B.A Mathematics (Major) at Indiana University [IU BLOOMINGTON], Bloomington Fees, Entry Requirement & Application Deadline

Bachelor of Arts [B.A] [Mathematics (Major)] From Indiana University

Bloomington, IndianaLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1820established year
48514enrollment
Public
7.6/10

Bachelor of Arts [B.A] (Mathematics (Major))

4 years
Full Time
On Campus

Field of Study

$39,834 /Yr

Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 18, 2026

Indiana University Bachelor of Arts Mathematics (Major) is a four-year, full-time, on-campus degree in Bloomington, Indiana, requiring 120 credits. For Spring 2027, international freshmen should present an equivalent U.S. high school diploma and a B average or higher, approximately 70% to 75% or CGPA (cumulative grade point average) 7.0 to 7.5 on 10 for Indian applicants. The 2026-27 international undergraduate estimate is US$44,339 (INR 42.40 Lakhs) in tuition and mandatory fees. The nine-month estimate including living costs is US$61,156 (INR 58.49 Lakhs).

The major builds from calculus and linear algebra into 300 and 400-level choices across at least two mathematical areas, including probability, applied mathematics and logic. It suits a student who wants mathematical depth alongside another major, minor or certificate, but the flexible structure requires early course planning for upper-level prerequisites.

  • The 2026-27 bulletin lists at least 30 major credits and requires two 400 to 499-level courses within the advanced requirement.
  • The curriculum can include an approved programming course, which helps connect mathematical reasoning with computational work.
  • Math students can pursue internships, directed reading, undergraduate research and departmental awards alongside the major.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the Spring 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: 15 September 2026.

The university publishes a calendar date without a clock time, so the portal cutoff controls. Prepare transcripts, English evidence and financial documents before submitting the application.

Also Check: Indiana University admission requirements

Indiana University Mathematics B.A. Fees and Living Costs 2027

For the 2026-27 cycle, Indiana University’s official international undergraduate estimate is US$44,339 (INR 42.40 Lakhs) for tuition and mandatory fees for one academic year. The flat tuition covers registration for 12 to 18 credit hours per semester, while programme-related or optional costs can remain separate.

The same official estimate includes the following nine-month items, based on fall and spring study, and it does not price summer attendance. Because the target intake is Spring 2027, a student beginning in January should budget summer costs separately before accepting an offer.

Official 2026-27 fee context: The table combines the current international undergraduate estimate with the published freshman application and enrollment amounts.

Cost itemAmount (US$)INR equivalentCoverage or timing
Tuition and mandatory feesUS$44,339INR 42.40 LakhsOne academic year, with 12 to 18 credits per semester
Housing and foodUS$12,431INR 11.89 LakhsDouble residence hall room and standard meal plan
Mandatory health insuranceUS$1,916INR 1.83 LakhsInternational undergraduate estimate
Miscellaneous expensesUS$2,470INR 2.36 LakhsBooks and general living expenses
Total for 9 monthsUS$61,156INR 58.49 LakhsFall and spring estimate
Application fee, current publishedUS$65INR 6,216Nonrefundable, with a possible waiver route
Enrollment deposit, general freshman amountUS$100INR 9,563Nonrefundable and credited toward first-semester tuition

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.6349 as of 18 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

Source: Indiana University international undergraduate cost estimate and current freshman application guidance.

The university’s listed components sum to the official nine-month total of US$61,156 (INR 58.49 Lakhs), confirming the table’s reconciliation. A simple four-year planning illustration multiplies that estimate by four: 4 × US$61,156 (INR 58.49 Lakhs) = US$244,624 (INR 2.34 Crore).

The calculated four-year figure excludes inflation, summer attendance and optional course costs, so it is a planning illustration rather than a university-published four-year quote. The application fee and enrollment deposit are separate cash-flow items. Take the deposit date from the student’s offer because the published general date is for another enrollment cycle.

Cost of Living in Bloomington for Mathematics Students

Indiana University’s living estimate combines housing and food, mandatory health insurance and miscellaneous expenses for nine months. It does not provide separate rent, utilities or grocery lines, so no finer breakdown is inferred here.

The monthly figures below are calculated averages from the official nine-month amounts, not separate university monthly quotes.

ExpenseMonthly average (US$)Monthly average (INR amount)Official 9-month total (US$)Official 9-month total (INR amount)
Housing and foodUS$1,381.22INR 1.32 LakhsUS$12,431INR 11.89 Lakhs
Mandatory health insuranceUS$212.89INR 20,360US$1,916INR 1.83 Lakhs
Miscellaneous expensesUS$274.44INR 26,246US$2,470INR 2.36 Lakhs
Combined estimateUS$6,795.11INR 6.50 LakhsUS$61,156INR 58.49 Lakhs

Read More: Cost of living in USA for international students

Budget note

The official nine-month estimate covers fall and spring, while Spring 2027 applicants may need summer funds, so confirm the full calendar-year amount used for visa documents.

Key insight: The published nine-month total is the 2026-27 baseline, but Spring 2027 applicants should add summer funds and programme-specific charges before finalising their budget.

Indiana University Mathematics B.A. Admission 2027

International freshmen are assessed against Indiana University’s general freshman standards rather than a separate mathematics entrance threshold. The 2026-27 bulletin sets the mathematics major and degree conditions that shape course planning after admission.

Academic Eligibility

For an international freshman, the academic baseline is an equivalent U.S. high school diploma and a B average or higher. Indian applicants should present a clear school grading explanation because Indiana University makes the equivalency decision.

RequirementOfficial standardApproximate Indian reading
Secondary credentialEquivalent of a U.S. high school diplomaIndian Class XII or equivalent, subject to university review
Academic recordB average or higher in secondary schoolApproximately 70% to 75%, or CGPA 7.0 to 7.5 on 10
College-preparatory subjectsAt least 34 credits across English, mathematics, social science, science, world language and additional preparationMap Class XI and XII subjects to the required preparation before applying
Mathematics preparationSeven mathematics credits, including algebra, geometry and one credit of precalculus, trigonometry or calculusKeep mathematics transcripts and course descriptions ready for review

The B average is an admission baseline, not a guaranteed offer, because Indiana University reviews course rigor, grades, optional test scores and application context. Transfer applicants follow a separate standard, so this table should not be used by applicants with prior university study.

Mathematics Major and Degree Requirements

The major requires at least 30 credit hours and the 2026-27 bulletin lists four core sequences before advanced electives. The full B.A. requires at least 120 credits, with upper-division, residency, GPA (grade point average) and CASE (College of Arts and Sciences Education) requirements beyond the major.

Requirement area2026-27 standardWhy it matters for Indian applicants
Core mathematicsCalculus I, Calculus II, one linear algebra course and Calculus IIIReview prerequisites and placement readiness before choosing the first semester
Advanced mathematicsAdvanced courses must cover at least two areas, with two courses at the 400 to 499 levelChoices can include algebra, analysis, applied mathematics, logic, probability and statistics
Major standardsAt least 18 major credits at the 300 to 499 level, 18 major credits through Bloomington or approved overseas study, and C- or higher in major coursesTransfer or overseas coursework needs early approval and careful credit mapping
Degree frameworkAt least 100 College of Arts and Sciences credits, 42 credits at the 300 to 499 level, 2.000 College GPA and required CASE componentsPlan language, writing, career readiness and general education alongside mathematics

This structure is flexible because the advanced requirement can span algebra, analysis, applied mathematics, differential equations, geometry, logic, probability and statistics. The tradeoff is sequencing, because calculus and linear algebra prerequisites can delay 400-level choices if you arrive without equivalent preparation. Indian applicants should compare Class XII mathematics with MATH-M 211 readiness before selecting the first semester.

English Language Proficiency

English proficiency is required for admission, and the score must have been met within the last two years. Indiana University also checks a higher level before classes begin, so admission and beginning-class thresholds should be planned separately.

TOEFL iBT means Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-based test, and the current policy still uses the 0 to 120 scale. IELTS means International English Language Testing System, while PTE means Pearson Test of English and DET means Duolingo English Test.

TestAdmission scoreBeginning-classes scoreApplicant use
TOEFL iBT79100University still publishes the 0 to 120 scale
TOEFL paper-based550600Use only if this test format remains available to you
IELTS6.57.5Plan for the higher threshold before classes if needed
Duolingo English Test115130Check test acceptance and reporting rules before booking
Pearson Test of English5368Use the university’s published scale without conversion
Cambridge English176191Confirm the accepted qualification before submitting scores
Michigan English Test5363Use the published component and overall policy
  • Indian applicants should book a test early enough to satisfy both the admission score and the beginning-class score if the academic record does not provide an English route.
  • IELTS can be a practical route when the 7.5 beginning-class threshold is achievable, while TOEFL iBT remains published on the 0 to 120 scale.
  • A qualifying English curriculum or three full years of secondary school in a listed English-speaking country can provide another route, subject to the university rules.

Read More: Indiana University academic programmes

Tip for Indian students: The B.A. is a planning-heavy degree, so map the 120-credit framework and Spring 2027 English thresholds before submitting documents because major flexibility does not remove prerequisite sequencing.

Indiana University Mathematics B.A. Application 2027

The earliest applicant-accessible intake is Spring 2027, with an international deadline of 15 September 2026. Indiana University also lists Fall early action, Fall regular decision and Summer deadlines for the same 2026-27 admission cycle.

Submit one application through Apply IU or the Common Application, then complete the essay, transcript and English evidence steps before the portal cutoff. After admission, financial documents are required before immigration documents can be issued.

International Application Deadlines

The following dates cover every intake shown on Indiana University’s international freshman deadline page. The page publishes calendar dates without clock times, so the portal cutoff controls.

Deadline context: Spring 2027 is the current target intake, while Fall and Summer entries are forward-looking alternatives.

Intake or roundInternational application deadlinePublished response point
Spring 202715 September 2026No spring response date published; monitor Atlas after submission
Fall 2027 early action1 November 2026Response by 15 January 2027
Fall 2027 regular decision1 February 2027Response on or before 15 March 2027
Summer 20271 January 2027No summer response date published; monitor Atlas after submission

Spring 2027 is the target because its published deadline is the earliest future international freshman date on 18 August 2026. For Spring and Summer, the checked page gives no decision date, so applicants should monitor Atlas after the file becomes complete.

Application Materials and Sequence

The application route is simple but document-heavy. Applicants may use Apply IU or the Common Application, but Indiana University says to submit only one application because duplicate fees are nonrefundable.

StageRequired or available itemIndian-applicant action
Application platformApply IU or Common ApplicationChoose one route and avoid duplicate submissions
EssayIU-specific essay of 200 to 400 words through Apply IUExplain academic plans, career direction and relevant interests
Academic recordsOfficial secondary transcript and full senior-year scheduleInclude grading-scale context and any dual-enrollment records
English evidenceAccepted test, curriculum score or qualifying English-speaking-country studyArrange official reporting when immigration documents require it
Financial documentationEvidence of support for the first year at Indiana UniversityPrepare bank or sponsor evidence after admission for immigration processing

For Indian school applicants, the transcript should show final grades, the current senior schedule and an explanation of the grading scale when the document does not state percentages. A mathematics-focused essay can also explain why the flexible B.A. structure, programming option or double-major pathway fits the student’s preparation.

  • Submit the Spring 2027 application with complete materials by 15 September 2026, because Indiana University evaluates the completed file rather than the date the form was started.
  • Use the essay to explain a mathematics pathway, programming or research interest and a double-major plan because those details fit this flexible degree.
  • Check Atlas after submission for missing records, because an incomplete file can delay the decision even when the form was submitted.

Also Check: Indiana University Bloomington profile

Application tip: The Spring 2027 deadline is 15 September 2026, so submit a complete transcript, English record and essay together, then monitor Atlas for any missing item.

Indiana University Mathematics B.A. Scholarships 2027

Indiana University publishes international undergraduate academic and need-based scholarship ranges. The checked pages do not confirm a Spring 2027 award amount or separate scholarship deadline for this major.

Academic scholarships use admission information and can be renewed up to four years, while need-based awards require a separate application. The Math department also names two departmental awards, but it does not publish values or target-cycle dates on the checked page.

Current published funding context: The ranges below are useful for planning, but they are not confirmed Spring 2027 awards.

Award routePublished value (US$)INR equivalentEligibility or routeTiming status
Academic scholarships for first-year international studentsUS$1,000 to US$11,000 per yearINR 95,635 to INR 10.52 Lakhs per yearBased on admission information and renewable up to four years1 February international merit date is current published context, not Spring-confirmed
Need-based scholarshipsUS$500 to US$2,000INR 47,817 to INR 1.91 LakhsSeparate application and demonstrated financial needNo single date published on the checked page
Donald Otto Koehler ScholarshipDepartment page gives no amountNot applicableHigh school seniors can apply through the Selective Scholarship ApplicationValue and deadline require confirmation
Sally Kissinger Wilt Merit ScholarshipDepartment page gives no amountNot applicableIncoming students are directed to check this awardValue and deadline require confirmation

For a Spring 2027 entrant, do not deduct scholarship money from the four-year planning figure until Indiana University confirms that the current awards apply to spring entry. The international page’s February 1 merit date is later than the Spring deadline, so ask the scholarship office whether a spring entrant can be considered.

  • Submit the complete Spring 2027 admission file by 15 September 2026, then request written confirmation of scholarship eligibility because the published merit date does not establish spring consideration.
  • Prepare separate need-based material when requested, because the need-based route is not included automatically in the admission application.
  • Treat departmental awards as potential upside rather than committed funding until the Math department confirms the amount, cycle and applicant category.

Also Check: Scholarships in USA for undergraduate study

Scholarship reality

Spring 2027 scholarship status is unconfirmed, so use zero scholarship funding in the base budget and verify eligibility before accepting an offer or paying the enrollment deposit.

Scholarship reality: The published maximum is US$11,000 (INR 10.52 Lakhs) per year, but Spring 2027 eligibility is unconfirmed, so plan without it and verify before accepting an offer.

Indiana University Mathematics B.A. Salary 2027

The B.A. Mathematics page does not publish a course-level salary, offer rate or placement report, so a graduate salary cannot be presented as an Indiana University outcome. The closest university evidence is a College of Arts and Sciences aggregate statement.

It says more than 90% of undergraduates reported a successful career outcome six months after graduation, published in October 2024 without a named cohort. The Math department instead points to internships, career coaching, research and graduate pathways, which makes profile-building important for this mixed academic and professional degree.

Published Career Evidence

The evidence below separates university outcomes from external job-market benchmarks. External wages describe occupations or degree holders, not the expected pay or placement rate for this B.A.

Evidence scopePublished measureSalary (US$)INR equivalentDecision use
Course-specific outcomeNo course-level salary, offer rate or sector mix located in checked official sourcesNot publishedNot applicableBuild individual evidence through internships, research or programming
College of Arts and Sciences outcomeMore than 90% reported a successful career outcome within six months; aggregate statement published October 2024Not publishedNot applicableUseful as a broad college proxy, not a mathematics placement rate
External field-of-degree benchmarkMathematics degree holders, 2023 median annual wage; 73% worked in occupations requiring at least a bachelor’s degree and 50% held an advanced degreeUS$86,000INR 82.25 LakhsShows degree-holder market context and the importance of graduate study planning
External occupation benchmarkActuaries, May 2024 median annual wage; bachelor’s degree typical, with professional examinations requiredUS$125,770INR 1.20 CroreRelevant only for an actuarial pathway with exam preparation
External occupation benchmarkData scientists, May 2024 median annual wage; bachelor’s degree typicalUS$112,590INR 1.08 CroreRequires programming, statistics and data experience beyond the degree title
External occupation benchmarkOperations research analysts, May 2024 median annual wage; bachelor’s degree typicalUS$91,290INR 87.31 LakhsConnects well with applied mathematics and modelling coursework

Source: Indiana University College of Arts and Sciences impact reporting; U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics mathematics field-of-degree data and math occupation data.

The available evidence supports pathway choices rather than a repayment promise. An Indian applicant should decide whether the degree will lead to a U.S. technical role, an India-return career or graduate study before relying on market benchmarks.

ROI for Indian Applicants

Return on investment (ROI) for this mixed degree depends on the route after graduation rather than a guaranteed course salary. The calculated four-year planning figure is US$244,624 (INR 2.34 Crore), before inflation, summer costs and scholarships.

  • The official nine-month estimate is US$61,156 (INR 58.49 Lakhs), so add summer costs before comparing the United States with an India-return plan.
  • No course-level salary or offer rate is published, so secure a math-related internship, programming portfolio or research experience before treating overseas employment as the funding plan.
  • The field-of-degree median is US$86,000 (INR 82.25 Lakhs) for 2023 mathematics degree holders, but 50% held an advanced degree, so price graduate study separately.
  • Occupation medians range from US$91,290 (INR 87.31 Lakhs) for operations research analysts to US$125,770 (INR 1.20 Crore) for actuaries, so check job requirements and exam costs.
  • Optional Practical Training offers up to 12 months after an eligible degree, so confirm the degree classification and employer route before assuming a longer work window.

Salary medians are gross figures, and take-home pay varies with federal tax, state tax, insurance and benefits; use the IRS Tax Withholding Estimator after you have a job offer.

ROI reality: No course-specific placement evidence supports a payback forecast, so combine the 120-credit degree with programming, internships or graduate preparation and budget without scholarship income.

USA Visa for Indiana University Mathematics B.A. Students 2027

International students need F-1 academic student status for this full-time degree. The current visa application fee is US$185 (INR 17,692). The I-901 SEVIS (Student and Exchange Visitor Information System) fee is US$350 (INR 33,472), before any applicable issuance charges. Indiana University requires first-year financial evidence before it issues immigration documents, so the nine-month cost estimate should not be treated as the full visa-funding amount.

  • The STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) extension adds 24 months after eligible OPT, but it requires a qualifying degree, employer and filing.
  • This mathematics degree’s exact STEM classification is not stated on the programme page, so confirm the CIP code with Indiana University’s international office before budgeting a 36-month work window.
  • No single H-1B salary threshold is linked to this course, because the Department of Labor rule uses the higher of actual or prevailing wage for the job and location.
  • F-1 status does not create a fixed PR (permanent residence) timeline, so longer residence requires a separate employer or immigrant category.
  • F-2 status may cover a spouse and unmarried minor children, but dependants need individual Form I-20 documents and F-2 status is not a work route.

The official practical-training rules tie OPT employment to the major and make the STEM extension conditional on the qualifying degree list. Confirm the exact classification with Indiana University before relying on a longer work window, and review the USCIS practical-training guidance.

Check Out: USA F-1 student visa requirements

Visa reality: The degree offers a possible 12-month OPT window, but the STEM extension and longer residence are conditional, so verify the CIP code and funding evidence before enrolment.

Indiana University’s B.A. Mathematics fits an Indian applicant who wants rigorous calculus and upper-level choice alongside another academic field. Its double-degree flexibility and research, programming and internship options support several routes, but the 120-credit framework demands early sequencing. The material tradeoff is financial: the calculated four-year estimate is US$244,624 (INR 2.34 Crore) before inflation, summer costs and scholarships. For Spring 2027, submit a complete international application by 15 September 2026, then confirm scholarship and STEM eligibility before paying the deposit.

Indiana University Mathematics B.A. FAQs

Ques. Is Indiana University’s Mathematics B.A. suitable for an Indian student planning a second major?

Ans. It can suit students who want mathematics alongside another field because the B.A. is designed for flexible double-degree planning. The 120-credit degree and prerequisite sequence require early scheduling with an academic adviser.

Ques. Which English score should I prepare for Indiana University Mathematics B.A. admission?

Ans. Admission requires IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 79 or equivalent listed scores, while beginning classes require IELTS 7.5 or TOEFL iBT 100. The university still publishes TOEFL on the 0 to 120 scale, so do not self-convert a different score scale.

Ques. What four-year budget should I use for this Mathematics B.A.?

Ans. The calculated four-year planning figure is US$244,624 (INR 2.34 Crore), based on four times the current nine-month estimate. It excludes inflation, summer costs and optional charges, so confirm the amount required for your full study period.

Ques. Can a Spring 2027 applicant receive an Indiana University scholarship?

Ans. Academic awards are US$1,000 to US$11,000 (INR 95,635 to INR 10.52 Lakhs) per year. Need-based awards are US$500 to US$2,000 (INR 47,817 to INR 1.91 Lakhs). Ask Indiana University whether those awards apply to Spring 2027.

Ques. Can this Mathematics B.A. lead to U.S. employment after graduation?

Ans. The checked sources do not publish a course-level salary or placement rate, so outcomes depend on your pathway and profile. OPT may allow up to 12 months of work, while a STEM extension and longer-term residence require separate eligibility checks.


Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees$39834

Other Expenses

HeadAvg Cost Per Year
Room and Board$8680
Health Insurance$1820

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2022$39834
2021$38314

Scores Required

100 / 120

Avg. Score in

TOEFL

7.5 / 9

Avg. Score in

IELTS

90 / 160

Avg. Score in

Duolingo

68 / 90

Avg. Score in

PTE

 Accepted

  • SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing- 560

Required Document List

The following required documents are:

  • Resume: It is the outline of academic achievements and/or awards, publications, relevant work, and/or volunteer experience.
  • Three Letter of Recommendation: Letter of recommendation which includes information about the student, their connection with the person they are recommending, their qualification, and the specific skills they have.
  • Statement of Purpose - This is an essay or any written statement written by the student while applying.
  • Personal History Statement: It describes how their background, accomplishments, and life experiences led to their decision to pursue the graduate degree they are applying for.
  • College Transcripts: The marks statement provided by the education board after completion of the previous academic qualifications.
  • Personal Video: Students may upload a 1-3 minute personal video in the application's Audio/Visual uploads section.
  • Interview and Writing Test: After applying, students may be required to complete an interview and/or writing test. 
  • ELP Scores: Students have to submit their English language proficiency scores like IELTS, TOEFL, or other test scores.

Ranking

2026202520242023202220212020201920182017

Collegedunia Study Abroad logo

QS World University logo
Arts 136 out of 553 in Global Ranking
( #27 out of 83 in USA 2026)

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ?  Report Here


Career and Placement after Course

Followings re the career opportunities for the students:

  • Investment Banker
  • Analyst
  • Cryptographer
  • Economist
  • Actuary
  • Financial Planner
  • Statistician
  • Mathematician


Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship ProgramScholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Axol Science ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 2,000/Yr$2,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeCompany-Sponsored
VueVille Future Technology ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
R&D Systems ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,500/Yr$1,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
BL Mandhana ScholarshipsScholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Go Clean ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based

Similar Programs

ProgramImportant DateTotal FeesMedian Exams ScoreAction
--
USD 47,796 /Yr
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • TOEFL: 80
  • PTE: 54
  • SAT: 1370
  • ACT: 31
--
USD 40,060 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 90
  • IELTS: 7
  • Duolingo: 125
--
USD 45,410 /Yr
  • TOEFL: 79
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • PTE: 59
  • SAT: 1280
  • Duolingo: 105

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

Videos

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling