Master of Business Administration [M.B.A]
Field of Study:
$33,610 /Yr
Australian National University Master of Business Administration (MBA) is a one-year, full-time, in-person postgraduate degree in Canberra for the January 2027 intake. The programme requires five years of documented managerial experience plus an approved academic, test or experience route. Indicative 2027 tuition is AUD 57,640 (INR 39.24 Lakhs), and mandatory university charges total AUD 58,026 (INR 39.50 Lakhs) after the Services and Amenities Fee (SSAF).
The MBA trains experienced professionals to lead public-sector ecosystems through evidence-informed decisions, complexity leadership and systems thinking. Its 48-unit plan culminates in an Internal Consulting Capstone, so it suits managers whose employers or sponsors support applied organisational change. The public-sector focus and paused enrolments are material tradeoffs for applicants seeking a conventional private-sector career switch.
- The curriculum includes 12 three-unit courses and one 12-unit capstone.
- The programme’s typical class size is 20 to 50 students, supporting a focused cohort format.
- Classes combine self-paced online work with intensive Wednesday-to-Friday face-to-face sessions.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the January 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: Not published after official checks.
The 2027 programme page states that enrolments are paused until further notice. No programme-specific deadline was published on the checked application page, so Indian applicants should wait for written ANU confirmation before arranging payment or travel.
Also Check: ANU MBA admission details
Australian National University MBA Fees and Living Costs 2027
The 2027 programme page publishes an indicative international tuition fee of AUD 57,640 (INR 39.24 Lakhs) for 48 units. ANU also charges the separate Services and Amenities Fee, making the confirmed mandatory university charge AUD 58,026 (INR 39.50 Lakhs) before living costs.
Target-cycle fee context: The tuition figure is based on 48 units and may change with course selection or annual review. The table separates the university fee from the student services charge.
| Fee item | Target-cycle amount (AUD) | INR equivalent | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indicative international tuition for 48 units | AUD 57,640 | INR 39.24 Lakhs | 2027 programme page |
| Services and Amenities Fee for full-time study | AUD 386 | INR 26,279 | 2027 full-time rate |
| Calculated mandatory university charges | AUD 58,026 | INR 39.50 Lakhs | Tuition plus SSAF |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of AUD 1 = INR 68.0792 as of 21 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
Source: ANU 2027 Master of Business Administration programme page and ANU 2027 Services and Amenities Fee page.
- The programme page calls tuition indicative, so ANU may revise it before invoicing.
- ANU invoices international tuition by semester or session, so funding must cover the balance rather than only the annual estimate.
- The SSAF is separate from tuition, and this table excludes Overseas Student Health Cover, visa, travel, books and personal costs.
Cost of Living in Canberra for MBA Students
ANU’s Canberra estimate gives combined weekly costs for off-campus, catered and self-catered living. Monthly figures below are calculated from weekly estimates, while annual figures use ANU’s official 44-week values.
Living-cost basis: Monthly values use weekly cost multiplied by 52 and divided by 12. The annual figures are not the Australian visa maintenance requirement.
| Expense | Monthly AUD | Monthly INR | Annual AUD (44 weeks) | Annual INR (44 weeks) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Off-campus combined estimate | AUD 2,275 to AUD 3,220 | INR 1.55 Lakhs to INR 2.19 Lakhs | AUD 25,766 to AUD 37,768 | INR 17.54 Lakhs to INR 25.71 Lakhs |
| On-campus catered | AUD 2,197 | INR 1.50 Lakhs | AUD 24,322 | INR 16.56 Lakhs |
| On-campus self-catered | AUD 2,084 | INR 1.42 Lakhs | AUD 22,936 | INR 15.61 Lakhs |
Adding the mandatory university charges to ANU’s official off-campus annual range gives a calculated first-year planning budget. The result is AUD 83,792 to AUD 95,794 (INR 57.04 Lakhs to INR 65.22 Lakhs), excluding insurance, visa, travel and personal costs.
Canberra planning action: Use the lower self-catered figure only when your accommodation and food arrangement supports it. Compare the official annual estimate with your lease length because off-campus contracts may run for 52 weeks.
Read More: ANU business courses and fees
ROI reality: The calculated mandatory charges exclude living costs, and the programme page calls tuition indicative, so secure sponsor funding and written fee confirmation before committing.
Australian National University MBA Admission 2027
Admission is restricted to experienced professionals sponsored by an employer or other sponsor organisation, with limited enrolment and competitive ranking. Applicants can qualify through a cognate degree route, a test route or a longer-work-experience route.
Academic Eligibility
The minimum experience threshold is five documented years in managerial roles. ANU then assesses one of the following academic or professional routes.
Grade Point Average (GPA) means ANU’s seven-point academic scale in this context. The approximate Indian range below is a screening guide, because ANU makes the final equivalency decision.
ANZSCO means the Australian and New Zealand Standard Classification of Occupations. The experience routes must match that classification and the related field requirement.
| Route | ANU requirement | Indian applicant reading |
|---|---|---|
| Academic route | Completed cognate bachelor degree, honours, graduate certificate, graduate diploma, master degree or 48 units of postgraduate study with GPA 5.0 on a 7.0 scale. | GPA 5.0 on 7.0, approximately 65% to 75% or CGPA 7.0 to 8.0 on 10. |
| Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) route | GMAT completed within five years, minimum 550 overall and 5.0 Analytical Writing, plus eight years of related ANZSCO Skill Level 1 experience. | Use only when the test and senior work history are both documented. |
| Graduate Record Examination (GRE) route | GRE minimum 155 Verbal, 155 Quantitative and 4.0 Analytical Writing, plus eight years of related ANZSCO Skill Level 1 experience. | Submit the score report with detailed employment evidence. |
| Experience-only route | Fifteen years of full-time equivalent experience at ANZSCO Skill Level 1 in a field related to the programme. | This route is aimed at highly experienced applicants without the listed academic route. |
| Programme fit and sponsorship | Applicants must fit an eligible professional or sponsor category and provide employer or sponsor funding evidence. | Indian applicants should confirm sponsorship eligibility before preparing the full application. |
| Application evidence | Submit the MBA CV template, a detailed CV showing full-time or part-time work and contact details for two professional referees. | Referees should be able to verify managerial responsibility and measurable work scope. |
The cognate fields are Health, Management and Commerce and Society and Culture under ANU’s education-field classification. A non-cognate degree can still be relevant when the applicant qualifies through another route, but the programme page should be checked before submission.
Selection is competitive because ANU ranks eligible applicants using relative work experience, academic record and GMAT or GRE evidence. Meeting the minimum threshold therefore establishes eligibility rather than admission.
No programme-specific ranking is included because the checked sources do not publish an MBA-specific position. University or subject rankings cannot be treated as rankings for this programme.
English Language Proficiency
International applicants must meet ANU’s English language requirement unless they qualify under an accepted prior-study route. The latest accessible ANU guide publishes the following baseline, but the current general page does not expose numeric scores for the 2027 MBA.
| Test or evidence | Published ANU baseline | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Academic | Overall 6.5 with at least 6.0 in each band. | Plan for every-band compliance, not only the overall score. |
| Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) iBT | Overall 81 on the 0 to 120 scale, with 16 in Reading and Listening and 19 in Writing and Speaking. | Verify that ANU accepts this scale for the 2027 MBA before reporting a score. |
| Pearson Test of English (PTE) Academic | Overall 64 with at least 60 in each communicative skill. | Check each skill score before selecting this route. |
| Prior study in English | ANU’s current page lists prior secondary or tertiary study in English as a possible evidence route, subject to policy conditions. | Do not assume an English-medium Indian degree creates an automatic waiver. |
- The published TOEFL policy still uses the 0 to 120 scale, so verify acceptance of a revised score report before submitting it.
- Do not assume an English-medium Indian degree creates a waiver, because ANU applies policy conditions to prior-study evidence.
- Keep the CV, referees, transcripts and sponsorship evidence consistent because this programme ranks applicants competitively.
Tip for Indian students: The five-year managerial threshold and sponsorship rule narrow the applicant pool, so confirm employer funding before spending on tests or document preparation.
Australian National University MBA Application 2027
The January 2027 MBA intake is announced on ANU’s current programme page, but applications are not open because enrolments are paused until further notice. The checked application page gives the portal route but publishes no programme-specific international deadline or decision date.
Applicants should prepare the evidence file now, then confirm that the programme has reopened before submitting documents or paying an application charge.
Application Stages
The current route distinguishes the application portal from the programme’s additional selection evidence. The table records only forward-looking 2027 information and does not replace a future offer letter.
Deadline status: ANU’s checked 2027 application surfaces did not publish an MBA-specific international cutoff, time zone or decision schedule.
| Stage | 2027 status | Published date or cutoff | Applicant action |
|---|---|---|---|
| Target intake | January 2027 is the announced annual intake, with enrolments paused. | January 2027 start; application date not published. | Monitor the programme page for a reopening notice. |
| Portal selection | International applicants use the Direct Application Portal or UAC International in specified qualification cases. | Programme-specific cutoff not published. | Use the portal route stated by ANU after the MBA reopens. |
| Evidence submission | CV template, transcripts, English evidence, two professional referees and sponsor documentation are required inputs. | Programme-specific cutoff not published. | Make every document identify managerial scope and sponsor responsibility. |
| Competitive assessment | Eligible applications are ranked using work experience, academic evidence and GMAT or GRE evidence. | Decision date not published. | Keep referee contacts available after submission. |
| Offer acceptance | Any acceptance requirement will be stated in the future offer letter. | No 2027 date published. | Do not make a payment based on an older or generic ANU deadline. |
ANU’s 2027 MBA application page explains the portal choices but does not override the pause on enrolments. A generic ANU international deadline cannot be substituted because this course has additional selection requirements.
- Prepare the sponsor letter, employment chronology and two referee contacts before the programme reopens.
- Check the programme page again for the international deadline and the university’s published time zone before submitting.
- Keep funds uncommitted until ANU confirms that an application can generate an offer and Confirmation of Enrolment.
Read More: MBA application stages in Australia
Application tip: Treat January 2027 as a monitoring target, not an open application window, until ANU lifts the pause and publishes a programme-specific international deadline.
Australian National University MBA Scholarships 2027
The ANU International Achievement Award is the clearest current published scholarship route for an Indian postgraduate applicant. It offers a 20% tuition reduction for the relevant postgraduate category, uses automatic consideration and remains open all year.
Scholarship eligibility is separate from MBA admission and sponsor eligibility. Because this MBA expects employer or sponsor funding, an external sponsor covering any tuition may exclude the applicant from ANU’s international achievement awards.
Scholarship cycle context: The first award below is current published and open all year, while the second is current published with its target-cycle availability not stated.
| Award | Value | Applicant fit | Application route and cycle |
|---|---|---|---|
| ANU International Achievement Award | 20% postgraduate tuition reduction for eligible international students. | Indian residents are outside the listed Vice-Chancellor award countries, subject to the award rules, and postgraduate applicants need minimum GPA 5.5 on 7.0. | Current published: automatic consideration after an admission application; open all year. |
| ANU Chancellor’s International Scholarship for India | 25% postgraduate tuition reduction. | Indian citizenship and an offer for an eligible postgraduate programme are required, subject to the award conditions. | Current published, target cycle not stated: automatically assessed through the admission process. |
ANU’s International Achievement Award page states that the award value appears in the scholarship offer letter. Do not convert the percentage into a cash amount until ANU confirms the target-cycle tuition and award terms.
- Ask the employer or sponsor whether its funding covers tuition because that condition can conflict with international achievement awards.
- Use the admission application for automatic consideration rather than searching for a separate scholarship form.
- Request written confirmation that the January 2027 MBA is eligible before treating an award as part of your funding plan.
The current award pages do not publish a separate January 2027 MBA scholarship deadline. The pause on enrolments also means automatic assessment cannot occur until ANU accepts applications.
Check Out: ANU scholarships for international students
Scholarship reality: A percentage award may reduce tuition, but the sponsor rule can remove eligibility, so obtain a written funding decision from ANU and your employer together.
Australian National University MBA Salary 2027
Return on investment (ROI) for this MBA depends on employer-funded career progression because ANU does not publish course-level salary or placement outcomes. ROI here means whether expected career value justifies verified cost and risk. The nearest published figure is an external Australian occupation benchmark, not a graduate result.
Official Employment Evidence
ANU’s checked 2027 programme materials do not report an MBA cohort salary, offer rate, placement rate or named employer outcome. The table therefore separates missing course evidence from an external benchmark.
| Evidence scope | Measure | Published figure | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| ANU MBA course-cohort outcome | Salary, offer rate and placement rate | Not published in the checked 2027 materials. | Request current MBA employment evidence before borrowing for the programme. |
| External market benchmark | Management and Organisation Analysts, median full-time weekly earnings, May 2025 | AUD 2,444 (INR 1.66 Lakhs) per week | This is an Australian occupation benchmark, not ANU graduate pay. |
Source: Jobs and Skills Australia occupation profile, based on Australian Bureau of Statistics Survey of Employee Earnings and Hours, May 2025.
The benchmark covers management and organisation analysts rather than ANU MBA graduates. Jobs and Skills Australia reports it as gross full-time earnings before tax, and experience affects individual pay.
Take-home pay varies with tax residency, deductions, superannuation and salary structure, so use the Australian Taxation Office tax calculator instead of treating gross weekly earnings as disposable income.
ROI for an Indian Applicant
The cost-to-career decision is strongest when an employer sponsors the MBA and the intended role uses its public-sector curriculum. The following factors show why a generic salary comparison would be incomplete.
- The first-year budget is AUD 83,792 to AUD 95,794 (INR 57.04 Lakhs to INR 65.22 Lakhs); fund it without relying on student work.
- ANU publishes no course-cohort salary or offer rate, so request current outcome evidence before treating the external benchmark as a repayment basis.
- The one-year format should be tested against Australia’s 16-calendar-month study requirement before relying on a Temporary Graduate visa route.
- The required employer or sponsor funding makes the programme more rational for an employer-backed promotion than an unfunded career switch.
- If you plan to return to India, compare the public-sector capstone and sponsor-backed career outcome with a documented promotion path rather than Australian gross pay.
ROI reality: The external benchmark is AUD 2,444 (INR 1.66 Lakhs) weekly, not an ANU graduate outcome, so request employment evidence and written visa guidance before borrowing.
Australia Visa for ANU MBA Students 2027
International students need the Student visa (Subclass 500) to study this full-time, in-person MBA, with a Confirmation of Enrolment and Overseas Student Health Cover. The official Australian Student visa requirements also require financial capacity and a Genuine Student assessment.
A single applicant should budget AUD 89,350 (INR 60.83 Lakhs) for the published tuition, 12-month living amount and travel allowance. This visa amount is a financial-capacity benchmark, not the university’s Canberra living-cost estimate.
The Temporary Graduate visa (Subclass 485) is generally valid for two to three years. For Indian nationals, the Australia-India Economic Cooperation and Trade Agreement (AI-ECTA) allows three years for a master’s, subject to all rules. Eligibility still requires an eligible degree and the Temporary Graduate visa study requirement.
The Core Skills Income Threshold (CSIT) is a salary floor for certain employer-sponsored nominations. It does not create a job offer or permanent residence right.
- The Student visa charge increased from 1 July 2026, so check the official pricing estimator at lodgement because the current page does not render a fixed amount.
- The Student visa allows up to 48 hours per fortnight while the course is in session, so part-time work should not fund the first-year budget.
- The one-year MBA may not meet the 16-calendar-month Australian study requirement, so obtain written advice before relying on Subclass 485.
- Nominations between 1 July 2026 and 30 June 2027 need AUD 79,423 (INR 54.07 Lakhs) under the Core Skills Income Threshold, subject to occupation and market salary.
- Australia does not use an Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR) category here, and permanent residence (PR) has no fixed timeline after this MBA.
- Dependants may be included, but each family member adds financial, school and visa obligations, so check partner work conditions separately.
Post-study action: Treat the three-year Indian-national period as conditional because the one-year course length and study requirement must both be satisfied. Request written confirmation before treating the visa route as part of your ROI calculation.
Read More: Australia Student Visa Subclass 500 guide
Visa reality: The one-year length may create a Subclass 485 eligibility risk despite a possible three-year Indian-national period, so confirm the study requirement before funding travel.
Australian National University MBA is a narrow-fit option for an experienced manager whose employer or sponsor can support public-sector leadership study. Its 48-unit structure and Internal Consulting Capstone suit applicants who need evidence-based organisational change skills rather than a general career reset. The material tradeoffs are paused January 2027 enrolments, absent course employment outcomes and uncertainty over post-study eligibility for a one-year course. Wait for written ANU confirmation on reopening, the international deadline, sponsor compatibility and Subclass 485 eligibility before arranging funding or travel.
Australian National University MBA FAQs
Ques. Can an Indian student apply for the January 2027 ANU MBA intake?
Ans. Not currently. ANU lists January 2027 but states enrolments are paused and no programme-specific international deadline is published, so wait for reopening confirmation.
Ques. Does the ANU MBA accept applicants without a conventional MBA background?
Ans. Yes, the programme accepts several routes, but Indian applicants still need five years of documented managerial experience and an academic, test or longer-experience route.
Ques. What is the calculated first-year cost of the ANU MBA in India?
Ans. The calculated budget is AUD 83,792 to AUD 95,794 (INR 57.04 Lakhs to INR 65.22 Lakhs), including mandatory charges and official off-campus living estimates.
Ques. Can the ANU International Achievement Award be combined with employer sponsorship?
Ans. Not automatically. The award excludes applicants whose external sponsorship covers tuition, so obtain a written compatibility decision before including a reduction.
Ques. Will the one-year ANU MBA qualify for Australia post-study work?
Ans. It is uncertain because the one-year length may not satisfy the 16-calendar-month study requirement. Indian nationals may have three years under AI-ECTA only after meeting every Subclass 485 rule.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $33610 (AUD 46680) |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Living Expenses | $17280 (AUD 24000) |
| Total Cost | $17280 (AUD 24000) |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2021 | $15416 (AUD 21411) |
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| Semester 2 Application Deadline For 2026 Intake | |
| Semester 2 Acceptance Deadline For 2026 Intake | |


Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
Executive MBA in Australia 2026: Top Universities, Fees, Eligibility and Scholarships
Masters in Management in Australia: Fees 2024, Top Colleges, Admissions & Salaries
MBA in Australia Admissions: Deadlines- Round 1, 2, 3, Interviews, Decisions, Requirements
Programs Comparison
| ranking | # 68 for Business by QS World University 2025 # 81 for Business by Times Higher Education 2025 | # 401 for Business by Times Higher Education 2025 |
| exam scores | - | IELTS - 6.5/9PTE - 58/90TOEFL - 81/120 |
| application dates | May 15, 2026 (Semester 2 Application Deadline For 2026 Intake) Jun 30, 2026 (Semester 2 Acceptance Deadline For 2026 Intake) | Feb 16, 2026 (Semester 1 Start date) Aug 10, 2026 (Semester 2 Start date) |
| - | Read Full Comparison |
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANU Study Canberra India Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 7,200/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| ANU College of Business and Economics India Excellence Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 7,200/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| ANU Excellence Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student$ 3,600/Yr$5,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam International Postgraduate Scholarships 2020 | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 720/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Go Clean Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,520/Yr$3,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |
Similar Programs
| Program | Important Date | Total Fees | Median Exams Score | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Fall 2027 intake application deadline (15th Dec 2026) Spring 2027 intake application deadline (15th May 2027) | USD 41,501 /Yr AUD 57,640 /Yr |
|
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here

















Comments