Master of Science [M.Sc] (International Hospitality and Tourism Management)
Field of Study:
$23,397 /Yr
Sheffield Hallam University Master of Science (MSc) International Hospitality and Tourism Management is a one-year, full-time, face-to-face course at City Campus in Sheffield for September 2027. Indian applicants normally need a three- or four-year Bachelor’s degree with 55% to 60% or higher, and international tuition is £19,530 (INR 25.49 Lakhs) for the course.
MSc means a taught postgraduate degree that develops advanced subject knowledge through applied academic work. The standard route runs across three semesters and combines tourism operations, marketing technology, responsible leadership and sustainable strategy. It then offers a 60-credit consultancy or dissertation choice, while the separate work-experience route adds 6 to 12 months and must be selected before applying.
- Four 30-credit compulsory modules connect operations, marketing technology, responsible leadership and sustainable strategy.
- The 60-credit Consultancy or Dissertation choice lets you pursue a live client project or independent research.
- The Tourism subject group is recognised as a Centre of Excellence by the Institute of Travel and Tourism.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the September 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: No fixed date published.
Sheffield Hallam states that masters courses have no fixed deadlines, but courses can fill. Indian applicants should submit a complete academic, English and funding file while the September 2027 course remains available.
Also Check: Sheffield Hallam postgraduate admission
SHU International Hospitality MSc Fees and Living Costs 2027
For September 2027, the standard full-time international route has confirmed tuition of £19,530 (INR 25.49 Lakhs) for the whole course. This is a one-year course charge, so it should not be multiplied by two when comparing the separate work-experience route.
Target-cycle fee context: The table applies to the September 2027 standard route at City Campus and excludes accommodation, food, visa charges and personal spending.
| Cost item | GBP | INR | Payment context |
|---|---|---|---|
| International tuition | £19,530 | INR 25.49 Lakhs | Full course charge for 2027/28 |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of GBP 1 = INR 130.52 as of 23 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
Source: Sheffield Hallam’s 2027/28 International Hospitality and Tourism Management course page and current course-cost guidance.
The 2027/28 cost schedule identifies an optional work-experience-route field trip at £450 (INR 58,734) plus subsistence. That amount belongs to the separate route and is not included in the standard-route tuition or planning subtotal.
- The £19,530 (INR 25.49 Lakhs) charge covers tuition, so reserve a separate fund for the move to Sheffield and visa process.
- The work-experience route changes duration and cost exposure, so select it before applying if placement experience is essential.
- Keep the gross tuition budget until any September 2027 scholarship is confirmed in writing.
Cost of Living in Sheffield for International Hospitality MSc Students
SHU accommodation rents range from £85 to £210 per week (INR 11,094 to INR 27,409 per week). The official guide does not publish a combined food, transport and personal-cost estimate, so the table converts residence rates using 52 weeks and 12 months.
| Expense | Monthly (GBP) | Monthly (INR) | Annual (GBP) | Annual (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University residence rent, calculated from weekly range | £368.33 to £910 | INR 48,075 to INR 1.19 Lakhs | £4,420 to £10,920 | INR 5.77 Lakhs to INR 14.25 Lakhs |
A calculated tuition plus 52-week university-residence planning subtotal is £23,950 to £30,450 (INR 31.26 Lakhs to INR 39.74 Lakhs). It excludes food, transport, personal costs, visa charges, the Immigration Health Surcharge and travel, so it is not a complete all-in budget.
Check Out: UK student accommodation guide
Budget boundary
Because SHU publishes residence rates without a full living-cost total, use the subtotal as a housing-led floor. Add a documented food, transport and personal budget before deciding how much Indian funding to borrow.
Key insight: The tuition is confirmed, but residence choice creates a calculated spread of £4,420 to £10,920 (INR 5.77 Lakhs to INR 14.25 Lakhs) per year. Build the wider living budget before accepting an offer.
SHU International Hospitality MSc Admission 2027
Admission normally requires an honours degree or a recognised equivalent qualification, with a separate English threshold for the standard route. Indian applicants should present a relevant academic or management record clearly because the course assesses preparation for strategic hospitality and tourism work.
Academic eligibility for Indian applicants
SHU’s India guidance accepts a three- or four-year Bachelor’s degree with a minimum of 55% to 60% or higher for postgraduate taught study. CGPA means Cumulative Grade Point Average, and the equivalent planning range is approximately 6.0 to 6.5 on a 10-point scale.
| Applicant route | Published requirement | Approximate Indian planning equivalent | Applicant action |
|---|---|---|---|
| Normal postgraduate route | Honours degree or recognised equivalent qualification | Three- or four-year Bachelor’s degree with 55% to 60% or higher, approximately CGPA 6.0 to 6.5 on 10 | Show modules, projects and grades that support hospitality, tourism or business preparation |
| Management experience route | Substantial management experience may be considered, with an interview possible | No separate percentage conversion published | Upload detailed employment evidence and explain the management responsibility held |
| Accreditation of Prior Learning | Previous qualifications, knowledge and experience may support credit or exemptions | Assessment is individual rather than a fixed grade rule | Ask SHU to assess prior learning before relying on a shorter route |
The curriculum combines business management, hospitality and tourism rather than requiring one named undergraduate subject. Applicants with hotel, travel, events, destination or business experience can therefore make their fit clearer through module descriptions and work evidence.
English language requirements
IELTS means International English Language Testing System. The standard non-work-experience route requires IELTS 6.0 overall with 5.5 in every skill, and SHU lists equivalent tests in its current English requirements table.
| Test | Overall score | Component requirement | Indian applicant implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.0 | Listening 5.5, Speaking 5.5, Reading 5.5 and Writing 5.5 | One lower band can prevent direct compliance |
| TOEFL iBT, 0 to 120 scale | 67 | Listening 12, Speaking 17, Reading 12 and Writing 14 | Use the published component scores rather than the overall score alone |
| Duolingo English Test | 105 | Listening 95, Speaking 95, Reading 100 and Writing 95, or the listed alternative subscores | Check the current score-report format before submission |
| Pearson Test of English | 64 | Listening 59, Speaking 59, Reading 59 and Writing 59 | Plan for the minimum in every component |
TOEFL iBT means Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-based test. After 21 January 2026, SHU still publishes this route on the 0 to 120 scale. Do not self-convert it to the newer 1.0 to 6.0 scale.
- Standard XII English at 70% may be considered equivalent to IELTS 6.0, but confirm acceptance for this direct application.
- Protect every 5.5 IELTS component because the overall 6.0 score cannot offset a lower band.
- The separate work-experience route requires IELTS 6.5 overall with 6.0 in every skill, so choose the route before preparing tests.
Tip for Indian students: A 55% to 60% academic baseline is only the starting point, so submit a coherent subject or management record with component-complete English evidence.
SHU International Hospitality MSc Application 2027
September 2027 applications are open through the university’s online postgraduate form, but no fixed international deadline is published. SHU says masters courses have no deadlines, although places can fill and applicants may need to wait for a later entry.
The standard route is one year and does not include a placement, while the separate work-experience route has its own course page and must be chosen before submission. Verify the live September 2027 details on the official course page before completing the form.
Application sequence for September 2027
The stages below reflect the published route and the information SHU makes available for postgraduate applicants. Because the university does not publish a fixed closing date or decision timetable, the applicant controls document readiness rather than a dated round.
| Stage | Published timing | What to prepare | Decision use |
|---|---|---|---|
| Choose the route | No fixed deadline | Select the standard one-year route or separate work-experience route | Prevents a visa-restricted route change later |
| Create the application | No fixed deadline | Create an account and save progress in the online form | Lets you complete the file without losing entered information |
| Submit the evidence | No fixed deadline | Provide degree, transcript and English evidence requested by the form | Allows assessment against the published entry requirements |
| Receive and meet an offer | Decision date not published | Track conditional requirements and keep funding evidence ready | Separates an offer from final confirmation of the place |
- Apply through the September 2027 standard-route form if you want the one-year course without a placement year.
- Select the work-experience route at application if a 6 to 12 month placement is central to your plan.
- Submit a complete file before capacity changes because no fixed international deadline protects a late application.
- Save the submitted form and offer conditions so your visa and funding evidence match the final route.
The absence of a fixed date makes document quality the practical timing control. Prepare the academic record and accepted English result before opening the form, then monitor the portal for any course-capacity message.
Application tip: Treat September 2027 as open but capacity-limited, and choose the standard or work-experience route before submitting a complete academic and English file.
SHU International Hospitality MSc Scholarships 2027
September 2027 scholarship terms are not published on the checked official pages. The 2027/28 course page refers to international scholarships up to £3,000 (INR 3.92 Lakhs), while the current award page details September 2026 and January 2027 cycles.
The table keeps prior-cycle and profile-specific funding separate from the target intake. These awards can guide planning, but they must not be treated as confirmed September 2027 reductions until SHU publishes the new terms.
Prior-cycle funding context: The rows below are not September 2027 awards and should not be used to calculate a target-cycle net tuition figure.
| Award | Published cycle | GBP benefit | INR equivalent | Eligibility and route |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vice-Chancellor’s Award, South Asia | January 2027 prior-cycle reference | £3,000 | INR 3.92 Lakhs | Self-financing, full-time taught study, first-time SHU student from South Asia; automatic confirmation in the offer letter |
| Performance Athlete Support Programme | 2026-27 published profile-specific award | Up to £1,350 | INR 1.76 Lakhs | Performance-athlete profile; check the programme’s own eligibility and application window |
For January 2027, the Transform Together Scholarship was published as a 50% tuition reduction for qualifying self-financing postgraduate applicants. It is a prior-cycle percentage, so no September 2027 net tuition is calculated from it.
- Keep the full £19,530 (INR 25.49 Lakhs) tuition plan because no September 2027 award is confirmed.
- Apply only when your nationality, self-financing status, study mode and profile match the published award conditions.
- Do not assume awards stack because SHU states that students can receive only one award or scholarship.
Funding boundary
September 2027 funding remains an information gap rather than a discount promise. Apply for eligible published awards when the route opens, but keep the gross-fee loan or savings plan until the offer letter confirms the amount.
Scholarship reality: A £3,000 (INR 3.92 Lakhs) prior-cycle South Asia award shows possible support, not September 2027 entitlement. Budget the full tuition and verify the target-cycle award before paying or borrowing.
SHU International Hospitality MSc Salary 2027
Course-specific salary, offer-rate and placement-rate figures are not published for this MSc. The course page reports 95% of graduates in work or further study 15 months after graduating in the 2022/23 Graduate Outcomes Survey. The denominator and exact course scope are not stated.
The closest detailed evidence is a Sheffield Hallam Tourism, transport and travel course-family proxy. SHU lists career directions including tour operators, transport operators, visitor attractions, hotel corporations, event organisers, tourist organisations, government agencies and consultancy firms, but those examples do not prove recruitment.
Evidence scope: The salary table separates the school-level proxy from an exact MSc result, so the figures support planning rather than a placement promise.
| Evidence scope | Cohort or measure | GBP | INR | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| School-level Tourism, transport and travel proxy | Median earnings 15 months after graduation, 2021-23 graduates | £25,000 | INR 32.63 Lakhs | Proxy across Sheffield Hallam courses, not this MSc |
| School-level proxy range | Typical earnings range 15 months after graduation, 2021-23 graduates | £22,500 to £28,000 | INR 29.37 Lakhs to INR 36.55 Lakhs | Indicative spread, not a course salary range |
| School-level Tourism, transport and travel proxy | Median earnings three years after graduation, 2015-17 graduates | £22,500 | INR 29.37 Lakhs | Older Longitudinal Education Outcomes measure, not this MSc |
| Outcome evidence | Cohort | Reported result | Scope and limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Work or further study | SHU course-page indicator, 2022/23 Graduate Outcomes Survey | 95% | University indicator presented on the course page; MSc denominator not stated |
| Work or study | Tourism, transport and travel proxy, 2021-23 graduates | 86%, 170 students | Students from this and other related courses; 50% of those asked |
| Occupation mix | Tourism, transport and travel proxy, 2021-23 graduates | 52% highly skilled, 41% other work, 7% unknown | Proxy data from 140 students, not an MSc cohort |
Source: Sheffield Hallam course page and the Discover Uni tourism outcomes for the published course-family proxy.
ROI decision for Indian applicants
The calculated standard-route tuition plus university-residence-only subtotal is £23,950 to £30,450 (INR 31.26 Lakhs to INR 39.74 Lakhs) before food, visa or travel. That makes evidence scope central to the decision because the exact MSc has no published salary or offer-rate report.
- No exact MSc salary or offer-rate report is published, so request role evidence before finalising a large education loan.
- The £25,000 (INR 32.63 Lakhs) proxy median is not a graduate guarantee, so model repayment against lower and higher written offers.
- The course page’s 95% work-or-study indicator has no MSc denominator, so verify sponsor-eligible roles rather than treating it as placement probability.
- The separate work-experience route adds 6 to 12 months and route-specific costs, so choose it only when the placement benefit justifies extra time.
- For an India return, compare the £19,530 (INR 25.49 Lakhs) tuition and residence subtotal with a documented Indian role before borrowing.
Gross salary is not take-home pay because tax, pension and location change net income. Use a current UK tax calculator before comparing a UK offer with an India-return package.
Also Check: UK Graduate Route after study
ROI reality: The curriculum offers sector-specific management and consultancy skills, but the £25,000 (INR 32.63 Lakhs) figure is a course-family proxy. Finance the £19,530 (INR 25.49 Lakhs) tuition against verified roles, not the proxy alone.
UK Visa for SHU International Hospitality MSc Students 2027
The full-time degree is eligible for the UK Student visa, and Sheffield is outside London for maintenance calculations. The Student visa application fee is £558 (INR 72,830), while the Immigration Health Surcharge (IHS) is £776 (INR 1.01 Lakhs) for one year.
IHS is the healthcare charge paid with the visa, not tuition or living money. The immigration maintenance requirement is £1,171 (INR 1.53 Lakhs) per month for up to nine months, or £10,539 (INR 13.76 Lakhs). Funds normally need a 28-day holding period.
- Degree-level students can usually work up to 20 hours weekly during term, subject to the conditions on the Student visa.
- The Graduate Route lasts 18 months from 1 January 2027 and costs £937 (INR 1.22 Lakhs), plus £1,552.50 (INR 2.03 Lakhs) IHS.
- Skilled Worker sponsorship normally requires an eligible job paying at least £41,700 (INR 54.43 Lakhs) or its going rate, whichever is higher.
- Settlement normally requires five qualifying years, while dependants are generally restricted for taught postgraduate students unless a government-sponsored exception applies.
The 18-month Graduate Route creates a job-search window rather than a sponsorship guarantee. Keep visa maintenance funds separate from the calculated Sheffield residence budget because the two figures answer different financial tests.
Read More: UK Student visa requirements
Visa reality: The £10,539 (INR 13.76 Lakhs) maintenance proof is an immigration threshold, not Sheffield’s actual living budget. Keep it separate from the £19,530 (INR 25.49 Lakhs) tuition and verify sponsorship before choosing a loan term.
SHU International Hospitality MSc Ranking 2027
The 2027 course page reports a subject-level result in the QS World University Rankings 2026: Sheffield Hallam is in the world top 100 for Hospitality and Leisure Management. QS means Quacquarelli Symonds, the ranking publisher, and the result covers the subject area rather than this MSc’s individual cohort.
The ranking adds external subject context to the curriculum’s hospitality and tourism focus. It does not measure this course’s salary, placement rate, visa outcome or value for a particular Indian applicant.
Ranking scope: The university page publishes the edition and subject result, but it does not publish a previous position for the same ranking in the checked material.
| Ranking | Edition | Scope | Published result |
|---|---|---|---|
| QS World University Rankings by Subject | 2026 | Hospitality and Leisure Management | World top 100 |
Key insight: The QS result supports subject fit, but it cannot replace checks on funding, workload and course-specific employment evidence.
This MSc fits Indian applicants with a three- or four-year degree who want strategic hospitality and tourism management rather than a narrow technical specialism. Its distinctive value is the combination of operations, marketing technology, sustainability, responsible leadership and a 60-credit consultancy or dissertation choice. The material tradeoff is £19,530 (INR 25.49 Lakhs) in tuition. The residence-only subtotal is £23,950 to £30,450 (INR 31.26 Lakhs to INR 39.74 Lakhs), and no exact MSc salary report is published. Submit the September 2027 standard-route application with complete academic and English evidence, and keep the full-fee plan until target-cycle scholarship terms are confirmed.
Sheffield Hallam International Hospitality and Tourism Management MSc FAQs
Ques. Is the standard route different from the Sheffield Hallam work-experience route?
Ans. Yes. The standard route is one year and uses three semesters of teaching, while the separate work-experience route adds 6 to 12 months and must be selected before applying.
Ques. What academic percentage and English score does an Indian applicant need?
Ans. SHU’s India guidance lists a three- or four-year Bachelor’s degree with 55% to 60% or higher for postgraduate taught study. The standard route requires IELTS 6.0 overall with 5.5 in every skill, or an accepted equivalent.
Ques. What should I budget for September 2027 before food and visa costs?
Ans. Tuition is £19,530 (INR 25.49 Lakhs). Tuition plus published university residence produces a calculated subtotal of £23,950 to £30,450 (INR 31.26 Lakhs to INR 39.74 Lakhs), before food, travel and visa charges.
Ques. How should I time the application when no international deadline is published?
Ans. Submit a complete September 2027 application while the course remains open because SHU says masters courses have no fixed deadlines but places can fill. Choose the standard or work-experience route before submitting the form.
Ques. Can the course-family salary data prove UK employment after graduation?
Ans. No. The Tourism, transport and travel proxy reports median earnings of £25,000 (INR 32.63 Lakhs) after 15 months, but it is not an exact MSc outcome. The 18-month Graduate Route creates a work-search window, not a sponsorship guarantee.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $23397 (GBP 17725) |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2024 | $23397 (GBP 17725) |
| 2023 | $23397 (GBP 17725) |
Important Dates
| Event | Application Date |
|---|---|
| Application Start Date For Sept 2025 Intake | Aug 16, 2025 |
| Application Start Date For Sept 2024 Intake | Aug 16, 2024 |

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
1 Year Masters Programs in UK for International Students
Masters in UK: Top Universities, Admission Requirements, Tuition Fees, and Scholarships
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,320/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Saltire Scholarships | Scholarship per student$ 10,560/Yr$8,000 | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Bharat Petroleum Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| India Postgraduate Taught Master’s Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 4,693/Yr$3,555 | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,640/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored |
















Comments