Bachelor of Science [B.S] (Civil Engineering)
Field of Study:
$39,750 /Yr
Christian Brothers University Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering is a four-year, full-time, on-campus undergraduate degree in Memphis, Tennessee, requiring 131 credit hours. For Spring 2027, Indian applicants need a minimum Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale. That is approximately 75% to 80% or 7.5 to 8.0 on 10 for planning.
The 2026-2027 fee schedule lists annual tuition of US$39,750 (INR 38.01 Lakhs), and four-year tuition calculates to US$159,000 (INR 1.52 Crore) before future changes. The curriculum combines structural, transportation, geotechnical, environmental and construction engineering with calculus, physics, chemistry, design and engineering economy. The programme is accredited by the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology (ABET). That accreditation, two senior design courses and an available civil engineering internship suit applicants seeking professional design exposure, although the 131-credit plan demands sustained mathematics and laboratory preparation.
- Students can select technical electives such as bridge engineering, advanced geotechnical engineering, open-channel hydraulics or construction management.
- The civil engineering department connects capstone design with practitioner involvement and professional communication.
- The 2026-2027 curriculum includes a zero-credit licensure and certification course before graduation.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Spring 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: 31 December 2026.
The deadline has no published clock time or timezone, so Indian applicants should submit complete academic, English and financial documents before the portal cutoff.
Also Check: Christian Brothers University admission
CBU Civil Engineering Fees and Living Costs 2027
The 2026-2027 fee schedule is the current cycle anchor for Spring 2027. It lists day-program tuition per semester, so annual and four-year tuition below are calculated from two semesters per year.
Target-cycle fee table: CBU separates tuition, recurring student service charges, enrollment, laboratory and orientation fees.
| Fee item | Amount (US$) | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Waived | INR 0 |
| Tuition, full-time day programme | US$19,875 per semester | INR 19.00 Lakhs per semester |
| Annual tuition, calculated | US$39,750, or 2 × US$19,875 | INR 38.01 Lakhs |
| Student Service Fee | US$595 per semester | INR 56,888 per semester |
| Annual Student Service Fee, calculated | US$1,190, or 2 × US$595 | INR 1.14 Lakhs |
| Enrollment Fee | US$300 once | INR 28,683 |
| Lab fee per class | US$75 | INR 7,171 |
| New Student Orientation fee | US$100 once | INR 9,561 |
| Four-year tuition, calculated | US$159,000, or 4 × US$39,750 | INR 1.52 Crore |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of US$ 1 = INR 95.6109 as of 17 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
Source: Christian Brothers University 2026-2027 Tuition & Fees schedule.
- The calculated four-year tuition is US$159,000 (INR 1.52 Crore), so a funding plan should allow for future fee changes and currency movement.
- The US$595 (INR 56,888) Student Service Fee recurs each semester, while the US$300 (INR 28,683) enrollment fee is charged once.
- Civil engineering includes laboratory courses, but CBU publishes only the US$75 (INR 7,171) per-class lab charge rather than a programme total.
- International students must purchase CBU health insurance, but the 2026-2027 amount is not published on the checked fee page.
Cost of Living in Memphis for Civil Engineering Students
CBU publishes room and board by semester rather than a combined personal living estimate. The lower published double option is US$4,915 (INR 4.70 Lakhs) per semester.
The table converts those prices into monthly planning figures over six months per semester and annual figures over two semesters. Books, transport, personal spending, insurance and off-campus rent are excluded.
| Expense | Monthly (US$) | Monthly (INR equivalent) | Annual (US$) | Annual (INR equivalent) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Double room and all-access meal plan, lower option | US$819.17, calculated | INR 78,322 | US$9,830 | INR 9.40 Lakhs |
| Rozier Hall single and all-access meal plan | US$912.50, calculated | INR 87,245 | US$10,950 | INR 10.47 Lakhs |
| Living Learning Center single and all-access meal plan | US$1,300.83, calculated | INR 1.24 Lakhs | US$15,610 | INR 14.92 Lakhs |
A calculated first-year published-cost baseline is US$51,170 (INR 48.92 Lakhs), before insurance, books, lab charges and personal spending.
The arithmetic starts with US$39,750 (INR 38.01 Lakhs) tuition, US$1,190 (INR 1.14 Lakhs) service fees and US$300 (INR 28,683) enrollment.
It adds US$100 (INR 9,561) orientation and US$9,830 (INR 9.40 Lakhs) double room and board.
The mandatory CBU health insurance is not priced on the checked 2026-2027 fee page. Request its amount and confirm whether additional housing, books or lab charges apply before using this baseline.
Check Out: USA study cost planning
Budget gap
Health insurance is mandatory, but its 2026-2027 price is not published on the checked fee schedule. Request the insurance quote before treating INR 48.92 Lakhs as a complete first-year budget.
Key insight: The calculated first-year baseline is US$51,170 (INR 48.92 Lakhs) before insurance and personal costs, so confirm the missing charges before accepting an offer.
CBU Civil Engineering Admission 2027
Admission uses CBU’s international undergraduate standard, while the Civil Engineering curriculum adds a 2.0 major GPA rule for graduation.
The 131-credit plan begins with calculus, physics, chemistry and engineering graphics, so Indian applicants should check subject preparation before applying.
First-year applicants need a minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, while undergraduate transfers need 2.3 on the same scale. The course catalogue separately requires a 2.0 GPA in the major, which is a degree rule rather than an admissions cutoff.
Academic Eligibility for Indian Applicants
CBU does not publish an India-specific grade conversion for this degree. The ranges below are approximate planning equivalents, while CBU makes the final academic equivalency decision.
Academic requirement table: The rows separate admission minimums from course progression rules.
| Requirement | CBU standard | Indian-applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|
| First-year admission | Minimum GPA 3.0 on a 4.0 scale | Approximately 75% to 80%, or 7.5 to 8.0 on 10 for planning |
| Undergraduate transfer admission | Minimum GPA 2.3 on a 4.0 scale | Approximately 60% to 65%, or 6.0 to 6.5 on 10 for planning |
| Civil Engineering major rule | 2.0 GPA in the major on a 4.0 scale | Approximately 50% to 55%, or 5.0 to 5.5 on 10 for planning; degree rule, not admission cutoff |
| Secondary records | Official transcripts from all previous secondary schools | Submit complete Class X and Class XII records before enrolment |
| International transcript review | Some transcripts may require evaluation through an approved credentialing service | Ask CBU whether Indian board records need an external evaluation |
| First-year course placement | CE 110 lists a minimum Math ACT of 22 or higher | Ask about the current placement route if you do not submit ACT scores |
The support requirements include Calculus I, II and III, differential equations, Physics I and II, chemistry and statistics. That sequence makes mathematics preparation important before students reach structural, hydraulics, soil and foundation design.
No programme-specific ranking was verified for Civil Engineering, so this article omits a ranking section. An overall university position would not measure this 131-credit civil curriculum.
English Language Proficiency for Indian Students
Indian applicants must provide English proof because India is not included in CBU’s published exception list. The current page displays Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) as 68/4.0.
CBU does not explain the TOEFL scale beside that display. It also lists International English Language Testing System (IELTS) 6.0, Pearson Test of English (PTE) 50 and Duolingo 100. These routes should be checked against the score-report rules before submission.
Current English requirements: The table reproduces the published score formats and keeps the TOEFL display unchanged.
| Test or route | Published CBU standard | Applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL | 68/4.0 as displayed | Verify the accepted score format because the scale is not explained |
| IELTS | 6.0 | Submit the official score report within the accepted validity period |
| PTE Academic or Express | 50 | Use this route when reporting fits the application schedule |
| Duolingo English Test | 100 | Confirm acceptance for the chosen intake before sending the report |
| ACT English subscore | 21 as an alternative route | Use only when the official ACT report contains the required subscore |
CBU accepts English proficiency scores received within the past two years. The ACT English subscore of 21 is an English route, while ACT and SAT remain optional for general admission.
- Keep one accepted English score valid through submission and enrolment because CBU checks scores as part of the international file.
- Verify TOEFL 68/4.0 directly with CBU because the current policy does not state which score scale the slash represents.
- Check mathematics readiness before enrolment because CE 110 lists Math ACT 22 or higher for the introductory civil engineering course.
Tip for Indian students: The 3.0 GPA floor does not resolve course readiness because English proof, mathematics placement and the 131-credit science sequence affect the start plan.
CBU Civil Engineering Application 2027
Spring 2027 is the earliest future intake for this page, and CBU lists 31 December as its international deadline. The current admissions page also lists 31 July for Fall and no Summer starts.
Applications for Spring 2027 are open because the published deadline has not passed. CBU does not publish decision dates, clock times or a timezone, so the portal cutoff controls the submission.
Forward-looking intake calendar: CBU lists Spring and Fall entry for international undergraduates and states that no Summer starts are available.
| Intake | International application deadline |
|---|---|
| Spring 2027 | 31 December 2026 |
| Fall 2027 | 31 July 2027, using CBU’s current recurring Fall date |
Spring 2027 is suitable when transcripts, English proof and finance documents are ready for the December deadline. Fall 2027 provides a later listed intake, but reconfirm its date on the live international page.
Application Documents and Sequence
International applicants submit a completed application, official transcripts from all secondary-level or higher study, English proof and a passport copy. CBU may request an external credential evaluation when its internal review cannot establish equivalency.
A sponsor-funded student must add an affidavit of sponsorship dated within four months. CBU also requires a bank statement of at least US$28,000 (INR 26.77 Lakhs) issued within six months.
Form I-20, Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status, documents admission and financial capacity for the student visa process. CBU says to allow two weeks for I-20 issuance after acceptance.
- Submit official Class X, Class XII and post-secondary records when applicable, then ask whether an Indian transcript needs evaluation.
- Upload the passport copy, English score and sponsor affidavit with matching names and dates.
- Keep the US$28,000 (INR 26.77 Lakhs) bank statement current through the admission and I-20 process.
- Complete the financial file before expecting I-20 processing because CBU issues it after acceptance and finance verification.
Read More: USA application requirements for international students
Application tip: Treat 31 December 2026 as the Spring 2027 submission date, but finish English, transcripts and the US$28,000 (INR 26.77 Lakhs) finance file earlier.
CBU Civil Engineering Scholarships 2027
Indian applicants have access to current published awards, but CBU does not publish a complete Spring 2027 scholarship deadline list. The most useful route depends on whether an applicant uses the International Access package or an engineering award.
Cycle context: Values without a target-cycle label are current published, not automatically Spring 2027. Confirm them in written award terms before deducting any amount from tuition.
| Award | Published value (US$) | INR equivalent | Eligibility and application route |
|---|---|---|---|
| International Access Scholarship Package, current published | US$24,200 annually | INR 23.14 Lakhs annually | Non-athlete international students meeting the 3.0 GPA standard and living on campus; automatic consideration with no separate application; not stackable with other CBU scholarships |
| CBU Merit Scholarships, Fall 2026 schedule | US$14,000 to US$21,000 annually | INR 13.39 Lakhs to INR 20.08 Lakhs annually | Full-time traditional freshmen; amount based on high-school GPA or ACT/SAT scores; awarded after acceptance; current schedule includes international athletes |
| First-Year Engineering Scholarship, current published | Up to US$8,000 during the first year | Up to INR 7.65 Lakhs during the first year | Full-time undergraduate students in ABET-accredited engineering, including Civil Engineering; ACT Math 22 or SAT/ALEKS equivalent; Dean’s discretion; no separate application |
| CBU Visit Grant, current published | US$1,000 annually | INR 95,611 annually | Full-time traditional undergraduate freshmen completing a qualifying event or campus visit; no separate application; cannot stack beyond full tuition |
The International Access Scholarship is the clearest published route for a non-athlete Indian applicant because it requires the admission standard and campus residence. Its non-stackable rule means the award changes both the housing choice and the net funding plan.
The First-Year Engineering Scholarship is directly tied to Civil Engineering and ABET accreditation, but the Dean awards it while funds remain. Its test condition is an award criterion, not a replacement for the separate English requirement.
CBU’s checked pages do not publish a separate Spring 2027 deadline for these awards. Submit the admission file with complete transcripts and scores, then confirm renewal, residence, stacking and award-year conditions.
- The US$24,200 (INR 23.14 Lakhs) Access Scholarship cannot be combined with other CBU scholarships, so do not add a second institutional award to the same calculation.
- The First-Year Engineering Scholarship offers up to US$8,000 (INR 7.65 Lakhs), but its discretionary availability makes written confirmation essential.
- The US$1,000 (INR 95,611) Visit Grant requires a qualifying visit before commitment and may change the funding route for a freshman applicant.
Also Check: USA scholarships for international students
Scholarship reality: The Access package can reduce the residential cost, but its campus and non-stackable conditions mean you need written award and housing terms before budgeting.
CBU Civil Engineering Salary 2027
CBU does not publish a Civil Engineering course-cohort salary, offer rate or placement report.
An 11 April 2025 university news item combines Civil Engineering and Construction Management graduates. It reports average starting salaries above US$70,000 (INR 66.93 Lakhs) and many above US$90,000 (INR 86.05 Lakhs).
Because the item does not identify a cohort or course split, it is department-level evidence rather than a typical Civil Engineering outcome.
The Civil and Environmental Engineering page states that a majority of students have paid internships in junior and senior years, often resulting in full-time positions. That claim supports internship planning, but it does not establish an offer rate or guarantee employment.
Career Outcomes and Return on Investment
The calculated four-year tuition is US$159,000 (INR 1.52 Crore), before insurance, books and personal spending. Return on Investment (ROI) must therefore be tested against funding, internship access, verified employment evidence and work authorization. ROI compares the financial cost with the career value supported by those inputs.
Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) records use a Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) code to identify the degree. The current Department of Homeland Security (DHS) STEM list includes Civil Engineering, General under CIP 14.0801. This may support a 24-month STEM extension, but CBU must confirm the code on the I-20 and all employer conditions still apply.
- The US$159,000 (INR 1.52 Crore) tuition excludes insurance and personal costs, so secure funding for the full degree rather than one year.
- The combined department result reports average starting salaries above US$70,000 (INR 66.93 Lakhs); request Civil Engineering-specific outcomes before repayment planning.
- The American market median of US$99,590 (INR 95.22 Lakhs) is not a CBU outcome, so use it only to frame the role and location being targeted.
- The stated internship pattern makes a junior or senior industry placement a key action, especially in structural, transportation, geotechnical or environmental work.
- The possible 24-month extension can widen the job-search window, but confirm the I-20 code and employer eligibility before counting it in a repayment plan.
These figures should be read by scope rather than placed in one salary average. The CBU item is a combined department result, while the market row covers all U.S. civil engineers.
| Evidence scope | Cohort or measure | Salary or outcome | INR equivalent | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Department-level combined result | CBU news item, 11 April 2025 | Starting salaries average above US$70,000 and many exceed US$90,000 | Above INR 66.93 Lakhs and many above INR 86.05 Lakhs | Civil Engineering and Construction Management combined; cohort and course split not stated |
| External job-market benchmark | U.S. civil engineers, May 2024 | Median annual wage US$99,590; projected growth 5% from 2024 to 2034 | INR 95.22 Lakhs median | About 23,600 projected openings annually; not a CBU graduate outcome |
Source: CBU engineering news and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics civil engineer outlook.
Salary figures are gross, and take-home pay varies with taxes, location, filing status and benefits. Use a current U.S. tax calculator before comparing host-country pay with family funding or India-return income.
Course-level employment evidence remains unpublished, so a financially safer decision requires written information about Civil Engineering internships, award renewal and intended work location.
Read More: USA post-study work options
ROI reality: The curriculum offers ABET preparation and internship access, but course-level outcomes are unpublished; test the US$159,000 (INR 1.52 Crore) tuition against verified funding.
USA Visa for CBU Civil Engineering Students 2027
Full-time, on-campus Civil Engineering students normally use the F-1 Student visa after CBU issues Form I-20.
The Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) fee supports the student record used in the visa process. The current F-1 application fee is US$185 (INR 17,688), and the I-901 SEVIS fee is US$350 (INR 33,464).
Post-completion Optional Practical Training (OPT) is temporary work authorization related to the degree. It can provide up to 12 months after graduation; review the official U.S. student visa guidance before payment.
- Standard post-completion OPT can provide up to 12 months, while an approved STEM extension can add 24 months.
- The STEM extension is conditional because CBU must confirm the I-20 code and the employer must satisfy the applicable training and reporting rules.
- The H-1B temporary worker route has no single course-specific salary threshold because employer wage and selection requirements apply.
- Permanent residence has no fixed course-linked timeline because it depends on a separate employment-based category and immigrant visa process.
- F-2 status may cover a spouse and unmarried minor children, but dependants cannot work in that status.
Check Out: USA student visa requirements
Visa reality: Civil Engineering may offer a longer OPT route through STEM classification, but the I-20 code, employer conditions and separate immigration rules must be confirmed before ROI planning.
CBU Civil Engineering fits Indian applicants who want a four-year, ABET-accredited design degree spanning structural, transportation, geotechnical, environmental and construction work. The 131-credit curriculum, two-semester senior design sequence and internship route suit students prepared for sustained mathematics, laboratory and project work. The material tradeoff is the calculated US$159,000 (INR 1.52 Crore) tuition, incomplete insurance pricing and unpublished course-level salary evidence. For Spring 2027, complete the English, transcript and finance file before 31 December 2026, then confirm scholarship, CIP and housing terms in writing.
CBU Civil Engineering FAQs
Ques. Is CBU Civil Engineering a good fit for an Indian applicant who wants structural or environmental work?
Ans. Yes, if you want a 131-credit programme that includes structural, transportation, geotechnical, environmental and construction engineering. The two-course senior design sequence and civil electives support design preparation, while the mathematics and laboratory sequence makes it a poor fit for applicants avoiding quantitative study.
Ques. Does a 3.0 GPA guarantee admission to CBU Civil Engineering?
Ans. No. It meets the published first-year academic minimum, but you also need complete transcripts, English proof and financial documents, while CE 110 lists Math ACT 22 or higher. CBU makes the final equivalency and application review decision.
Ques. What total budget should an Indian applicant use for CBU Civil Engineering?
Ans. Published annual tuition is US$39,750 (INR 38.01 Lakhs), and calculated four-year tuition is US$159,000 (INR 1.52 Crore). The calculated first-year baseline is US$51,170 (INR 48.92 Lakhs) before insurance, books, lab charges and personal spending.
Ques. Which CBU Civil Engineering intake should I target?
Ans. Spring 2027 has the listed international deadline of 31 December 2026, while Fall 2027 uses the current recurring date of 31 July 2027. No Summer start or decision date is published, so choose the intake that matches your document and finance readiness.
Ques. Can CBU Civil Engineering lead to U.S. work after graduation?
Ans. CBU does not publish a Civil Engineering course-level salary report, while a combined department item reports starting salaries above US$70,000 (INR 66.93 Lakhs). Standard OPT can last 12 months, and a STEM extension may add 24 months when the I-20 code, employer and USCIS conditions qualify.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $39750 |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Living Expenses | $9830 |
| Total Cost | $9830 |
Per Credit Cost: $1,205
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2023 | $35520 |
Scores Required
TOP Scholarships
| Scholarship name | Award amount | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|
| Merit Based Scholarship | Varies | Depends on Merit. |
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
BTech in USA: Deadlines, Fees, Scholarships & Jobs
STEM Courses in USA in 2025: Eligibility, Fees, Job Opportunities
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BL Mandhana Scholarships | Scholarship per student$ 10,000/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Go Clean Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Business Administration Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Novus Biological Scholarship Program | Scholarship per student$ 1,500/Yr$1,500 | Level Of StudyAssociate | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Washington DC Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| TEC Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |















Comments