M.B.A at University Of Northern Iowa [U OF NORTHERN LOWA], Cedar Falls Fees, Entry Requirement & Application Deadline

M.B.A from University of Northern Iowa

Cedar Falls, IowaLocation
UniversitySchool type
Estd1876established year
11861enrollment
Public
8.5/10

Master of Business Administration [M.B.A]

1 year
Full Time
On Campus

Field of Study: 

$22,834 /Yr

Study Abroad Team's profile photo

Study Abroad Team

Updated on - Aug 16, 2026

University of Northern Iowa Master of Business Administration (MBA) is a 30-credit, non-thesis graduate degree in Cedar Falls, Iowa, with hybrid and fully online modes for international students. Full-time students can finish in one year; 2026-27 tuition was US$24,966 (INR 24.10 Lakhs) as a prior-cycle reference. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree and a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale; Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished.

The MBA covers accounting, finance, marketing, strategy, leadership, operations, information systems and business intelligence through ten core courses. Three stackable certificates and eight-week modules add analytics or leadership evidence while supporting full-time or part-time study. The best-prepared applicant is a working professional who wants broad management training, can show post-bachelor experience and accepts a non-thesis portfolio rather than a specialist track.

  • The programme holds accreditation from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business, which applicants can verify when comparing business-school quality signals.
  • Neither the Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) nor the Graduate Record Examinations (GRE) is required, reducing one application component but not replacing profile review.
  • The online option lets international students study outside the United States, but it cannot support a student visa or issue student-visa documents.

Current Admission Status

Applications for the Fall 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: April 1, 2027.

The official pages do not publish an opening time, cutoff timezone or decision date, so submit a complete file through the portal and verify its timestamp with admissions.

Also Check: University of Northern Iowa MBA Admission

University of Northern Iowa MBA Fees and Living Costs 2027

Fall 2027 tuition for the international hybrid MBA is unpublished on the checked current pages.

The university publishes a 2026-27 non-resident Wilson College of Business graduate tuition of US$24,966 (INR 24.10 Lakhs) as a prior-cycle reference.

The same 2026-27 cost page lists mandatory fees of US$1,451 (INR 1.40 Lakhs) and housing and food of US$10,724 (INR 10.35 Lakhs).

The current MBA tuition page does not state a cycle. It lists fully online charges of US$19,464 (INR 18.79 Lakhs) for one year and US$24,210 (INR 23.37 Lakhs) for two years.

Those figures do not establish Fall 2027 pricing, and hybrid students are instead classified under residential graduate tuition and fees.

Prior-cycle table context: The following amounts are 2026-27 official planning references for a full-time non-resident Wilson College of Business student, not Fall 2027 fees.

Cost itemAmount (USD)Amount (INR)
Graduate tuitionUS$24,966INR 24.10 Lakhs
Mandatory feesUS$1,451INR 1.40 Lakhs
Housing and foodUS$10,724INR 10.35 Lakhs
Calculated direct-cost totalUS$37,141INR 35.85 Lakhs

Source: University of Northern Iowa MBA tuition page and 2026-27 Cost + Aid page.

All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of USD 1 = INR 96.5372 as of 16 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.

  • The current admissions page lists an international graduate application fee of US$70 (INR 6,758) subject to change, so budget it separately from tuition.
  • Hybrid study adds campus housing and food planning, while online study avoids that residential budget but cannot support a student visa.
  • The 30-credit structure allows an accelerated pace, yet taking courses across two years can spread payments and reduce the annual study load.

Cost of Living in Cedar Falls for MBA Students

The university’s 2026-27 graduate estimate lists housing and food alongside personal expenses, books and transportation for one academic year.

The monthly figures below divide published annual amounts by 12, so they are planning equivalents rather than separate monthly quotations.

ExpenseMonthly (USD)Monthly (INR)Annual (USD)Annual (INR)
Housing and foodUS$893.67INR 86,272US$10,724INR 10.35 Lakhs
Personal expensesUS$160.00INR 15,446US$1,920INR 1.85 Lakhs
Books and suppliesUS$66.67INR 6,436US$800INR 77,230
TransportationUS$68.17INR 6,581US$818INR 78,967
Living and indirect totalUS$1,121.83INR 1.08 LakhsUS$13,462INR 13.00 Lakhs

A prior-cycle planning illustration for one accelerated residential year is US$24,966 tuition + US$1,451 mandatory fees + US$13,462 living and indirect costs = US$39,879 (INR 38.50 Lakhs).

Here, US$13,462 (INR 13.00 Lakhs) is the published housing, food, personal, books and transport total, while the calculation excludes visa, travel, health insurance and the average loan fee.

Online alternative: The current page lists US$19,464 (INR 18.79 Lakhs) for one-year online completion and US$24,210 (INR 23.37 Lakhs) for two-year online completion. The cycle is unspecified.

Read More: University of Northern Iowa Programs

Target-cycle fee note

Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished, and no target-cycle total should be calculated from the 2026-27 reference; Verify the target fee on the official fee page.

ROI reality: The prior-cycle residential illustration reaches INR 38.50 Lakhs before visa and travel costs, so confirm Fall 2027 tuition and funding before committing to the hybrid route.

University of Northern Iowa MBA Admission 2027

Admission is based on a completed bachelor’s degree, a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale for full consideration and a profile that includes professional preparation.

UNI does not require GMAT or GRE scores, but the MBA committee reviews communication, leadership, academic background and post-bachelor experience.

Academic Eligibility and Documents

The current international MBA page asks for an international application, direct official transcripts, a resume with three references and a Financial Certification Form.

For applicants without a business bachelor’s degree, UNI points to online review materials for fundamental business preparation rather than a separate prerequisite sequence.

Use the table to separate hard thresholds from desired preparation before you assemble the file.

Admission factorUniversity requirementIndian applicant reading
Previous degreeBachelor’s degree from an accredited university or collegeSubmit final official records from every post-secondary institution
Academic thresholdMinimum GPA 3.0 on a 4.0 scale for full admission considerationApproximately 70% to 75%, or CGPA 7.0 to 7.5 on 10, as a broad estimate
Professional preparationThree to five years of professional work experience desiredPresent role progression, leadership scope and measurable responsibilities
Admission testsGMAT and GRE are not requiredUse the saved preparation time to improve evidence in the resume and application
Application fileInternational application, official transcripts, resume or CV with three references and Financial Certification FormArrange direct institutional transmission and financial documents before submission

The 3.0 threshold is a full-admission consideration standard, not an admission guarantee.

Because three to five years of professional work experience is described as desired, applicants with less experience should strengthen leadership evidence and explain their readiness.

UNI makes the official equivalency decision, so use the Indian percentage or CGPA range as a planning estimate rather than a promised conversion.

  • Show post-bachelor responsibilities that connect with the MBA’s strategy, analytics, leadership or operations curriculum.
  • Explain how a non-business bachelor’s degree prepared you for graduate business study, then use the university’s review materials where needed.
  • Choose the hybrid route when an Indian applicant needs campus attendance and student-visa documentation for study in the United States.

English Language Proficiency

English language proficiency is required for the international MBA, with IELTS, TOEFL iBT and Duolingo listed as current routes.

The Test of English as a Foreign Language Internet-based Test (TOEFL iBT) is published at 79 on the 0-120 scale. Applicants should not self-convert it to the newer 1.0-6.0 format.

English testMinimum scoreScale note
TOEFL iBT790-120 scale as published by UNI
IELTS6.5Overall band score
Duolingo English Test105Overall score

These are current full-admission minimums on the MBA page, while no India-specific waiver is published on the checked MBA surfaces.

Before submitting, confirm the exact published score scale on the current graduate majors page.

  • Use IELTS if its band structure makes your weakest skill easier to monitor during preparation.
  • Keep the official score report and test date aligned with the application file because UNI may verify unofficial submissions.
  • Ask admissions in writing about any English-medium degree waiver before excluding a required test from your plan.
Tip for Indian students: The MBA removes GMAT and GRE testing, but the 3.0 GPA, English score, direct transcripts and profile review still make document quality central to admission.

University of Northern Iowa MBA Application 2027

Fall 2027 is the only intake listed for international MBA applicants, and the international application deadline is April 1, 2027.

The decision date and opening date are not published, while the funding priority date is February 1 annually for the following academic year.

Fall 2027 Application Timeline

The table separates the confirmed international admission deadline from the recurring funding date whose target year is not stated on the current page.

Application stagePublished deadlineWhat happens next
International MBA applicationApril 1, 2027Decision date is not published; monitor the application portal and university email
Graduate assistantship or tuition scholarshipFebruary 1 annual priority date; target year not statedFunding decisions vary by department and are separate from admission

UNI gives April 1 without a cutoff time or timezone, so the application portal timestamp controls the submission cutoff.

Submit the online graduate application with the current international graduate fee of US$70 (INR 6,758), subject to change.

Ask every previous institution to send official transcripts directly, then attach the resume with three references and the Financial Certification Form.

The programme’s no-test policy shifts preparation toward clear evidence of communication, leadership, academic readiness and post-bachelor professional work.

  • Start with a document audit that checks the 3.0 GPA threshold, English score and direct transcript requirement against your Indian records.
  • Use the resume to connect role progression, team responsibility and business decisions with the MBA’s broad core curriculum.
  • Select the hybrid route in the application when you need on-campus study and student-visa documentation in the United States.
  • Submit assistantship and tuition scholarship forms separately by the annual February 1 priority date because admission does not imply funding.

Application strategy: The April 1 deadline is confirmed, but the missing decision date means applicants should keep document delivery, portal checks and visa planning connected.

Application tip: Treat April 1, 2027 as the complete-file deadline, not merely the date to begin uploading documents, because transcripts must arrive from issuing institutions.

University of Northern Iowa MBA Scholarships 2027

UNI lists a graduate assistantship and a graduate tuition scholarship as the two relevant official funding routes for the residential MBA.

For Fall 2027, exact award amounts and selection outcomes are not published, so funding should reduce the budget only after a written award is received.

UNI Graduate Assistantship

The assistantship combines part-time campus work with a stipend, while the tuition scholarship reduces tuition without requiring work.

The MBA assistantship page gives a 2026-27 reference of US$3,182.50 (INR 3.07 Lakhs) per semester for 10 hours weekly. It gives US$6,365 (INR 6.14 Lakhs) for 20 hours weekly.

It also says graduate assistants may qualify for in-state tuition, but those figures do not establish Fall 2027 compensation.

Prior-cycle award context: The assistantship amounts below are 2026-27 MBA references. The tuition scholarship row follows current policy without converting in-state tuition into a target-cycle award.

Funding routePublished valueINR equivalentEligibility and route
MBA Graduate Assistantship (2026-27 reference)US$3,182.50 half-time or US$6,365 full-time per semesterINR 3.07 Lakhs half-time or INR 6.14 Lakhs full-timeApply separately; 10 or 20 hours weekly; full-time students need at least 9 eligible credits
Graduate Tuition Scholarship (current policy)Half or full in-state tuition; target-cycle value not publishedNot calculated from prior-cycle tuitionApply separately; mandatory fees are excluded; 9 qualifying credits and required GPA apply

Source: University of Northern Iowa MBA Graduate Assistant and Graduate Funding Opportunities pages.

Assistantship applicants must be regularly admitted, submit final transcripts, meet United States employment eligibility and maintain a 3.00 graduate GPA.

New graduate students can qualify with a previous GPA of at least 2.75 under the stated funding policy, but maintaining the award requires the current graduate standard.

The tuition scholarship covers half or full in-state tuition and excludes mandatory fees, so it does not remove the full cost of attendance.

  • Submit funding forms separately from admission because an admission offer does not include an assistantship or tuition scholarship.
  • Use the annual February 1 priority date for the following academic year, then confirm the exact Fall 2027 date with the MBA coordinator.
  • Budget mandatory fees, housing, food and personal expenses even when a tuition award is being considered.
  • Do not treat the university’s approximately 90% full-assistantship-and-scholarship statement as an individual award guarantee.

For Indian applicants: The hybrid route is the practical funding target because the assistantship requires campus-linked eligibility, while the fully online route does not support student-visa documents.

Check Out: USA Scholarships for Indian Students

Scholarship reality

UNI publishes funding routes and recurring priority guidance, but Fall 2027 award amounts are not confirmed; apply by the annual priority date and secure a backup budget.

Scholarship reality: A possible stipend or in-state tuition award can change the MBA budget substantially, but Indian applicants should not borrow against it before receiving the formal offer.

University of Northern Iowa MBA Salary 2027

UNI’s checked official MBA pages do not publish a course-cohort employment report with salary, offer rate or sector shares.

That means the available salary evidence is a university-cited external benchmark, not a typical UNI graduate outcome.

Salary Evidence and Scope

The official MBA page cites 2021 external benchmarks of a 23% average pay increase and a 59% promotion rate for MBA graduates.

It also lists possible roles such as management consultant, financial manager, business intelligence analyst and product manager, but role lists do not prove placement.

Evidence scopeMeasurePublished figureINR equivalent
University-cited external benchmark, 2021Median salary for MBA graduates in consultingUS$145,000INR 1.40 Crore

Source: University of Northern Iowa MBA page; the figures are university-cited external benchmarks, not UNI course-cohort outcomes.

The cost-to-career test starts with a prior-cycle planning illustration of US$39,879 (INR 38.50 Lakhs) for one accelerated residential year.

This calculation uses US$24,966 (INR 24.10 Lakhs) tuition + US$1,451 (INR 1.40 Lakhs) mandatory fees. It adds US$13,462 (INR 13.00 Lakhs) living and indirect costs and excludes visa, travel and health insurance.

Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished, so the calculation is not a target-cycle total or a payback forecast.

  • The 30-credit MBA can be completed in one calendar year by qualified full-time students, so compare lost earnings with the faster completion pace before choosing acceleration.
  • Current online tuition is US$19,464 (INR 18.79 Lakhs) for one year and US$24,210 (INR 23.37 Lakhs) for two years; ask which rate applies to hybrid study.
  • No UNI MBA cohort salary or offer rate is published, so use the external consulting figure for scenario testing and request employment evidence before borrowing.
  • UNI does not identify the MBA as science, technology, engineering and mathematics designated, so use the standard 12-month work scenario and verify eligibility.

The US$145,000 (INR 1.40 Crore) consulting benchmark is not typical UNI graduate pay or a placement rate. A listed career role shows possibility rather than probability.

Applicants returning to India should model domestic salary, currency movement and the cost of a United States education separately because the programme publishes no course-level outcome report.

Take-home pay varies with federal and state taxes, benefits and location, so use the current IRS Tax Withholding Estimator for a personal scenario.

Read More: USA Post-Study Work Options

ROI reality: The one-year option may support career progression, but unpublished outcomes and target tuition make funding discipline more important than an external salary headline.

USA Visa for University of Northern Iowa MBA Students 2027

Indian applicants who want to study in Cedar Falls need the F-1 student visa route through the hybrid MBA, while the fully online mode does not qualify.

F-1 means the United States academic student classification, and the online alternative issues no student-visa documents.

Current country guidance lists an F-1 application fee of US$185 (INR 17,859). It also lists a Student and Exchange Visitor Information System (SEVIS) I-901 fee of US$350 (INR 33,788).

Those visa-related charges are separate from tuition, housing, food and the university’s financial certification requirement.

  • Optional Practical Training (OPT) generally allows up to 12 months of post-completion work after an eligible United States degree, subject to separate approval.
  • The checked UNI programme pages do not identify this MBA as STEM-designated, so do not assume the additional 24-month STEM OPT extension.
  • H-1B specialty occupation status depends on employer sponsorship, selection and the higher of actual or prevailing wage, with no single course-specific threshold.
  • F-2 status may cover a spouse and unmarried minor children, but F-2 dependants are not employment-authorized.

Permanent residence has no fixed course-linked timeline because employment category, sponsorship and visa availability control the route.

Indian applicants should therefore choose the hybrid route only when campus study, financial proof and a post-study employment plan fit together.

Check Out: F-1 Student Visa Guide for Indian Students

Visa reality: The online MBA may suit an applicant studying from India, but only the hybrid route is positioned for on-campus international study and an F-1 visa.

The University of Northern Iowa MBA fits Indian professionals who want a broad, non-thesis management degree with a one-year option and stackable certificate structure.

It is distinctive because the ten-course curriculum connects strategy, analytics, leadership and business fundamentals across eight-week modules.

The material tradeoff is that Fall 2027 tuition and UNI MBA cohort outcomes remain unpublished, so the ROI case cannot rely on a target-cycle payback calculation.

Confirm the hybrid mode, complete-file deadline of April 1, 2027 and annual February 1 funding priority before committing funds.

University of Northern Iowa MBA FAQs

Ques. Which UNI MBA mode should an Indian applicant choose for an F-1 visa?

Ans. Choose the hybrid route because UNI identifies it as approved for on-campus international students. The fully online route can be studied from India but does not qualify for an F-1 visa or student-visa documents.

Ques. Is GMAT or GRE required for University of Northern Iowa MBA admission?

Ans. Neither test is required. Your application still needs the stated GPA, English score, official transcripts, resume with three references and evidence that your academic and professional preparation fits the broad non-thesis curriculum.

Ques. How should I budget for Fall 2027 when MBA tuition is unpublished?

Ans. Use the 2026-27 residential figure of US$24,966 (INR 24.10 Lakhs) only as a labelled prior-cycle reference. Keep online rates separate because the current page uses a different mode. It lists US$19,464 (INR 18.79 Lakhs) for one-year completion and US$24,210 (INR 23.37 Lakhs) for two-year completion.

Ques. Can an Indian student receive an MBA assistantship or tuition scholarship?

Ans. Yes, both routes are published, but applicants must apply separately and awards are not guaranteed. The MBA page gives 2026-27 assistantship references of US$3,182.50 (INR 3.07 Lakhs) half-time or US$6,365 (INR 6.14 Lakhs) full-time per semester. Fall 2027 amounts remain unconfirmed.

Ques. What salary and post-study work evidence should I use for this MBA?

Ans. UNI does not publish a course-cohort salary or offer report, so treat its university-cited US$145,000 (INR 1.40 Crore) consulting benchmark as external evidence. Model the standard 12-month OPT scenario separately and do not assume a STEM extension or a guaranteed sponsored role.


Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
Tuition Fees$22834

Other Expenses

HeadAvg Cost Per Year
Health Insurance$2328
Books and supply$500

Previous Year Tuition Fees

Year1st Year Fees
2021$21375

Important Dates

EventApplication Date
Application Opening Date Jul 1, 2024

Scores Required

6.0 / 9

Avg. Score in

IELTS

79 / 120

Avg. Score in

TOEFL

52 / 90

Avg. Score in

PTE

500 / 800

Avg. Score in

GMAT

Programs Comparison

cost to studyTotal Cost (Tuition + Living) -USD 21375Total Cost (Tuition + Living) -USD 38640
application datesFeb 15, 2025 (Fafsa Priority Deadline For 2025 Intake)
Feb 15, 2025 (Uni Scholarship Priority Deadline)
Nov 15, 2024 (Application Deadline For Spring 2025 Intake)
Mar 15, 2025 (Application Deadline For Summer 2025 Intake)
Jun 15, 2025 (Application Deadline For Fall 2025 Intake)
exam scoresGMAT - 500/800IELTS - 6.0/9PTE - 52/90TOEFL - 79/120-
-Read Full Comparison



Comments


No Comments To Show

Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids

NameScholarship Per StudentLevel of StudyType
Go Clean ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 3,500/Yr$3,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Business Administration ScholarshipsScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Washington DC ScholarshipsScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
BeArt Presets-Academic ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 2,500/Yr$2,500Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Chuan Ai Lu Engstrom Memorial ScholarshipScholarship per student$ 1,000/Yr$1,000Level Of StudyBachelorTypeMerit-Based
Bharat Petroleum ScholarshipScholarship per studentVariable AmountLevel Of StudyMasterTypeMerit-Based

Similar Programs

ProgramImportant DateTotal FeesMedian Exams ScoreAction
--
USD 44,388 /Yr
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • TOEFL: 79
  • PTE: 53
  • Duolingo: 110
Fall 2026 Term Duration (18th Dec 2026)
Spring 2027 Term Duration (23rd Apr 2027)
USD 24,870 /Yr
  • PTE: 50
  • TOEFL: 71
  • IELTS: 6
  • Duolingo: 105
--
USD 28,134 /Yr
  • IELTS: 6.5
  • TOEFL: 79
  • PTE: 58
  • GMAT: 706
  • Duolingo: 100

Do you think the Dates are wrong ?  Report Here

interested in this College ?

Get free counselling