Master of Arts [M.A] (Anthropology)
Field of Study:
$32,190 /Yr
Northern Arizona University (NAU) Master of Arts (M.A.) Anthropology is a 37-unit, full-time, two-year graduate degree in Flagstaff, Arizona, with Archaeology and Sociocultural concentrations. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree or equivalent and a GPA (Grade Point Average) of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. For Indian applicants, this is approximately 60% to 65%, or CGPA (Cumulative Grade Point Average) 6.0 to 6.5 on 10. Fall 2027 is the next planning intake, while target-cycle tuition is unpublished.
The programme trains students to design, conduct, and defend independent anthropological research through theory, methods, field or laboratory work, and a thesis. It suits applicants with a focused research question and statistics preparation, but the thesis, comprehensive exam, oral defense, and funding uncertainty require more planning than a taught-only master’s.
- Students choose between Archaeology and Sociocultural concentrations that shape coursework and research direction.
- The curriculum connects anthropological theory with applied research, community engagement, and faculty mentoring.
- International applicants can use a Flagstaff campus route with current graduate English-score options and a published online application process.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Fall 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: 15 January 2027 priority; 1 April 2027 space available.
The live programme page and deadline table do not name Fall 2027. Indian applicants should treat these dates as planning markers and verify the portal’s final timestamp when the cycle opens.
Also Check: NAU course admission details
Northern Arizona MA Anthropology Fees and Living Costs 2027
Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished on the checked official programme and fee pages, so no target-cycle total can be stated. The latest official 2026-27 graduate estimate is used below only as a prior-cycle planning reference and is not a quote for this Anthropology programme.
The 2026-27 graduate estimate lists US$33,800 tuition (INR 32.37 Lakhs) and US$1,625 mandatory student fees (INR 1.56 Lakhs). It also lists a US$1,165 graduate degree programme fee (INR 1.12 Lakhs), making US$36,590 (INR 35.04 Lakhs) in listed components.
Prior-cycle reference: 2026-27. The official international estimate lists US$19,183 (INR 18.37 Lakhs) for annual living costs. The calculated I-20 estimate is US$55,773 (INR 53.41 Lakhs) before personal costs and travel.
| Prior-cycle graduate cost item | USD | INR |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | US$33,800 | INR 32.37 Lakhs |
| Mandatory student fees | US$1,625 | INR 1.56 Lakhs |
| Graduate degree programme fee | US$1,165 | INR 1.12 Lakhs |
| Listed tuition and fees total | US$36,590 | INR 35.04 Lakhs |
| Annual living-cost estimate | US$19,183 | INR 18.37 Lakhs |
| Official I-20 estimate | US$55,773 | INR 53.41 Lakhs |
Source: Northern Arizona University 2026-27 graduate tuition and international cost estimates.
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 95.763 as of 25 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
- The published graduate estimate is not target-cycle Anthropology tuition, so request the programme’s 2027-28 assessment before accepting an offer.
- The US$75 application fee (INR 7,182) is separate from tuition and is payable through the online graduate application.
- The official living estimate includes housing, meals, books, health insurance, and other listed costs, but excludes personal expenses, transportation, and summer costs.
Cost of Living in Flagstaff for Anthropology Students
NAU’s official international estimate gives a combined annual figure rather than a course-specific rent budget. The table separates the listed components so applicants can see what the university includes, while the final total remains an estimate rather than a guaranteed personal spend.
| Expense | Annual USD | Annual INR |
|---|---|---|
| Housing | US$8,499 | INR 8.14 Lakhs |
| Meals | US$6,908 | INR 6.61 Lakhs |
| Books | US$900 | INR 86,187 |
| Health insurance | US$2,876 | INR 2.75 Lakhs |
| Listed annual living total | US$19,183 | INR 18.37 Lakhs |
Calculated prior-cycle planning illustration: US$36,590 (INR 35.04 Lakhs) plus US$19,183 (INR 18.37 Lakhs) equals US$55,773 (INR 53.41 Lakhs) per academic year. Across the typical two-year timeline, that becomes US$111,546 (INR 1.07 Crore) before fee changes, personal costs, travel, or funding.
Because the target fee is unpublished, Indian applicants should budget from the official 2026-27 estimate only for early financial planning. Verify the target fee on the official NAU fee page before paying a deposit or preparing final proof of funds.
Check Out: USA study cost planning
Key insight: The official 2026-27 I-20 estimate is a planning baseline, not a confirmed Fall 2027 Anthropology price. Keep a funding buffer until NAU publishes the target assessment.
Northern Arizona MA Anthropology Admission 2027
Admission requires a bachelor’s degree or equivalent and a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale, plus the department’s research-preparation materials. The university’s approximate Indian equivalent is 60% to 65%, or CGPA 6.0 to 6.5 on 10, but NAU makes the final equivalency decision.
The course is thesis-based rather than a purely taught master’s. Applicants should show a credible research direction, relevant preparation, and a clear reason for choosing one concentration. The official catalogue lists no GRE or GMAT requirement for this Anthropology plan.
Academic Eligibility and Application Components
The current catalogue lists the academic threshold and programme-specific prerequisites below. Use the written materials to connect prior study, research interests, and the proposed concentration rather than submitting a generic statement.
| Requirement | Current official position | Indian-applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Degree | Bachelor’s degree or equivalent | Prepare the final degree certificate and transcripts. |
| Academic threshold | GPA 3.0 on a 4.0 scale | Use the approximate 60% to 65% or CGPA 6.0 to 6.5 range as an early check. |
| Statement material | Essay, letter, or personal statement | Explain the research question, concentration, methods interest, and faculty fit. |
| Prerequisites | Statistics; archaeological field school for Archaeology applicants | Map transcripts to the chosen concentration before applying. |
| References | Recommendations or references | Choose referees who can assess research ability and academic writing. |
| Resume | Resume or Curriculum Vitae (CV) | Show research, field, laboratory, community, or relevant work evidence. |
| GRE or GMAT | Graduate Record Examination (GRE) and Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) are not listed. | Do not send a score unless NAU requests it for your application. |
- Applicants without a statistics course should resolve that gap before the application is reviewed.
- Archaeology applicants should document an archaeological field school, while Sociocultural applicants should show relevant ethnographic or community research preparation.
- A thesis proposal is not listed as a separate required document, but a focused research direction strengthens the required written materials.
English Language Proficiency Requirements
The current policy lists the International English Language Testing System (IELTS), Test of English as a Foreign Language Internet-based test (TOEFL iBT), and Duolingo English Test. These tests are listed for most graduate programmes, but Anthropology has no higher published minimum.
NAU currently lists IELTS 6.5, TOEFL iBT 80 on the 0 to 120 scale, TOEFL iBT 4 for tests taken after 21 January 2026, and Duolingo 105. Verify which TOEFL scale the application portal will accept before booking the test.
| Test | Published score | Indian-applicant reading |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 | Plan for the published overall score and check any portal field requirements. |
| TOEFL iBT | 80 on 0 to 120 scale | Do not self-convert this score to the revised scale. |
| TOEFL iBT after 21 January 2026 | 4 | Confirm the accepted score report format before submission. |
| Duolingo English Test | 105 | Use this route only after confirming programme acceptance in the application portal. |
- Schedule the English test early enough to keep the result valid within two years of the intended start date.
- Indian applicants seeking a waiver must use NAU’s approved English-speaking passport or degree-country rules rather than assuming English-medium study is sufficient.
- IELTS offers a familiar test route, while the two TOEFL entries require careful scale verification after the 21 January 2026 policy change.
Tip for Indian students: The 3.0 GPA threshold and statistics prerequisite screen academic readiness before the thesis stage. Prepare a transcript map and concentration-specific statement before submitting the online form.
Northern Arizona MA Anthropology Application 2027
Fall is the only listed intake for the Anthropology M.A.; Spring and Summer show admission as unavailable on the current graduate deadline page. The department page gives January 15 as the application deadline and April 1 as the rolling-admission endpoint.
The 2027 dates below are expected planning markers because the checked live pages do not name Fall 2027. The priority date is the safer target for applicants who need funding consideration, document corrections, or visa processing time.
Fall 2027 Application Stages
NAU publishes a priority stage and a later space-available stage, but it does not publish decision dates for this programme on the checked pages. Submit before the priority date when your research materials and references are ready.
| Stage | Expected international deadline | Decision date | Applicant action |
|---|---|---|---|
| Priority application | Expected 15 January 2027, university local time; confirm IST in the portal | Not published | Submit the complete research-focused application and funding materials. |
| Space available | Expected 1 April 2027, university local time; confirm IST in the portal | Not published | Use only if places remain and your visa timeline still works. |
- Apply by the priority marker because the later April stage depends on available space and gives less time for immigration processing.
- Request recommendation letters before the priority date because the application is incomplete until required references are submitted.
- Ask NAU to confirm the 2027-28 tuition, decision timing, and any programme-specific funding deadline before relying on the offer for financial planning.
The online application carries a US$75 fee (INR 7,182), and international applicants must provide transcripts and English evidence through the graduate admission process. A final application should align the concentration, statistics preparation, research direction, and faculty interests in one coherent narrative.
Also Check: NAU graduate programme options
Application tip: Treat 15 January 2027 as the working deadline because April is space available only. Confirm the target-cycle portal date and Indian Standard Time cutoff before submission.
Northern Arizona MA Anthropology Scholarships 2027
Funding is available but not guaranteed for Fall 2027 Anthropology. NAU publishes graduate tuition waivers, graduate assistantships, and an International Excellence Award, with eligibility and award mechanics differing by scheme.
Because the target-cycle tuition is unpublished, do not convert a percentage waiver into a tuition amount. Use the published award values as funding possibilities, then ask the department whether Anthropology has assistantship positions and whether the award covers the final international assessment.
Named Funding Routes
The following awards are relevant to a full-time, degree-seeking international master’s applicant, but some pages are current published information without a Fall 2027 deadline. Check the award route alongside the programme application.
| Award | Published value | Eligibility or route | Deadline status |
|---|---|---|---|
| International Excellence Award (IEA) | Up to US$11,000 per year (INR 10.53 Lakhs) | First-time, degree-seeking F-1 students studying directly at Flagstaff, including graduate applicants. | Current published; target deadline not stated. |
| 20-hour graduate assistantship | Minimum US$15,000 master’s stipend (INR 14.36 Lakhs) plus 100% Flagstaff resident-rate tuition remission; fees excluded. | Full-time graduate students with at least 6 credits and a 3.0 GPA, subject to an appointment. | Department or position deadline not stated. |
| 10-hour graduate assistantship | 50% tuition remission plus stipend; stipend amount not published. | Graduate assistantship appointment with the published academic conditions. | Department or position deadline not stated. |
| Support for Graduate Students (SGS) | Amount not published on the checked page. | A faculty sponsor may select one eligible graduate student. | Deadline not published on the checked page. |
- Contact Anthropology about assistantship availability before the priority application date because the published waiver applies to a resident-rate tuition basis and excludes university or programme fees.
- Treat the IEA as a possible reduction of tuition and fees, not as a confirmed award, because its page does not publish a target-cycle deadline.
- Ask a prospective faculty sponsor about SGS eligibility and timing because the checked page leaves both amount and deadline open.
Assistantships can reduce more cost than the IEA but add appointment and workload uncertainty. The IEA has a clear maximum value but may not cover the unpublished target tuition, so request a written award breakdown.
Read More: NAU study information
Scholarship reality: NAU offers graduate funding, including up to US$11,000 (INR 10.53 Lakhs) through the IEA. A minimum US$15,000 (INR 14.36 Lakhs) master’s assistantship stipend is also published, but neither award is confirmed for Fall 2027 Anthropology.
Northern Arizona MA Anthropology Salary 2027
No Anthropology course-cohort salary or placement report was located in the checked official programme sources. The available evidence is therefore an external United States labour-market benchmark, which can inform career planning but cannot establish NAU graduate outcomes.
The Master of Arts is research-oriented and thesis-based, so its value depends on the applicant’s intended research, public, cultural, heritage, or further-study pathway. The curriculum’s concentrations, methods training, and independent thesis can support specialised preparation, but the published evidence does not prove a typical salary or job offer rate.
External Anthropologist and Archaeologist Market Benchmarks
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) reports May 2024 national occupational data for anthropologists and archaeologists. These figures cover the occupation across employers and experience levels, rather than NAU graduates.
| External benchmark scope | Annual USD | Annual INR |
|---|---|---|
| Occupation median, May 2024 | US$64,910 | INR 62.16 Lakhs |
| Federal government | US$89,460 | INR 85.67 Lakhs |
| Engineering services | US$63,410 | INR 60.72 Lakhs |
| Research and development in social sciences and humanities | US$60,940 | INR 58.36 Lakhs |
| State colleges, universities, and professional schools | US$57,010 | INR 54.59 Lakhs |
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, May 2024 anthropologists and archaeologists occupation data.
- The occupation had 4% projected growth from 2024 to 2034 and about 800 annual openings, so applicants should assess the narrow labour market beyond the headline median.
- The federal-government benchmark is higher than the occupation median, but it describes an employer sector rather than a guaranteed route for Anthropology graduates.
- Use the thesis and concentration to build evidence for a chosen pathway, then compare the verified target-cycle cost with funding before committing.
For a professional return decision, financial risk is high because NAU has not published course-level outcomes and target tuition is open. A host-country plan needs funding, work-window, and role checks. An India-return plan should value research training without assuming United States salary recovery.
Published salaries are gross figures, so take-home pay will vary with tax, location, benefits, and employment type. Use the Internal Revenue Service withholding calculator only after identifying a real offer and location.
Also Check: Study in the USA
ROI reality: The official evidence supports a research-training decision, not a payback promise. Seek assistantship confirmation and a target tuition quote before using external occupation medians in your financial model.
United States Visa for NAU MA Anthropology Students 2027
International students normally use the F-1 Student visa after NAU issues a Form I-20. The process requires a passport, I-20, a Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) receipt, and financial proof. Unpublished target tuition therefore creates a visa-planning risk.
- The visa application fee is US$185 (INR 17,716), and the I-901 SEVIS fee is US$350 (INR 33,517), separate from NAU tuition and living costs.
- F-1 students must generally maintain 9 credits in Fall and Spring, including 6 in-person Flagstaff credits under NAU’s international graduate policy.
- Optional Practical Training (OPT) can provide up to 12 months of post-study work eligibility, while a 24-month extension requires a qualifying science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) degree.
- F-2 spouse and child dependants may accompany an F-1 student with financial evidence, but the spouse cannot work and permanent residence has no fixed course-linked timeline.
Anthropology is not named among NAU’s excluded Flagstaff master’s programmes for international admission, but the final visa decision depends on documentation and consular assessment. The United States has no course-specific permanent-residence timeline. A later H-1B specialty-occupation route depends on an eligible job and wage rules.
Check Out: USA post-study work options
Visa reality: Build proof of funds from the final I-20 amount rather than the prior-cycle estimate. Confirm the programme’s in-person credit pattern and work-eligibility details before planning around OPT.
Northern Arizona University’s M.A. Anthropology fits applicants who want structured research training, a concentration in Archaeology or Sociocultural Anthropology, and a thesis that can support further study or specialised work. Its main tradeoff is financial uncertainty: the Fall 2027 tuition and course-level employment outcomes are not yet published. Start with the statistics and English requirements, prepare the research-focused application for the 15 January priority marker, and obtain written funding and tuition confirmation before committing.
Northern Arizona University MA Anthropology FAQs
Ques. Is Northern Arizona University’s M.A. Anthropology suitable for a research-focused applicant?
Ans. Yes, if you want a thesis, comprehensive exam, oral defense, and independent research in Archaeology or Sociocultural Anthropology. The programme is less suitable if you need a taught-only degree with no major research project.
Ques. What academic profile should an Indian applicant present?
Ans. NAU lists a bachelor’s degree or equivalent and a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale, approximately 60% to 65% or CGPA 6.0 to 6.5 on 10. Add statistics preparation, concentration-relevant evidence, references, and a focused research statement.
Ques. How much should an Indian applicant budget for the course?
Ans. Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished. The 2026-27 graduate planning reference is US$55,773 (INR 53.41 Lakhs) per academic year for listed tuition, fees, and living costs. It is not a confirmed Anthropology price.
Ques. Which application date should international applicants target?
Ans. Use 15 January 2027 as the priority planning marker and 1 April 2027 as the later space-available marker, subject to official publication. Confirm the portal’s date, time, and IST conversion when Fall 2027 opens.
Ques. Can scholarships make the programme financially viable?
Ans. Potentially, but no award is confirmed for Fall 2027 Anthropology. The International Excellence Award offers up to US$11,000 (INR 10.53 Lakhs). A published 20-hour assistantship includes a minimum US$15,000 (INR 14.36 Lakhs) master’s stipend plus resident-rate tuition remission, excluding fees.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $32190 |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Housing | $7314 |
| Meals | $3600 |
Important Dates
Applications are accepted on a rolling basis through 1st April.
Scores Required

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
Best MS Courses in USA for International Students in 2025
MA in USA: Best Universities, Eligibility and Job Prospects
Masters (MS) in USA: Colleges, Courses, Deadlines, Eligibility & Fees
Career and Placement after Course
Possible career options are as follows:
- Forensic anthropologist
- Medical anthropologist
- Museum curator or educator
- Public land agency archaeologist
- Private sector cultural resource manager
- Tribal historic preservation officer
- Nonprofit project manager
- Community development worker
- International aid/development worker
- Market researcher
- Human resources officer
- Public relations officer
- Public health officer
- Heritage manager
- Sales research and marketing
- User experience analyst
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bharat Petroleum Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Comindware Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 4,000/Yr$4,000 | Level Of StudyApprenticeship | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Forktip Women’s- Innovation Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCollege-Specific | |
| FINCAD Women in Finance Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 20,000/Yr$20,000 | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Axol Science Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,000/Yr$2,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeCompany-Sponsored |
Similar Programs
| Program | Important Date | Total Fees | Median Exams Score | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
-- | USD 11,226 /Yr |
| ||
Application Deadline for Fall 2027 Intake (15th Jan 2027) | USD 33,916 /Yr |
| ||
-- | USD 22,320 /Yr |
| ||
Application Deadline for Fall 2027 Intake (1st Apr 2027) | USD 30,150 /Yr |
| ||
Application Deadline for Fall Intake (1st Dec 2026) | USD 35,162 /Yr |
|
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here





















Comments