MS in Geographic Information Systems from Northwest Missouri State University 2026 Entry: Dates, Fees, Eligibility & scholarships etc.

MS in Geographic Information Systems from Northwest Missouri State University 2026 Entry: Dates, Fees, Eligibility & scholarships etc.

Maryville, MissouriLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1905established year
6338enrollment
Public
Partner [3 Courses]
8.3/10

Master of Science [M.S] (Geographic Information Systems)

2 years
Full Time
Online

Field of Study

₹11.5 L/Yr

$12,210 /Yr
153 Students Applied
125 Students Admitted
Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 17, 2026

Northwest Missouri State University Master of Science in Geographic Information Systems (GIS) is a 14-month, 100% online degree in Maryville, Missouri. Admission requires a bachelor’s degree and grade point average (GPA) 2.5 on 4.0, roughly 60% to 65% or 6.0 to 6.5 on 10 for Indian applicants. For Spring 1 January 2027, tuition is US$12,960 (INR 12.37 Lakhs) plus a US$50 (INR 4,772) application fee.

The programme uses spatial data and mapping tools for location-based analysis, then combines 12 core credits, 12 elective credits and 6 research credits across 10 courses. A capstone connects the curriculum with a practical problem, while accelerated seven-week courses suit applicants who can maintain steady weekly study.

  • Spring 1 and Spring 2 2027 provide two published online entry points for applicants who miss the January start.
  • Electives cover geospatial intelligence, business location analytics, Python geoprocessing, Internet GIS and GIS database design.
  • Online graduate students receive programme advising, tutoring and career support through Northwest’s online student services.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the January 2027 intake are Not Yet Open. International student deadline: 04 January 2027.

The online calendar publishes this date for the programme and does not list a separate India-specific cutoff. Submit documents by 05 January 2027, because the university lists that as the document deadline.

Also Check: Northwest Missouri graduate admission

Northwest Missouri Master of Science GIS Fees and Living Costs 2027

The Spring 1 January 2027 online intake uses pay-by-course tuition, with the programme page listing 30 credits and all course fees included. The published calculation is 30 credits at US$432 (INR 41,232) per credit, producing US$12,960 (INR 12.37 Lakhs).

Target-cycle fee context: The separate specialized online-professional application charge is US$50 (INR 4,772), while the 2026-27 online tuition rate applies through Summer 2027.

Cost itemUSD amountINR equivalent
Online tuition per creditUS$432INR 41,232
Published tuition per courseUS$1,296INR 1.24 Lakhs
30-credit programme tuitionUS$12,960INR 12.37 Lakhs
Specialized online-professional application feeUS$50INR 4,772

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of US$ 1 = INR 95.4438 as of 17 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

  • The published programme total includes course fees, so do not add the standard campus graduate rate to this online bill.
  • The separate application charge makes the calculated direct academic outlay US$13,010 (INR 12.41 Lakhs) before books, equipment and personal living costs.

Cost of Living in Maryville for GIS Students

An Indian student completing this degree from India has no required Maryville housing budget. Northwest’s official online-professional cost estimate is useful only as a separate planning proxy for someone living near campus.

Proxy context: The university models Fall 2026 to Summer 2027 as three semesters with 27 credits for online-professional students. Monthly averages below divide each published amount by 12 months, and housing assumes double occupancy.

ExpenseMonthly (US$)Monthly (INR amount)Three-semester proxy (US$)Three-semester proxy (INR amount)
Housing and foodUS$1,571.75INR 1.50 LakhsUS$18,861INR 18.00 Lakhs
Books and suppliesUS$125.00INR 11,930US$1,500INR 1.43 Lakhs
Other or personal expensesUS$322.00INR 30,733US$3,864INR 3.69 Lakhs
Planning proxy subtotalUS$2,018.75INR 1.93 LakhsUS$24,225INR 23.12 Lakhs

The official proxy totals US$24,225 (INR 23.12 Lakhs) for 27 credits over three semesters. It is not a fee required by the online GIS programme, because an Indian student may study from India and pay local living costs.

A calculated Maryville-based planning illustration is US$12,960 tuition + US$50 application + US$24,225 living proxy = US$37,235 (INR 35.53 Lakhs). Use it only for a student who will incur the university’s living model; it is not an India-based all-in cost.

Online cost note

Northwest states that laptops and textbooks are not included in online-professional tuition. Indian applicants should price a GIS-capable computer, reliable internet and local living costs before accepting the published tuition total.

Check Out: US cost of living guidance

Key insight: Tuition is transparent at US$12,960 (INR 12.37 Lakhs), but living costs depend on study location, so build an India-based budget separately.

Northwest Missouri Master of Science GIS Admission 2027

The online GIS admission threshold is GPA 2.5 on a 4.0 scale and a combined GRE score of 286, with several waivers.

The degree does not publish a separate GIS bachelor’s prerequisite, but applicants should show quantitative, mapping, programming or spatial-data preparation in their transcript or portfolio.

Northwest allows conditional entry below 286 when the student maintains GPA 3.0 through the first nine graduate credits. Indian applicants should separate the formal threshold from the evidence that makes an accelerated, software-heavy course workable.

Requirement context: The table reflects the current online programme requirements, not a general campus graduate standard.

RequirementPublished online GIS standardIndian applicant action
Previous degreeBachelor’s degree from an institutionally accredited higher education institutionSubmit official transcripts from every institution attended
Academic scoreGPA 2.5 on a 4.0 scale, approximately 60% to 65% or 6.0 to 6.5 on 10Show the grading scale and an official institutional conversion if available
Graduate Record Examination (GRE)Combined verbal and quantitative score of 286Send the score report unless a listed waiver applies
Conditional routeApplicants below 286 may be admitted conditionally and must maintain GPA 3.0 in the first 9 graduate creditsPlan for the first three courses to carry a higher performance risk
GRE waiversPrior master’s degree, Northwest GIS certificate, one year of full-time GIS experience, three years of full-time experience in any field or undergraduate GPA 3.3Upload the document that proves the specific waiver condition
Computer readinessA personal computer is strongly encouraged because Mac users may face issues with GIS softwareConfirm that your device can run the required mapping tools before enrolment

No programme-specific ranking was verified for this degree, so ranking position is not used in the admission decision.

The computer recommendation matters because the course uses mapping software throughout its accelerated sequence. Indian applicants should test their device and internet connection before paying the application fee.

  • Submit a transcript showing the 2.5 threshold and any mapping, statistics or programming modules before relying on a GRE waiver.
  • Use the 3.3 undergraduate GPA waiver only when the overall figure is documented on the official transcript.
  • Treat the first nine graduate credits as a performance risk if your GRE score is below 286 and conditional admission is offered.

English Language Proficiency

Northwest’s graduate English table lists IELTS and TOEFL. IELTS means the International English Language Testing System, while TOEFL means the Test of English as a Foreign Language.

It also lists the Pearson Test of English Academic (PTE Academic) and the Duolingo English Test.

For Indian applicants, the listed graduate scores create several usable routes, but the page does not publish an India-specific waiver. Prior English-medium study should not be assumed to replace a test.

For TOEFL, the current page states "TOEFL (taken 1/21/26 or later) 4". That is the 1.0 to 6.0 scale, so do not convert it to the older 0 to 120 scale.

Score-scale context: The table preserves Northwest’s published TOEFL wording and separates the pre-January 2026 and post-January 2026 formats.

TestGraduate minimumIndian applicant action
IELTS Academic6.5Use the overall graduate threshold published for programmes other than Applied Computer Science
TOEFL taken before 21 January 202679 on the 0 to 120 scaleSend the score report showing the older scale
TOEFL taken 21 January 2026 or later4 on the 1.0 to 6.0 scaleDo not self-convert the result to 0 to 120
PTE Academic53Check that the score report is available before submission
Duolingo English Test110Confirm score-report delivery requirements with Northwest

Score dates matter because Northwest shows separate TOEFL formats on its current page. The university also lists a two-score pattern for some tests, with the higher graduate value applying beyond Applied Computer Science.

  • Choose a recognised test that you can complete before the 04 January 2027 application deadline, then allow time for score reporting.
  • IELTS has one overall minimum here, while TOEFL uses a different post-January 2026 scale, so preserve the original score report.
  • No pathway or India-specific English waiver is published, so budget for a recognised test unless Northwest confirms an exemption in writing.
Tip for Indian students: Meet the 2.5 academic threshold, document any GRE waiver and preserve the exact TOEFL scale before submitting the January 2027 file.

Northwest Missouri Master of Science GIS Application 2027

Spring 1 January 2027 is the earliest future start listed for online GIS, with application deadline 04 January 2027 and documents due 05 January 2027.

Spring 2 starts 08 March 2027, with applications due 19 February 2027 and documents due 24 February 2027.

Northwest also publishes registration and payment dates, but it does not publish decision dates or a time-of-day cutoff. The online calendar does not state a timezone, so Indian applicants should treat the displayed date as the controlling portal date.

Forward-looking deadline context: The table lists all 2027 online GIS starts currently shown on the programme calendar.

TermProgramme startApplication deadlineDocument deadlineRegistration deadlinePayment due
Spring 1 202711 January 202704 January 202705 January 202706 January 202707 January 2027
Spring 2 202708 March 202719 February 202724 February 202726 February 202702 March 2027

Because the application deadline comes before the document deadline, upload the form before asking institutions to send final records. The university states that payment is due before classes begin, so keep the first block’s funds ready by 07 January 2027.

Application Materials and Sequence

Use the graduate application, then send official transcripts from every institution attended to Northwest’s Graduate Office. International applicants should keep the academic record, English score and waiver evidence consistent across each submission.

The online programme asks for a bachelor’s degree, academic record, GRE evidence or waiver evidence and the programme’s English requirement. A complete file lets the department assess the academic preparation before the published start date.

  • Create the graduate application account and select the online GIS programme before the Spring 1 deadline.
  • Request official transcripts early enough for delivery by 05 January 2027, because the document date is separate from the application date.
  • Upload the GRE report or waiver documentation with the academic file instead of relying on an unverified exemption.
  • Test your GIS-capable personal computer and internet connection before registration because the programme warns about software compatibility.

Submit the form through the Northwest graduate application and keep the submission confirmation with your records.

Application tip: Use Spring 1 as the working target, but complete the application and transcript delivery as separate tasks before their published January dates.

Northwest Missouri Master of Science GIS Scholarships 2027

Funding is limited for this online route because Northwest’s named Computer Science and Information Systems International Graduate Achievement Scholarship explicitly excludes online programmes.

That award provides US$500 (INR 47,722) toward first-semester tuition for eligible on-campus graduate students, so it cannot be counted for this GIS degree.

Northwest separately publishes graduate assistantships with a stipend up to US$1,000 per month (INR 95,444 per month) and a tuition waiver up to 100%. The source does not state target-cycle availability or online GIS eligibility, so treat it as a funding enquiry rather than a confirmed award.

Funding context: The routes below are the named options relevant to an online graduate applicant after the current eligibility exclusions are applied.

Funding routePublished valueEligibility or routingApplicant action
Computer Science and Information Systems International Graduate Achievement ScholarshipUS$500 (INR 47,722), one timeFull admission to an on-campus graduate programme; online students are excludedDo not subtract this award from the GIS budget
Graduate assistantshipUp to US$1,000 per month (INR 95,444 per month) plus tuition waiver up to 100%Fully accepted graduate student, undergraduate GPA 2.75 or graduate GPA 3.0 and six credits per semester with three at graduate levelAsk the Graduate School whether online GIS students may apply before relying on the route
Northwest Foundation and major-specific scholarshipsValue varies by award; no fixed GIS amount is publishedDonor and award conditions control eligibilitySearch the current scholarship directory after admission planning

No target-cycle award deadline or online GIS scholarship amount was published on the checked official surfaces. Northwest also states that need-based financial assistance is not available to international students, so the direct academic outlay remains the safer funding baseline.

  • Ask about assistantship eligibility before counting the US$1,000 (INR 95,444) monthly maximum in a payment plan.
  • Keep the calculated US$13,010 (INR 12.41 Lakhs) direct academic outlay available until written funding is posted.
  • Do not use the undergraduate Northwest International Achievement Scholarship as a graduate funding assumption.

Check Out: Scholarships for Indian students in the United States

Scholarship reality: The named US$500 (INR 47,722) graduate award excludes online students, so seek written assistantship eligibility and retain a full tuition plan.

Northwest Missouri Master of Science GIS Salary 2027

Northwest publishes course-level graduate outcomes for Geographic Information Science, but it does not publish a course salary. The latest report covers 2023-2024 and records 40 total placements among 41 responses.

Reported roles include GIS analysts, geospatial analysts, cartographers, GIS developers and GIS managers across government, utilities, consulting and technology employers. These employer names show documented destinations, not recruitment volume or a guaranteed outcome.

Course-cohort context: The table uses Northwest’s 2023-2024 post-graduation report, with percentages calculated by the university.

Evidence scopeDegrees awardedResponsesEmployedContinuing educationTotal placement
Geographic Information Science, 2023-2024464138, or 92.7%1, or 2.4%40, or 97.6%

Source: Northwest 2023-2024 post-graduation report.

The report also records one other outcome and one respondent seeking employment. Because salary is unpublished, applicants should request role, location and pay information before using the placement figure in a loan plan.

Reported GIS Roles

The 2023-2024 graduate employment details list technical, public-sector and commercial roles linked to geographic information science. The examples below show the range of reported destinations without implying that every graduate enters the same role.

For Indian applicants, the role mix makes portfolio evidence important because employers may assess software, data and communication skills differently. Use the capstone and elective plan to build work samples for the roles you intend to target.

Reported roleEmployer example in the 2023-2024 report
GIS TechnicianLogan Simpson
Physical ScientistU.S. Environmental Protection Agency
CartographerBAE Systems
Geospatial AnalystU.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Senior GIS DeveloperTract
GIS ManagerBerea College
Geospatial DeveloperPolar Geospatial Center
GIS SpecialistCDM Smith

The range supports a portfolio-led career strategy rather than a single job title. Prioritise Python geoprocessing, spatial analytics, remote sensing or web mapping according to the role evidence you can demonstrate.

External Salary Benchmark

The United States Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) publishes a national median wage for cartographers and photogrammetrists. BLS is a market benchmark, not a Northwest graduate outcome or a starting-salary promise.

Benchmark scope: The May 2024 figure describes workers across the United States, so geography, seniority, role and tax status can change an individual offer.

Evidence scopeMeasureUS$ amountINR equivalent
External market benchmark, BLS May 2024Cartographers and photogrammetrists median annual wageUS$78,380INR 74.81 Lakhs

Source: BLS cartographers and photogrammetrists profile.

ROI starting point: The verified direct academic outlay is US$13,010 (INR 12.41 Lakhs), while the course reports placement outcomes without salary data.

  • The 2023-2024 course report shows 97.6% total placement, so request the underlying role and salary detail before borrowing.
  • The BLS median is US$78,380 (INR 74.81 Lakhs), but it is not starting pay, so test repayment against a written offer.
  • Because the programme is 100% online, it does not provide a campus student visa or host-country post-study work window, so model India-based income separately.
  • The university’s US$24,225 (INR 23.12 Lakhs) living proxy is not required for an India-based learner, so exclude it only when local living costs are budgeted separately.

Take-home pay varies by state, role and tax status, so use the Internal Revenue Service Tax Withholding Estimator before translating gross pay into repayment.

ROI reality: The course-level 97.6% placement figure is useful evidence, but salary is unpublished, so confirm written outcomes and model India-based repayment.

United States Visa for Northwest Missouri GIS Students 2027

Because Northwest advertises this degree as 100% online, an Indian student studying from India normally does not need a United States campus student visa for this course.

An F-1 Student visa is the United States academic visa category, but online delivery does not establish a campus enrolment route. Campus International Admissions and Form I-20 funding rules should not be assumed to apply to this online degree.

Visa decision: Choose this course for online study from your residence country, not as a route to relocation, campus work or a United States post-study work period.

  • Optional Practical Training (OPT) is work authorisation tied to eligible F-1 study, so this online-only degree does not create that post-study window.
  • No United States skilled-worker salary threshold or permanent-residence timeline can be assigned to an India-based online student.
  • Spouse and children remain governed by the family’s actual residence status, while F-2 dependent rules do not attach to India-based online enrolment.
  • If the delivery mode changes, ask Northwest whether the programme can issue Form I-20 before paying or planning relocation.

Check Out: US student visa rules for campus study

Visa reality: The online mode avoids relocation, but it does not provide a campus visa or post-study work path. Apply only if remote study meets your objective.

Northwest Missouri State University’s online Master of Science in Geographic Information Systems suits an Indian applicant who wants structured geospatial training without relocating. The 30-credit plan combines spatial analytics, remote sensing, Python and a capstone, while the accelerated seven-week format demands steady weekly study. Tuition is US$12,960 (INR 12.37 Lakhs), but online delivery means no campus visa or United States post-study work pathway. Before applying, confirm the January 2027 calendar, GRE waiver evidence and personal computer readiness, then fund the US$50 (INR 4,772) application charge separately.

Northwest Missouri GIS Master’s FAQs

Ques. Is Northwest Missouri’s online GIS master’s degree suitable for an Indian GIS professional?

Ans. It suits an applicant who wants 100% online GIS training, a 30-credit capstone-based curriculum and seven-week courses without relocation. The tradeoff is that a personal computer and steady weekly study are essential.

Ques. What GPA and GRE score does the online GIS degree require?

Ans. Northwest lists a 2.5 grade point average on 4.0 and a combined GRE score of 286. Waivers include a prior master’s degree, GIS certificate, qualifying experience or a 3.3 undergraduate average.

Ques. What is the direct cost of Northwest Missouri’s online GIS degree?

Ans. Published tuition is US$12,960 (INR 12.37 Lakhs), and the specialized application fee is US$50 (INR 4,772). A Maryville-based planning illustration reaches US$37,235 (INR 35.53 Lakhs), while an India-based student must budget local living costs.

Ques. Which Spring 2027 application deadline should Indian applicants use?

Ans. Spring 1 begins 11 January 2027, with application and document deadlines of 04 January and 05 January. Spring 2 begins 08 March 2027, with deadlines of 19 February and 24 February.

Ques. Can this online GIS degree provide a United States student visa or post-study work?

Ans. No normal F-1 Student visa or Optional Practical Training window follows from this 100% online degree. If your goal is United States relocation, ask Northwest to confirm a campus-eligible delivery route before applying.


Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees₹1153967 (USD 12210)

Other Expenses

HeadAvg Cost Per Year
Average Living Cost (On-Campus)₹782165 (USD 8276)
Other Living Expenses₹283530 (USD 3000)

Per Credit Fees- $407

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2024₹1108602 (USD 11730)

Important Dates

EventApplication Date
Application Deadline For Summer 2026 Intake Mar 1, 2026
Document submission Deadline For Summer 2026 Intake Mar 15, 2026
Application Deadline For Fall 2026 Intake Jun 15, 2026
Document submission Deadline For Fall 2026 Intake Jun 30, 2026

Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship ProgramScholarship per student₹ 9.5 L/Yr$10,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Axol Science ScholarshipScholarship per student₹ 1.9 L/Yr$2,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeCompany-Sponsored
VueVille Future Technology ScholarshipScholarship per student₹ 94,510/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
R&D Systems ScholarshipScholarship per student₹ 1.4 L/Yr$1,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
QS Connect Master’s ScholarshipScholarship per student₹ 4.7 L/Yr$5,000Level Of StudyMasterTypeMerit-Based
Go Clean ScholarshipScholarship per student₹ 3.3 L/Yr$3,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based

Videos

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling