$13,723 /Yr
California State University Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) is a 38-unit graduate degree completed in two and one-half academic years. The fully online programme is based in San Bernardino, California; Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished and the application fee is US$70 (INR 6,672). Fall 2027 applicants need a nursing or related baccalaureate degree and a 3.0 grade point average on a 4.0 scale, approximately 75% to 80% for Indian applicants.
The programme trains nurses for nurse education, population health leadership and evidence-based practice, connecting clinical knowledge with curriculum design and community health improvement. Its sequenced online curriculum is more practice-and-education oriented than a general health administration master’s, so it suits applicants who want educator or population-focused leadership work. The strongest fit is a nurse who can satisfy California licensure requirements and commit to 405 practicum hours within a structured five-semester plan.
- The degree is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, supporting a recognised nursing education pathway.
- Compressed course blocks allow the published plan to combine epidemiology, research, population health and nurse educator preparation.
- A comprehensive examination integrates core and concentration competencies before graduation.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Fall 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: 1 June 2027.
Fall 2027 is the earliest applicant-accessible intake because Spring 2027 is not offered. Indian applicants should verify the California registered nurse licence requirement and the fully online delivery route before paying the application fee.
Also Check: CSUSB Nursing Admission
CSUSB Nursing Fees and Living Costs 2027
Fall 2027 fee status: CSUSB publishes a US$70 (INR 6,672) application fee, but the supplied current facts do not publish Nursing-specific graduate tuition. The cached US$20,359 (INR 19.40 Lakhs) estimate covers 24 undergraduate units and must not be used for this 38-unit MSN.
The table therefore separates the confirmed application charge from the unpublished programme tuition, preventing an undergraduate estimate from becoming an unsafe graduate budget. Ask the Nursing coordinator for the Fall 2027 graduate rate, mandatory campus charges and any online-programme fee treatment before committing funds.
| Fee item | Official amount (USD) | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| CSUSB application processing fee | US$70 | INR 6,672 |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.31 as of 03 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
- The application fee is non-refundable, so confirm the California registered nurse licence requirement before submitting a paid application.
- The unpublished tuition prevents a verified programme total, net price or payback calculation for Fall 2027.
- The undergraduate estimate is a comparison warning, not a Nursing fee, because its unit level and degree tier differ.
Cost of Living in San Bernardino for Nursing Students
CSUSB’s official 2026-27 cost-of-attendance estimate lists US$19,786 (INR 18.86 Lakhs) for nine months of living expenses. It separately lists books, transportation, health insurance and personal expenses totaling US$29,942 (INR 28.54 Lakhs), so the figures should not be merged into a rent-only estimate.
The monthly figures below are calculated averages from those official nine-month totals, not published rent or grocery ranges. Because the MSN is fully online, an Indian applicant should use the table only if the study plan involves living in the United States.
| Expense | Monthly (USD) | Monthly (INR) |
|---|---|---|
| Living expenses, nine-month official total | US$2,198 calculated monthly average | INR 2.09 Lakhs |
| Books, transportation, health insurance and personal expenses | US$3,327 calculated monthly average | INR 3.17 Lakhs |
| Total additional expenses, nine months | US$29,942 | INR 28.54 Lakhs |
Source: CSUSB International Education 2026-27 cost-of-attendance facts supplied for this run.
Fee verification
Verify the target MSN tuition on the official CSUSB fee page before finalising a funding plan, because the current graduate amount is not published in the supplied facts.
ROI reality: Non-tuition costs are US$29,942 (INR 28.54 Lakhs) for nine months. The all-in Fall 2027 cost remains uncalculated until CSUSB confirms MSN tuition.
CSUSB Nursing Admission 2027
Admission to CSUSB’s MSN requires an accredited nursing or related bachelor’s degree, a 3.0 grade point average, a current California registered nurse licence and the programme’s supporting documents. The California registered nurse requirement is the key Indian-applicant checkpoint because the current Nursing page does not state that an overseas licence substitutes for California licensure.
The programme’s academic proposition combines nursing education with population health leadership, so the strongest applicant can connect clinical practice, statistics and evidence-based improvement to a clear professional goal. Applicants should resolve licensure and practicum eligibility before treating the online format as a straightforward distance option.
Academic Eligibility
The primary academic route is a nursing bachelor’s degree from a programme accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE). This accreditation is the reference used by CSUSB when identifying the standard nursing degree route.
A related bachelor’s degree can be considered when the applicant demonstrates the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Essentials competencies named by CSUSB. These competencies include health assessment, research, leadership and community or public health.
| Requirement | CSUSB requirement | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Academic degree | Bachelor’s degree in nursing from a CCNE-accredited programme, or a regionally accredited related bachelor’s degree | Map the Indian degree title and transcript content to nursing or related preparation. |
| Non-nursing or non-CCNE nursing degree | AACN Essentials competencies in health assessment, research, leadership and community or public health | Collect course descriptions, certifications or professional evidence for each competency. |
| Academic performance | Minimum grade point average 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, approximately 75% to 80%, or 7.5 to 8.0 on a 10-point scale for Indian applicants | Use the range only as a planning approximation because CSUSB makes the formal equivalency decision. |
| Professional licence | Current California registered nurse licence that is unencumbered and unrestricted | Confirm whether the applicant can meet this California-specific condition before submitting. |
| Recommendations | Two satisfactory letters of professional recommendation | Choose referees who can describe observed nursing or academic competence. |
| Written materials | Personal statement and successful completion of an undergraduate statistics course | Connect the statement to nurse education, population health or leadership and document statistics. |
| Clinical compliance | Additional clinical compliance requirements apply after admission | Request the current compliance checklist before arranging practicum documentation. |
The California registered nurse condition can outweigh the grade point average threshold for an Indian applicant, because a strong transcript does not by itself establish local licensure eligibility. The programme page also states that practicum courses are project-focused, but placement arrangements still depend on CSUSB affiliations and compliance approval.
- Ask the MSN coordinator for written confirmation that the proposed nursing qualification and California registered nurse licence meet the Fall 2027 route.
- Prepare two professional references who can describe observed competence rather than only confirming employment.
- Keep statistics syllabi and clinical records ready because the application and practicum checks assess preparation beyond the grade point average.
No programme-specific ranking from the checked major ranking bodies was identified, so rankings are not used to evaluate this Nursing degree.
Read More: CSUSB university ranking profile
English Language Proficiency
The current CSUSB international graduate page lists the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) internet-based test at 79/80. It also lists the paper-based test at 550, the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) General test at 6.0 and Level 4 English Language Program completion. The page still prints the older 0 to 120 English test format and does not publish an MSN-specific revised-scale exception.
For Indian applicants, the International English Language Testing System row is explicitly labelled General rather than Academic, so confirm the accepted test version before booking. Scores must remain valid within the university’s stated two-year period when submitted.
| English route | Published CSUSB requirement |
|---|---|
| Test of English as a Foreign Language, internet-based test | 79/80 on the 0 to 120 scale as printed by CSUSB |
| Test of English as a Foreign Language, paper-based test | 550 |
| International English Language Testing System | General, 6.0 total band score |
| CSUSB English Language Program | Successful completion of Level 4 |
- Verify the English test reporting format because the current page does not state a 1.0 to 6.0 policy for this programme.
- Confirm whether the International English Language Testing System General test is accepted for the MSN before booking an Academic or General test.
- Use Level 4 English Language Program completion only after CSUSB confirms that the alternative applies to the Nursing application.
Eligibility checkpoint
The combination of a California registered nurse licence, related academic preparation and a fully online practicum sequence makes eligibility more important than the published grade point average alone. Ask the Nursing coordinator to confirm licensure, clinical compliance and English evidence in one written response.
Tip for Indian students: Treat the California registered nurse licence as the first screening question. Then align transcript, statistics and English evidence to population health and nurse educator preparation.
CSUSB Nursing Application 2027
Fall 2027 is open for CSUSB’s MSN, with an international application deadline of 1 June 2027 and an official document deadline of 30 June 2027. Spring 2027 is not offered, so Indian applicants should build one Fall application around the programme’s nursing documents, licence proof and practicum questions.
All graduate applications use Cal State Apply and the application carries a US$70 (INR 6,672) non-refundable processing charge. The programme does not publish a decision date, which means applicants should submit a complete file rather than plan around an assumed response round.
Application Stages and Deadlines
The table uses the current international graduate deadline page and the Nursing programme deadline, with no closed intake carried forward. The international page does not publish a portal time zone or clock cutoff, so the portal timestamp controls and Indian applicants should avoid date-boundary submission.
| Stage | Fall 2027 deadline | What to complete |
|---|---|---|
| Cal State Apply submission | 1 June 2027 | Submit the university application, pay the fee and select the MSN programme. |
| International official documents | 30 June 2027 | Provide official transcripts and international documentation required for graduate review. |
Source: CSUSB international application and document deadlines; CSUSB Nursing graduate deadline listing.
- Start with the California registered nurse licence check because an incomplete licensure position can make the rest of the application unusable.
- Ask referees for narrative letters that describe nursing or academic competence rather than generic employment confirmation.
- Prepare an Indian transcript file with English translations and official records because CSUSB’s international route requires formal academic documentation.
- Use the programme’s population health and nurse educator focus to connect the personal statement to a specific post-MSN role.
The 38-unit plan is sequenced across five semesters, and the published plan says each course is offered once per year. Applicants should therefore resolve missing prerequisites or licence questions before the Fall 2027 deadline, because a later catch-up route is not stated.
Applicants should also separate programme admission from immigration planning. A successful Cal State Apply submission does not by itself establish that a fully online MSN can support the in-person study requirements of an F-1 route.
Application sequence
Submit by 1 June 2027 only after the Nursing coordinator confirms licence and practicum eligibility, then complete the international document file by 30 June 2027.
Application tip: Treat 1 June 2027 as the programme decision point, but complete references, transcripts, English evidence and California registered nurse verification before opening the paid application.
CSUSB Nursing Scholarships 2027
No target-cycle scholarship for the CSUSB MSN is confirmed in the supplied current facts. The cached Merit-Based Presidential Award offers up to US$6,000 (INR 5.72 Lakhs) per year. Its stated eligibility is non-resident international undergraduates, so it is not an MSN award.
Because Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished, no percentage award can be converted into a reliable graduate dollar amount. Indian applicants should treat funding as unresolved until CSUSB confirms a Nursing-specific award, assistantship or tuition remission in writing.
Funding Checks for Indian Applicants
The only named award available in the supplied facts is shown below because it prevents an undergraduate benefit from being mistaken for graduate funding. Its value is a reference for eligibility screening, not a reduction to MSN tuition.
| Award | Published value | Published eligibility | MSN relevance |
|---|---|---|---|
| Merit-Based Presidential Award | Up to US$6,000 per year; INR 5.72 Lakhs | Non-resident international undergraduates | Not a verified award for graduate Nursing applicants |
- Ask the MSN coordinator whether departmental Nursing awards exist for Fall 2027 and request the value, eligibility and application route.
- Ask International Admissions whether graduate applicants in a fully online programme can receive any institutional funding.
- Build the first budget without the Presidential Award because its published applicant category excludes this MSN.
- Record every funding answer by intake and cycle because a current award is not automatically a Fall 2027 award.
The course’s educator and population health focus may justify employer sponsorship or professional development support, but CSUSB does not publish a verified Nursing sponsorship amount in the supplied facts. Employer reimbursement should therefore be treated as an external funding conversation rather than university aid.
Funding reality
No verified MSN award can currently be deducted from the Fall 2027 budget, so request written confirmation before relying on any undergraduate scholarship headline.
Scholarship reality: The published US$6,000 (INR 5.72 Lakhs) award is undergraduate-only, so Nursing applicants should fund the programme without it and pursue written graduate-specific options.
CSUSB Nursing Salary 2027
CSUSB has not published a Nursing cohort salary or placement report because the new curriculum launches with Fall 2026. That absence matters for an Indian applicant because external United States wage figures describe occupations, not what this degree guarantees.
The published plan prepares nurse educators and population health leaders through epidemiology, biostatistics, evidence-based practice, curriculum design and internships. That mix can support education, community health and clinical leadership paths, but a salary outcome depends on California licensure, prior experience, employer and work authorisation.
Graduate Outcomes and Market Benchmarks
The evidence below separates the missing CSUSB outcome from national occupational data. The Bureau of Labor Statistics reports wages for workers in an occupation or industry, so the figures are planning benchmarks rather than CSUSB graduate results.
| Evidence scope | Salary measure | Employment evidence | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| CSUSB MSN course cohort | Not published | No course salary or offer-rate report supplied | Do not model a CSUSB placement probability. |
| External occupational benchmark, registered nurses, Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2024 | US$93,600 median; INR 89.21 Lakhs | 5% projected growth from 2024 to 2034 and about 189,100 openings per year | Use as a United States registered nurse benchmark, not an MSN outcome. |
| External occupational benchmark, health specialties teachers, postsecondary, Bureau of Labor Statistics May 2024 | US$105,620 median; INR 1.01 Crore | Broader health-teaching category than this programme’s nurse educator path | Use only to frame the teaching market, not to estimate a graduate salary. |
| External occupation scale, nursing instructors and teachers, postsecondary | Salary not separately stated in the cited Bureau of Labor Statistics page | 91,600 jobs in 2024 and 106,900 projected in 2034, a 17% increase | The occupation is relevant to the curriculum but remains broader than CSUSB outcomes. |
Source: CSUSB MSN programme and plan of study; United States Bureau of Labor Statistics registered nurse data and postsecondary teacher data.
Gross salary is not take-home pay, because federal, California and local taxes, benefits, shifts and work location change net income. Use a current tax calculator before modelling repayment against any United States wage benchmark.
The programme’s financial value is therefore qualitative rather than a verified payback period. The curriculum can be relevant to nurse education and population health leadership. California registered nurse requirements and the online visa question can limit which post-study routes an Indian applicant can use.
- The 38-unit degree has no published Fall 2027 tuition, so request the graduate fee schedule before calculating borrowing or repayment.
- The official nine-month non-tuition estimate is US$29,942 (INR 28.54 Lakhs), so separate an India-based online budget from a United States residence budget.
- Use the Bureau of Labor Statistics registered nurse median of US$93,600 (INR 89.21 Lakhs) as a sensitivity case beside verified employer offers.
- No Nursing science, technology, engineering and mathematics designation is confirmed, so do not model a 24-month extension beyond 12-month Optional Practical Training.
For an India-return plan, evaluate the degree through its nurse educator and population health curriculum rather than importing United States wage figures. Ask Indian employers or professional bodies how they recognise the qualification before using it in a return-home payback model.
Outcome evidence
The MSN launched too recently for a course cohort report, so the next useful evidence is a written fee quote, a confirmed licensure route and an employer-specific salary offer.
ROI reality: The degree has a defined educator and population health curriculum, but tuition, course outcomes and United States work eligibility remain unresolved inputs for an Indian applicant’s financial model.
United States Visa for CSUSB Nursing Students 2027
Indian applicants should not assume that CSUSB can issue an F-1 document for this MSN. The current programme page describes the degree as fully online. CSUSB’s F-1 status guidance requires graduate students to take at least 3 in-person or hybrid units each term. That creates a route-specific risk, so confirm international eligibility before paying the application fee or adding United States work income to an ROI model.
- If F-1 eligibility is confirmed, the visa application costs US$185 (INR 17,632) and the Student and Exchange Visitor Information System I-901 fee costs US$350 (INR 33,359).
- The programme has no confirmed science, technology, engineering and mathematics designation, so model only 12-month Optional Practical Training.
- F-2 status may accompany an eligible F-1 student for a spouse and unmarried minor children, but F-2 dependants cannot work.
- An H-1B route depends on employer sponsorship, petition rules and required wage criteria, while permanent residence has no fixed course-linked timeline.
Check Out: CSUSB university profile
Visa reality: The fully online format conflicts with CSUSB’s in-person F-1 study rule. Obtain written confirmation before treating United States work rights as part of the degree’s value.
CSUSB’s MSN fits an Indian nurse who can satisfy the California registered nurse licence condition and wants a sequenced online route into nurse education or population health leadership. The 38-unit curriculum, 405 practicum hours and comprehensive examination create a structured academic proposition rather than a general distance credential. The material tradeoff is that Fall 2027 tuition, course outcomes and an F-1 route are not fully resolved, so United States payback cannot be verified. Before the 1 June 2027 deadline, ask CSUSB to confirm licensure, graduate tuition, practicum location and visa eligibility in writing.
CSUSB Master of Science in Nursing FAQs
Ques. Is CSUSB’s MSN suitable for an Indian nurse with a non-nursing bachelor’s degree?
Ans. It may be considered through the related-degree route if the applicant demonstrates the specified AACN Essentials competencies. The current California registered nurse licence remains a separate condition, so request a written eligibility review before applying.
Ques. How much should I budget for the CSUSB MSN in Fall 2027?
Ans. Fall 2027 MSN tuition is unpublished, while the application fee is US$70 (INR 6,672). CSUSB’s official nine-month non-tuition estimate is US$29,942 (INR 28.54 Lakhs) when living in the United States, so an all-in budget cannot yet be calculated.
Ques. Which English test scores does CSUSB publish for the MSN?
Ans. The current graduate page prints the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) internet-based score as 79/80 on the 0 to 120 scale. It also prints the paper-based score as 550, the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) General test at 6.0 and Level 4 English Language Program completion. Confirm the accepted format because no revised scale is stated for this MSN.
Ques. What is the Fall 2027 CSUSB MSN application deadline?
Ans. The international application deadline is 1 June 2027 and the official document deadline is 30 June 2027. Spring 2027 is not offered, so complete the California registered nurse, reference and transcript checks before the Fall submission.
Ques. Can the CSUSB MSN lead to United States nursing teaching work after graduation?
Ans. The curriculum is designed for nurse education and population health leadership, but CSUSB has not published a course salary report. Because the MSN is fully online and F-1 in-person requirements may conflict, do not assume Optional Practical Training or United States employment eligibility.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $13723 |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Health Insurance | $1900 |
| Books and supply | $788 |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2023 | $21532 |
Scores Required
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
Best MS Courses in USA for International Students in 2025
Masters (MS) in USA: Colleges, Courses, Deadlines, Eligibility & Fees
Masters in Nursing in USA: Top Universities, Fees, Deadlines, Requirements, and Scholarships
MS in USA With Low GPA: Universities, Requirements, and Admissions
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,000/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored | |
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| R&D Systems Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,500/Yr$1,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| QS Connect Master’s Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 5,000/Yr$5,000 | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Go Clean Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |
















Comments