scale |
| TOEFL iBT taken by 20 January 2026 | 79 overall; Writing 17, Reading 18, Listening 17 and Speaking 20 | Legacy 0 to 120 scale; do not self-convert | Use the score policy that matches the test date |
| PTE Academic, UKVI or Online | 65 overall and 59 in each component | Valid for two years from course start | Check the component scores before sending |
| CBSE or ISC Standard XII English | 60% | Valid for seven years | Confirm board evidence with admissions |
| Selected Indian state-board Standard XII English | 65% | Valid for seven years | Confirm that the board is on Queen Mary’s accepted list |
- Applicants using IELTS should protect the 5.5 component floor because an overall 6.0 alone does not satisfy Band 3.
- Applicants taking TOEFL after 21 January 2026 should report the published 1.0 to 6.0 scores rather than converting them from the legacy scale.
- Indian board applicants should keep the marksheet and board identity ready because validity and acceptance differ by qualification.
Tip for Indian students: ABB is achievable only when the required subject mix is present, while English routes have component floors. Match your board, subjects and test date to the exact row before submitting evidence.
Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Application 2027
Application route: All undergraduate applications for this course go through the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS). UCAS manages the form, reference, personal statement, university choices and key dates for Indian applicants.
September 2027 applications can be submitted from 1 September 2026, while the main equal-consideration deadline is 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time. That deadline is 23:30 Indian Standard Time, and the course page lists only the September intake.
Forward-looking timeline: The table retains the UK portal time and gives the Indian equivalent beside each timed cutoff. The UK time controls whether UCAS received the application before the deadline.
| Stage | Published date and time | Applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Completed applications can be submitted | 1 September 2026 | Finalise the form, reference and personal statement |
| Equal-consideration deadline | 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time, 23:30 IST | Submit the main application by the cutoff |
| Extra opens | 25 February 2027 | Use Extra only when no offer is held after decisions |
| Applications sent to universities until | 30 June 2027 at 18:00 UK time, 22:30 IST | Applications after this point move into Clearing |
| Last day to add an Extra choice | 1 July 2027 | Complete the single-choice Extra route |
| Clearing opens | 2 July 2027 | Check course availability directly through UCAS |
| Decisions due for applications submitted by 13 January | 12 May 2027 | Track Queen Mary’s decision through UCAS |
| Reply deadline when all decisions arrive by 12 May | 2 June 2027 | Accept the firm and insurance choices by the response date |
| Final date for 2027 entry applications | 23 September 2027 at 18:00 UK time, 22:30 IST | Use only if the course remains available in Clearing |
The January deadline gives an Indian applicant equal-consideration treatment, but a complete application still needs verified marks, English evidence, reference material and a focused statement. Queen Mary’s institution code is Q50, and the course page does not list a separate interview or portfolio requirement.
The 2027 UCAS application fee is GBP 34.50 (INR 4,504) for up to five choices. Keep the fee separate from tuition because it is paid during the application process and is not a Queen Mary charge.
- Submit before 13 January 2027 if you want the main equal-consideration route rather than relying on later availability.
- Use 23:30 IST as the practical January cutoff, while retaining 18:00 UK time as the controlling portal time.
- Prepare the reference and personal statement before submission because UCAS sends the completed form to the chosen universities.
Also Check: UCAS undergraduate application guide
Application tip: Submit a complete UCAS application by 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time because the course has one listed intake. Use the later deadlines only when Queen Mary remains available.
Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Scholarships 2027
Scholarship answer: Queen Mary has published relevant awards, but the 2027-28 values and deadlines are not yet available. The awards below are current published or prior-cycle references, so they must not be subtracted from the unpublished 2027 tuition.
The strongest route for a self-funded international offer holder is the Global Talent Scholarship, subject to its academic threshold. The other awards are conditional on Queen Mary family history or a Kaplan pathway, so they are not general discounts for every Indian applicant.
Cycle context: Global Talent and Kaplan terms below are from 2026-27, while the Children of Alumni Award is current published without a target-cycle label. Recheck the award page after the September 2027 scholarship cycle opens.
| Award | Value (GBP) | Value (INR) | Eligibility and route | Cycle and deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Global Talent Scholarship | GBP 3,000 per year, up to GBP 12,000 | INR 3.92 Lakhs per year, up to INR 15.67 Lakhs | International undergraduate offer holder, overseas fee status, fully self-funded, with the published academic threshold; automatic consideration | 2026-27 prior-cycle terms; deadline not stated |
| Children of Alumni Award | GBP 1,000 one-off | INR 1.31 Lakhs one-off | Child of a Queen Mary international alumnus, overseas fee payer and self-funded for at least the award value; flag with the alumni team | Current published, cycleless; automatic on enrolment |
| Kaplan Excellence Scholarship | GBP 5,000 | INR 6.53 Lakhs | Student progressing from Kaplan International College London Foundation Certificate or Kaplan International Digital Pathway; automatic ranking among eligible students | 2026 prior-cycle terms; deadline not stated |
The Global Talent award requires AAA or International Baccalaureate 36 with Higher Level 6,6,6 where an AAB course is specified. An ABB offer alone does not establish eligibility. Its published terms also renew only with an average of 65% or above and do not cover a placement year with reduced tuition.
- Keep the full September 2027 tuition in the funding plan because no target-cycle award can currently be valued against it.
- Check the Global Talent academic threshold against the final offer rather than the course’s standard ABB entry requirement.
- Use the Children of Alumni route only when the family relationship and overseas self-funding conditions can be documented.
- Use the Kaplan award only after confirming the named pathway and the 2027 award terms.
Also Check: UK scholarships for international students
Scholarship reality: The published awards are conditional and cycle-sensitive, while 2027 tuition is still unpublished. Treat every award as upside funding and arrange the course without assuming a discount.
Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Placements 2027
Outcome scope: Queen Mary does not publish a course-level salary, graduate offer rate or placement rate for this 2027 route. It does publish placement examples and career roles, while Discover Uni provides broader subject-group evidence.
The industrial experience year is awarded through an application, academic record and interview because placements are highly competitive. The course also develops design, laboratory and modelling skills, which align with the published materials and engineering roles.
Course-specific evidence: The following items come from the course page or its professional-accreditation information. They show preparation and reported destinations, not a guaranteed placement or job.
| Evidence | Published detail | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|
| Industrial placement examples | GE, Red Bull, Leonardo, Airbus, GlaxoSmithKline, Roche and Siemens Healthineers are listed among 2026 destinations | Examples show the range of reported host organisations, not placement probability |
| Published career roles | Materials Engineer, Metallurgist, Research Scientist, Technical Engineer, Manufacturing Systems Engineer and Patent Examiner | Use the curriculum to test fit with technical, laboratory and manufacturing work |
| Professional accreditation | IOM3 accreditation fully meets academic requirements for IEng and partially meets CEng requirements | Useful for a professional-registration plan, subject to later experience and assessment |
The Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining (IOM3) is the accrediting professional body named for the course. Incorporated Engineer (IEng) and Chartered Engineer (CEng) are professional registration levels, not employment guarantees.
Official subject-group outcomes: Discover Uni reports the closest available evidence for Queen Mary’s Engineering and Technology group. The figures are not course-specific, so the scope and cohort appear beside every measure.
| Measure | Published result | INR equivalent | Scope and cohort |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median salary after 15 months | GBP 30,000 | INR 39.17 Lakhs | Engineering and technology group; graduates 2022-23; 75 people; 64% response |
| Typical salary after 15 months | GBP 28,000 to GBP 35,000 | INR 36.55 Lakhs to INR 45.69 Lakhs | Same group and cohort; published typical range |
| Median salary after three years | GBP 32,500 | INR 42.43 Lakhs | Longer-term official dataset; graduates 2015-17; 310 people |
| Median salary after five years | GBP 40,500 | INR 52.87 Lakhs | Longer-term official dataset; graduates 2015-17; 335 people |
Source: Queen Mary Materials Science and Engineering course information and Discover Uni outcomes for the closest official subject-group evidence.
| Employment measure | Result | Scope and caution |
|---|---|---|
| Work or study after 15 months | 90% | 10 students, 85% response; other Materials Technology or Materials Science courses in the subject group |
| Highly skilled work after 15 months | 70% | 10 students; occupation mix from the same subject-group evidence |
| Occupation mix | 30% engineering professionals, 20% science and engineering associates, 10% information technology and 10% business or research administration | Reported group mix, not a target for this course |
Group-level salaries can frame the market, but they cannot establish what this new route will pay. Take-home income varies with tax and personal circumstances, so use a GOV.UK income tax estimator after receiving an actual salary offer.
ROI decision: The calculated prior-cycle tuition and living-cost illustration totals GBP 196,800 to GBP 197,920 (INR 2.57 Crore to INR 2.58 Crore). 2027 tuition remains unpublished, so the course-specific outcome gap makes a conservative funding model essential.
- The prior-cycle total is a planning illustration, so wait for the 2027 bill before fixing the loan amount or accepting a repayment schedule.
- The subject-group median of GBP 30,000 (INR 39.17 Lakhs) is not a course outcome, so do not use it as guaranteed payback evidence.
- The placement year is competitive and has no published income figure, so fund the degree without assuming placement wages.
- The Graduate Route is 18 months for applications from 1 January 2027, so a UK plan should target skilled sponsorship rather than rely on open-ended work time.
- IOM3 accreditation supports professional-registration planning, so compare the BEng route with your intended IEng or CEng pathway before choosing it.
Also Check: UK post-study work options
ROI reality: The course offers an industrial experience pathway and professional accreditation, but its published salary evidence is group-level. Secure the 2027 fee and compare verified offers before treating the investment as rational.
UK Visa for Queen Mary Materials Science Students 2027
Visa answer: An Indian student needs a UK Student visa for this full-time degree and must show course funding plus the London maintenance amount. The visa application fee and Immigration Health Surcharge are separate from tuition and university living costs.
The Immigration Health Surcharge (IHS) provides access to specified health services during the visa period. Queen Mary issues a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS), which records the course and fee information used in the visa application.
Published visa cost figures: The London maintenance test is a government funds requirement, not a Queen Mary estimate. The table keeps those obligations separate from the Section 2 living-cost proxy.
| Visa or funding item | Published figure | INR equivalent | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student visa application fee | GBP 558 | INR 72,847 | Pay for the Student visa application |
| Student IHS | GBP 776 per year | INR 1.01 Lakhs per year | Pay separately from the visa fee |
| London maintenance requirement | GBP 1,529 per month, up to nine months | INR 2.00 Lakhs per month, up to INR 17.96 Lakhs | Hold the required funds for 28 days |
| Graduate Route application fee | GBP 937 | INR 1.22 Lakhs | Pay when applying for post-study permission |
| Graduate Route IHS | GBP 1,035 per year | INR 1.35 Lakhs per year | Budget for the post-study health charge |
| Skilled Worker salary threshold | GBP 41,700 or the applicable going rate | INR 54.44 Lakhs or the applicable going rate | The higher applicable figure controls sponsorship eligibility |
The government maintenance amount cannot replace the university’s London budget because the two figures serve different purposes. Keep evidence of funds, tuition payment and the CAS details aligned before submitting the visa application.
- The Graduate Route lasts 18 months for applications from 1 January 2027, and it can be followed by a qualifying Skilled Worker route.
- A Skilled Worker application requires an eligible sponsored job and at least GBP 41,700 (INR 54.44 Lakhs), or the higher going rate.
- Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR) may follow five years on a qualifying route, subject to the rules applying to that application.
- Undergraduate students generally cannot bring dependants, except where a government-sponsored exception applies.
Degree-level students can usually work up to 20 hours per week during term time under the Student route, with full-time work permitted during official vacations. Work rights should supplement rather than replace the documented funding requirement.
Visa reality: The Student visa funds test, London living budget and post-study route are separate decisions. Budget the visa charges first, then verify sponsorship prospects against the published Skilled Worker threshold.
Queen Mary Materials Science Engineering Ranking 2027
Subject ranking: Queen Mary states that its Materials Science subject is in the top 10 in the United Kingdom in the 2026 QS World University Rankings by Subject. QS means Quacquarelli Symonds, the ranking publisher named by the university.
The ranking is subject-specific rather than an overall university position, so it gives context for the academic field without proving placement probability or employer preference. The official course page does not publish the exact position within the top-10 band or a prior-edition comparison.
| Ranking | Edition | Position | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| QS World University Rankings by Subject | 2026 | Top 10 in the UK | Materials Science subject context stated on the Queen Mary course page |
Use the subject result as one academic-context signal because the course’s curriculum and industrial experience year still determine day-to-day fit. It should not replace checking the modules, placement process, fee status and accreditation route.
Key insight: The 2026 subject result supports the course’s academic context, but it does not quantify the exact rank or graduate outcomes. Choose on the verified curriculum and funding evidence.
Queen Mary Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience fits Indian applicants who want quantitative materials study, applied projects and a possible workplace year. The curriculum connects chemistry, mechanics, manufacturing and biomedical or aerospace applications to a professional materials pathway. The material tradeoff is substantial London funding alongside a competitive placement process and no published course-level salary outcome. Confirm the 2027 tuition, prepare the 13 January 2027 UCAS submission and test the funding model against verified offers.
Queen Mary Materials Science and Engineering with Industrial Experience FAQs
Ques. Is this Queen Mary course suitable for an Indian student targeting materials engineering?
Ans. It suits applicants with Mathematics, Physics or Chemistry preparation who want laboratory, modelling and design work. The industrial experience year adds workplace exposure but requires a separate competitive application.
Ques. What English evidence should an Indian applicant prepare?
Ans. Band 3 accepts IELTS Academic at 6.0 overall with 5.5 in each component. It accepts the current TOEFL scale at 4.5 overall with 4.0 in each component or approved Indian Standard XII English results. Match the evidence to the board or test date before submission.
Ques. How should I budget when the September 2027 tuition is unpublished?
Ans. Use the 2026-27 tuition of GBP 32,950 per year (INR 43.02 Lakhs) only as prior-cycle context. The calculated prior-cycle four-year tuition and living illustration is GBP 196,800 to GBP 197,920 (INR 2.57 Crore to INR 2.58 Crore). It is not a 2027 quote.
Ques. When should I submit the Queen Mary application for September 2027?
Ans. Submit through UCAS by 13 January 2027 at 18:00 UK time. That is 23:30 Indian Standard Time. The main form can be submitted from 1 September 2026, and the course page lists one intake.
Ques. Can the course lead to UK employment after graduation?
Ans. The course lists placement destinations and materials-related roles, but its salary and offer evidence is not course-specific. The 18-month Graduate Route provides time to seek eligible work, while longer-term sponsorship depends on a qualifying job.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $43494 (GBP 32950) |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Housing and Board | $11669 (GBP 8840) |
| Total Cost | $11669 (GBP 8840) |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2023 | $37422 (GBP 28350) |
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| UCAS Application Deadline For September 2026 Intake | |


Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
TOP Scholarships
| Scholarship name | Award amount | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| Global Talent Scholarship – Undergraduate | £3,000 | Have received an Offer for Full time study, on campus course. |
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,320/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,640/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored | |
| Business Administration Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |















Comments