M.A International Studies at DePaul University [DEPAUL UNI], Chicago Fees, Entry Requirement & Application Deadline

MA in International Studies from DePaul University 2025 Entry : Dates, Fees, Eligibility & Entry Requirements etc.

Chicago, IllinoisLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1898established year
21210enrollment
Private (Not for Profit)
Partner [5 Courses]
6.3/10

Master of Arts [M.A] (International Studies)

2 years
Full Time
On Campus
Ranked #601 out of 650 by QS Global Ranking 2025

$19,488 /Yr

Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 25, 2026

DePaul University Master of Arts (M.A.) International Studies is a two-year, full-time, in-person programme requiring 48 quarter credit hours at the Lincoln Park Campus in Chicago. Eligibility requires a bachelor’s degree, GPA 3.0 on 4.0 and an advanced modern language result. The approximate Indian equivalent is 70% to 75% or 7.0 to 7.5 on 10 for Indian applicants. Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026-27 tuition was US$39,744 (INR 38.06 Lakhs), as a prior-cycle reference, and the programme admits only in Fall.

The curriculum trains students in critical theory, international political economy, research and writing across questions of power, inequality, migration and climate. Its distinctive proposition is a self-designed second-year thesis, internship report or creative project, which suits applicants with a defined research question and independent-work discipline. The tradeoff is sustained evening study and a substantial final project rather than a short job-focused credential.

  • The quarter system lets students combine Geography, Political Science, History, Anthropology, Migration Studies and Gender Studies.
  • An optional four-month European Union research internship can connect policy analysis with work in Commission offices in Brussels.
  • The programme can support doctoral preparation while preserving an internship or creative-project route.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the Fall 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: Expected 15 April 2027 priority deadline.

The department reviews applications on a rolling basis until the cohort fills. Indian applicants should submit a complete file by the priority date for tuition-waiver consideration.

Also Check: DePaul University graduate admission

DePaul International Studies Fees and Living Costs 2027

Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished, so the current 2026-27 Liberal Arts and Social Sciences rate is usable only as a labelled planning reference.

DePaul charges graduate tuition by credit hour and lists separate application and post-admission charges for international students.

Because the target-cycle tuition is unpublished, verify the target fee on the official fee page before using the prior-cycle figures below.

Fee table context: Rows labelled prior-cycle reference use 2026-27 rates, while application and deposit rows show current published charges.

Fee itemAmountINR equivalent
Tuition per credit hour, 2026-27 prior-cycle referenceUS$828INR 79,289
48-credit tuition, calculated from 2026-27 rateUS$39,744INR 38.06 Lakhs
Full-time graduate comprehensive fee, two years, calculatedUS$900INR 86,184
International application fee, current publishedUS$75INR 7,182
Graduate tuition deposit after admission, current publishedUS$300INR 28,728

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.7599 as of 25 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

Source: DePaul University 2026-27 Graduate and Professional Tuition and Fees and Graduate International Admission pages.

The calculated tuition equals 48 quarter credits multiplied by US$828 (INR 79,289), while the comprehensive fee remains separate from tuition.

The 2026-27 fee page lists US$450 (INR 43,092) annually without summer for full-time graduate students, so two years calculates to US$900 (INR 86,184).

The US$75 (INR 7,182) application charge is non-refundable, and the US$300 (INR 28,728) deposit is credited toward first-term tuition after admission.

Cost of Living in Chicago for International Studies Students

DePaul’s 2026-27 graduate cost-of-attendance budget estimates nine academic months and separates tuition and fees from living-related items.

The living line combines housing and food, so it should not be split into invented rent, grocery or utility amounts.

Living-cost basis: Monthly figures below divide DePaul’s official nine-month amounts by nine; they are planning equivalents, not monthly invoices.

ExpenseMonthly equivalent (USD)Monthly equivalent (INR)9-month total (USD)9-month total (INR)
Living expenses including housing and foodUS$2,085INR 2.00 LakhsUS$18,765INR 17.97 Lakhs
Books, course materials, supplies and equipmentUS$61.33INR 5,873US$552INR 52,859
TransportationUS$146INR 13,981US$1,314INR 1.26 Lakhs
Miscellaneous personal expensesUS$756INR 72,394US$6,804INR 6.52 Lakhs
Average unsubsidized loan fee, separate from living costUS$23INR 2,202US$207INR 19,822
Total items listed aboveUS$3,071.33INR 2.94 LakhsUS$27,642INR 26.47 Lakhs

For a prior-cycle planning illustration, two nine-month budgets add US$55,284 (INR 52.94 Lakhs) before tuition and mandatory fees.

Adding calculated 2026-27 tuition of US$39,744 (INR 38.06 Lakhs) and two years of comprehensive fees of US$900 (INR 86,184) produces US$95,928 (INR 91.86 Lakhs).

This illustration excludes any target-cycle tuition change and summer spending, so Indian applicants should fund the gap separately.

Read More: USA cost of living for international students

Fee planning note

Because Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished, use the INR 91.86 Lakhs figure only as a prior-cycle planning illustration and recheck the official fee page before committing funds.

ROI reality: The current published tuition rate makes a two-year planning budget visible, but the target fee is unresolved, so secure a funding buffer before accepting an offer.

DePaul International Studies Admission 2027

Admission is academically demanding because DePaul asks for a 3.0 GPA, advanced modern language preparation and a writing-led application.

The strongest Indian applications should connect prior coursework, a research question and the proposed final project to the department’s critical approach.

Academic Eligibility and Application Materials

The core threshold is a completed bachelor’s degree and 3.0 GPA, but language preparation and the analytical sample are important programme-specific filters.

Academic table context: DePaul states the GPA on a 4.0 scale; the Indian equivalent below is an approximate planning range because no country-specific conversion is published.

RequirementCurrent DePaul ruleIndian-applicant reading
Previous degreeBachelor’s degree from an accredited undergraduate institutionSubmit complete academic records and follow the international credential-evaluation instructions.
Academic thresholdGPA 3.0 on a 4.0 scaleApproximately 70% to 75%, or 7.0 to 7.5 on 10, as an approximate Indian equivalent.
Modern languageGrade B or better in an advanced modern language course beyond the standard two-year college sequence, or equivalent placement-exam resultShow the course level and grade, or arrange placement evidence before applying.
RecommendationsTwo letters, with at least one preferably from a professor connected to International StudiesChoose referees who can discuss writing, analysis, independent work and readiness.
Statement of purpose3 to 5 pages, double spaced, covering goals, faculty interests, research interests and a possible projectUse the proposed final project to demonstrate a specific research direction.
Writing sampleAnalytical paper of 5 to 8 pages, ideally related to International StudiesSubmit work that shows critical thinking, evidence use and clear academic writing.
Other materialsOnline application, official transcripts, essay questions and résumé or curriculum vitaeKeep names, dates and programme history consistent across every document.

The language condition is a genuine fit test because the department requires advanced study beyond a standard two-year sequence; Indian applicants should include transcripts or placement evidence.

A 3.0 GPA is the published floor, not a guarantee. The 3 to 5 page statement and 5 to 8 page analytical sample give the committee evidence of research readiness.

The current page does not list the GRE (Graduate Record Examination) or GMAT (Graduate Management Admission Test) as required tests. Applicants should still follow any requirement shown in the live application portal.

International students must also follow the credential-evaluation and visa-document instructions on DePaul’s current graduate international admission page.

English Language Proficiency for International Studies

English language proficiency (ELP) is required for applicants educated outside the United States, including applicants whose degree instruction was in English.

The current LAS graduate page publishes TOEFL iBT 80 with no section below 17, accepts IELTS or Duolingo in lieu and says programme pages may require more.

Because the page still publishes the 0 to 120 TOEFL format, applicants taking a revised test after 21 January 2026 should confirm how DePaul will read the report.

Test routeCurrent DePaul statementIndian-applicant action
TOEFL iBT80 overall with no section lower than 17 on the current graduate LAS pageConfirm the score scale with LAS if the report uses the revised format.
IELTS AcademicAccepted in lieu of TOEFL, but no programme-specific minimum is separately stated on the current LAS pageAsk LAS to confirm the Fall 2027 minimum before submitting.
Duolingo English Test (DET)Accepted in lieu of TOEFL, but no programme-specific minimum is separately stated on the current LAS pageRequest written confirmation of the accepted Fall 2027 score.
PTE AcademicNot listed as an accepted substitute on the current LAS graduate pageDo not rely on a PTE score without written confirmation.
  • Book an English test early enough to retake it without missing the programme’s expected 15 April priority date.
  • Use TOEFL only after checking whether the report uses the university’s published 0 to 120 scale or revised 1 to 6 scale.
  • Do not treat English-medium schooling in India as an automatic waiver because the current page requires proof from students educated outside the United States.

The current graduate policy waives TOEFL after receipt of a transcript from a regionally accredited United States institution. It does not publish an India-specific waiver.

Language verification note

IELTS, Duolingo and PTE treatment is not fully programme-specific on the current LAS page. Indian applicants should get written confirmation from LAS before relying on a non-TOEFL score.

Tip for Indian students: The 3.0 GPA threshold is only the start; a focused language record, statement and analytical sample should show readiness for the programme’s independent research model.

DePaul International Studies Application 2027

The Fall 2027 application is open on a rolling basis, with an expected 15 April 2027 priority date and no fixed final deadline once the cohort fills.

Because the programme is Fall-only and the priority date is tied to potential tuition waivers, Indian applicants should treat 15 April as their working deadline.

Application Timeline for Fall 2027

The programme does not publish a fixed decision day or multiple rounds, so the timeline below distinguishes published policy from an expected recurring date.

DePaul’s graduate international page says most graduate programmes communicate decisions within four to six weeks after review begins.

Timeline context: The department publishes rolling review and an April 15 priority date without a year; the Fall 2027 date below is therefore labelled expected.

StageFall 2027 international timingDecision or next event
Application windowRolling submissions for the Fall cohortReview begins after the application is complete.
Priority deadlineExpected 15 April 2027, based on the programme’s recurring April 15 datePriority consideration for potential tuition waivers.
Final submission pointUntil the cohort is filledThe department may stop reviewing once capacity is reached.
Admission decisionNo fixed programme decision date publishedDePaul says most graduate programmes respond within four to six weeks after review begins.

Rolling review changes the strategy: a complete file can enter review before the priority date, but a late file may face a filled cohort and reduced funding consideration.

The application is not just a transcript submission because the programme asks for a 3 to 5 page statement, two recommendations and a 5 to 8 page analytical sample.

How Indian Applicants Should Sequence the File

Start with the research question because the statement, sample and referee choices should reinforce the same academic proposition.

Use the programme’s evening schedule and Fall-only cohort to confirm that relocation and study planning fit the full two-year sequence.

  • Draft the statement around one international studies problem, relevant faculty interests and a feasible thesis, internship or creative-project direction.
  • Ask one professor to address writing, analytical ability, independent work and project completion because those traits are specified in the referee guidance.
  • Upload transcripts and language evidence early so the complete file can be reviewed before the expected priority date.
  • Contact LAS Graduate Admission when your IELTS, Duolingo or PTE route is not stated clearly on the current page.

Read More: DePaul graduate programmes

Timing note

With rolling review and no fixed closure, treat 15 April 2027 as the target submission date for full-file and funding consideration, then monitor the portal for the decision.

Application tip: The priority date is the most useful anchor because the programme remains rolling but potential tuition waivers may depend on it. Submit a complete application by the expected date.

DePaul International Studies Scholarships 2027

The clearest programme-specific funding option is the International Studies Graduate Assistantship. It offers up to a full tuition waiver for six required graduate courses and a stipend of up to US$8,000 (INR 7.66 Lakhs).

The department says service is approximately 10 to 15 hours weekly, with applications from June 1 to June 15 and notifications by June 30.

Because the department publishes these recurring dates without a year, the Fall 2027 assistantship dates below are labelled expected.

Funding table context: Percentage awards remain percentages because Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished; no prior-cycle tuition is used to calculate them.

AwardPublished valueINR equivalentEligibility and routeFall 2027 timing
International Studies Graduate AssistantshipUp to a full tuition waiver for six graduate-level courses; stipend up to US$8,000Stipend up to INR 7.66 Lakhs; waiver not convertedInternational Studies graduate assistantship with approximately 10 to 15 service hours weekly; apply through the department.Expected application window 1 to 15 June 2027; expected notification 30 June 2027.
Double Demon Scholarship25% of graduate tuitionNo fixed INR value because target tuition is unpublishedNewly admitted students who already graduated from DePaul; no application is required.No target deadline published; assessed after admission.
DePaul Graduate Catholic Scholarship10% tuition discountNo fixed INR value because target tuition is unpublishedAlumni of any United States Catholic college or university; contact graduate admission.No target deadline published.
Kolnick Scholarship25% tuition waiver for the academic yearNo fixed INR value because target tuition is unpublishedNewly admitted LAS master’s students who are returned Peace Corps volunteers or Fulbright Scholars and remain full-time.No target deadline published; check the LAS scholarship route.

The assistantship has the clearest value because its waiver is tied to six courses and its stipend is capped. It also requires service, so remaining tuition and living costs still need funding.

The Double Demon, Catholic and Kolnick awards are condition-based, not general Indian merit awards, and university funding cannot be combined under the one-award policy.

The Graduate Presidential Scholarship advertises US$12,000 (INR 11.49 Lakhs) but lists select science, mathematics and urban-development programmes, not International Studies.

How to Improve Funding Prospects

Funding decisions favour applicants who meet the programme’s academic and research profile before the funding window opens.

Use the 15 April application priority date for admission and prepare a separate assistantship file for the expected June window.

  • Name a faculty-fit research question in the statement because the assistantship supports curriculum, research and writing-related departmental work.
  • Quantify your weekly availability for the 10 to 15 hour assistantship schedule without implying that the award covers every course or living expense.
  • Check Double Demon, Catholic, Kolnick and external awards only when their alumni, faith, service or scholar conditions match your record.

LAS says its scholarship tool opens the general application after July 1, so admitted students should check it for one-time department awards instead of assuming automatic eligibility.

Check Out: Scholarships for Indian students in the USA

Funding note

The assistantship is the only programme-specific award with a published waiver structure and stipend ceiling, so never budget percentage awards from prior-cycle tuition.

Scholarship reality: The priority application date protects access to potential tuition waivers, but the department assistantship remains competitive and requires separate service planning.

DePaul International Studies Salary 2027

The course’s ROI evidence is limited: a prior-cycle two-year planning illustration is INR 91.86 Lakhs, while DePaul publishes no course-cohort salary or offer rate.

  • The prior-cycle INR 91.86 Lakhs illustration is not a target quote, so obtain Fall 2027 tuition before signing a loan.
  • The programme’s 50 to 80 page project can create a writing portfolio, so select thesis, internship or creative project based on your intended role.
  • No course-level salary or offer rate is published, so do not underwrite repayment from the external political-scientist benchmark.
  • The Fall-only two-year sequence can delay earnings, so compare the full-sequence cost with the specific research or policy role you want.

Graduate Outcomes and Market Benchmarks

DePaul describes careers in nonprofits, international organizations, diplomatic entities and doctoral study, but the checked programme page provides no cohort salary, offer rate, sector split or employer list.

The official site shows one individual MA 2012 alumni example, an officer at the U.S. Embassy in Canberra, which demonstrates one pathway rather than a typical result.

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) provides the closest external benchmark for policy-oriented work. BLS figures describe an occupation, not DePaul graduates, and should be read alongside the visa and funding risks.

Evidence scopePublished measureINR equivalentApplicant meaning
Course-cohort outcomeCourse-specific salary, offer rate, sector split and employer list are not published in checked DePaul sources.Not applicableAsk the department for any current cohort evidence before making a repayment assumption.
Individual university alumni exampleMA 2012 alumnus reported as an officer at the U.S. Embassy in Canberra.Not applicableThis is an individual pathway, not a placement rate or typical graduate outcome.
External market benchmark, political scientists, May 2024US$139,380 median annual wage; master’s degree typical entry education; employment projected to decline 3% from 2024 to 2034.INR 1.33 CroreUse only as occupation-level context because roles and eligibility vary.
External industry context, political scientists, May 2024Federal government: US$151,630; professional, scientific and technical services: US$130,580; civic and grantmaking organisations: US$91,150; educational services: US$81,620.INR 1.45 Crore; INR 1.25 Crore; INR 87.29 Lakhs; INR 78.16 LakhsSector mix changes the benchmark, and the programme does not publish a matching graduate sector split.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook, Political Scientists, May 2024 wage and projection data.

For host-country work, the benchmark matters only when the role, visa status and experience fit the occupation. For an India-return path, map research and writing assets to a defined employer or doctoral application.

The BLS numbers are gross medians, and take-home pay varies with tax, benefits and location; use the IRS tax-withholding estimator before comparing loan repayment.

ROI note

Because no course-cohort outcomes are published, treat the programme as a research and policy investment. Secure funding or a defined doctoral or career route before relying on salary assumptions.

Honest take: The degree offers a research-heavy pathway and documented diplomatic example, but the absence of course outcomes makes funding discipline and role-specific planning essential.

USA Visa for DePaul International Studies Students 2027

Indian applicants use the F-1 (student visa) route for this full-time, in-person programme. F-1 status requires full-time enrolment, a Form I-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status), proof of funds and authorised employment only. After admission, DePaul requires students needing F-1 status to pay a US$300 (INR 28,728) graduate tuition deposit before requesting the Form I-20. The U.S. visa application fee is US$185 (INR 17,716), and the I-901 Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) fee is US$350 (INR 33,516). SEVIS is the federal student-record system used during the visa process. Eligible graduates may seek Optional Practical Training (OPT) related to their degree for up to 12 months. A 24-month Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics extension requires a qualifying degree and employer, and this exact MA’s STEM eligibility is not confirmed. A later employer-sponsored specialty-occupation work visa has no single course-specific salary threshold; the Department of Labor requires the higher of actual or prevailing wage. Permanent residence has no fixed programme timeline because it depends on sponsorship, category, country quota and processing queues.

  • An F-2 status can cover a spouse and unmarried minor children under 21, but F-2 dependants are not authorised to work.
  • Use the official student visa process for the application sequence and interview guidance.
  • Plan around the standard 12-month OPT window and treat any STEM extension as conditional until DePaul confirms the programme classification.

Also Check: USA F-1 student visa guide

Visa planning note

Because the exact degree’s STEM classification is not confirmed in the checked programme sources, build the funding and career plan around 12-month OPT until DePaul confirms any extension.

Visa reality: The F-1 route supports study and related practical training, but the programme does not establish a three-year work window or a permanent-residence timeline.

DePaul’s International Studies MA fits Indian applicants who want a research-led, interdisciplinary route into policy, diplomacy, nonprofit work or doctoral study. The two-year Fall-only evening format and 48-credit requirement create a substantial time and funding commitment, while target-cycle tuition and course-level outcomes remain unpublished. The programme’s strongest differentiator is the self-designed final project, so applicants should apply only when they can name a research question and show writing readiness. Submit a complete file by the expected 15 April 2027 priority date, then confirm the target fee, English-test route and funding outcome before accepting an offer.

DePaul International Studies MA FAQs

Ques. Is DePaul International Studies MA a good fit for Indian applicants interested in research or policy?

Ans. It fits applicants who want critical theory, interdisciplinary coursework and a self-designed thesis, internship report or creative project. It is a weaker fit for applicants seeking a fixed professional placement route because DePaul publishes no course-level outcome data.

Ques. Does DePaul International Studies MA accept Winter or Spring entry?

Ans. No. The current programme page states that the MA admits only in Fall and holds evening classes at Lincoln Park. Plan for the Fall 2027 cohort and a two-year sequence.

Ques. How much should an Indian applicant budget for Fall 2027?

Ans. Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished, so no target all-in price is confirmed. The 2026-27 rate gives a prior-cycle planning illustration of US$95,928 (INR 91.86 Lakhs). It covers 48 credits, two years of comprehensive fees and two nine-month non-tuition budgets. Summer spending and target-cycle changes are extra.

Ques. What English score should an Indian applicant submit?

Ans. The current LAS graduate page publishes TOEFL iBT 80 overall with no section below 17. IELTS and Duolingo are accepted in lieu, but their programme-specific Fall 2027 minima are not stated, while PTE is not listed as a substitute.

Ques. Can graduates stay and work in the United States after this MA?

Ans. Eligible graduates may seek up to 12 months of OPT related to the degree. A STEM extension is conditional, and the exact MA’s classification is unconfirmed. Do not plan on a three-year work window until DePaul verifies it.


Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees$19488

Other Expenses

HeadAvg Cost Per Year
Living Expenses$18201
Transportation$1284

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2024$23640
2023$18192
2022$13122
2021$21870

Important Dates

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis.

Scores Required

6.5 / 9

Avg. Score in

IELTS

80 / 120

Avg. Score in

TOEFL

53 / 90

Avg. Score in

PTE

115 / 160

Avg. Score in

Duolingo

75

Application Fees

48

ECTS Credits

TOP Scholarships

Scholarship nameAward amountEligibility
Graduate Presidential Scholarship$12,000GPA of 3.0 or more is required.



Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
VueVille Future Technology ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
R&D Systems ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,500/Yr$1,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Go Clean ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Business Administration ScholarshipsScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Washington DC ScholarshipsScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
BeArt Presets-Academic ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 2,500/Yr$2,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based

Similar Programs

ProgramImportant DateTotal FeesMedian Exams ScoreAction
--
USD 82,440 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 100
  • IELTS: 7
  • PTE: 68
  • Duolingo: 130
Application Deadline for Fall 2027 Intake (15th Jan 2027)
USD 33,916 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 4.5
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • Duolingo: 120
  • PTE: 58
Regular Application Deadline For Fall 2026 Intake (15th Feb 2026)
Final Application Deadline For Fall 2026 Intake (1st Jun 2026)
USD 48,000 /Yr
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • TOEFL: 85
  • PTE: 61
  • GRE: 298
  • Duolingo: 120
Round 3 Application Deadline for Fall 2027 Intake (25th Mar 2026)
USD 69,870 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 4.5
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • Duolingo: 120
Application Deadline For Fall 2027 Intake (1st Dec 2026)
USD 14,430 /Yr
  • IELTS: 7
  • TOEFL: 4.5

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

Videos

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling