Bachelor of Arts [BA] (Psychology)
Field of Study:
$30,334 /Yr
University of Ottawa Bachelor of Arts [BA] Psychology is a 4-year full-time undergraduate degree taught on the Ottawa campus. First-year international tuition is approximately CAD 43,263 (INR 29.09 Lakhs) and the September 2026 intake is the only cycle open now.
The programme trains you in behavioural science, cognition, and applied research methods across 120 units. Bilingual delivery and an honours thesis option make it distinct; ideal for students planning graduate psychology or health-adjacent careers.
- Choice of Honours BA, Major, or Joint Honours with disciplines like Linguistics or Criminology within the same 4-year window.
- French Immersion Stream unlocks a Differential Tuition Fee Exemption Scholarship, reducing fees to the Canadian rate for eligible applicants.
- Co-op and experiential learning add paid work placements before graduation, useful for Indian students building Canadian work history.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the September 2026 intake are Open. International student deadline: 1 April 2026 (document submission by 2 May 2026).
Indian applicants apply through the Ontario Universities’ Application Centre (OUAC), not directly to uOttawa. Study permit lead time of 8 to 12 weeks means starting in early January 2026 is safer than waiting for the April deadline.

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of CAD 1 = INR 67.26 as of July 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
Also Check: University of Ottawa Admission Requirements and Deadlines
University of Ottawa BA Psychology Fees and Living Costs 2026
Budget for the University of Ottawa BA Psychology in two buckets: programme tuition plus incidental fees, then Ottawa cost of living. Fees below reflect the international undergraduate flat rate for the Faculty of Social Sciences.
| Fee Component | Amount (CAD) | Amount (INR) |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee (undergraduate, one-time) | CAD 102 | INR 6,861 |
| Admission deposit (credited to first-term tuition) | CAD 1,000 | INR 67,262 |
| Tuition, Year 1 (Social Sciences, international) | CAD 43,263 | INR 29.09 Lakhs |
| UHIP mandatory health insurance (annual) | CAD 756 | INR 50,850 |
| Ancillary fees (U-Pass, sports, UOSU, health services) | CAD 1,860 | INR 1.25 Lakhs |
| Estimated total, Year 1 university fees | CAD 45,879 | INR 30.85 Lakhs |
| 4-year tuition (assumes 7% annual cap) | CAD 1,91,684 | INR 1.29 Crore |
Source: uOttawa Tuition fees - International students page and Estimating your total university fees for a year page
- uOttawa caps future international tuition rises at 7% per year for students admitted from Fall 2022 onward.
- The International English Admission Scholarship auto-reduces tuition by CAD 15,000 per year (INR 10.09 Lakhs), so effective Year 1 tuition drops to CAD 28,263 (INR 19.00 Lakhs).
- Ancillary fees are indexed to the Ontario CPI, currently at a 2.75% annual escalation.
- UHIP is compulsory for every international student on a study permit and is billed with tuition each term.
Cost of Living in Ottawa for BA Psychology Students
Ottawa is more affordable than Toronto or Vancouver but pricier than Halifax or Winnipeg. The monthly budget below assumes a single Indian student sharing a two-bedroom rental near the Sandy Hill campus.
| Expense | Monthly (CAD) | Monthly (INR) |
|---|---|---|
| Shared rent and utilities | CAD 900 | INR 60,536 |
| Groceries and meals | CAD 350 | INR 23,542 |
| Public transit (U-Pass included in tuition) | CAD 0 | INR 0 |
| Phone, internet, subscriptions | CAD 90 | INR 6,054 |
| Books, supplies, personal | CAD 200 | INR 13,452 |
| Monthly total | CAD 1,540 | INR 1.04 Lakhs |
| Annual total (12 months) | CAD 18,480 | INR 12.43 Lakhs |
Source: uOttawa Cost of Living guidance and Statistics Canada Ottawa CMA data for 2026.
ROI reality: A 4-year budget of about CAD 2,60,000 (INR 1.75 Crore) after auto-scholarship needs to be balanced against a Bachelor psychology graduate salary in Canada of roughly CAD 82,558 per year, meaning tuition payback often takes graduate-level study or a specialised HR or research track.
Read More: Cost of Living in Canada for Indian Students
University of Ottawa BA Psychology Admission
Indian applicants need a Grade 12 average of at least 75% and a strong English score to enter the Honours BA Psychology programme. Prerequisites are English and any two additional Grade 12 U or M level subjects.
Intakes offered
- Fall intake (September start) is the primary and often only cycle for international undergraduates.
- Winter intake (January start) is limited and not always open for Psychology; confirm on the Faculty of Social Sciences page each cycle.
Academic eligibility
| Requirement | Minimum standard | Indian equivalent (approximate) |
|---|---|---|
| Grade 12 overall average | 75% (Ontario OSSD or equivalent) | Class 12 CBSE, ICSE, or state board with approximately 75% (or CGPA 7.5 on 10 for CBSE) |
| Compulsory subject | English (Grade 12 U or M level) | English core in Class 12 |
| Prerequisite courses | Two additional 4U or M courses | Any two academic Class 12 subjects |
| Credential evaluation | WES ICAP or uOttawa in-house | WES sets the official equivalence for Indian transcripts |
Note: World Education Services (WES) or the University’s admissions office sets the official Indian-to-Canadian equivalence. A 75% marks minimum is a floor, not a competitive bar.
English Language Proficiency requirements
Language of instruction for this BA Psychology stream is English. Applicants with fewer than three years of full-time study in an English-medium institution must submit a language test result taken within two years.
| Test | Minimum overall | Section minimums |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 | No band below 6.0 |
| TOEFL iBT | 86 (on the 0 to 120 scale) | Writing 22 |
| PTE Academic | 60 | Not specified by faculty |
| Duolingo English Test | 120 | Not specified |
| CAEL | 70 | No section below 60 |
| LanguageCert Academic | C1 | All bands at target level |
Note: TOEFL iBT moved to a 1.0 to 6.0 band scale on 21 January 2026. University of Ottawa currently lists the 0 to 120 requirement shown above; both scales are reported during the 2026 to 2028 transition. Verify the current requirement on the official admissions page before applying.
- An IELTS 6.0 overall lets you begin the programme with mandatory ESL support courses instead of a direct start.
- Indian applicants targeting a Winter test date should book at least 6 to 8 weeks before the April document deadline.
- Writing 22 on TOEFL is the strictest sub-band; three practice tests during Class 12 board prep is usually enough for a strong CBSE English student.
Tip for Indian students: Send your test scores directly to institution code 0993 (uOttawa) from IELTS or TOEFL, since scanned copies are not accepted for the final admission decision.
University of Ottawa BA Psychology Application
All international undergraduate applicants apply through the Ontario Universities’ Application Centre (OUAC) using the 105 form, not directly to uOttawa. The OUAC portal opened on 18 September 2025 for the September 2026 intake.
Application timeline for September 2026 intake
| Intake | Expected Deadline | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Fall 2026 (September) | 1 April 2026 (application) and 2 May 2026 (documents) | Open |
| Fall 2026 competitive stream reference (Nursing, BFA, Software Eng) | 1 March 2026 (application), 30 March 2026 (documents) | Not applicable for BA Psychology |
| Winter 2027 (January) | Expected 1 October 2026 | Programme not always open in Winter, verify with Faculty of Social Sciences |
Application steps
- Register on OUAC and select Honours BA Psychology at uOttawa as one of your programme choices.
- Pay the OUAC service fee plus the uOttawa application fee of CAD 102 (INR 6,861).
- Upload Class 10, Class 11 predicted marks, Class 12 final or predicted marks, and your language test scores.
- Submit a WES ICAP evaluation or arrange a direct transcript through your school’s registrar office.
- Track decisions through uOttawa’s uoZone portal once your OUAC application is imported.
Application tip: Rolling offers start in January 2026 for early applicants, so submitting by 15 January 2026 (the recommended OUAC date) rather than the 1 April 2026 hard deadline improves both scholarship auto-consideration and residence room lottery odds.
Also Check: University of Ottawa Overview and Programme List
University of Ottawa BA Psychology Scholarships
Two automatic tuition-reduction scholarships apply to international BA Psychology candidates: the International English Admission Scholarship and the International English Academic Excellence Scholarship. Both are renewable each year of full-time study.
Scholarship options for Indian applicants
| Scholarship | Value (CAD) | Value (INR) | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|
| International English Admission Scholarship | CAD 15,000 per year | INR 10.09 Lakhs per year | Any international admit to an English-taught eligible programme, no minimum grade |
| International English Academic Excellence Scholarship | CAD 7,500 per year (up to CAD 30,000 over 4 years) | INR 5.05 Lakhs per year | Admission average of 90% or above, full-time enrolment |
| Differential Tuition Fee Exemption (French Immersion) | Reduces to Canadian tuition rate | Approximately INR 20 Lakhs annual saving | Enrolled in French Immersion Stream of BA Psychology |
| Undergraduate Merit Scholarship stack | CAD 1,000 to CAD 4,000 one-time | INR 67,262 to INR 2.69 Lakhs | Admission averages of 85% and above; automatic |
The Admission Scholarship is applied automatically to your uoZone tuition invoice, no separate form needed. Combined value across the 4-year Honours BA can reach approximately CAD 70,000 (INR 47.08 Lakhs) for a 90% plus applicant.
- Scholarships require you to remain enrolled full-time in an eligible faculty; a switch to a diploma programme cancels them.
- The Academic Excellence stream draws grades from your predicted or final Grade 12 average, whichever is higher at the time of admission.
- India-specific scholarships are not currently listed by uOttawa; external options include the Vidya Lakshmi loan scheme and PSSFI grants.
Scholarship reality: Only applicants who accept their offer by the deposit deadline of 1 June 2026 keep their auto-scholarship, so students still waiting on other Canadian offers should choose fast or forfeit the CAD 15,000.
Check Out: University of Ottawa Scholarships for International Students
University of Ottawa BA Psychology Salary and Placements
A BA Psychology is a springboard degree in Canada; most direct-hire roles pay in the CAD 45,000 to CAD 65,000 band, while clinical or specialised applied paths open only after a Master’s or PhD. uOttawa’s Career and Experiential Learning centre publishes indicative outcome data by faculty.
Indicative entry-level salaries and roles
| Role | Ottawa average (CAD/year) | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| Research assistant (behavioural sciences) | CAD 48,000 | INR 32.29 Lakhs |
| Case manager, social services | CAD 55,000 | INR 36.99 Lakhs |
| Human resources coordinator | CAD 58,500 | INR 39.34 Lakhs |
| Behavioural health support worker | CAD 52,000 | INR 34.98 Lakhs |
| Ottawa bachelor’s psychology average (all roles) | CAD 82,558 | INR 55.54 Lakhs |
Source: uOttawa Career Development outcomes and Indeed Canada salary aggregate 2026.
- Take-home in Ontario is roughly 72% of gross after federal and provincial tax; use the CRA payroll calculator to model your case.
- Co-op placements at uOttawa pay between CAD 18 and CAD 25 per hour for BA students, spread over 4 or 8 month terms.
- The largest recruiters of uOttawa psychology graduates include the Government of Canada, CHEO, The Royal, and Ottawa Public Health.
Federal public service roles cluster around Ottawa, and BA Psychology grads compete for policy analyst and human resources trainee positions in the National Capital Region.
ROI reality: A stand-alone Bachelor’s in Psychology rarely funds a graduate school payback timeline of under 8 years; students planning to stay in Canada should pair it with the honours thesis and start a Master’s application in Year 3 to keep salary trajectory on track.
Canada Visa for BA Psychology Students
Indian applicants need a Canadian study permit and a Provincial Attestation Letter (PAL) from Ontario before travel. uOttawa is a Designated Learning Institution (DLI number O19359011744), so its BA Psychology admission letter is PAL-eligible.
- Proof of funds: CAD 20,635 (INR 13.88 Lakhs) for 12 months of living plus full first-year tuition of about CAD 43,263 (INR 29.09 Lakhs).
- Guaranteed Investment Certificate (GIC) of CAD 20,635 required through the Student Direct Stream (SDS) for a 20-calendar-day processing window.
- The Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP) is available on graduation; a 4-year Honours BA qualifies for the maximum 3-year PGWP.
- Bachelor’s degree students are exempt from the PGWP field-of-study eligibility list, so a Psychology BA qualifies regardless of the 2024 restrictions.
- Spouses of BA students are not eligible for an open work permit under the November 2024 rule change, unlike Master’s and PhD spouses.
Ontario has capped PAL issuance at 141,000 for 2026; uOttawa allocates PALs to admitted students in the order deposits are paid, so early enrolment protects your study permit slot.
Visa reality: IRCC refused 41% of Indian undergraduate study permit applications in the last cycle, largely due to weak Statement of Purpose links between the BA choice and post-graduate plan; draft your SOP around clinical psychology or applied research aims, not vague career interests.
Read More: Canada Study Visa Guide for Indian Students
University of Ottawa Psychology Ranking 2026
Psychology at uOttawa is ranked as a top-200 subject globally, well ahead of the university’s overall QS position of 228. EduRank places the discipline 9th in Canada.
Psychology subject rankings, 2025 to 2026
| Ranking body | Position (Psychology) | Note |
|---|---|---|
| QS World University Rankings by Subject 2025 | Top 175 globally | Band ranking; exact position not published within top 100 |
| Times Higher Education Psychology 2025 | #201 to #300 band | Stable band since 2022 |
| ARWU (Shanghai) Psychology 2025 | Not in top 300 | Overall ARWU sits at #201 to #300 |
| EduRank Psychology 2026 (research-based) | #9 in Canada, #90 globally | Based on publication citation impact |
| Collegedunia Study Abroad Rankings 2026 (overall) | #142 globally, #10 in Canada | Overall university, not subject-specific |
The subject rank outperforms the overall QS 228 position, which matters when Indian recruiters and graduate schools compare universities on discipline strength rather than headline brand.
Honest take: A subject rank in the top 175 QS band signals a research-active School of Psychology, which is what matters for a student planning a Master’s in Clinical Psychology, more than the overall university’s global position.
Also Check: University of Ottawa Rankings 2026 Full Breakdown
The University of Ottawa Honours BA Psychology suits Indian students who plan to enter clinical, research, or applied-behavioural careers and want a bilingual campus close to the federal public service hiring market. Its true value emerges when you complete the honours thesis and combine it with a co-op stream to keep both graduate-school and PGWP options open.
FAQs
Ques. Is the BA Psychology at uOttawa recognised by the Indian Psychological Association?
Ans. Yes; a uOttawa BA Psychology transcript is accepted by Indian licensing bodies such as the Rehabilitation Council of India after a WES equivalency, though clinical registration in India still requires an Indian Master’s in Clinical Psychology.
Ques. Can Indian students enter the Honours BA Psychology directly from Class 12?
Ans. Yes, Indian applicants with a 75% Class 12 average and IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 86 can enter Year 1 directly; the Honours designation is confirmed at the end of Year 2 based on your 8.0 GPA on 10 or higher.
Ques. What is the total cost of a 4-year BA Psychology at uOttawa for an Indian student?
Ans. Expect a 4-year total of CAD 2,60,000 to CAD 2,80,000 (INR 1.75 Crore to INR 1.88 Crore) covering tuition, ancillary fees, and living costs, before the CAD 15,000 per year auto-scholarship reduces the tuition line.
Ques. Does uOttawa BA Psychology offer a co-op stream for international students?
Ans. Yes; Honours BA Psychology students can join the CO-OP option in Year 2 subject to a 7.0 GPA on 10, and international students receive paid placements under their study permit without a separate work permit.
Ques. Which uOttawa BA Psychology stream leads best to graduate school in India or Canada?
Ans. The Honours BA with PSY 4276 undergraduate thesis is the standard requirement for admission to most doctoral psychology programmes and gives Indian students a research portfolio for Master’s applications at TISS, NIMHANS, or Canadian universities.
Important Alert
- Application Deadline for winter Intake - Oct 18, 2026
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $30334 (CAD 43334) |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Living Expenses | $11031 (CAD 15758) |
| Health Insurance | $353 (CAD 504) |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2025 | $30284 (CAD 43263) |
| 2024 | $29441 (CAD 42059) |
| 2023 | $27084 (CAD 38692) |
| 2022 | $12656 (CAD 18080) |
| 2021 | $21068 (CAD 30097) |
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| Application Deadline for winter Intake | Oct 18, 2026 |
| Document Submission Deadline for winter Intake | Nov 1, 2026 |
| Application Deadline for Fall Intake | Apr 1, 2027 |
| Document Submission Deadline for Fall Intake | May 2, 2027 |
Scores Required
Required Document List
- Class 10 & 12 marksheets/transcripts
- School leaving certificate / passing certificate
- Passport copy
- English proficiency test (IELTS/TOEFL/Duolingo) if required
- Program prerequisite subjects (e.g. Math for Engineering/CS)
- Extra documents for some courses: Portfolio, Audition, Resume/statement


Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
TOP Scholarships
| Scholarship name | Award amount | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| International English Entrance Scholarship | 5000-15000 | For Newly Enrolled Students |
| International English Excellence Scholarship | 5000-25000 | For Newly Enrolled Students |
| Faculty of Arts Dean's Merit Scholarship | 1000 | For Newly Enrolled Students consisting 9 CGPA or more. |
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
Bachelor of Arts in Canada: Top Universities, Cost for Indian Students, and Scope
Bachelor of Psychology in Canada: A Detailed Course-Guide for International Students
Top Undergraduate Courses in Canada: Fees 2024, Top Colleges, Admissions, Placements & Salaries
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Go Clean Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,450/Yr$3,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Jared J. Davis Grant | Scholarship per student$ 700/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,400/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored | |
| Business Administration Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| University of Montreal Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific |
Similar Programs
| Program | Important Date | Total Fees | Median Exams Score | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
-- | USD 21,534 /Yr CAD 30,763 /Yr |
| ||
Application Deadline For Winter 2027 Intake (1st Nov 2026) Application Deadline For Fall 2027 Intake (15th May 2027) | USD 31,310 /Yr CAD 44,729 /Yr |
| ||
-- | USD 31,337 /Yr CAD 44,767 /Yr |
| ||
-- | USD 22,532 /Yr CAD 32,188 /Yr |
|
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here




















Comments