Master of Business Administration [M.B.A]
Field of Study:
$43,668 /Yr
Northern Illinois University Master of Business Administration (MBA) Global MBA is a 1-year, 30-credit, full-time in-person programme in DeKalb, Illinois, for international applicants. Admission requires an equivalent four-year degree or an eligible Indian three-year Bachelor of Commerce (BCom) or Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA). The baseline is grade point average (GPA) 2.75 on a 4.0 scale, approximately 68% to 70%. The approximate Indian planning range is cumulative grade point average (CGPA) 6.8 to 7.0 on 10, while NIU decides equivalency. Spring 2027 total tuition is unpublished; the 2026-27 international rate is US$1,349.57 per credit hour (INR 1.29 Lakhs), as a target-cycle rate.
The curriculum combines seven core business courses with three electives focused on technology, data analytics and Artificial Intelligence (AI). Its Insight Program adds career coaching, corporate visits and guest speakers, while an optional Rome immersion connects business study with international management. The programme suits Indian applicants with business foundations who can meet prerequisite requirements and accept a weekday schedule. It is a poor fit for students who must retain full-time employment during study.
- The optional nine-day Rome immersion can lead to a Sapienza University certificate after successful completion.
- Electives include technology commercialization, applied tools for business decision making and Artificial Intelligence for Business Leaders.
- The programme offers both spring and fall starts within a compressed one-year completion path.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Spring 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: 01 October 2026.
The official schedule publishes the date without a portal time or timezone, so verify the displayed cutoff and prepare transcripts, English proof and financial documents before submission.
Also Check: Northern Illinois MBA admission
Northern Illinois MBA Fees and Living Costs 2027
Spring 2027 is the target intake, and NIU’s 2026-27 Graduate Tuition and Fees schedule publishes the Global MBA international rate.
The schedule separates instructional tuition, Graduate General Fee and program differential; it also states that Global MBA tuition and differential do not cap at 12 hours per semester.
Target-cycle fee context: The rows below use the international College of Business rate published for the 2026-27 academic year.
| Charge | International rate | INR equivalent | Applicant meaning |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instructional tuition per credit hour | US$794.78 | INR 75,847 | Only the instructional component can be covered by a tuition waiver |
| Graduate General Fee per credit hour | US$154.79 | INR 14,772 | Assessed up to 12 credit hours per semester |
| Global MBA program differential per credit hour | US$400.00 | INR 38,172 | Separate programme charge that remains payable |
| Combined published per-hour rate | US$1,349.57 | INR 1.29 Lakhs | Use with the credit pattern and fee cap, not as an automatic programme total |
| Student health insurance per term, 9 or more credits | US$1,419.50 | INR 1.35 Lakhs | Fall and spring charge; waiver rules are separate |
| Graduate application fee | US$60 | INR 5,726 | Paid with the degree application |
| Global MBA prerequisite course | US$200 per course | INR 19,086 per course | Charged only for prerequisites assigned after transcript review |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of US$ 1 = INR 95.4309 as of 14 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
Source: NIU 2026-2027 Graduate Tuition and Fees schedule, Graduate School application page and Global MBA programme page.
The 30-credit programme does not have a target-cycle total on its landing page, because the billed amount depends on the credit distribution and the general-fee cap. For a two-semester plan with 15 credits each semester, tuition, capped general fees and two insurance terms calculate to US$42,397.36 (INR 40.46 Lakhs). Prerequisites and waivers can change the final amount.
Cost of Living in DeKalb for Global MBA Students
NIU’s latest readable graduate cost estimate is for 2025-26, so Spring 2027 living costs remain unpublished. The university provides a combined living allowance, which means a rent, food or transport breakdown would not be supportable from that source.
Living-cost basis: The monthly figure below divides the official academic-year allowance by 12 months and is a planning calculation.
| Expense | Monthly (USD) | Monthly (INR) | Academic year (USD) | Academic year (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Combined graduate living expenses allowance, 2025-26 | US$1,364.50 | INR 1.30 Lakhs | US$16,374 | INR 15.63 Lakhs |
Source: NIU 2025-2026 graduate cost-of-attendance estimate; monthly value is calculated from the 12-month annual allowance.
A two-semester 30-credit plan calculates target-cycle tuition, capped general fees and two insurance terms at US$42,397.36 (INR 40.46 Lakhs). Adding the latest official 2025-26 graduate living allowance of US$16,374 (INR 15.63 Lakhs) produces a prior-cycle planning illustration of US$58,771.36 (INR 56.09 Lakhs). The illustration excludes books, travel and prerequisites.
The living allowance is separate from any Student visa financial requirement, so do not substitute this planning figure for the amount shown on your immigration documents. Ask NIU for a Spring 2027 billing estimate after the programme confirms your credit distribution and prerequisite load.
Read More: Northern Illinois courses and fees
Check Out: USA cost of living guide
Fee action
The target-cycle rate is confirmed per credit, but the billed total depends on semester credits, the general-fee cap, insurance and prerequisite findings. Request a written Spring 2027 estimate before borrowing.
ROI reality: The calculated target-cycle charge plus the latest living allowance reaches US$58,771.36 (INR 56.09 Lakhs). Confirm the Spring 2027 invoice before treating the one-year format as a cost advantage.
Northern Illinois MBA Admission 2027
The academic baseline is an equivalent four-year undergraduate degree and a 2.75 GPA on a 4.0 scale, subject to programme review.
NIU also permits an eligible Indian three-year Bachelor of Commerce (BCom) or Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) route, which makes the degree policy relevant for Indian applicants. GPA means grade point average, while CGPA means cumulative grade point average; the university makes the final equivalency decision.
Academic eligibility for Spring 2027
NIU recognises a four-year degree from a regionally accredited institution or an international institution with equivalent recognition. Indian applicants should confirm that their university is recognised by the University Grants Commission (UGC) or falls within NIU’s stated equivalency categories.
A three-year Indian BCom or BBA must come from an institution accredited by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). The result must be grade A or equivalent. The programme does not publish a minimum work-experience requirement, but the committee considers post-baccalaureate work experience when applicable.
Academic requirements context: The approximate Indian range beside the GPA is a planning aid, not a published conversion table, so attach complete records for NIU’s review.
| Requirement | Official position | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| Undergraduate degree | Four-year degree or equivalent international recognition | Upload degree proof and records from every institution attended |
| Minimum GPA | 2.75 on a 4.0 scale | Approximately 68% to 70%, or CGPA 6.8 to 7.0 on 10; NIU decides equivalency |
| Three-year Indian degree | BCom or BBA eligible when the awarding institution has NAAC grade A or equivalent | Upload individual marksheets, degree certificate and accreditation evidence |
| Prerequisites | Eight business foundation courses with C or better undergraduate grades, or B or better graduate grades | Map each course before applying and budget for any assigned prerequisite |
| Work experience | Post-baccalaureate work experience considered when applicable; no minimum stated | Show progression, responsibility and measurable outcomes in the resume |
| Required materials | Official transcripts, goals statement, resume and one recommendation letter | Ask a recommender early and connect the goals statement to the Global MBA format |
The eight prerequisites are Business Statistics, Business Information Systems, Financial Accounting and Survey of Business Economics covering macroeconomics and microeconomics. They also include Principles of Operations Management, Principles of Management, Graduate Survey of Marketing and Fundamentals of Financial Management.
The current Global MBA page does not list the Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) or Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) among its required materials. Ask the programme whether additional evidence is needed for your academic profile instead of treating a third-party score claim as a requirement.
English language proficiency for Indian applicants
English language proficiency (ELP) is required unless the applicant qualifies for NIU’s country-based degree exemption. The current programme page accepts IELTS, TOEFL iBT and the graduate admissions page also lists PTE Academic, DET and ELS EAP.
IELTS means International English Language Testing System, while TOEFL iBT means Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-based test. PTE Academic means Pearson Test of English Academic, DET means Duolingo English Test and ELS EAP means English for Academic Purposes.
Test-scale note: The Global MBA page currently prints TOEFL iBT score of at least 80 or 213 on the scale of 0-300. The graduate page states TOEFL of at least 80. It does not publish a 1.0 to 6.0 mapping, so do not self-convert a revised score.
| Test or route | Official minimum or condition | Indian applicant action |
|---|---|---|
| IELTS | 6.5 | Submit a valid score received within 24 months before the semester begins |
| TOEFL iBT | 80, or 213 on the 0-300 scale on the Global MBA page | Confirm the reporting scale with NIU before booking or sending a revised result |
| PTE Academic | 53 | Use the graduate admissions route if it fits your test plan |
| Duolingo English Test | 115 | Send the score through the test provider after admission if requested |
| ELS EAP | Level 112 | Use the listed pathway only after confirming current availability |
| Country-based exemption | Degree from the United States, United Kingdom, Ireland, Canada, Australia or New Zealand with English instruction | India is not in the listed exemption countries, so plan for a test unless NIU confirms otherwise |
The English score must be no more than 24 months old at the beginning of the semester. That makes the Spring 2027 start date important for applicants testing in 2026. NIU also requires marksheets and degree proof from India to be attested by an appropriate official, with certified English translations where necessary.
- Upload individual Indian marksheets, degree certificates and attested English translations with the online application.
- Check each prerequisite against your transcript because a missing course can add US$200 (INR 19,086) and delay registration.
- Book an accepted English test early, then confirm the TOEFL reporting scale with NIU if your result uses the revised format.
Tip for Indian students: The three-year BCom or BBA route is possible only under NIU’s NAAC condition, while prerequisite gaps and TOEFL scale changes require written confirmation before submission.
Northern Illinois MBA Application 2027
Applications for Spring 2027 are open on the recurring Global MBA schedule, with an international deadline of 01 October 2026. The same schedule lists an international Fall 2027 deadline of 01 May 2027, so the programme offers two current intakes.
NIU does not publish a Global MBA decision date on the checked programme or Graduate School pages. The programme schedules a face-to-face or telephone interview after receiving the application and supporting materials.
Intakes and international deadlines
The dates below use the international-applicant rows on the current Global MBA page rather than the domestic deadlines. Spring 2027 is the applicant-accessible target because its final international deadline remains in the future on the research date.
Timezone note: NIU publishes the dates without a portal time or timezone, so a reliable IST clock-time conversion is unavailable; the portal display controls the cutoff.
| Intake | International deadline | Published time and IST conversion | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spring 2027 | 01 October 2026 | Time not stated; IST conversion unavailable | Open target intake |
| Fall 2027 | 01 May 2027 | Time not stated; IST conversion unavailable | Future intake listed |
Submit the application and every supporting document by the international date because the Global MBA page says review considers the complete file. A late transcript, English score or recommendation can therefore affect whether the department can assess the application.
Application components and interview
The required file contains an official transcript from each college or university, a goals statement, a resume and one recommendation letter. International applicants must also provide the accepted English score unless they qualify for the listed country-based exemption.
The committee considers cumulative baccalaureate GPA, post-baccalaureate work experience when applicable, leadership and communication skills. NIU may ask for an interview or additional materials, so keep the goals statement consistent with the resume and prerequisite record.
| Component | Published requirement | Decision use |
|---|---|---|
| Online application | Graduate School application with payment | Creates the official file for departmental review |
| Academic records | Official transcript from each institution attended | Confirms degree, GPA and prerequisite preparation |
| Goals statement | Required | Explains the applicant’s academic and career direction |
| Resume | Required | Shows work progression, leadership and communication evidence |
| Recommendation | One letter | Adds an external view of readiness and contribution |
| Interview | Face-to-face or telephone interview may be scheduled after the file is received | Clarifies motivation and communication |
Use the NIU Graduate School application page to confirm the active term and upload sequence before submitting. The page also says payment must accompany the application unless a listed fee-waiver exception applies.
- Complete the Spring 2027 transcript, prerequisite and English-score checks before the 01 October 2026 international deadline.
- Ask your recommender to address leadership and communication because those indicators are named on the Global MBA page.
- Prepare for an interview after the file is complete, even though NIU does not publish a separate interview date.
Application tip: Spring 2027 remains the practical target for an applicant ready by 01 October 2026, while the missing decision date makes a complete file and prompt interview preparation important.
Northern Illinois MBA Scholarships 2027
Funding is available through graduate assistantships and competitive scholarships, but NIU does not publish a guaranteed MBA award or target-cycle scholarship amount.
The most precise target-cycle figure is the 2026-27 graduate assistantship waiver chart, while other routes publish eligibility and timing without a fixed value. International students can pursue assistantships and scholarships, but federal financial aid is limited to U.S. citizens.
Funding routes for Spring 2027
The table distinguishes a waiver from a scholarship because NIU says graduate waivers cover instructional charges only, while general fees and programme differentials remain the student’s responsibility.
| Funding route | Published value or mechanics | INR equivalent | Eligibility and route | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-27 Graduate Assistantship waiver | US$760.20 per credit hour maximum for the 100% 12 to 16 week category | INR 72,547 per credit hour | Admitted graduate student in good standing; apply through the department | Not published |
| Rhoten S. Smith Graduate Assistantship | Value not published | No fixed value published | Graduate students bringing relevant experiences, abilities, perspectives or backgrounds; department award | Not published |
| College of Business Global Scholarship | Award varies with demand and available funding | Amount not published | Currently enrolled graduate business student in study abroad; apply only when trip cost is not included in programme fees | Spring: 15 February |
| NIU MyScholarships system | Amounts vary by matched award | Amount depends on award | Admitted or enrolled students complete the general application and any College of Business conditional application | Common deadline: 31 January |
The 2026-27 assistantship chart lists US$760.20 (INR 72,547) as the maximum waiver per credit hour for a 100% appointment category. The chart also says waivers stop calculating at 12 hours for most graduate students, with an exception for Global MBA students.
The exception does not make the award automatic, and the waiver still applies only to instructional tuition. Ask the department whether a Spring 2027 Global MBA assistantship is available, which appointment length applies and what general fee, differential and insurance charges remain.
For study abroad, the College of Business Global Scholarship is relevant only when the Global MBA trip cost is not already included in programme fees. The published Spring deadline of 15 February may therefore support an optional trip rather than reduce the initial tuition bill.
After admission, complete the NIU MyScholarships application and check whether the College of Business conditional application appears. The system’s common 31 January deadline is not a guarantee that a Spring 2027 MBA award will be available.
- Treat the US$760.20 (INR 72,547) waiver rate as a maximum instructional benefit, not as a cash scholarship or full fee remission.
- Confirm nine-credit fall and spring enrollment plus good standing before relying on an assistantship to reduce the funding gap.
- Check whether the optional Rome trip is already priced into your offer before applying for the College of Business Global Scholarship.
- Complete MyScholarships after admission because NIU uses the applicant record and College of Business conditional application to match opportunities.
Funding reality
Only the assistantship waiver rate is quantified for 2026-27. Other routes vary or remain unpublished, so secure a tuition, fee and living-cost plan before counting on an award.
Scholarship reality: The Global MBA exception to the assistantship hour cap can matter, but fees remain payable and no award is guaranteed; ask the department for written Spring 2027 terms.
Northern Illinois MBA Salary 2027
NIU does not publish a Global MBA graduate employment report, offer rate or course-cohort salary on the checked programme page. That absence means the page cannot establish a typical graduate salary or a payback period for Indian applicants.
The Global MBA page instead cites Glassdoor averages by years of experience, so the figures below are university-cited external market benchmarks. They describe workers at different experience levels rather than NIU graduates from a named cohort.
Salary evidence and ROI for Spring 2027
The benchmark starts with workers who have four to six years of experience, which is not an entry-level outcome. Use it as market context for experienced applicants and keep course cost, funding and work authorization in separate calculations.
| Experience band | Evidence scope | Annual benchmark (USD) | INR equivalent |
|---|---|---|---|
| 4 to 6 years | External market benchmark cited by NIU, not a course cohort | US$111,362 | INR 1.06 Crore |
| 7 to 9 years | External market benchmark cited by NIU, not a course cohort | US$117,689 | INR 1.12 Crore |
| 10 to 14 years | External market benchmark cited by NIU, not a course cohort | US$129,833 | INR 1.24 Crore |
| 15 or more years | External market benchmark cited by NIU, not a course cohort | US$142,001 | INR 1.36 Crore |
Source: NIU Global MBA career outlook page, which names Glassdoor as the external source; no NIU MBA cohort is identified.
For ROI, the calculated two-semester baseline is US$58,771.36 (INR 56.09 Lakhs), using target-cycle tuition charges and the latest official living allowance. The baseline is a planning illustration, not a university-published total, and it excludes books, travel, prerequisites and any loan interest.
Take-home pay varies with federal and state tax, filing status and benefits. Use the IRS Tax Withholding Estimator for a personal scenario instead of treating gross salary as disposable income.
- The calculated baseline is US$58,771.36 (INR 56.09 Lakhs), so obtain a written Spring 2027 bill and compare loan repayment against your target role.
- The benchmark begins at 4 to 6 years of experience, so do not use US$111,362 (INR 1.06 Crore) as entry-level pay; build a first-job scenario.
- The Global MBA is STEM-designated, giving eligible graduates a possible 12-month OPT plus 24-month STEM extension; verify the degree code and employer conditions before counting 36 months.
- The Monday-to-Friday full-time load creates an opportunity cost for Indian applicants, so budget living costs without assuming full-time employment during study.
Outcome scope
No course-cohort outcomes are published. Base the financial decision on your prior experience, funding terms, target occupation and India-return scenario rather than the external benchmark alone.
ROI reality: NIU supplies market benchmarks but no Global MBA placement report, so use the calculated cost as a funding test and verify an employer and salary scenario before borrowing.
USA Visa for Northern Illinois MBA Students 2027
International students entering this full-time, in-person STEM-designated Global MBA generally use F-1 status. F-1 is the student classification for full-time study, while Optional Practical Training (OPT) is post-study work authorization connected to the degree. H-1B means specialty-occupation work status, and USCIS means United States Citizenship and Immigration Services. The official student visa guidance lists an application fee of US$185 (INR 17,655), while the I-901 SEVIS fee is US$350 (INR 33,401).
- Post-completion OPT allows 12 months, while the STEM designation may support a 24-month extension, giving up to 36 months only when USCIS and employer requirements are met.
- A new F-1 visa may be issued up to 365 days before the course start, but entry is limited to the 30 days before that start date.
- The H-1B route is lottery-based and wage rules apply, while no fixed permanent-residence timeline is course-linked.
- F-2 status may cover a spouse and unmarried minor children, but F-2 dependants are not employment-authorized.
Also Check: USA student visa requirements
Visa reality: The STEM designation can extend the work window, but OPT, H-1B sponsorship and permanent residence remain conditional. Verify the degree code and employer plan before using them in your ROI calculation.
Northern Illinois MBA Ranking 2027
The Global MBA does not have a separate MBA ranking in the checked sources. The Times Higher Education (THE) 2026 Business and Economics subject ranking places Northern Illinois University in the 601 to 800 global band.
The subject table assesses business and economics across the university, rather than measuring this 30-credit MBA cohort. It can provide discipline context, but it does not establish employer preference, placement probability or salary.
Ranking scope: The result below is university subject-level evidence, not a programme-specific rank.
| Ranking | Edition | Position | Scope |
|---|---|---|---|
| THE Business and Economics | 2026 | 601 to 800 globally | Northern Illinois University subject band |
Read the THE Northern Illinois University profile for the ranking scope and subject list. Keep it as background context while using the official curriculum, cost and visa evidence for the actual MBA decision.
Honest take: The 2026 subject band confirms business and economics coverage, not MBA employment value; weigh it alongside the published STEM curriculum and the missing course-cohort salary report.
Spring 2027 applicants fit this Global MBA when they want a one-year, full-time DeKalb programme combining business foundations with technology, analytics and AI electives. The three-year BCom or BBA route can work only with the published NAAC A condition, while prerequisite gaps add time and cost. The main financial tradeoff is the target-cycle rate plus a prior-year living baseline, without a published course employment report to validate payback. Submit before 01 October 2026, ask NIU for a written billing estimate and pursue assistantship funding before treating the STEM work window as part of your return calculation.
Northern Illinois MBA FAQs
Ques. Is NIU Global MBA suitable for a three-year Indian BCom or BBA?
Ans. Yes, NIU says a three-year Indian BCom or BBA is eligible when awarded by a NAAC-accredited institution with grade A or equivalent, subject to review.
Ques. What is the Spring 2027 application deadline for Indian students?
Ans. The international deadline is 01 October 2026. NIU publishes no portal time or timezone on the checked programme page, so verify the cutoff before submitting.
Ques. How much should I budget for NIU Global MBA?
Ans. The 2026-27 international rate is US$1,349.57 per credit hour (INR 1.29 Lakhs); a calculated two-semester planning baseline is US$58,771.36 (INR 56.09 Lakhs).
Ques. Does the Global MBA qualify for extended OPT?
Ans. NIU identifies the Global MBA as STEM-designated, so eligible graduates may seek 12-month OPT plus a 24-month STEM extension, subject to USCIS rules.
Ques. Does NIU publish MBA placement salary outcomes?
Ans. No course-cohort salary or offer rate is published on the checked page; NIU cites Glassdoor benchmarks for workers with 4 to 6 years of experience instead.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | $43668 |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2023 | $17527 |
| 2021 | $25731 |
Scores Required

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Course Guides
Best MS Courses in USA for International Students in 2025
Executive MBA in USA: Deadlines, Fees, Jobs & Salaries
Masters (MS) in USA: Colleges, Courses, Deadlines, Eligibility & Fees
Masters in Management in USA: Universities, Fees, Requirements, and Scholarships
College Student Profiles
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Go Clean Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Business Administration Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Washington DC Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| BeArt Presets-Academic Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 2,500/Yr$2,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Chuan Ai Lu Engstrom Memorial Scholarship | Scholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Bharat Petroleum Scholarship | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyMaster | TypeMerit-Based |
Similar Programs
| Program | Important Date | Total Fees | Median Exams Score | Action |
|---|---|---|---|---|
MBA, University of Illinois2 years | USD 21,103 /Yr |
| ||
M.B.A, Southern Illinois University14 months | -- | USD 31,290 /Yr |
| |
| USD 15,208 /Yr |
| |||
Application Deadline For Spring 2026 Intake (1st Oct 2026) | USD 16,227 /Yr |
| ||
-- | USD 26,230 /Yr |
|
Do you think the Dates are wrong ? Report Here





















Comments