Bachelor of Arts [B.A] (Computer Science)
Field of Study:
₹36.1 L/Yr
University of Minnesota Morris Bachelor of Arts in Computer Science is a standard four-year, full-time, on-campus undergraduate degree in Morris, Minnesota, United States. Indian applicants need secondary-school completion, official transcripts, certified English translations when required and an accepted English score; no minimum GPA is published. Fall 2027 tuition is unpublished; 2026-27 tuition was US$16,692 (INR 15.95 Lakhs), as a prior-cycle reference and the next intake is Fall 2027.
The curriculum combines algorithm development, software design, hardware principles, hands-on laboratory work and a broad liberal-arts core. It suits students who want technical depth with research, internships and communication practice, but the unpublished 2027-28 fee makes early funding verification essential.
- Third- and fourth-year course choices let students shape the technical emphasis after completing the core.
- Research projects, internships and a team software project connect classroom theory with portfolio evidence.
- Computer labs, tutors, teaching assistants and a student computing club support practice beyond scheduled classes.
Current Admission Status
Applications for the Fall 2027 intake are Open. International student deadline: Expected 01 May 2027.
The live international page publishes a recurring May 1 fall priority deadline but does not print the 2027 year. Indian applicants should prepare transcripts, English scores and funding evidence early, then verify the portal date before submission.
Also Check: University of Minnesota Morris admission
Minnesota Morris BA Computer Science Fees and Living Costs 2027
Fall 2027 tuition and the 2027-28 full international cost are not yet published because the university finalizes annual estimates around July. The current estimate therefore supports planning only, while the target-cycle bill must be checked when released.
The official international estimate separates tuition, institutional charges, housing, food, insurance, personal expenses and books. Verify the target amount on the official international cost page before accepting an offer.
Prior-cycle planning reference: The table uses the official 2026-27 international estimate because 2027-28 rates are not published; current published application and confirmation charges are shown separately.
| Cost item | Foreign amount | INR equivalent | Cycle or status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition | US$16,692 | INR 15.95 Lakhs | 2026-27 prior-cycle reference |
| Required fees | US$1,580 | INR 1.51 Lakhs | 2026-27 prior-cycle reference |
| International student fees | US$600 | INR 57,316 | 2026-27 prior-cycle reference |
| International Student Academic Service Fee | US$552 | INR 52,731 | 2026-27 prior-cycle reference |
| 13-credit band tuition per semester | US$8,346 | INR 7.97 Lakhs | 2026-27 prior-cycle reference |
| Application fee | US$30 | INR 2,866 | Current published |
| Confirmation fee after admission | US$175 | INR 16,717 | Current published |
All INR conversions in the article use a conversion rate of US$ 1 = INR 95.5267 as of 17 August 2026. Rates fluctuate daily, verify before applying.
- The prior-cycle tuition equals two 13-credit semesters at US$8,346 (INR 7.97 Lakhs), while credits above 13 are free under the published band.
- The international estimate adds required fees, international charges, housing, food, insurance, personal expenses and books, so tuition alone understates funding needs.
- Do not calculate a four-year commitment from the prior-cycle amount because the university has not confirmed 2027-28 tuition or charges.
Cost of Living in Morris for BA Computer Science Students
The university publishes separate academic-year allowances for housing, food, health insurance, personal expenses and books. Monthly averages below divide each official annual line by twelve for budgeting, so they are planning equivalents rather than published monthly bills.
Official living-cost scope: The international estimate excludes travel and summer living, which Indian applicants should fund separately before relying on the academic-year total.
| Expense | Monthly average (USD) | Monthly average (INR) | Official academic-year amount (USD) | Official academic-year amount (INR) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Housing | US$520.83 | INR 49,753 | US$6,250 | INR 5.97 Lakhs |
| Food | US$535.67 | INR 51,170 | US$6,428 | INR 6.14 Lakhs |
| Health insurance | US$299.17 | INR 28,578 | US$3,590 | INR 3.43 Lakhs |
| Personal expenses | US$150.00 | INR 14,329 | US$1,800 | INR 1.72 Lakhs |
| Books | US$66.67 | INR 6,368 | US$800 | INR 76,421 |
For a prior-cycle planning illustration, the official 2026-27 international total is US$38,292 (INR 36.58 Lakhs), not a 2027-28 quote. It is the sum of the tuition, required fees, international charges, housing, food, insurance, personal expenses and books listed above.
Read More: US study cost planning
Key insight: The current international estimate is US$38,292 (INR 36.58 Lakhs) before travel and summer costs, so Indian applicants should secure a target-cycle quote before finalising funding.
Minnesota Morris BA Computer Science Admission 2027
International admission requires secondary-school completion, official transcripts and an accepted English score; the application also allows optional statements, recommendations, a resume or a portfolio. The university reviews the full record rather than publishing a course-specific minimum grade.
The university does not publish a minimum grade point average (GPA) for this course. Because no official country-specific percentage or 10-point CGPA conversion is stated, the university makes the equivalency decision after reviewing the complete transcript.
Academic eligibility for Indian applicants
Indian applicants should show a rigorous senior-secondary preparation that maps clearly to the recommended first-year subjects. The table separates required documents from recommended preparation, so missing one recommended subject is not automatically treated as rejection.
| Requirement | Official position | Action for Indian applicants |
|---|---|---|
| Secondary-school completion | Complete secondary education before enrolment | Submit the final certificate and marksheets through the required channel |
| Academic preparation | Recommended: four years of English and mathematics, three years of science, three years of social studies and two years of a second language | Map Class 11 and Class 12 subjects to the recommendation and explain any gap |
| Official records | Transcripts must come directly from the school, with certified English translation when needed | Ask the board or school to send records before the application is marked complete |
| Indian grade conversion | No official percentage or 10-point CGPA range is published | Do not replace the university equivalency review with a generic conversion |
| Supporting material | Statements, recommendation letters, resume and portfolio are optional | Use them when they clarify context, technical work or preparation |
No programme-specific ranking for the Morris BA was verified, so overall University of Minnesota or system rankings are not used as a course claim.
English language proficiency requirements
English language proficiency (ELP) is required unless an official exemption applies. The current English proficiency requirements page lists the following routes for international applicants.
The TOEFL policy is especially important because the university prints a score on both scales for tests taken after 21 January 2026. The institution does not state a self-conversion method, so report the scale shown by the testing service.
| Test route | Published minimum |
|---|---|
| IELTS Academic | 5.5 |
| TOEFL iBT | 79 / 4.0 for tests taken after 21 January 2026 |
| PTE Academic, PTE Academic Online or Pearson English Express Test | 53 |
| Duolingo English Test | 105 |
| SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing | 540 |
| ACT | 21 in both English and reading |
- Choose the accepted test with a score-reporting route that reaches the university directly before the application is reviewed.
- Use the printed TOEFL 79 / 4.0 policy exactly because the page does not authorise applicants to recalculate one scale from the other.
- Check the listed advanced English, country or school-based exemptions before paying for a test that may not be required.
Tip for Indian students: No minimum GPA is published, but a clear Class 11 and Class 12 subject map plus direct transcripts will make the academic review easier to verify.
Minnesota Morris BA Computer Science Application 2027
Fall 2027 applications are open under the current international process and the live page lists a recurring May 1 fall priority deadline. Indian applicants should use the dedicated international application instructions and verify the displayed year before submitting.
The sequence is document preparation, online submission, admission confirmation and financial certification for the Form I-20. Because the page gives dates without a clock or timezone, the portal timestamp controls any final cutoff.
International deadlines and application sequence
Expected date status: The live international page publishes recurring dates but does not print the 2027 year. The dates below are planning expectations rather than confirmed target-year deadlines.
| Intake | International application deadline | Enrollment deposit deadline | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spring 2027 | Expected 01 November 2026 | Expected 15 December 2026 | Future intake listed on the live international page |
| Fall 2027 | Expected 01 May 2027 priority deadline | Expected 15 June 2027 final deposit deadline | Current applicant-accessible intake |
The Fall route gives more preparation time from the current research date, while Spring remains a nearer alternative if the complete file is ready. Treat both dates as expected until the university updates the year and confirm whether the portal shows a separate final application cutoff.
- Request official transcripts and certified translations early because the university requires records directly from the issuing school.
- Submit the current published application fee of US$30 (INR 2,866) and retain the payment record with the application file.
- Add an optional statement, recommendation, resume or portfolio only when it explains an academic gap, technical work or relevant context.
- After admission, budget the US$175 (INR 16,717) nonrefundable confirmation fee and prepare financial certification, a bank statement and a passport copy for the Form I-20.
Application tip: The May 1 fall pattern helps planning, but the year is not printed. Verify the portal deadline before sending the final application.
Minnesota Morris BA Computer Science Scholarships 2027
The strongest published undergraduate funding route is the Academic Achievement Award, which is considered automatically with admission and uses the first-year application and core GPA. International applicants are also considered for a Nonresident Tuition Waiver at admission, but its amount and target-cycle terms are not published.
Computer Science applicants can also identify course-relevant awards such as the CenterPoint Energy Scholarship and the Emil and Lois Anderson Scholarship. The programme page names these awards but does not publish a value, deadline or international eligibility rule, so they should not enter a confirmed budget.
Current published award schedule: These tiers have no 2027-28 cycle label. Treat them as planning references rather than confirmed target-cycle net tuition.
| Award tier | Award amount (USD) | INR equivalent | Published basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Academic Achievement Award, core GPA 3.90 to 4.00 | US$20,000 over four years (US$5,000 per year) | INR 19.11 Lakhs over four years (INR 4.78 Lakhs per year) | Automatic consideration with acceptance |
| Academic Achievement Award, core GPA 3.75 to 3.89 | US$14,000 over four years (US$3,500 per year) | INR 13.37 Lakhs over four years (INR 3.34 Lakhs per year) | Automatic consideration with acceptance |
| Academic Achievement Award, core GPA 3.50 to 3.74 | US$8,000 over four years (US$2,000 per year) | INR 7.64 Lakhs over four years (INR 1.91 Lakhs per year) | Automatic consideration with acceptance |
| Academic Achievement Award, core GPA 3.25 to 3.49 | US$4,000 over four years (US$1,000 per year) | INR 3.82 Lakhs over four years (INR 95,527 per year) | Automatic consideration with acceptance |
Renewable awards require a 2.5 cumulative GPA and at least 12 credits each semester under the current scholarship rules. That continuation condition matters because the first-year award amount does not by itself secure four years of funding.
- Use the expected May 1 fall priority date as the practical scholarship-planning point because no separate international scholarship deadline is published.
- Do not treat an award tier as a confirmed net tuition figure because the 2027-28 tuition and the cycle-specific award terms remain unpublished.
- Ask the university to confirm the Nonresident Tuition Waiver amount and the international eligibility of course-specific awards before reducing the funding plan.
Funding note
The award schedule can reduce the prior-cycle burden, but Indian applicants should carry the full target-cycle estimate until the admission package confirms the waiver and award terms.
Check Out: US scholarships for international students
Scholarship reality: Automatic consideration is helpful, but the missing 2027-28 tuition and waiver amount means applicants should treat awards as upside until the written offer confirms them.
Minnesota Morris BA Computer Science Salary 2027
The course page does not publish a course-specific salary, offer rate or placement report. It does show career routes, named alumni employers, internships and graduate-study options, so those signals must be read separately from market wages.
Listed occupations include software developer, data analyst, user-experience designer, systems architect, web developer, game programmer and high school teacher. The page names IBM, Hewlett-Packard, Mayo Clinic and US Bank among alumni employers, but employer presence does not prove typical placement.
The course page also reports that about one-third of Morris graduates continue education. Recent graduates entered doctoral programmes at Carnegie Mellon, Brown, Georgia Tech and other universities, but the page does not present this as a Computer Science cohort rate.
Evidence scope: The table separates university outcomes from an external labour-market benchmark. Only the market-wage row contains a monetary figure and therefore uses the INR column.
| Evidence scope | Measure | Published figure | INR equivalent | How to use it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University-level, 2024 graduates | Employed or in graduate school within one year | 89% | Institutional context, not a Computer Science placement rate | |
| University outcomes display | Employed or continuing education within one year | 95%, cohort not specified | Context only, not combined with the 2024 figure | |
| External market benchmark, May 2024 | Median annual wage for software developers | US$133,080 | INR 1.27 Crore | Market reference, not a graduate salary or guarantee |
The 89% figure is the most specific cohort evidence, but it covers the full university rather than Computer Science. The 95% display has no named cohort, so it is contextual and should not be combined with the 2024 result.
Return on investment for Indian applicants
For return on investment (ROI), use the 2026-27 international estimate of US$38,292 (INR 36.58 Lakhs) as a prior-cycle annual input. It is not a target-cycle four-year total. The programme value depends on how effectively the student converts its labs, projects, internships and career support into evidence for a chosen market.
- Because target-cycle tuition is unpublished, keep the full prior-cycle annual estimate in the funding model and request the 2027-28 bill before accepting an offer.
- Because no course-specific salary or offer rate is published, build a portfolio through the team software project, research and an internship before using any payback assumption.
- The 89% university-level 2024 outcome includes all majors, so use it as institutional context and seek Computer Science destination data before forecasting placement.
- The federal benchmark is US$133,080 (INR 1.27 Crore) for software developers in May 2024, not a Morris graduate salary; compare role, location and experience.
- A US F-1 graduate may receive up to 12 months of Optional Practical Training, but STEM eligibility and later H-1B sponsorship require separate verification.
Take-home pay will vary with federal and state tax, insurance, location and benefits, so a gross benchmark cannot establish repayment time. Use a current tax calculator and compare the resulting net figure with the target-cycle funding plan before borrowing.
ROI reality: No course-specific salary or placement rate is published, so fund the degree only after confirming target-cycle cost and building a portfolio plan.
USA Visa for Minnesota Morris BA Computer Science Students 2027
The relevant route is the F-1 student visa for this full-time university degree. Admission comes first, followed by Student and Exchange Visitor Information System registration, the Form I-20 and the visa interview sequence described in the official student visa instructions.
Morris requires the confirmation fee, financial certification, a bank statement and a passport before issuing the Form I-20. The university cost-of-attendance amount is separate from government visa charges, so Indian applicants should keep both budgets visible.
Optional Practical Training (OPT) is temporary employment related to an eligible F-1 field. Post-completion OPT can last up to 12 months, while a Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) extension requires a qualifying degree classification and additional conditions.
Permanent residence has no fixed timeline after this degree because later options depend on an employer, an employment category, visa availability and the applicant country. An H-1B specialty occupation employer must pay the higher of the actual wage or prevailing wage, rather than meeting one universal national salary threshold.
- The visa fee is US$185 (INR 17,672), the I-901 fee is US$350 (INR 33,434) and the combined charge is US$535 (INR 51,107).
- Use the 12-month OPT window to seek degree-related work, but confirm the Form I-20 classification before relying on any STEM extension.
- For H-1B planning, compare the intended occupation and location with the employer wage evidence because the required wage is role-specific.
- F-2 dependants need individual Forms I-20 and visas, but they do not pay the SEVIS fee; check their separate study and work rules before travel.
Read More: US post-study work guidance
Visa reality: F-1 study can lead to practical training, but verify the Form I-20 classification and later employment route before borrowing for a US career plan.
The University of Minnesota Morris BA Computer Science fits Indian applicants seeking a four-year, on-campus degree with technical foundations, liberal-arts breadth, projects, research and internships. Its strongest case is the path from theory to portfolio work, while the tradeoff is unpublished 2027-28 tuition and limited course-specific employment data. Applicants should therefore prepare the expected Fall 2027 file, verify the May 1 date and ask for the target cost and Form I-20 classification before committing funds. The final choice should turn on confirmed funding, technical preparation and whether the intended post-study plan can rely on a verified work-authorisation route.
Minnesota Morris BA Computer Science FAQs
Ques. Is the University of Minnesota Morris BA Computer Science a good fit for an Indian student seeking a liberal-arts computer science degree?
Ans. It fits a student who wants algorithm, software, hardware and laboratory foundations alongside the Morris Core and communication work. It is less suitable for an applicant seeking a narrowly specialised programme from the first semester because major choices expand in later years.
Ques. What is the expected Fall 2027 international deadline and is Spring 2027 available?
Ans. The live international page lists May 1 for fall and November 1 for spring, so the article treats 01 May 2027 and 01 November 2026 as expected dates. Confirm the year and portal cutoff because the current page prints month and day without the target year or time.
Ques. How much should an Indian applicant budget before 2027-28 costs are published?
Ans. Use the official 2026-27 international total of US$38,292 (INR 36.58 Lakhs) as a prior-cycle annual planning reference, excluding travel and summer living. Do not multiply it into a four-year target total until the university publishes 2027-28 charges.
Ques. Does the university accept the TOEFL iBT 4.0 scale after 21 January 2026?
Ans. Yes, the current English requirements page lists TOEFL iBT 79 / 4.0 for tests taken after 21 January 2026. Report the score exactly as issued and do not self-convert between the printed scales.
Ques. Can the BA Computer Science degree support a United States work plan after graduation?
Ans. The labs, projects, research and internship pathway can help build evidence for degree-related work, but the university does not publish course-specific salary or placement data. Verify the Form I-20 classification before relying on Optional Practical Training or a STEM extension.
Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| Tuition Fees | ₹3613115 (USD 37802) |
Other Expenses
| Head | Avg Cost Per Year |
|---|---|
| Books and supply | ₹95580 (USD 1000) |
| Total Cost | ₹95580 (USD 1000) |
Previous Year Tuition Fees
| Year | 1st Year Fees |
|---|---|
| 2023 | ₹1427392 (USD 14934) |
Scores Required

Do you think the Rankings are wrong ? Report Here
Key Resources for Your Study Abroad Journey
Career and Placement after Course
| Career Outcomes | After completing the ba in computer science university of minnesota you can start your career as a : Software Development Engineer | Software Consultant | Programmer Analyst | Web Application Developer | Junior Java Developer |
| Top Employee | Amazon | Microsoft | Fishbowl Solutions | CH Robinson | UnitedHealth Group |
Scholarship Grants & Financial Aids
| Name | Scholarship Per Student | Level of Study | Type | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| VueVille Future Technology Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 95,580/Yr$1,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| R&D Systems Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 1.4 L/Yr$1,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| BL Mandhana Scholarships | Scholarship per student₹ 9.6 L/Yr$10,000 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Go Clean Scholarship | Scholarship per student₹ 3.3 L/Yr$3,500 | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Business Administration Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based | |
| Washington DC Scholarships | Scholarship per studentVariable Amount | Level Of StudyBachelor | TypeMerit-Based |















Comments