M.A Public Affairs Reporting at University Of Illinois-Spring Field [UIS], Springfield Fees, Entry Requirement & Application Deadline

University of Illinois M.A Public Affairs Reporting 2025 entry: fees, deadlines, entry requirements, etc.

Springfield, IllinoisLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1969established year
4956enrollment
Public
Partner [2 Courses]
Spring fieldcampus
6.5/10

Master of Arts [M.A] (Public Affairs Reporting)

2 years
Full Time
On Campus

Field of Study

$12,640 /Yr

Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 17, 2026

University of Illinois Springfield M.A. in Public Affairs Reporting (PAR) is a 10-month, 40-credit, full-time on-campus master’s programme in Springfield, Illinois, beginning in August 2027. The PAR degree is designed for applicants with a bachelor’s degree, a good academic record, strong writing ability and public-affairs interest; previous journalism experience helps but is not required. August 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026-27 non-Illinois graduate tuition was US$737.25 per credit (INR 70,446), as a prior-cycle reference.

The programme trains reporters to explain government and public policy across digital, broadcast and print formats, then applies that preparation in a six-month paid Statehouse internship. University of Illinois Springfield (UIS) combines reporting courses with Illinois policy study, legislative issues and a professional portfolio rather than a thesis. The best fit is an applicant who wants deadline-driven public affairs journalism, while the material tradeoff is close dependence on Illinois government and the United States newsroom market.

  • About 12 students are accepted in each class, making the programme’s capacity an important application-timing factor.
  • Students meet internship hosts for job interviews in November before the programme director matches them with a reporting outlet.
  • Students may depart as early as June 1 after securing a job, although the official programme ends June 30.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the August 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: Expected 15 May 2027.

The programme publishes a recurring April 1 priority date and August 1 final cutoff, but neither is separately dated for 2027. Indian applicants needing an F-1 visa should use 15 May 2027 as the earlier expected document deadline and verify the portal cutoff.

Also Check: University of Illinois Springfield admission

UIS Public Affairs Reporting Fees and Living Costs 2027

August 2027 tuition is unpublished; the latest readable official schedule is for Spring 2027 and the latest cost estimate is 2026-27. These values are prior-cycle references, so they cannot be used as a target-cycle bill or net programme cost.

The programme states that all PAR students receive tuition waivers during spring and summer plus a monthly stipend during the internship. Because waiver mechanics and 2027-28 amounts are not published, keep a gross budget and a written funding confirmation separate.

Prior-cycle reference: The Spring 2027 schedule lists non-Illinois graduate tuition and full-time mandatory fees. The 2026-27 cost estimate covers a general graduate student at nine credits per term.

ItemOfficial prior-cycle figureINR equivalent
Non-Illinois graduate tuitionUS$737.25 per creditINR 70,446 per credit
Full-time mandatory fees at 9 or more creditsUS$1,119 per termINR 1.07 Lakhs per term
International graduate application feeUS$75 per applicationINR 7,166 per application
General graduate cost of attendance, off-campusUS$32,669 for fall and springINR 31.22 Lakhs for fall and spring

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.5528 as of 16 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

Source: UIS Spring 2027 tuition schedule and UIS 2026-27 graduate cost-of-attendance estimate.

  • Gross 40-credit arithmetic is US$29,490 (INR 28.18 Lakhs), calculated from the prior-cycle rate and not a 2027-28 quote.
  • Spring and summer tuition waivers reduce the amount payable, so ask PAR for a written waiver and stipend breakdown before committing.
  • The general cost estimate includes tuition, fees and living items, so it should not be presented as the programme’s net bill.

Cost of Living in Springfield for Public Affairs Reporting Students

UIS publishes a fall and spring off-campus graduate estimate rather than a PAR-specific monthly budget. The monthly equivalents below divide each official annual item by 12 and are calculated planning values, not university-published monthly rates.

Separate budget lines: Housing and food, transportation, books and personal expenses are living estimates; tuition, mandatory fees and visa maintenance are separate.

ExpenseMonthly (USD)Monthly (INR)Annual (USD)Annual (INR)
Housing and food, off-campusUS$892.67INR 85,276US$10,712INR 10.24 Lakhs
Transportation, off-campusUS$179.17INR 17,126US$2,150INR 2.05 Lakhs
Books, course materials and suppliesUS$100.00INR 9,555US$1,200INR 1.15 Lakhs
Personal expensesUS$175.00INR 16,722US$2,100INR 2.01 Lakhs
Living-related total, calculatedUS$1,346.83INR 1.29 LakhsUS$16,162INR 1.54 Lakhs

The official living-related items total US$16,162 (INR 1.54 Lakhs) for the published fall and spring estimate, excluding tuition and mandatory fees. Because the programme runs for 10 months and includes summer internship work, an Indian applicant should extend the housing line for the actual stay after confirming the internship location.

Check Out: USA living-cost planning guide

Fee verification note

The 2026-27 cost-of-attendance page excludes student health insurance from estimated fees, while the Spring 2027 schedule says its US$1,110 (INR 1.06 Lakhs) amount is included. Treat this as an official conflict, exclude insurance from the calculated living total and verify the billed term amount on the official fee page.

Student perspective

University-level student reviews, not PAR-specific, mention a small community and housing or transport choices, while another entry describes deposits and administrative navigation as concerns. Indian applicants should inspect housing terms and ask UIS about transport and internship support rather than treating those comments as typical.

These comments are anecdotal and do not replace official University of Illinois Springfield data.

Key insight: The target fee is not published, while spring and summer waivers could materially lower gross cost; obtain a written funding package and verify summer housing before applying.

UIS Public Affairs Reporting Admission 2027

Admission is portfolio-led rather than test-led. UIS asks for a bachelor’s degree, a good academic record, writing samples, a narrative statement, three references and a finalist news-writing test.

The Graduate Record Examination (GRE) is not required. Selection instead focuses on evidence of writing ability, interest in government and public affairs, potential for journalism and readiness for graduate study.

Academic eligibility and selection

The current published general UIS graduate baseline is a Grade Point Average (GPA) of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale. This is approximately 55% to 60% or Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) 5.5 to 6.0 on 10 for Indian planning.

The range is approximate because UIS makes the final equivalency decision.

The programme’s own criteria add a good academic record, solid writing skills and a desire to report on government, politics and public affairs. The table separates baseline eligibility from the portfolio evidence that can shape selection.

RequirementCurrent published ruleIndian applicant action
Bachelor’s degreeCompleted bachelor’s degree from an institution recognised in the home country, with a good academic record.Submit complete official university records and allow time for equivalency review.
General graduate baselineAt least GPA 2.5 on a 4.0 scale, with higher standards possible for individual programmes.Use the approximate 55% to 60% or CGPA 5.5 to 6.0 planning range, not as an assured admission line.
Writing and public-affairs fitWriting ability, interest in government and public affairs and potential for a journalism career are assessed.Submit published or assessed work that shows reporting, verification and clear explanation of policy issues.
PAR application materialsWriting samples, narrative statement on qualifications and interest, and three reference letters are required.Choose referees who can discuss journalism, communication or academic skills with specific examples.
Finalist assessmentApplicants who pass initial screening must complete a news-writing test on deadline.Practise concise fact-led reporting under time limits before submitting the application.
Graduate Record ExaminationGRE is not required for PAR admission.Use the preparation time for writing samples and the timed news test.
International credentialsForeign credentials require a UIS staff evaluation or an evaluation from a member of the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services.Arrange the evaluation early because UIS says the application is not reviewed until it is complete.
Academic progress after enrolmentRequired PAR courses need a grade of B or better, and students must maintain a B average each semester.Budget for consistent performance because a weak required-course grade cannot count toward the degree.

Because the programme can stop admitting when its cohort reaches capacity, a minimum GPA should not be treated as a safe admit line. Indian applicants should foreground published work, a concise public-affairs portfolio and a narrative linking prior study or reporting to government coverage.

No programme-specific ranking appears in the checked official materials, so university-wide or unrelated subject rankings are not used as course evidence.

English-language proficiency

The International English Language Testing System (IELTS), Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), Pearson Test of English (PTE) and Duolingo English Test are listed for graduate applicants. Scores must normally be within two years, and the current page separates legacy TOEFL iBT from the new TOEFL scale effective January 2026.

Indian applicants should verify the scale printed on the score report before submitting it. UIS does not list India among its English-proficiency exemption countries, although qualifying degrees or credits from listed English-speaking countries can support a petition.

English testUIS graduate minimum
TOEFL iBT, 0 to 120 scale90
New TOEFL, effective January 20264.5
IELTS Academic6.5
PTE Academic70
Duolingo English Test115
TOEFL Essentials9.0
  • IELTS Academic 6.5 is a clear planning baseline, but stronger writing samples still matter because PAR selection is portfolio-led.
  • New TOEFL 4.5 and legacy TOEFL iBT 90 are different scales, so do not self-convert one score into the other.
  • Submit the credential evaluation and English result together early because international review and visa preparation depend on complete documents.
Tip for Indian students: The programme publishes no GRE requirement. Use the testing budget for an accepted English score and timed reporting practice while building a specific public-affairs portfolio.

UIS Public Affairs Reporting Application 2027

Apply for August 2027 as early as possible because PAR reviews files as they arrive and a cohort is typically about 12 students. The programme’s April 1 priority date is recurring and the May 15 international deadline is the safer expected cutoff for F-1 preparation.

The dates below are expected for 2027 because current official pages publish a recurring pattern rather than a separately dated 2027 PAR calendar. UIS gives no time-of-day or timezone, so the portal timestamp controls.

Expected application timeline

Target cycle: August 2027 entry is the next recurring intake, and the listed dates remain expected until UIS publishes a dated 2027 programme notice.

Application stageExpected 2027 timingDecision meaning
Scholarship priority submissionExpected 01 April 2027Earlier review position for scholarship consideration before the fall intake.
Complete PAR and UIS applicationExpected 01 April 2027 for priority considerationPAR aims to decide within three weeks after all required materials arrive.
International F-1 document deadlineExpected 15 May 2027Earlier general UIS deadline for applicants who need time for immigration documents.
Programme final windowExpected 01 August 2027 or earlier if the class fillsApplications remain under rolling review until capacity or the stated cutoff.
Finalist news-writing testNo fixed date published; scheduled after initial screeningThe timed test contributes to the programme’s final admission decision.

April 1 matters twice because it preserves scholarship priority and leaves time for the writing test, credential evaluation and visa work. May 15 is earlier than the programme’s August 1 window for F-1 applicants, so use May 15 as your working cutoff even though it is expected.

What to submit and how to sequence it

Start with the UIS graduate application, official transcripts and credential evaluation, then attach the PAR materials before the programme screens the file. The current international graduate application fee is US$75 (INR 7,166) per application, and the fee is non-refundable.

  • Submit official records from every post-secondary institution and confirm that the credential evaluation has reached UIS.
  • Upload writing samples and a narrative statement that connect your reporting interests to government and public affairs.
  • Ask three referees for specific evidence of journalism, communication or academic ability rather than generic character descriptions.
  • Practise a timed news story because finalists complete the writing test on a deadline set by the programme.

Student perspective

Separate university-level entries describe mixed experiences with administrative guidance and recommend asking seniors for practical housing information; they are not PAR-specific. Treat this as a prompt to confirm who handles international transcripts, internship questions and visa documents before submitting.

Application tip: Submit by the expected 15 May 2027 international deadline if you need an F-1 visa. Target 01 April 2027 to protect scholarship consideration and allow time for the finalist test.

UIS Public Affairs Reporting Scholarships 2027

UIS names several PAR funds, including an International Student Scholarship Fund, but checked current pages do not publish award values or individual award deadlines. The programme also states that applications received by April 1 ahead of fall entry receive priority consideration, so Indian applicants should submit a complete file by expected 01 April 2027.

Spring and summer tuition waivers and monthly internship stipends are separate programme benefits, not scholarship amounts. Ask PAR for the 2027-28 award, waiver and stipend terms in writing before using them in a visa or repayment budget.

Named PAR funding: The funds below are listed by the programme, while award values, selection mechanics and individual deadlines require confirmation from PAR.

Named fundPublished applicant fitPublished value and timing
International Student Scholarship FundSupports international students enrolled in the PAR programme.Value and individual deadline are not published; expected programme priority is 01 April 2027.
Public Affairs Reporting Memorial Scholarship FundSupports students admitted into the PAR programme.Value and individual deadline are not published; expected programme priority is 01 April 2027.
Mary and Jim Beaumont Scholarship FundBenefits a PAR student with an interest in investigative journalism.Value and individual deadline are not published; expected programme priority is 01 April 2027.
James Armstrong Scholarship FundSupports a student showing strong interest and potential in government and political reporting.Value and individual deadline are not published; expected programme priority is 01 April 2027.
Lee Milner Memorial Scholarship Endowment FundProvides tuition support for future generations of PAR students.Value and individual deadline are not published; expected programme priority is 01 April 2027.
  • The International Student Scholarship Fund is the clearest named fit for an Indian applicant, but the programme does not state its award amount or selection rate.
  • The Beaumont and James Armstrong funds require a focused reporting narrative, so align the portfolio with investigative or government coverage when applicable.
  • Do not convert a tuition waiver or monthly stipend into a scholarship value because the published pages do not give a dollar amount or payment schedule.

Read More: USA scholarships for Indian students

Scholarship reality

Because amounts and individual eligibility rules are unpublished, the only safe 2027 planning inputs are the published waivers, stipend existence and expected 01 April priority date. Request a written award summary and keep unconfirmed funds out of the financial plan.

Scholarship reality: PAR offers several named funding routes and spring or summer tuition waivers, but the missing award amounts make a written funding confirmation essential for an Indian applicant.

UIS Public Affairs Reporting Salary 2027

PAR reports employment close to 100% for each graduating class when graduates are ready to work and flexible about location. It does not publish the cohort, denominator, salary measure or report date, so treat this as a programme-reported claim rather than a guarantee.

The course-specific evidence is stronger on work access than salary. Every student completes a six-month paid Statehouse internship, receives spring and summer tuition waivers and builds a professional portfolio.

The university lists public affairs reporter, legislative correspondent, editor and public information officer among possible roles.

Outcome scope: The table separates a programme-reported employment claim, course design evidence and an external occupational benchmark.

Evidence scopePublished evidenceApplicant meaning
Course-programme employment claimClose to 100% employment for each graduating class, subject to readiness and location flexibility.Cohort, denominator, job type and salary are not stated, so this is not a placement guarantee.
Course work accessSix-month paid Statehouse internship with spring and summer tuition waivers, a monthly stipend and a professional portfolio.Applicants gain published or aired work evidence, but the stipend amount and host-specific terms are unpublished.
Programme role scopePublic affairs reporter, legislative correspondent, news reporter, editor and public information officer are listed career paths.Match the portfolio to the reporting or public-affairs role you intend to pursue.
External job-market benchmarkU.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2024 median for news analysts, reporters and journalists is US$60,280 (INR 57.60 Lakhs).This is an occupation-wide gross benchmark, not a PAR graduate salary or a repayment forecast.

Source: University of Illinois Springfield PAR programme page and U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics media and communication wage data.

The latest general graduate estimate is US$32,669 for fall and spring (INR 31.22 Lakhs). PAR’s waivers and stipend may lower net cost, but 2027-28 tuition and stipend amounts remain unpublished.

  • The paid internship builds portfolio evidence but its stipend amount is unpublished, so request written 2027 funding terms before relying on gross costs.
  • The close-to-100% programme claim lacks cohort and salary detail; request the latest graduating-class destinations before treating it as repayment evidence.
  • The occupation benchmark is US$60,280 (INR 57.60 Lakhs), not a PAR graduate figure; compare any offer’s role, city and gross pay with that benchmark before borrowing.
  • A 10-month format limits time away from work, but United States employment depends on F-1 authorisation and employer sponsorship; model an India-return outcome separately.

The occupation benchmark is gross, and take-home pay changes with federal and state taxes, benefits and location. Use a current tax calculator before turning the benchmark into a monthly repayment estimate.

Read More: USA post-study work options

Student perspective

A separate university-level review mentions that career-fair fit for international students can be uneven, but it is not PAR-specific. Ask about internship-host matching and employer pathways instead of using that comment as placement evidence.

ROI reality: The internship and tuition waivers create a credible work-based value case. Missing salary and funding detail means an Indian applicant should secure written terms and model India-return risk.

USA Visa for UIS Public Affairs Reporting Students 2027

An Indian student attending this on-campus programme normally uses the F-1 Student visa. The current fees are US$185 (INR 17,677) for the visa application and US$350 (INR 33,443) for the I-901 Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) fee. These charges cover separate steps, so verify them before paying because the 2027 schedule can change. After one full academic year, eligible F-1 students may seek up to 12 months of Optional Practical Training (OPT) related to their major. OPT is temporary employment authorisation, and the programme’s Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) classification is not confirmed, so do not assume a 24-month extension. Verify the F-1 visa fee and entry rules and the OPT practical-training rules before planning employment.

  • The F-1 and SEVIS charges are separate from tuition and living costs, so include both in the pre-arrival cash plan.
  • OPT can provide up to 12 months of related work after study, but unconfirmed STEM status means the additional 24-month extension is not a safe assumption.
  • The H-1B (specialty-occupation work visa) route has no single universal salary threshold because the employer must meet the higher actual or prevailing wage and sponsorship is separate.
  • F-2 status can cover a spouse and unmarried minor children, but F-2 dependants are not authorised to work.

Check Out: USA student visa guide

Visa reality: F-1 status can support a 12-month OPT window. STEM extension, H-1B sponsorship and permanent residence remain separate outcomes that must not be built into the course budget.

University of Illinois Springfield’s M.A. in Public Affairs Reporting suits an Indian applicant with a bachelor’s degree, a strong writing portfolio and a clear interest in government journalism. Its 10-month on-campus structure connects coursework to a six-month paid Statehouse internship, tuition waivers and a professional portfolio rather than a thesis. The material tradeoff is funding uncertainty because 2027-28 tuition, stipend amounts and course-specific salary data are unpublished. United States visa work after graduation is time-limited and sponsorship-dependent. Submit complete documents by the expected 15 May 2027 international deadline if you need F-1 status, then request written funding and internship details.

Public Affairs Reporting FAQs

Ques. Is previous journalism experience required for the University of Illinois Springfield M.A. in Public Affairs Reporting?

Ans. No. Journalism experience is helpful but not required, while writing samples, a narrative statement, three references and a finalist news-writing test are required.

Ques. What tuition budget should an Indian applicant use for the August 2027 intake?

Ans. Target-cycle tuition is unpublished. The latest prior-cycle reference is US$737.25 per non-Illinois graduate credit (INR 70,446), while spring and summer tuition waivers may reduce PAR’s payable amount.

Ques. Which English score is the clearest route for Indian applicants?

Ans. UIS lists IELTS Academic 6.5, TOEFL iBT 90, new TOEFL 4.5, PTE Academic 70 and Duolingo English Test 115 for graduate applicants. India is not listed among the standard exemption countries.

Ques. When should an Indian applicant submit the August 2027 application?

Ans. Target the expected 01 April 2027 priority date for scholarship consideration and use the expected 15 May 2027 international deadline if you need an F-1 visa. The programme’s expected final window is 01 August 2027 or earlier if the class fills.

Ques. Does this programme provide a guaranteed U.S. post-study work route?

Ans. No. Eligible F-1 graduates may seek up to 12 months of related OPT. STEM extension, H-1B sponsorship and permanent residence depend on later eligibility and employers.


Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees$12640

Other Expenses

HeadAvg Cost Per Year
Food and Housing$11974
Total Cost$11974

Fees Per Credit:- 702.25

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2024$14045
2023$10908

Scores Required

79 / 120

Avg. Score in

TOEFL

6 / 9

Avg. Score in

IELTS

50 / 90

Avg. Score in

PTE

105 / 160

Avg. Score in

Duolingo

75

Application Fees

40

ECTS Credits

TOP Scholarships

Scholarship nameAward amountEligibility
Donor Funded Institutional ScholarshipAward amount VariesMerit Based



Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
FINCAD Women in Finance ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 20,000/Yr$20,000Level Of StudyMasterTypeMerit-Based
Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship ProgramScholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Axol Science ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 2,000/Yr$2,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeCompany-Sponsored
VueVille Future Technology ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
R&D Systems ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,500/Yr$1,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Go Clean ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based

Videos

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling