California State University [CSU CHICO], Chico: Courses and Fees 2026-27

California State University [CSU CHICO], Chico: Courses and Fees 2026-27

Chico, CaliforniaLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1887established year
17875enrollment
Public
Chicocampus
9.0/10
Naman Mittal's profile photo

Naman Mittal

Updated on - Sep 11, 2026

California State University, Chico has an October 1, 2026 deadline for international graduate applications for Spring 2027. Postgraduate tuition ranges from USD 19,476–25,254 (INR 18.61–24.13 lakhs) per year, while undergraduate tuition is USD 20,592 (INR 19.67 lakhs) annually. The popular MS in Computer Science falls under the standard postgraduate rate of USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 lakhs) per year.

The cost of studying in Chico also includes living expenses. The university estimates USD 16,834 (INR 16.08 lakhs) for nine months of living costs. Of this, USD 6,750 (INR 6.45 lakhs) is allocated for housing. Chico State also notes that average rent is around 43% lower than California’s average, with free citywide B-Line bus travel.

  • MS in Data Science and Analytics: INR 70.08 lakhs for two years, including tuition, living expenses, university fees, and known visa costs.
  • Average first-year budget: INR 35.39 lakhs, excluding any unverified deposit.
  • Fall 2027: Fees have not yet been published, so the total cost may change when the new rates are released.

For students comparing programs, the MS in Computer Science offers a lower standard tuition rate, while the Data Science and Analytics budget provides a more complete estimate including living and other costs.

Spring 2027 Intake: 

Intake: Spring 2027 undergraduate applications close September 30, 2026. Graduate applications close October 1, 2026, with course-specific deadlines. Some graduate programmes accept Fall only. A 3-8 week F-1 (academic student) visa window makes Spring 2027 workable when documents are filed before the deadline. Fall 2027 submissions open October 1, 2026.

When to pay: No course-specific deposit amount or Spring 2027 deposit deadline appears in the supplied official facts. Follow the student account bill after admission.

Scholarships: The October 1, 2026 graduate deadline is close for Spring 2027. The graduate fee waiver has no fixed amount or target-intake deadline. The undergraduate waiver recurs with a published April 1 deadline, while Wildcat 2026-27 is closed. No external Indian award has a currently verified amount and deadline for these intakes.

Note: Exchange rate used: 1 USD = INR 95.53 on August 29, 2026.


Also check,


California State University, Chico Tuition Fees by Programme

The 2026 - 27 fee structure starts at USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 lakhs) per year for standard full-time international postgraduate study. Programs such as the Master of Public Administration (MPA) and Master of Social Work (MSW) follow their respective official program durations.

California State University, Chico PG Fees: Spring 2027 and Fall 2027

Postgraduate tuition is USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 lakhs) per year for most master’s programs. MBA and MS in Business Analytics (MSBA) have a higher annual tuition and fee rate of USD 25,254 (INR 24.13 lakhs). For a lower-cost shortlist, start with the standard master’s programs, then account for the additional business-program costs and consider Psychology’s three-year budget separately.

Programme Duration Annual Tuition Fees
Computer Science MS 2 years USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs)
Artificial Intelligence Engineering MS 2 years USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs)
Business Analytics MS 18 - 24 months USD 25,254 (INR 24.13 Lakhs)
Data Science and Analytics MS 2 years USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs)
Business Administration MBA 18 - 24 months USD 25,254 (INR 24.13 Lakhs)
Electrical and Computer Engineering MS 2 years USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs)
Mathematics MS 2 years USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs)
Public Administration MPA 2 years USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs)
Psychology MS 3 years USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs)
Social Work MSW 2 years USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs)
  • Computer Science MS requires 30 units, while Data Science and Analytics MS requires at least 34 units.
  • Public Administration MPA requires 36-37 units and can extend to three years part-time.
  • Psychology MS is a three-year Marriage and Family Therapy route with 60 units.
  • MBA and MSBA add USD 321 (INR 30,665) per required unit to standard graduate billing.
  • Business Analytics MS and Data Science and Analytics MS publish no Spring admission, making Fall 2027 their next entry.

California State University, Chico Undergraduate Fees: Spring 2027 and Fall 2027

Undergraduate tuition is USD 20,592 (INR 19.67 lakhs) per year for full-time bachelor’s programs. Both Bachelor of Science (BS) and Bachelor of Arts (BA) programs follow the university’s current program structure. Use this common tuition rate as the starting point, then compare the specific requirements and curriculum for each discipline before estimating the total four-year cost.

Programme Duration Published tuition (USD and INR) Indicative full-course tuition (USD and INR)
Computer Science BS 4 years USD 20,592 (INR 19.67 Lakhs) USD 82,368 (INR 78.69 Lakhs)
Business Administration BS 4 years USD 20,592 (INR 19.67 Lakhs) USD 82,368 (INR 78.69 Lakhs)
Mechanical Engineering BS 4 years USD 20,592 (INR 19.67 Lakhs) USD 82,368 (INR 78.69 Lakhs)
Civil Engineering BS 4 years USD 20,592 (INR 19.67 Lakhs) USD 82,368 (INR 78.69 Lakhs)
Psychology BA 4 years USD 20,592 (INR 19.67 Lakhs) USD 82,368 (INR 78.69 Lakhs)
  • The identical undergraduate rate reflects level-based international billing, not a course-specific discount.
  • Computer Science BS combines programming, algorithms, artificial intelligence, and machine learning.
  • Mechanical Engineering BS includes mathematics, physics, automation, fluid mechanics, and thermodynamics.
  • Civil Engineering BS offers environmental, structural, transportation, and water-resource options.
  • Spring 2027 undergraduate applications close September 30, 2026; Fall 2027 is the next cycle.

Note: The USD 471 (INR 44,995) non-resident charge is part of registration billing, not a separate programme fee. The 2026-27 estimate assumes 12 undergraduate units or 9 graduate units per semester.

Also check, California State University [CSU CHICO] Chico Admissions 2026: Application Deadline, Eligibility & Fees

Cost of Living in Chico for Indian Students

Chico’s official nine-month living estimate is USD 16,834 (INR 16.08 Lakhs) for master’s students. The estimate includes housing, meals, personal spending, books, and health insurance. The university publishes these figures on its International Tuition and Fees page.

Expense Monthly (USD) Monthly (INR) Annual (INR) Notes for Indian Students
Housing USD 750 (INR 71,648) INR 71,648 INR 6.45 Lakhs University nine-month estimate
Meals USD 629.11 (INR 60,099) INR 60,099 INR 5.41 Lakhs University nine-month estimate
Personal USD 200 (INR 19,106) INR 19,106 INR 1.72 Lakhs Personal spending allowance
Books and supplies USD 124.67 (INR 11,909) INR 11,909 INR 1.07 Lakhs Published average
Health insurance USD 166.67 (INR 15,922) INR 15,922 INR 1.43 Lakhs Required each semester
Total living estimate USD 1,870.44 (INR 1.79 Lakhs) INR 1.79 Lakhs INR 16.08 Lakhs Nine academic months
  • The housing line averages USD 6,750 (INR 6.45 Lakhs) across nine academic months, not twelve months.
  • Meals add USD 5,662 (INR 5.41 Lakhs), so cooking access changes the monthly cash pattern.
  • Student identity cards provide citywide B-Line bus travel, reducing the need for a separate transit budget.
  • The official brochure cites 43% lower average rent than California, but publishes no private-room range.
  • Private leases, deposits, and room availability need separate confirmation because the official cost table does not specify them.

Note: The USD 16,834 (INR 16.08 Lakhs) living figure covers nine academic months and includes health insurance. It excludes tuition, visa charges, airfare, deposits, and personal travel.

Currency Tip: Spring 2027 and Fall 2027 budgets use the 2026-27 rate. Hold the first USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs) PG tuition amount in a dollar-linked account until billing posts.

Also check, Cost of Studying in the USA for Indian Students


Total Cost of Studying at California State University, Chico

The average first-year budget for MS Data Science and Analytics is INR 35.39 Lakhs before any deposit. The route uses nine months of living costs and known United States visa charges.

Scenario Tuition Living Mandatory Fees Total Year 1
Lower documented scope, core living items USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs) USD 15,334 (INR 14.65 Lakhs) USD 2,235 (INR 2.14 Lakhs) USD 37,045 (INR 35.39 Lakhs)
University nine-month estimate USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs) USD 16,834 (INR 16.08 Lakhs) USD 735 (INR 70,215) USD 37,045 (INR 35.39 Lakhs)
Higher enrollment, 12 units per semester USD 22,302 (INR 21.31 Lakhs) USD 16,834 (INR 16.08 Lakhs) USD 735 (INR 70,215) USD 39,871 (INR 38.09 Lakhs)
  • The lower scope excludes health insurance from living and places it inside mandatory fees.
  • The university estimate matches CSU Chico’s published nine-month master’s budget plus new fee and visa charges.
  • Higher enrollment uses the official USD 471 (INR 44,995) non-resident rate for 24 graduate units.
  • Deposits, airfare, and private housing deposits are excluded because no verified amount is published.
  • Visa charges appear as one-year comparisons but are paid before travel, not monthly.

Key Insight: No automatic graduate scholarship or full-payment discount is published for Spring 2027 or Fall 2027. Treat the controllable saving as INR 0 until a written waiver arrives. Lock the next instalment after the award is credited.


California State University, Chico Scholarships for Indian Students

CSU Chico does not have a fixed published amount for its graduate fee waiver. The undergraduate waiver ranges from USD 2,000 - 11,000 (INR 1.91 - 10.51 lakhs), but this amount applies only to undergraduate students. Graduate financial support is limited and non-renewable, with no specific waiver amount published. Form I-20 is the Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant Student Status required for the F-1 student visa process.

University award Amount or support Eligibility Status Deadline Relevant intake
Wildcat Scholarships Annual pool above USD 1.6 million (INR 15.28 Crore); individual amount varies International students, incoming and continuing 2026-27 closed; 2027-28 recurring February 15, 2027 Fall 2027 award cycle
International Student Excellence Scholarship USD 2,000-11,000 (INR 1.91-10.51 Lakhs), one academic year New undergraduate F-1 students with grade point average (GPA) 3.3 and financial need Recurring; 2027 form cycle not separately dated Published April 1; target-intake date pending Fall 2027
Non-Resident Tuition Fee Waiver for International Graduate Students Amount varies; first-year, non-renewable support New international graduate students Recurring; funds severely limited Target-intake deadline pending Spring 2027 or Fall 2027
  • Wildcat awards do not reduce Spring 2027 tuition because the 2026-27 application is closed.
  • The April 1 scholarship deadline precedes the May 1 Fall 2027 undergraduate application deadline.
  • The undergraduate waiver applies for one academic year and requires full-time enrolment.
  • Graduate applicants should approach their programme coordinator because no amount or deadline is published.
  • Scholarship awards do not remove the financial documentation required for Form I-20.

External Scholarships for Indian Students

Scholarship Amount / Funding Applications Open Deadline
Fulbright-Nehru Master’s Fellowship Tuition, living costs, airfare & other benefits Usually around February Usually May
J.N. Tata Endowment Loan scholarship; amount varies January 5, 2026 March 29, 2026 
National Overseas Scholarship (NOS) Tuition, maintenance allowance, airfare & other expenses April 24, 2026 June 2, 2026
Inlaks Shivdasani Scholarship Up to USD 120,000, subject to eligibility Dates vary by cycle Dates vary by cycle
Chevening Scholarship Fully funded tuition, living costs, airfare & other allowances Usually August Usually October/November
Erasmus Mundus Scholarship Tuition, travel, living allowance & other benefits Usually October Usually January

Tip for Indian Students: The next actionable claim for Fall 2027 is the recurring undergraduate waiver. Its published deadline is April 1. Graduate applicants should request coordinator consideration before the target-intake deadline is published.

Also check, Popular Scholarships to Study in USA


California State University, Chico Tuition Deposit and Payment Options

No standard international deposit amount is published in the available official information. The application fee is separate, and tuition payments follow the university’s registration deadlines.

Course-specific deposits and Form I-20

No verified deposit amount is published for MS in Computer Science, MPA, or MBA. Chico State uses Form I-20 for international students. A CAS is used for the UK system, not for Chico State.

  • MS Computer Science: Deposit not published; Spring 2027 deadline: October 1, 2026
  • MPA: Deposit not published; Spring 2027 deadline: October 1, 2026
  • MBA: Deposit not published; Spring 2027 deadline: November 1, 2026
  • Refund policy and tuition-credit treatment: Not stated in the available official information.

Payment methods

The available information does not identify a specific international payment provider. Students can generally use bank/telegraphic transfer according to the instructions on their student account. If the university provides a named international payment provider in the billing notice, that option can also be used. Forex cards may offer around 2–3% conversion savings compared with a standard wire transfer. Education-loan funds can also be arranged around the university’s payment deadlines.

Steps to pay tuition

  • Accept the admission offer through Cal State Apply.
  • Check your student account for billed registration and tuition charges.
  • Pay the required amount using the university’s stated payment instructions.
  • Complete the financial documentation required for your Form I-20.
  • Pay the remaining tuition according to each registration deadline.
  • Keep all payment receipts for your records and F-1 visa documentation.

No standard installment schedule or full-payment discount is published. Graduate payment deadlines are course-specific, while the 2026–27 cost estimates are provided on an annual basis.

Note: The October 1, 2026 Spring 2027 deadline applies to many graduate international applications, not a deposit. Allow bank-transfer lead time before the course’s billed registration date.


Hidden Costs of Studying at California State University, Chico

  • The October 1, 2026 Spring 2027 graduate deadline coincides with the Fall 2027 submission opening.
  • Student application fee: USD 70 (INR 6,687), paid through Cal State Apply.
  • Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) fee: USD 350 (INR 33,436).
  • The United States Department of State lists the student visa fee as USD 185 (INR 17,673).
  • New international student fee: USD 200 (INR 19,106), charged during the first semester.
  • Health insurance: USD 1,500 (INR 1.43 Lakhs) annually, per the university estimate.
  • English-test retakes, bank charges, airfare, and personal setup costs have no verified amount here.

Note: Families often miss the SEVIS fee, USD 350 (INR 33,436), before the F-1 visa appointment. The student visa fee is separate and adds USD 185 (INR 17,673).

Also check,


For Spring 2027, the MS in Data Science and Analytics budget is based on the 2026 - 27 rates. The estimated two-year cost is INR 70.08 lakhs, including tuition, living expenses for two nine-month periods, university fees, and visa costs. Since no fixed graduate scholarship has been announced, the current scholarship reduction is INR 0. If financed through a loan of this amount, the estimated EMI would be INR 94,000 per month for 10 years at 10.5% interest. The October 1, 2026 deadline can help decide whether to apply for Spring 2027 or wait for the Fall 2027 intake.


FAQs

Ques. What are California State University, Chico fees for Indian students in 2026-27?

Ans. California State University, Chico charges USD 20,592 (INR 19.67 Lakhs) annually for UG study. Standard PG tuition is USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs). MBA and MSBA tuition and fees are USD 25,254 (INR 24.13 Lakhs).

Ques. How much is the cost of studying at CSU Chico beyond tuition?

Ans. California State University, Chico estimates nine-month living expenses at USD 16,834 (INR 16.08 Lakhs) for master’s students. The estimate includes housing, meals, personal spending, books, and health insurance.

Ques. Is Spring 2027 open for Indian applicants at Chico State?

Ans. California State University, Chico lists September 30, 2026 for undergraduate and October 1, 2026 for graduate Spring 2027 applications. Fall 2027 submissions open October 1, 2026.

Ques. Does CSU Chico require a tuition deposit before issuing Form I-20?

Ans. California State University, Chico publishes no single international deposit amount. Form I-20 issuance also requires financial documentation, so the application fee is not a deposit.

Ques. What scholarships can Indian students claim at CSU Chico?

Ans. California State University, Chico offers a recurring undergraduate waiver of USD 2,000-11,000 (INR 1.91-10.51 Lakhs). It is for new international students. The published April 1 deadline targets Fall entry. Graduate waiver amounts and deadlines remain pending.

Ques. What is the MS Data Science and Analytics fee at CSU Chico?

Ans. MS Data Science and Analytics costs USD 19,476 (INR 18.61 Lakhs) annually for 2026-27 standard graduate tuition. Its two-year tuition-only total is USD 38,952 (INR 37.21 Lakhs) at unchanged current rates.

Ques. What visa costs should I budget for Chico State?

Ans. California State University, Chico applicants pay a USD 350 (INR 33,436) SEVIS fee. The student visa fee is USD 185 (INR 17,673). The United States route has no United Kingdom Immigration Health Surcharge.

Ques. Can I work while studying at CSU Chico?

Ans. California State University, Chico F-1 students may work up to 20 hours weekly on campus during academic terms. Eligible STEM graduates can use 12 months OPT plus a 24-month extension, totaling 36 months.

Popular Programs and Important Dates

ProgramImportant DatesFeesApplication FeesEligibility
M.S Computer Science
2 years

Course Offered by

Application Date For Fall 2026 Intake (1st Apr 2026)
USD 14,990 /Yr70TOEFL iBT: 80 | IELTS: 6.5 | Duolingo: 110 | PTE: 59

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

Sort Highest fees | Lowest fees | Rating | A-Z
2 years
On Campus
English
Full Time
Exam Scores: IELTS6.5|TOEFL80|PTE59
USD 7,560 /Yr
USD 10,080 /Yr
4 years
On Campus
English
Full Time
Exam Scores: IELTS6|TOEFL61|PTE47|Duolingo95
USD 10,080 /Yr

Comments


No Comments To Show